Need recommendations on ICE setup, complete ICE newbie here ^^;

TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 11:08 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 10:43 AM)
ya, getting a monoblock would do better for ur sub. 2ch oso can if ur sub is wired at 4ohm. HU with processor(time alignment,x-over,eq and etc.) is a gud choice to learn to tune ur system. if u wan the best for the money spent, try getting 2nd hand stuffs. usually rm1.5k would get u some really decent stuffs which can be considered hi end in the market when new. like recently i sold my DLS Nobelium for 1550. but since u r tight on budget, i guess we'll juz have to wait and be patience. have a nice time playing around with ur tweeter. smile.gif
hmm 2nd hand stuffs are definitely in consideration. what is the normal price for the DLS nobelium and what do you think of it btw? especially compared to your current component set which i assume is an upgrade over the DLS nobelium.

any suggestion on tweeter placements besides them facing away from the audience?
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 11:18 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 10:43 AM)
do elaborate further, because thats what i am getting so long i dont sit on the rear passenger seat. what i am NOT getting is the mids being weak in certain songs.

not so much staging/positionings really.

though what you've said on the TA HU definitely made sense. and in regards to that, does all mid/high end HUs come with this feature built in, specifically mid range and not just the high ends? or i need to specifically look for it? also, wouldn't a xover active setup have this 'feature' too?

and forgive me if i offended you, however it wasn't my intention at all to laugh at you (or anyone), i am merely laughing at my own noobness if that made sense.

all that said... wouldn't having such a feature be detrimental to any passengers? surely id get the best of it, however if someone else is sitting my car, wouldn't i have to neutralize the whole time alignment/delay thing?
im nt talking about rear passenger seat la bang... im talking about driving position... u said harsh high rite?? so i recomend TA HU... then u ask about TA HU... then i told u wat it does...
im not saying tat rear passenger would listen too much of bass or wat... jz tat if finely tune, u would felt tat the sound its all from yor front and nt from yor speaker... its like a person singin at yor windscreen facing towards u when u sitting at driver side... and the bass aswell but u will felt it lower... tats wat they call soundstaging... wat howie said is if yor mid bass is weak... and u use the sub to cover it... it will make the bass sounds from the rear... hence no staging... like the drum instruments are located at yor trunk... which is suppose to be at front on the stage... not frm yor trunk...

regards those model... u gotta looks tru the spec... those i hav listed is equipped with TA... there r too much to name... pioneer 1250-7250 dun hav... other i hav no idea... the cheapest u could get is a 2nd unit 9855 would cost roughly rm700++
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 11:19 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
u tune for ur own pleasure bro, why bother to tune for someone dat didn't pay for ur system. u can alwez let the person to have a audition at ur driver seat if he/she wans to try ur system. if u wan to have the best in both front seat, better learn to tune at 1 position first, understanding how the sound changes as u try a different setting will help u to tune however u like in the future.
very well said ^^
and that was quite my dilemma on the rears. btw, what do YOU think about rear fills? pointless? essential? which and why?
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 11:19 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
u tune for ur own pleasure bro, why bother to tune for someone dat didn't pay for ur system. u can alwez let the person to have a audition at ur driver seat if he/she wans to try ur system. if u wan to have the best in both front seat, better learn to tune at 1 position first, understanding how the sound changes as u try a different setting will help u to tune however u like in the future.
maner ader try to tune 2 position??? 1 position cukup la...

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:22 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 11:19 AM)
very well said ^^
and that was quite my dilemma on the rears. btw, what do YOU think about rear fills? pointless? essential? which and why?
i din say any thing regrads how yor rear passenger would feel... im talking about driving position okay???

This post has been edited by highway04: Jun 4 2010, 11:22 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 11:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:18 AM)
im nt talking about rear passenger seat la bang... im talking about driving position... u said harsh high rite?? so i recomend TA HU... then u ask about TA HU... then i told u wat it does...
im not saying tat rear passenger would listen too much of bass or wat... jz tat if finely tune, u would felt tat the sound its all from yor front and nt from yor speaker... its like a person singin at yor windscreen facing towards u when u sitting at driver side...  and the bass aswell but u will felt it lower... tats wat they call soundstaging... wat howie said is if yor mid bass is weak... and u use the sub to cover it... it will make the bass sounds from the rear... hence no staging... like the drum instruments are located at yor trunk... which is suppose to be at front on the stage... not frm yor trunk...

regards those model... u gotta looks tru the spec... those i hav listed is equipped with TA... there r too much to name... pioneer 1250-7250 dun hav... other i hav no idea... the cheapest u could get is a 2nd unit 9855 would cost roughly rm700++
well, i am trying to explain that it wasnt the case. it wasnt about positioning at all. it was merely the mid frequencies being weak and i did not specifically use the subs to cover it making it seemingly obvious that it is played from the back.
highway04

182 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 10:43 AM)
do elaborate further, because thats what i am getting so long i dont sit on the rear passenger seat. what i am NOT getting is the mids being weak in certain songs.

not so much staging/positionings really.

though what you've said on the TA HU definitely made sense. and in regards to that, does all mid/high end HUs come with this feature built in, specifically mid range and not just the high ends? or i need to specifically look for it? also, wouldn't a xover active setup have this 'feature' too?

and forgive me if i offended you, however it wasn't my intention at all to laugh at you (or anyone), i am merely laughing at my own noobness if that made sense.

all that said... wouldn't having such a feature be detrimental to any passengers? surely id get the best of it, however if someone else is sitting my car, wouldn't i have to neutralize the whole time alignment/delay thing?
http://caraudiomag.com/articles/getting-ba...petition-corner

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/general-disc...d-up-front.html

This post has been edited by highway04: Jun 4 2010, 11:27 AM
ckmoy007

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

imho, nobelium in comparison with SL60, nobelium has smoother midrange and high, quite neutral and no listening fatigue. the onli downside for nobelium is lack of midbass due to its lightweight cone. other than that no complaint. my current one that u see in my signature, is on another lvl, it's not a component on its own, i juz mix and match as u can see alpine F#1 + morel. this combo suits my own listening taste. very smooth and warm, for vocal, jazz and slow songs juz superb, for R&B and hip hop not quite there yet. it makes me(& a few others as well) stick to the sit and keep wanting more. but it's not for everyone's taste, some like it neutral while some like it with more attack.
TSQuazacolt

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:19 AM)
maner ader try to tune 2 position??? 1 position cukup la...

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:22 am

i din say any thing regrads how yor rear passenger would feel... im talking about driving position okay???
i am pointing to ckmoy007 sweat.gif
ckmoy007
post Jun 4 2010, 11:32 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

rears are pointless. at first i didn't believe it, had nobelium for front and SL60 at the back, it's disturbing the staging and stuffs. at first i din realize much, was much of a noob then, haha. when i paid more attention, it is obvious. so i removed and sold the SL60, much better then.
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 11:37 AM

182 posts

phases tat i copy out from an article tat i cincai google...
'In a normally wired car stereo, you hear sound coming directly from the speakers and only the speakers closest to you. '
'Time alignment solves this problem and makes it possible to hear sound coming from each of the four speakers at all times regardless of where your head is. It also completely opens up and stops fatiguing/compressing the ears. Details in the music come from space in the car and never from the exact speaker locations - as it should be. '

http://www.decware.com/answer.htm

there u go... previous 2 was about bass from front nt from rear...
and tis link is about TA

This post has been edited by highway04: Jun 4 2010, 11:39 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 11:39 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:24 AM)
imho, nobelium in comparison with SL60, nobelium has smoother midrange and high, quite neutral and no listening fatigue. the onli downside for nobelium is lack of midbass due to its lightweight cone. other than that no complaint. my current one that u see in my signature, is on another lvl, it's not a component on its own, i juz mix and match as u can see alpine F#1 + morel. this combo suits my own listening taste. very smooth and warm, for vocal, jazz and slow songs juz superb, for R&B and hip hop not quite there yet. it makes me(& a few others as well) stick to the sit and keep wanting more. but it's not for everyone's taste, some like it neutral while some like it with more attack.
ah, thats what i am getting with the S60 amp'ed if i play it a little too loud for long periods, after a while the ears would get a little tired and in worse cases a bit of dizziness XD

then again with the midbass down side, which is a problem i am facing, that wouldnt be a good choice for me right? though looking a little back at the smoother midrange, what you're saying that its smooth, however 'weak' due to the lightweight cone it has? Though surely, theoretically it should be better than the S60 by a huge notch right? price and the midbass size in consideration.

wish you'd be in KL so i could try out your system as i am particularly interested in the mix & match modded component set.

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:44 am
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:32 AM)
rears are pointless. at first i didn't believe it, had nobelium for front and SL60 at the back, it's disturbing the staging and stuffs. at first i din realize much, was much of a noob then, haha. when i paid more attention, it is obvious. so i removed and sold the SL60, much better then.
that was my standing back then, heck, i even had the fader maxed to the fronts ignoring the back prior to the amp/sub installation. though i settled for a compromise this time since they had the back somehow hooked to the amp (i think?) because having my faders maxed to the front still had those horrendous rears going, and going fader 0 had every f***ing thing muted oTL

the next time I'm visiting KF audio i am getting those ugly rears removed for good rofl. thanks for reassuring my believes.

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:49 am
QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:37 AM)
phases tat i copy out from an article tat i cincai google...
'In a normally wired car stereo, you hear sound coming directly from the speakers and only the speakers closest to you. '
'Time alignment solves this problem and makes it possible to hear sound coming from each of the four speakers at all times regardless of where your head is. It also completely opens up and stops fatiguing/compressing the ears. Details in the music come from space in the car and never from the exact speaker locations - as it should be.  '

http://www.decware.com/answer.htm

there u go... previous 2 was about bass from front nt from rear...
and tis link is about TA
thanks for the links you've posted thus far. however the suggestions from the links are treading on dangerous lines here as a lower frequency would result in more obvious rattlings (which i have mentioned for my car) and that would make matters worse than it is.

and again, the problem was not with sound staging at all ^^;
its just the speakers/subs in handling various frequencies altogether.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 4 2010, 11:49 AM
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 11:51 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 11:39 AM)

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:44 am

that was my standing back then, heck, i even had the fader maxed to the fronts ignoring the back prior to the amp/sub installation. though i settled for a compromise this time since they had the back somehow hooked to the amp (i think?) because having my faders maxed to the front still had those horrendous rears going, and going fader 0 had every f***ing thing muted oTL

the next time I'm visiting KF audio i am getting those ugly rears removed for good rofl. thanks for reassuring my believes.
KF audio labour charge sounds reasonable??? nvr been there... how much they charge for install amp and yor comp??? got potong leher???

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:56 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 11:39 AM)

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:49 am

thanks for the links you've posted thus far. however the suggestions from the links are treading on dangerous lines here as a lower frequency would result in more obvious rattlings (which i have mentioned for my car) and that would make matters worse than it is.

and again, the problem was not with sound staging at all ^^;
its just the speakers/subs in handling various frequencies altogether.
welcome...
but i suggest u audit some well tune setup wif good sound stanging... and u will noe wat im talking about... not necessary car... home audio will do... the singer mouth will locate at directly facing u... not from speaker....

This post has been edited by highway04: Jun 4 2010, 11:57 AM
ckmoy007
post Jun 4 2010, 11:57 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

u mean S60 and nobelium? they are miles away la, but SL60 and nobelium not that much different which i stated in the previous post. if a noob like i was then can differentiate the difference after i changed the speakers means it's huge. haha.

if u wanna learn more, go and join zenn's or pisces weekly gathering la. they have lots of various poison from various origins, japan, germany, denmark, norway and many others, haha. if wan to listen to DLS, contact gavinchong. smile.gif of cos u can alwez have a trip to KK, i'll be more than glad to let u listen to my system, lol. airasia's slogan, everybody can fly!!!
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 11:58 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:57 AM)
u mean S60 and nobelium? they are miles away la, but SL60 and nobelium not that much different which i stated in the previous post. if a noob like i was then can differentiate the difference after i changed the speakers means it's huge. haha.

if u wanna learn more, go and join zenn's or pisces weekly gathering la. they have lots of various poison from various origins, japan, germany, denmark, norway and many others, haha. if wan to listen to DLS, contact gavinchong. smile.gif of cos u can alwez have a trip to KK, i'll be more than glad to let u listen to my system, lol. airasia's slogan, everybody can fly!!!
fulamak advertising for tony fernandes sin
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:51 AM)
KF audio labour charge sounds reasonable??? nvr been there... how much they charge for install amp and yor comp??? got potong leher???
labour and installation seemed "non-existent" in the receipt/quotation lol
however the audio cables and of course, AFAIK KF audio tends to be on the 'high-side' when it comes to equipments.

however to my belief is that you are actually spending more on your own equipment and almost nothing for labour/installation which is always a good thing. That said, this is probably one of their strategy in making you feel better, and labour costs/installations is already included in the equipment you buy. in a way, the more expensive the items you are buying, the cheaper it is, for labour/installation which is always a good thing and a win-win situation for both parties.

most of all, i personally think the tuning done by the uncle is up to my taste, and the installation(tidiness etc)/service/after-sales they provide is good.

with ALL the above said, i've only been to KF audio, and there could be better shops out there and my opinions here should be taken with a pinch of salt ^^

Added on June 4, 2010, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:51 AM)

Added on June 4, 2010, 11:56 am

welcome...
but i suggest u audit some well tune setup wif good sound stanging... and u will noe wat im talking about... not necessary car... home audio will do... the singer mouth will locate at directly facing u... not from speaker....
yeah thats what i am already getting biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2010, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:57 AM)

thats what im afraid of: more poison LOL. this thing no matter what have to hold out to mid next year. and more poisoning is definitely detrimental to that purpose rclxub.gif

as for your place, i've never been to KK ever, so it could be a good excuse to 'visit malaysia' (lawl at more mainstreamed slogans)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 4 2010, 12:08 PM
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 12:21 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 12:04 PM)

Added on June 4, 2010, 12:05 pm

yeah thats what i am already getting biggrin.gif

tat was jz a example...
watabout bass??? howie was talking about tis...
if yes, its from the front... well wat can i say is impressive thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by highway04: Jun 4 2010, 12:23 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 4 2010, 12:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

Journey started on:
08th October 2009

First setup 'completion' on:
30th May 2010

7 months++ of holding out, hmm. i think i can do better on the poison now that the setup is at least 'completed'. btw thanks guys on the help thus far, really appreciate it biggrin.gif

sites like this doesnt help though:
http://caraudiomag.com/articles/best-car-a...all-time-part-2

damn look at that outrageous designs XD

i wonder how much money is involved? 10? 20? 30k MYR? 50k? more? >_<

Added on June 4, 2010, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:21 PM)
tat was jz a example...
watabout bass??? howie was talking about tis...
if yes, its from the front... well wat can i say is impressive thumbup.gif
i wouldn't say its from the front. more accurately, omni-direction, as it should be smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 4 2010, 12:32 PM
highway04
post Jun 4 2010, 12:42 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 4 2010, 12:31 PM)

Added on June 4, 2010, 12:32 pm

i wouldn't say its from the front. more accurately, omni-direction, as it should be smile.gif
then its good then... rclxms.gif
TSQuazacolt
post Jun 9 2010, 10:10 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

hmm turning the tweeters half facing the windscreen (basically projecting against "each other" as opposed to me) almost completely solve the tweeter being harsh problem on certain high freq/pitches.

cant imagine a slight change like that could have such a rather huge difference. all thanks to you guys responding in this thread/forum that i could complete my first step into ICE biggrin.gif
mnkh27
post Jun 9 2010, 10:41 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(highway04 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:42 PM)
then its good then... rclxms.gif
you lose quite a bit of detail and dynamics by doing that. not really a long term solution.

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0263sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:06 PM