Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

reddice
post Oct 30 2009, 09:58 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Apple_Wannabe @ Oct 30 2009, 01:32 AM)
I've been going to gym for about 2 weeks now and i'm doing these weights.
Squat 75Kg
Deadlift 100Kg
Bench Press 50Kg
Overhead Press 25Kg ( there's this issue with my shoulder so i don't dare to do heavier in the mean time )
I've adding 5Kg every time i hit the gym for squat and deadlift. 2.5Kg for bench press.
Is it balanced? Should i slow down? I'm doing these in good postures though...im doing 1 day rest in between training
1.75cm 88Kg at the moment..planning to go down to 80Kg with more muscle mass and 10%-12% body fat by chinese new year (14th Feb)
u are damn strong..2 weeks already can push 50 kg bench??uish..that nice....
reddice
post Oct 31 2009, 12:28 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 30 2009, 09:59 PM)
I don't know why you guys post pics of such mutant freaks. For me, a much better physique to aim for is this:

It is the sort of body a human who had to labour with his body could get. It's not a superhyperthrophied steroid-induced mutant.
this is what i aim..hahahahha..nice...

reddice
post Nov 4 2009, 05:04 PM

124 posts

train hard,lift heavy with correct form...and compound smile.gif

eat banyak ( clean thing ) and dont expect it to be that fast...it take time and dedication smile.gif

p/s : a lot of people hoping to archive result in 2 month..aish..susah la
reddice
post Nov 5 2009, 10:22 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 4 2009, 11:16 PM)
heheheheh...how to say it...chest out..and look at the mirror..
bro...make sure the form is correct before u go heavy..put a 10 kilo weight and then practice ur form first smile.gif

p/s : youtube will help.a lot.....and deadlift is so good man....

This post has been edited by reddice: Nov 5 2009, 10:23 AM
reddice
post Nov 5 2009, 03:43 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 5 2009, 02:25 PM)
I am all against deadlifting facing the mirror. Why?  When  you deadlift facing the mirror, you tend to check how your grip is, you tend to look down, loose tightness etc etc...face away from the mirror.
hehehe..my gym all around mirror..if wanna search for non mirror part..have to go behind the smitch machine la..ehehehhe...it could be wall...anything..as long as u are facing it....

the point is dont look down,look in front..it will change the form..this one cannot explain one..just try smile.gif
reddice
post Nov 5 2009, 05:06 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 5 2009, 03:58 PM)
i am confuse.

squat is suppose to look at the point down 6ft from you
deadlift ditto
no?
they say "Keep your chest up at all time & look forward. Hyper-extending Your Back"

and i also never look down on my deadlift...(maybe diferent from other people)
reddice
post Nov 6 2009, 12:41 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 6 2009, 12:16 AM)
1 thing I've learned, is you will NEVER. Never. For once, I'll dare to say "NEVER" correct every single technical flaw in a lift via watching videos. There are LOADS of things my coach has taught me previously, which I already thought I knew about. He could nitpick my "presumed" perfect squat so much, from my head angle, hip tilt, hamstring involvement, depth, weaknesses, arm position, ankle angle and even how I "think" when I squat. And mind you, I've been squatting for about 1 1/2 years prior to him teaching me.

And today, after my coach left and me experimenting with a few other systems of training, I have understood very clearly why the Chinese dominated in the Olympic weightlifting stage. Why they have 69KG lifters back squatting 260KG and how their 105KG lifter snatched 205KG (5KG above world record) as well as why so many of their 69KG lifters can deadlift at least 280KG (because they do clean pulls, not deadlifts. Deadlifts will be even higher as it's more posterior chain recruitment instead of quads)  The Chinese system is almost flawless. I'm so thankful I learned from him for nearly 2 years. If I can sit and explain to you how the Chinese system works, you'll drown in how complex, yet SIMPLE it is.

Now if Chinese are the 2nd smartest people in the world, and Jewish are smartest, I wonder why Israel lifters will be developing in the near future.
how i wish i could meet u to discuss and learn from u smile.gif
now i only learn from youtube and some fella in my gym..and here smile.gif

This post has been edited by reddice: Nov 6 2009, 12:59 PM
reddice
post Nov 6 2009, 02:48 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Nov 6 2009, 02:38 PM)
always can make a day trip to melaka. hahahah... =.=
im from seremban also..very near... smile.gif
reddice
post Nov 6 2009, 05:09 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(diablokun @ Nov 6 2009, 04:17 PM)
upload your progress pictars edi brah...
monday la...will upload..today a bit busy smile.gif
reddice
post Nov 8 2009, 12:44 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 7 2009, 10:21 PM)
oh deadlifting i only did that once.  At that time, I only did 5-6 times. I think was caused by squatting cz previously i squatted for more than 50 times per day.
more than 50 times???but deadlift 5-6 reps only..hurm...u do deadlift for warm up??just panas badan??per day..u do every day is it??
what ur lifting weight??deadlift and squat??

p/s : i bookmarked this smile.gif.... im noobs, i wanna know....

This post has been edited by reddice: Nov 8 2009, 12:54 AM
reddice
post Nov 8 2009, 11:48 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 8 2009, 10:59 AM)
dont follow me!  mine is wrong!!!  sweat.gif god knows i may be as noob as u
5x5 is 5x5,
i do wonder how u can get that wrong..
but anyway.read the program over and over again...
better than wasted ur energy and time doing wrong exercise smile.gif
reddice
post Nov 17 2009, 09:42 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:16 AM)
I used to have the same problem when I first started. It feels like the elbow is ripping off during barbell tricep extension !!!!!!! Too much pressing movement in your routine, I was going thru your journal. Pressing movement > Pulling movement both horizontal and vertical plane. You need to include more rowing motions (from waht i Conceived, there is no rowing motion in your routine) and layoff the pressing movement or start adding some board presses(let me know if u wanna know how)

it's disheartening i know. But taking two steps back now ensures long term progress.

A few solutions I learnt from EliteFTS

1)Tricep extension using chains (go to a hardware store and get the 1/4' or 5/8' diameter chains) instead of DB's or BB's. This way there is less weight at the bottom of the lift where there's more stress on the joint and more at the top. It's has worked well and I have gotten stronger while doing it.

2)JM press while lying on the floor and using a fat bar (get some air conditioning ductin(black in colour), cut it and wrap it around the bar). Not sure about all of the science behind it, but the fat bar changes the angle of the movement and seems to take some of the pressure off the elbow and puts it on the meaty portion of the tricep just above the elbow. It does put some stress on the joint, but the shortened movement aleviates a lot of it.

3)High Board presses (1-board, 2-board, 3-board press) also shorten the range of motion and stress placed on the joint, but still put a tremendous amount of stress on the tricep allowing it get stronger. Even using heavier weights you should still be alright.

4)Wear neoprene elbow sleeves. It keeps the joint warm and offers some support at the same time.

5)Glucosamine/Chondroitin and Fish oil supplements. I have been taking these for a while and have noticed a huge difference. Plus, all three of the Orthopaedists I see recommended it. They can't all be wrong, right?
thanks bro,i also having the same problem....some exercise like barbell tricep extension and Shoulder Barbell Pull do trigger this pain..

i have it for more than 1 week but it's better now smile.gif

reddice
post Dec 3 2009, 10:51 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Dec 3 2009, 12:20 AM)
hahaha... =.=
185kg to be exact. =.=
well, that one with strap ma. and also that one is ancient history.
now? haha i doubt i can lift 150kg. =.=
185 kilo??peh....

i doubt u will lose ur strength.. smile.gif

i really cant lift without strap...lose grip at even 125 kilo sad.gif
yesterday i deadlift after 2 weeks of rest due to some kursus i have to attended..
i doing compound work.Deadlift,bench and squat to trigger all the muscle first before start back to one muscle per day..

mentally i feel that i cannot lift,but i just push the weight...add more and more..
and to my suprise i can lift my 1 max reps yesterday at 340 pounds ( plus 40 for the bar )
and feel like i could push more..maybe another 20 pounds...

340 pounds with no belt on..haish..if use belt,i cannot lift t hat heavy..how??
reddice
post Dec 3 2009, 11:59 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 3 2009, 11:46 AM)
i lost grip at 110kg also. but with then i tried doing this, i can still hold 135kg for 3 seconds.

uish..i think that gonna hurt..but will try later on..eheh
now just using strap..

diablokun,i addicted to deadlift la..susah nak berenti..hahah
reddice
post Dec 3 2009, 03:23 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Dec 3 2009, 01:28 PM)
In the end I did 20 sets of 5 on the military press.

I'VE GOT DA POWA!
what the weight??

erm..better go for heavy weight and do 5x5 insted of 20x5

imho ok....eheheheh icon_rolleyes.gif

reddice
post Dec 3 2009, 11:42 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Dec 3 2009, 05:04 PM)
It isn't very heavy, it's slightly more than 60% of my 1RM. And it's done on very short rest period, only one minute plus, so it does increase work capacity.

I'm actually doing a little experiment based on Pavel Tsatsouline's Russian Bear program. So far it's working very well. I will do an extensive write-up about it when I'm done.

Basically in terms of hypertrophy, I've never really responded well to high rep schemes, the typical bodybuilder 8-12 reps and 3-4 sets. I gained muscle very well on Rippetoe's program which was basically low repetitions, so I decided to give this program a shot.

I'm currently focusing on hypertrophy and putting on as much weight as possible over the next 3 months. We'll see how it goes.
hehehe...nothing la bro....i try to learn that why i ask smile.gif

been focusing with heavy weight and max ot program..
thought of changing and do some experimental workout to know which suite my body better..

i love to see the progress,will stick to maxx ot for now smile.gif

Black Judy,try egonutritions for harbinger..or if u muslim,go to maxx fitness also ok... smile.gif
coz harbinger is non halal..last time i wanna buy..tak boleh pulak..eheheheh
reddice
post Dec 4 2009, 08:13 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Dec 3 2009, 11:49 PM)
Harbinger sells supplement?
no,he is asking this "Guys, anyone know where can i get gym training gloves"

reddice
post Dec 4 2009, 11:51 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 4 2009, 10:09 AM)
That's because you don't mix and match your rep ranges and weights. Or either that you don't mix around your rest period. Or you've got bad form. My cousin who's 6'3 and weighs 82KG only, could deadlift 100KG for 5x3 after tweaking his form. Initially he was struggling with merely 50KG. Form is of utmost importance for safety and pulling max weights.
i second this..i've seen many people at my gym wrongly rounded their back while doing deadlift..and becoz of the form,the can lift heavy...

Black Judy, i think mid valley got la..try seach google,forgot already smile.gif

egonutritions got harbinger,u can see at Ego site

egonutritions is at "the curve" damansara

This post has been edited by reddice: Dec 4 2009, 11:52 AM
reddice
post Dec 4 2009, 12:04 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 4 2009, 12:02 PM)
anyone here bought weightlifting straps? i wanna know around how much this thing is.

rm 26 (now 23,just checked sad.gif )

egonutritions damansara

help me a lot in deadlift flex.gif

This post has been edited by reddice: Dec 4 2009, 12:06 PM
reddice
post Dec 4 2009, 01:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Dec 4 2009, 12:25 PM)
eg.?

this,rm 31

0.0485sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:53 PM