Nokia X6 - New Nokia X Series, 1st Nokia S60v5 Capacitive Touchscreen

p3tp3t
post Feb 27 2010, 08:10 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Sep 23 2009, 07:19 PM)
5800 is resistive, x6 is capacitive.
the way they work is different.
capacitive means what? huge capacity?? and resistive means wat ar..?? i dumb in phones but this x6 really caught my attention doh.gif
andrekua
post Feb 27 2010, 08:17 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(p3tp3t @ Feb 27 2010, 08:10 PM)
capacitive means what? huge capacity?? and resistive means wat ar..?? i dumb in phones but this x6 really caught my attention  doh.gif
A resistive touchscreen panel is composed of several layers, the most important of which are two thin, metallic, electrically conductive layers separated by a narrow gap. When an object, such as a finger, presses down on a point on the panel's outer surface the two metallic layers become connected at that point: the panel then behaves as a pair of voltage dividers with connected outputs. This causes a change in the electrical current which is registered as a touch event and sent to the controller for processing.

A capacitive touchscreen panel consists of an insulator such as glass, coated with a transparent conductor such as indium tin oxide (ITO).[2][3] As the human body is also a conductor, touching the surface of the screen results in a distortion of the body's electrostatic field, measurable as a change in capacitance. Different technologies may be used to determine the location of the touch. The location can be passed to a computer running a software application which will calculate how the user's touch relates to the computer software.

** copied from wiki **

Added on February 27, 2010, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Feb 27 2010, 07:35 PM)

X6 using capacitive touchscreen which is better than 5800(resistive).But some say X6 screen is too sensitive.
Upgrading from a 5800, perhaps.

Im kinda impressed by the screen actually. With my 5800, Im kinda restricted to using my thumb as I dont keep long nails except for thumb ( and thats on purpose to avoid using stylus). But with X6, the fun is that you can use any finger to control it as it response very well with skin touch than pressure touch like fingernail. It does feel sluggish at times. I thought it should have better hardware to deal with it as it is very expensive.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Feb 27 2010, 08:27 PM
moniqee
post Feb 27 2010, 08:31 PM

7,864 posts

yeah X6 is for fingers... but not stylus... so those who liked to used stylus would have to aim for 5800
BRY7
post Feb 27 2010, 11:11 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Feb 27 2010, 08:31 PM)
yeah X6 is for fingers... but not stylus... so those who liked to used stylus would have to aim for 5800
nowdays most ppl prefer to use fingers.
moreover the 5800 is already an old model.
time to move on.
nicholasbeh
post Feb 28 2010, 01:25 AM

4,518 posts

it depends.some ppl prefer capacitive some prefer resistive.for me,i prefer resistive because when resistive is very useful for small little icon.capacitive seems troublesome for me.
eeeee7
post Feb 28 2010, 08:52 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Feb 27 2010, 11:11 PM)
nowdays most ppl prefer to use fingers.
moreover the 5800 is already an old model.
time to move on.
btw i like ur point, yeah move on move on
PrinceCaspien
post Feb 28 2010, 09:00 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(moniqee @ Feb 27 2010, 08:31 PM)
i use finger on my 5800, never use my stylus.
BRY7
post Feb 28 2010, 09:04 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(eeeee7 @ Feb 28 2010, 08:52 AM)
btw i like ur point, yeah move on move on
haha, thanks

Added on February 28, 2010, 9:05 am
QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Feb 28 2010, 09:00 AM)
i use finger on my 5800, never use my stylus.
yeah, no problem
but the sensitivity is not as good @ using stylus, cos that fone is resistive touchscreen

This post has been edited by BRY7: Feb 28 2010, 09:05 AM
Darkmage12
post Feb 28 2010, 09:18 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

now resistive and capacitive not much difference already
kyoko4eva
post Feb 28 2010, 02:36 PM

idle!
908 posts

this phone able to use flash like youtube/ facebook games or not?
super_evil_alien
post Feb 28 2010, 05:02 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Feb 28 2010, 09:18 AM)
Proven on N900 nod.gif
BRY7
post Feb 28 2010, 06:07 PM

7,924 posts

meaning?
about the same sensitivity?
lhongwuh
post Feb 28 2010, 06:14 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

hands on is more important..try it out yourself! rclxms.gif
BRY7
post Feb 28 2010, 06:32 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Feb 28 2010, 06:14 PM)
hands on is more important..try it out yourself! rclxms.gif
haha
ya, couldn't agree more
goldfries
post Feb 28 2010, 07:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

in its own right, it's a nice phone.

the problem is M'sia is a PRICE sensitive market. iPhone is where everyone looks at now, tonnes of apps. Business people almost always go BlackBerry.

then left what? teens who like music? shelling out RM 600 for CMW to be able to play on only the X6 and 1 PC isn't something attractive, it's a restriction.

If X6 minus RM 600 - i think people will like it better, most people are downloaders anyway. they like to be able to play music in multiple devices. download already on X6 and notebook, how to play on car or home entertainment without having to go through the hassle to setup just for the device?
BRY7
post Feb 28 2010, 08:21 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2010, 07:11 PM)
in its own right, it's a nice phone.

the problem is M'sia is a PRICE sensitive market. iPhone is where everyone looks at now, tonnes of apps. Business people almost always go BlackBerry.

then left what? teens who like music? shelling out RM 600 for CMW to be able to play on only the X6 and 1 PC isn't something attractive, it's a restriction.

If X6 minus RM 600 - i think people will like it better, most people are downloaders anyway. they like to be able to play music in multiple devices. download already on X6 and notebook, how to play on car or home entertainment without having to go through the hassle to setup just for the device?
yeah, hopefully the 16GB one will be released with a reasonable price
brucesss
post Feb 28 2010, 08:44 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 27 2010, 08:17 PM)
A resistive touchscreen panel is composed of several layers, the most important of which are two thin, metallic, electrically conductive layers separated by a narrow gap. When an object, such as a finger, presses down on a point on the panel's outer surface the two metallic layers become connected at that point: the panel then behaves as a pair of voltage dividers with connected outputs. This causes a change in the electrical current which is registered as a touch event and sent to the controller for processing.

A capacitive touchscreen panel consists of an insulator such as glass, coated with a transparent conductor  such as indium tin oxide (ITO).[2][3]  As the human body is also a conductor, touching the surface of the screen results in a distortion of the body's electrostatic field, measurable as a change in capacitance. Different technologies may be used to determine the location of the touch. The location can be passed to a computer running a software application which will calculate how the user's touch relates to the computer software.

** copied from wiki **

Added on February 27, 2010, 8:27 pm

Upgrading from a 5800, perhaps.

Im kinda impressed by the screen actually. With my 5800, Im kinda restricted to using my thumb as I dont keep long nails except for thumb ( and thats on purpose to avoid using stylus). But with X6, the fun is that you can use any finger to control it as it response very well with skin touch than pressure touch like fingernail. It does feel sluggish at times. I thought it should have better hardware to deal with it as it is very expensive.
really i am using o2 mini as my secondary phne and i am ok without using my stylus
and 5800 has a big screen... who needs a stylus on it
BRY7
post Feb 28 2010, 09:45 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Feb 28 2010, 08:44 PM)
really i am using o2 mini as my secondary phne and i am ok without using my stylus
and 5800 has a big screen... who needs a stylus on it
wow, amazing!!
haha
how can you use that fone without stylus?
lol
so hard
anyway this X6 has really good features.
just overpriced because of CWM
brucesss
post Feb 28 2010, 10:40 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Feb 28 2010, 09:45 PM)
wow, amazing!!
haha
how can you use that fone without stylus?
lol
so hard
anyway this X6 has really good features.
just overpriced because of CWM
but u gotta understand u will get free music la
nokia already sit pun giving it with cvm
but u cannot distribute the file la sad.gif
HexPhoenix
post Feb 28 2010, 10:42 PM

537 posts

good features? think again. If isn't because of 32GB memory + 3.5mm jack, I already switched back to my old Nokia Supernova.

Disaster lag is much more become disastrous day by day. sad.gif

129 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:26 PM