7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

project-o
post Nov 15 2009, 08:12 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Just put P mode and blast away dadaaddadadaaddaada after that if 1 kena out of 1000 shots also enough already
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Nov 15 2009, 08:06 PM)
like that ar, kalau gambar still like crap, dont know what to say lah..  whistling.gif
project-o
post Nov 15 2009, 08:18 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Don't worry Faiz... you are just as good. Good luck in your exams. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 15 2009, 08:19 PM
project-o
post Nov 15 2009, 08:35 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Let us know whether the vertical shutter will work or not. I still don't remember seeing the shutter release port. I think you have to test the tripods first by putting your weight on it. How much do both of these cost ? I'm not really a fan of ball heads still prefer pan and tilt head.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 15 2009, 08:27 PM)
I'm getting the phottix battery grip for my D3000 tomorrow.. Hoping that the vertical shutter will work automatically  unsure.gif

And btw guys, should I but the Octopus Platinum Series Professional Ballhead Tripod or the Digieye Pro 350?  hmm.gif
project-o
post Nov 15 2009, 09:53 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Depends on brand or type of grip. I know for sure the Hahnel one comes with a spare battery and remote control.Last time mine (YXTM) didn't.
QUOTE(tun @ Nov 15 2009, 09:36 PM)
yes. alot . lol
pls do let us know.lol
my d60 confirm cnt ad.maybe will get it for balance my body while attached flash and increase battery life

normally do battery grip come with 1 extra battery ?
project-o
post Nov 16 2009, 06:56 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

55-200 as a primary lens is ok but it depends on what they shoot. I have a friend who is a wedding photographer and he uses 70-200 IS USM for practically everything. Maybe different people have different styles and different ways to use the lens. Some like super wide...others may not like.
QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Nov 16 2009, 05:29 PM)
that the things i want talk it
haha..if they use speedlight..than.. difference story lah
yeah.. i see all 55-200 lens as their prime lens..
most of then use d60..and kit lens..
project-o
post Nov 16 2009, 07:26 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

He does have other lenses but that's his style.Even when shooting scenery also he will stand far away and use 70-200.
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Nov 16 2009, 07:23 PM)
he must have a UWA lens too.. if not, hell tight lah all shots..  sweat.gif
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 16 2009, 07:27 PM
project-o
post Nov 16 2009, 10:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

For this particular guy, he doesn't have a blog or site. Anyway got another friend from Sarawak's site which has a lot of nice pics enjoy!!!

Edwin Lay's website
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Nov 16 2009, 10:05 PM)
got links on his works @ blog bro? might learn something from him.
project-o
post Nov 17 2009, 07:39 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

D90, D5000 and D3000 are all using the same CAM1000 AF module so the speed should be about the same. AF speed also depends on the lens that you are using. As long as the motor is built into the lens, the speed is dependent on that SW motor in the lens, the "screwdriver" motor in the body is disabled for that lens. Higher end bodies (Canon 50D/7D and Nikon D300S/D3S/D700) have more "cross type" AF sensors which enable them to be more "sure" in low light and less prone to "hunting" no matter the lens used.
QUOTE(twL @ Nov 17 2009, 05:46 PM)
hi..
i am a junior photographer in commercial photography industry,
my company are using 5D and 5D mark II,
and also the medium level: Contax.

i would like to buy a camera,
since i cant afford to buy Canon 50D or Nikon D90,
is it worth to get D5000?

of cause not for commercial photography job use,
just for my personal like actual wedding day or portrait shooting use,
is it ok?

my friend said,
Nikon's focusing is quite slow,
and with the auto focus on lens,
will it even more slow if compare with D90?

thanks in advance. smile.gif
project-o
post Nov 17 2009, 10:03 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Have used 50mm f1.8 before. Body has a range finder so it is quite ok with manual focus but for me I prefer the image and build quality of the 35mm f1.8 DX AF-S also I found the 50mm too narrow and more restrictive than the 35mm f1.8DX.
QUOTE(tun @ Nov 17 2009, 08:42 PM)
asking .. anyone using 50mm f1.8 with non motor body dslr ?
mean u are using MF for 50mm lens
is it hard to master ? i considering want buy or not .. or go for 35mm afs ..

Added on November 17, 2009, 10:04 pmI would say if lower budget lenses, either Nikon 18-105VR or Tamron 18-200.
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:44 PM)
Hi guys...

I'm new here and would like to know the best lens upgrade for my D40. I don't care if it is 3rd party or not though I am aiming a cheap solution since I am doing this for hobby only. I feel that the kitlens is pretty much limiting.

Would really appreciate you guys' suggestions.
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 17 2009, 10:05 PM
project-o
post Nov 17 2009, 10:13 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

As long as it it a Nikon mount and built in motor, compatibility will not be an issue. I also was in the same boat as you before I started buying lenses and I feel that Nikon should allow us to buy 2-lens kits (18-55 + 55-200) with body at some discount or an option to choose a higher end kit lens at a discount without having to buy body and lens seperately.
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 17 2009, 10:09 PM)
I think I can fork out around RM1k. And I prefer to not to swap lenses. Any good seller here?

One more thing, how can I determine whether my camera will not have any compatibility issue with the lens?
project-o
post Nov 18 2009, 12:38 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

The 35mm DX f1.8 gives much better and smoother bokeh and is useful and decently sharp even wide open. Best performance is from f3.5 onwards.

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 17 2009, 10:23 PM)
I tried to use 50mm on my kitlens for potraits last time just to feel how the 50mm f1.8 works, it's quite hard.. I had to back-up a to take shots in my house.. Just wanna ask, for 35mm f1.8, do we get the same level of bokeh as 50mm f1.8? smile.gif

Added on November 18, 2009, 12:40 amAF system is the same D90 does have the AF motor built in, a better screen and the CLS "Commander" mode built into the flash compared to the D5000.
QUOTE(twL @ Nov 17 2009, 11:41 PM)
mean... no really worth to get it? except D200 or above? i scare i will regret after i bought it, or the nikon lens in the market will have build in auto focus motor mostly? D90 do not have auto focus motor in the body too?
i hope so, but i even cant afford Canon 50D or Nikon D90, haha..
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 18 2009, 12:40 AM
project-o
post Nov 18 2009, 07:55 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If I'm not mistaken, SB-400 would cost around RM 350 also depending on age and condition. I feel if the aim is to save space in your bag then it is worth it other than that I would prefer a second Di622 or save up for SB-600 or 900.

For those who have Nissin Di622 there is a firmware upgrade that allows it to be fired using radio trigger. You can upgrade firmware for Di622 from Schmidt Marketing (M) Sdn Bhd. But pls do call for appointment before you go. here is the number: 03-78449127 as for Fiona or Mr Woo.

Guys.. Just wanna ask.. I have a Nissin Di622 flash already, but is it worth it to buy a SB400 as a secondary flash? How much is the 2nd hand price of this? Thanks ya smile.gif
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 18 2009, 07:55 PM
project-o
post Nov 19 2009, 12:50 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Problems with the mount and contacts, one of the disadvantages of the plastic mount of kit lenses. Hope there are improvements in the VR version.
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 19 2009, 12:35 PM)
Mine is non VR  sad.gif
Maybe it's my D40's prob then... Even if i put of my tripod, use timer 20 sec, it's still not very sharp, of cuz sharper than PnS but still... Lose to my friend's A300. I used his A300 and my D40 with the same settings, both on tripod, his one is definitely sharper and more real.

Haiz maybe my lens' autofocusing got a bit problem, sometimes it cannot autofocus, need take out the lens and out back only can autofocus. So I guess the AF is not that accurate now...
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 19 2009, 12:50 PM
project-o
post Nov 19 2009, 09:59 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

So can more or less be confirmed that D3000 and D5000 are different. Anyway.. the 2 batteries should be able to work together, I used to use Digicell and original EN-EL9 together with my grip last time.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 19 2009, 09:24 PM)
Guys, my battery grip has finally arrived.. But sadly, the vertical shutter won't work if I don't change the settings sad.gif

Nevertheless, I love it.. I get more grip since I got big hands biggrin.gif And it's easy to hold now when my Di622 is attached to the camera nod.gif

Btw, just wanna ask.. I got it with Phottix's 1400mAh battery, can I pair it with my original nikon battery? The mAh is different..
project-o
post Nov 20 2009, 11:25 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If you have the name of the lens even better. Lenses in that generation are sharp lenses and well built.
QUOTE(Earendil @ Nov 20 2009, 08:00 PM)
Hi all. Can anyone tell me if old AF lenses used on the old F60 film DSLR is compatible with D5000? Thanks!  smile.gif  Found an old set of F60 + lenses belonging to my uncle...if it's compatible I'll probably get it from him...haha
project-o
post Nov 21 2009, 08:11 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I don't think 18-55VR kit lens can fetch that much, as far as I know used price is around RM 400 or at the most RM 500.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Nov 21 2009, 12:52 PM)
as long as it's having the same type of mount as current lenses, u can mount it on your D5000 n use it but only manual focus
2nd hand price value around Rm600
project-o
post Nov 22 2009, 11:29 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

18-55 vs 18-70 ? Big difference!! 18-70 has steel mount, faster AF motor with full time manual focus override, min aperture is 4.5 instead of 5.6 at the tele end. Sharper and no rotating front element.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Nov 21 2009, 11:09 PM)
Agree. RM500 is a good price already. Btw, just wanna ask, what is the advantage of 18-70mm instead of the kit lens? Sharper?
project-o
post Nov 23 2009, 08:55 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Price, build quality, sharpness...etc...etc... it is a step up from the 18-55VR kit lens.
QUOTE(tun @ Nov 23 2009, 06:55 PM)
what u thk about 18-105 nikkor ?
other than longer focus length,summore got what diff with kit lens ?

Added on November 23, 2009, 9:08 pmShould be the same as the D60 as the sensor and other parts are the same except for the much improved auto focus.
QUOTE(Light Matter @ Nov 23 2009, 08:23 PM)
Can some D3k kakis share your pics? Wonder how is it IQ? Thanks. smile.gif
This post has been edited by project-o: Nov 23 2009, 09:08 PM
project-o
post Nov 24 2009, 09:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I guess you are now in the same situation that I was in when I was trying to decide whether to go for EOS350D vs D40.
QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 24 2009, 08:18 PM)
i was asked the same too..wth..and it's a user from this club...anyway i settling on D3000 due to some factors smile.gif...Won't regret it i guess ;D
project-o
post Nov 24 2009, 11:55 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Same reason for me. I found the 350D grip too small for my hands.
QUOTE(Lacus @ Nov 24 2009, 11:00 PM)
well sort of tongue.gif..but i tested both of it...some how the "other" 1 don't really feels comfortable in my hands :/...

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0242sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:55 PM