Nikon D90 v4, First DSLR with HD video recording

Sp00kY
post Nov 6 2009, 02:26 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Nov 6 2009, 02:09 PM)
not tamron...but Im planning to buy Raynox DCR-250 Super Macro Close Up Lens, what do you think?
thanx to try understand me & sorry for my poor english sad.gif 
means, I still not utilize all the D90 function with full potential & just seldom used for shoot pictures..

there are few D90's function which I still not familiar with such bracketing, Long exp. NR, Multiple exposure,  Focus point wrap-around & AE-L/AF-L.

reads the manual book over & over again, still not understand lor.. sad.gif
see if i can help

bracketing: takes a few picture at one go with different setting.the setting can be different exposure, white balance or ADL.

long exp. NR: Noise tends to built up when u expose the sensor for a long time. (if not mistaken is due to heat or something). Just like high iso noise NR, u can set the long exposure NR to your desired setting. However, i dont remember when does long exp NR kicks in. my guess: 1 sec?

Multiple exposure: frankly, i dont really know. My guess its like HDR gua...I tried this and it takes a few shots in burst...

focus point wrap around: try choosing the left most AF point and click left on ur D-pad again. If this feature is off, ur focus point remains at the most left AF point. If this feature is on, ur AF focus point will now move to the right most AF point.

AE-L/AF-L: u can change what the button does. I choose AEL (HOLD). When i press the button, the exposure wil be locked.

test and test then u will understand

Sp00kY
post Nov 6 2009, 07:28 PM

3,366 posts

@rleng: I like #2, why did u chopped off the ground for #1? not widddddddde enuf?
Sp00kY
post Nov 7 2009, 12:45 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Nov 6 2009, 04:08 PM)
Long Exposure Noise Reduction will take as long as youre exposure. So if youre exposure is 30 seconds, the NR will take another 30 seconds. I tried it a few times but cannot tahan having to wait so long.  doh.gif So now I turn this option off. The default setting when you bought your camera is off I think.

From what I read, what the long exposure NR reduction does is to "take another pic" at the same exposure (this part I'm not to sure, but probably with shutter closed) so as to register the hot pixels of the sensor at that particular long exposures. What is does is to then subtract these hot pixel locations from your exposure. Maybe I read this for Canon 1D forgot already. I assume D90 also doing the same thing.  hmm.gif

Alternative way is to learn Wushu (the Malaysian version of Ninjitsu).  biggrin.gif
thanks!
Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2009, 09:48 AM

3,366 posts

morning all!

Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2009, 11:11 AM

3,366 posts

no la...found some old coins and i have nothing to do, so i just snap smile.gif
Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2009, 12:19 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Nov 9 2009, 11:55 AM)
hehe...would be nicer if the coins can be shot on top of white surfaces..this would give a better contrast =) try shooting it on a piece of paper =)
noted sir....wanted to give it an antique feel ...dark and mysterious smile.gif..
Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2009, 04:23 PM

3,366 posts

xcrue: 50mm 1.4? Congrats...I love playing with my cheapo 50mm too smile.gif

Sp00kY
post Nov 9 2009, 08:53 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Nov 9 2009, 05:48 PM)
actually wat diff is SD vs SDHC vs the EXRTEME II ah ?
SD = Secure digital
SDHC = SD High Capacity, if not mistaken above 2/4gb is considered as SDHC....

So don't have to worry about SDHC/SD, u can get a SDHC for 1gb...no worries.

as for, extreme II is just a name used by Sandisk. SD card read/write speed is determine by the class.
Class 1 to 6.
In order to be in class 6, the read/write speed has to be higher than 6mb/s.

I don't know about extreme II but extreme III is class 6 and the speed is ~20mb/s(if not mistaken).
however, not all class 6 is 20mb/s...just remember that class 6 is higher than 6mb/s smile.gif
some class 6 speed is 10mb/s......sandisk has 30mb/s too....

this is what i understand about SD cards.....so when u buy sdcards, and if u want high speed, go get a class 6 but check the minimum guaranteed speed. i am using class 6 too, the speed is 20mb/s.

correct me if im wrong wink.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Nov 9 2009, 05:03 PM)
^ dont use 1.8.. try 2.8 or 4-5
QUOTE(shinjun @ Nov 9 2009, 05:06 PM)
All spam bokeh from f1.8.. sad.gif

I only got bokeh from 18-105mm lens.

18-105mm is a very sharp lens ok! smile.gif
I realized that 50mm 1.8 is a bit soft at 1.8. Acceptable at 2~2.2 but i prefer the perf at 2.5. Now I mostly shoot at 2 or 2.5 if I can smile.gif.
f/4 is pretty decent! smile.gif...go get it, cheap, good built, fast focus and decent IQ smile.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Nov 9 2009, 04:23 PM)
xcrue: 50mm 1.4? Congrats...I love playing with my cheapo 50mm too smile.gif

above shot at f/2.8, sharpness acceptable for me wink.gif

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 9 2009, 08:56 PM
Sp00kY
post Nov 10 2009, 08:58 PM

3,366 posts

shootx2: nice!

Added on November 10, 2009, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(zulboydarn @ Nov 10 2009, 08:39 PM)
guys, i want to upgrade my DSLR...
currently i'm using D60..
i was thinking on upgrading either to D90 or D3000...
anyone?
d60 = d3000 la. smile.gif i dont see a point smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 10 2009, 09:00 PM
Sp00kY
post Nov 11 2009, 12:28 PM

3,366 posts

it shud be flare, try removing ur filter

lunch time peeps:
Sp00kY
post Nov 11 2009, 05:39 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 11 2009, 02:59 PM)
Hi All..

I'm a new D90 owner.. Can someone pls add me into the user list? Thanks.
woohoo welcome....

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Nov 11 2009, 03:30 PM)
I got quote from Boeing for SB900 at RM1580. Fotokem Sunway RM1620. Time to grab one eh? ^^,
can get 2 sb600 for that price oh blush.gif if u need the extra power and feature then go for it smile.gif

my new wallpaper:

Sp00kY
post Nov 11 2009, 05:46 PM

3,366 posts

i dun think my pc can run W7 LOL.....
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 12:48 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Nov 11 2009, 09:52 PM)
Normally in what condition or what event, u will use 50mm lens ?
when I feel like using it smile.gif...
1) when I want BOKEH
2) when I cant use my flash and the lights are insufficient

Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 10:08 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 12 2009, 09:57 AM)
I got mine at excel photo as it's recommend by my fren.
I'm just using the normal 8gb sdhc nia.. will only get a better one once i'm more familiar wif my cam.
you will only need a higher speed memory card if you are planning to burst smile.gif...
else, a normal SD should be ok smile.gif
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 11:27 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Nov 12 2009, 11:06 AM)
i was comparing the d80 with the d90...feel the d90 colour more warm...need to play with the setting more unlike the d80
honestly, i wouldn't recommend a D80.
the main reason is because it is running on CCD whilst D90 is on CMOS.
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 11:59 AM

3,366 posts

toshiba should be fine, coz im using one 16gb one...no problem so far wink.gif

Added on November 12, 2009, 12:06 pmspam for the day:

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Nov 12 2009, 12:14 PM
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 02:10 PM

3,366 posts

shadow111: lol, yeah I realized that too that is why I have another one like that: Thanks ya~

Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 03:38 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Nov 12 2009, 02:45 PM)
1 small question to ask:
hmm im actually already with D700 quite sometime
but then i still have my D90 +18-200 VR with me
im thinking should i keep it or should i sell it?? i rarely use it
even when i go out for dinners or places requires less attention cant pull out the big gun... so use the small digital camera

i still thinking but the advantages of DX can use it for wild life only
i am very tempted to get a FX too because of the larger sensor = better bokeh (DOF) and noise control.
the cons is perhaps the choices of lens, to be more accurate is the $$$ for the lenses....
DX cams are pretty good (apart from noise and DOF la)..esp the D300 series....but i prefer the 7D la haha
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 06:51 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(faiz92 @ Nov 12 2009, 05:29 PM)
And FX lens is very expensive indeed. Unless you wanna buy FX body with prime then quite cheap la.
Why nikon FX is super expensive eh? For big boys only ah? tongue.gif
i realized nikon apa pun expensive!

shadow111: thanks for the tip
Sp00kY
post Nov 12 2009, 07:45 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Nov 12 2009, 07:33 PM)
yeah i tot of concentrate on 1 body , tot of using the D90 to fund future lens tongue.gif
thanks for the opinions
primes are not cheap as well those are even pain in the A** when paying the bill haha
What lens?smile.gif..

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0485sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:38 PM