same here, i wonder will it get cheaper than this? BTW, SIS sg provides that same warranty as SIS msia?
HTC Hero
HTC Hero
Sep 4 2009, 06:37 PM
385 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
same here, i wonder will it get cheaper than this? BTW, SIS sg provides that same warranty as SIS msia?
Sep 11 2009, 04:10 PM
Sep 12 2009, 07:41 PM
i guess is it will be very soon, in the mean time, we can use google maps.
Sep 13 2009, 04:11 PM
Sep 14 2009, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(naTTan @ Sep 14 2009, 08:54 PM) Yeah i was thinking about that too. I am not sure on the SPL changeability of Magic devices, since they would be using the new SPL. I hacked my phone, HTC s170, hard spl it, then reflash back to ori rom b4 passing to them for warranty, guess what, it works, twice( 2nd time is because i complain they peel off a lot of the paint).Btw isn't CIMB store selling it for like RM 1999? CIMB deal Quite a bargain actually BTW the only think you loose with this compared to Hero is the 5MP camera only i guess? And form factor. So, they can't detect any software changes. U loose the camera, the interface and lotz of memory. |
Sep 15 2009, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(itanium @ Sep 15 2009, 01:13 AM) So...CIMB is selling at rm1999 where else they ALSO advertised the retailed value is rm2599.....so...anyone bought a unit from CIMB yet? However you must consider that android is a relatively new OS and requires additional software development and marketing. So it is still acceptable that the handsets are in the same price range. Also you do need to note that Microsoft maybe selling windows mobile at a relative cheap price.Chinese saying.....no such thing as a big frog jumping around - and eventhough there is...bound to be run over by a modded Z350 real bad....like 'squished'..... SO..until we have a verified CIMB customer with THAT handset(eventhough with obligation++ til rm2599) its vaporware. In this world - nothing is for free. p/s actually i agree with another poster earlier about Android sets VS OS3/WM 6.5 sets..............since Android OS is free-READ FOC- the sets should 'by-right' be cheaper compared to others....but then again.'sigh' you know la..capitalist market - they have to make money what. |
Sep 15 2009, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Sep 15 2009, 09:49 AM) I have a good news guise! cool, let the price wars begin.I called SIS Distribution just now, and they told me that HTC Hero is ready for purchase! They shipped stocks to shops this morning and by afternoon the phone will be available to us, well probably tomorrow (to allow shops to sort their stocks). Uh oh I should get my money ready XD |
Sep 16 2009, 01:51 PM
hey, take a look at the touchHD(blackstone), it has almost the same specs as the hero, TouchHD have a bigger screen but a cheaper resistive touch screen but the hero has a more expensive capacitive screen yet hero only sells for 2.2 - 2.3K retail yet HD sells for 3.2K retail.
Sep 18 2009, 03:24 PM
Sep 18 2009, 08:40 PM
flashing is not permanent, it is not modifying the baseband, therefore it is not detectable when u reflash to normal rom. Just flash.
Sep 19 2009, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(JayC75 @ Sep 19 2009, 03:04 PM) ya..can it run garmin map? or specially malfreemap format? i think what you need is papago X5 is a better alternative since the maps from malsingmaps are the most updated and free.also, if we install the ROM from XDA forum, will it void the warranty?? What is the cheapest set available currently, i don't care about warranty. |
Sep 20 2009, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(bsbgal @ Sep 20 2009, 02:45 AM) Hie hie... I'm new here Simple, if you are a power user (hacking,rooting,jailbreaking) go for hero, if you are just a normal user, choose the iphone.-BBSGAL- |
Sep 20 2009, 04:51 PM
Sep 25 2009, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Sep 24 2009, 04:43 PM) Ok so I called them (damn hard to connect to the tech dept. And the recorded machine voice also sounds unprofessional lol). Just to scare you a little bit, your rooting esstially flashes the original SPL with a modded one.HOWEVER, it will be replace with the original one by flashing the original roms, and it does take the root access away from you.Flashing voids the warranty. Basically that's it lah. Then they talked about SPL (?) and all (I don't know what is SPL or whatnot). They said as long as the SPL is intact, the warranty is there. In other word, as long as HTC cannot detect any mod (software/hardware) made to the Hero, then the warranty is there. Jiahaha so basically my Hero has no warranty already. Oh my... How to check this SPL thing ha? I burned the warranty on the 2nd day. Meh then no point I paid RM50 extra for extended warranty XD~ About the SPL thing, I flashed my wm6 with a modded spl aka hardspl but reflash it to the original one just before sending it for warranty, and no, they can't detect that ethier. |
Oct 7 2009, 12:10 AM
I think that hero is my next phone but I wondering if it is worth to buy it now or later cuz i am not really rushing. Does anyone think that there will be promotions (free stuff or cheaper price) down the line between now and november?
Oct 7 2009, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(yan5619 @ Oct 7 2009, 12:16 AM) I have a similar question as above too~ is there any news of similar newer phones to be coming out? there is a rumor that the next phone is called htc dragron with the snapdragon chipset which is way way faster than the current one but i think you will have to wait for another year to use it...if not, i'm getting one on mid nov or december Anyway, my main question is, is the music quality nice for Hero? Reading from some user reviews, it is said tat the stock ear phones aint good enuf... has anyone tried it with 3rd party aftermarket head/earphones? regards. |
Oct 7 2009, 10:37 PM
Oct 17 2009, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(ElmI @ Oct 17 2009, 01:05 AM) Dun know bout that tho.Since i upgraded to the newest radio, signal become quite unstable. I believe someone at said the hero has a larger scale for radio signals, 1 or 2 bars equals to 4 bars on some phones.Sometimes got full bar, but normally only got 1 or 2 bar. I think the old radio is better. Iirc, it maintain at 3 bar. ![]() @evilpuppy im also searching for a leather pouch. right now only using soft puoch given by the shop. So far none really catch the eye. Nway, where do u find that pouch..ebay? Its quit nice..but the price... |
Oct 18 2009, 07:11 PM
Oct 19 2009, 01:52 AM