Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread v13

jim18992
post Oct 4 2009, 10:55 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 4 2009, 10:18 PM)
Hi all,

I'm interested to have 1 gundam model for a start, maybe will consider more if i'm enjoying it.. currently i'm considering between 1/60 Exia no grade and MG wing zero custom.. Exia because of the size and zero custom is because of the cool angelic wing..

From some reviews i saw, the Exia seems great even though it's a 'no grade'. Wing zero custom even though it's 1/100, looks great as well.. Kinda torn between these two, or maybe if anybody can suggest something else that'd be much appreciated..  smile.gif

Between these 2 choice, best would be the MG wing, bt because u are a starter, I advise strongly tht follow the manual closely and slowly when u fixing the gundam.
golbeza
post Oct 4 2009, 11:06 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Oct 4 2009, 10:33 PM)
nothing leh... link not found.
http://toysdaily.com/discuz/thread-110357-1-1.html

^ fixed
seems tat StarGhazzer forgot to put the 'l' word at the 'html' tongue.gif
hash09
post Oct 4 2009, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Oct 4 2009, 10:55 PM)
Between these 2 choice, best would be the MG wing, bt because u are a starter, I advise strongly tht follow the manual closely and slowly when u fixing the gundam.
Thanks for the advice,

Yea I never built any Gundam model before sweat.gif .. I guess since MG would require some experience, maybe I'll just get the exia since I prefer them big anyways, probably bigger parts are easier to put together.. HG is kinda small for me.. Any non PG 1/60 model that's better than exia that you can suggest? So far from my research I found that he's the best..
clivengu
post Oct 5 2009, 01:03 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 4 2009, 11:27 PM)
Thanks for the advice,

Yea I never built any Gundam model before  sweat.gif  .. I guess since MG would require some experience, maybe I'll just get the exia since I prefer them big anyways, probably bigger parts are easier to put together.. HG is kinda small for me.. Any non PG 1/60 model that's better than exia that you can suggest? So far from my research I found that he's the best..
actually Mg not really as hard as u thought... as long as u can follow instruction.. u wont mess up.. my first mg was GP01 still one of my favourite design gundam.. hope they come out with MG v2 for this
akachester
post Oct 5 2009, 01:32 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 4 2009, 11:27 PM)
Thanks for the advice,

Yea I never built any Gundam model before  sweat.gif  .. I guess since MG would require some experience, maybe I'll just get the exia since I prefer them big anyways, probably bigger parts are easier to put together.. HG is kinda small for me.. Any non PG 1/60 model that's better than exia that you can suggest? So far from my research I found that he's the best..
To be honest, i will still jump straight to the MG if money is not an issue. I started off just like you as well, thinking of purchasing something simpler in the sense of HG just to have a test. But after purchasing my first MG (after i got my first NG), i felt that MG aint that hard either. It just contain more small parts and "seem" complicated but as long as you follow the manual, there should not be any problem. smile.gif
unpronunceable
post Oct 5 2009, 05:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 4 2009, 11:18 PM)
Hi all,

I'm interested to have 1 gundam model for a start, maybe will consider more if i'm enjoying it.. currently i'm considering between 1/60 Exia no grade and MG wing zero custom.. Exia because of the size and zero custom is because of the cool angelic wing..

From some reviews i saw, the Exia seems great even though it's a 'no grade'. Wing zero custom even though it's 1/100, looks great as well.. Kinda torn between these two, or maybe if anybody can suggest something else that'd be much appreciated..  smile.gif

iya dont worry as long u dont throw or burn the manual away can d. I even see secondary school kids so rich jump straight to pg
jim18992
post Oct 5 2009, 07:39 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Oct 5 2009, 01:32 PM)
To be honest, i will still jump straight to the MG if money is not an issue. I started off just like you as well, thinking of purchasing something simpler in the sense of HG just to have a test. But after purchasing my first MG (after i got my first NG), i felt that MG aint that hard either. It just contain more small parts and "seem" complicated but as long as you follow the manual, there should not be any problem. smile.gif
Ya, just follow the manual.

bt dont be like me though, MG Crossbone Gundam as my first MG, damn so many small part laugh.gif Hard to pasang, plus I finish it within half a day due to my inpatient self during tht time, and I was feeling sleepy when almost complete cause tht time it was already 3am.

So after i did my 3rd MG, and I look back at my first, I really sweat.gif and dismantle everything and do it properly
ka6_jeram
post Oct 6 2009, 04:00 AM

18 posts

My gundams always nearly fall from the cabinet. Do anyone could sugggest a solution? Should I just double sidded tape the gundam's feet?
Exiled_Gundam
post Oct 6 2009, 08:56 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(ka6_jeram @ Oct 6 2009, 04:00 AM)
My gundams always nearly fall from the cabinet. Do anyone could sugggest a solution? Should I just double sidded tape the gundam's feet?
Hmm if you don't have too many, maybe can put them on action base
inquisytor
post Oct 6 2009, 09:49 AM

Blue tag
Naskie
post Oct 6 2009, 12:15 PM

42 posts

Who wants to buy PG Skygrasper + MG GM ver2.0 and a HGUC D-arms. please let me know..

i dont know if you guys know this.. hyaku shiki HD mode is being sell at 169. is that cheap?
hash09
post Oct 6 2009, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(jim18992 @ Oct 5 2009, 07:39 PM)
Ya, just follow the manual.

bt dont be like me though, MG Crossbone Gundam as my first MG, damn so many small part laugh.gif Hard to pasang, plus I finish it within half a day due to my inpatient self during tht time, and I was feeling sleepy when almost complete cause tht time it was already 3am.

So after i did my 3rd MG, and I look back at my first, I really sweat.gif  and dismantle everything and do it properly
Hmm I saw some MGs on display, for me they seem kinda small, between TF deluxe and voyager size.. a bit bigger than HG 1/144 I guess.. since I want 1 or 2 first for play and posing purposes to get the feel of owning Gundam, that's why I'm thinking of getting a 1/60 size so that it stands out on my shelf, but of course PG is out of my budget.. maybe I'll get both, but try with the exia first hmm.gif ..
StarGhazzer
post Oct 6 2009, 12:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Either your cabinet has unstable joints, or someone is kicking at them regularly. Gunpla are usually sturdy enough to stand their own feet without falling down, unless it's an unbalanced design like the backpack-heavy Seed series or the Kyrios. Use some blue tack, get an action base, or make your own hangerwire stand.

QUOTE(Naskie @ Oct 6 2009, 12:15 PM)
i dont know if you guys know this.. hyaku shiki HD mode is being sell at 169. is that cheap?
4800 yen... you do the math loh. Although it's won't be a surprise if the seller is jacking up the price as the verHD is supposed to be a "limited edition".

QUOTE(hash09 @ Oct 6 2009, 12:40 PM)
Hmm I saw some MGs on display, for me they seem kinda small, between TF deluxe and voyager size.. a bit bigger than HG 1/144 I guess.. since I want 1 or 2 first for play and posing purposes to get the feel of owning Gundam, that's why I'm thinking of getting a 1/60 size so that it stands out on my shelf, but of course PG is out of my budget.. maybe I'll get both, but try with the exia first  hmm.gif ..
MGs are small, but they are highly detailed. 1/60s are not worth getting since they are merely blown-up versions of their 1/100 counterparts - which means inferior proportions and articulations compared to the MGs.

I don't understand why some people claim that beginners shouldn't try MG for a start. Unless you're trying something radical like kitbashing or custom-colouring, MGs are no more difficult than HGs in terms of snap-fitting. Follow the manual and everything will be fine.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Oct 6 2009, 12:58 PM
golbeza
post Oct 6 2009, 04:02 PM

58 posts

probably trying MGs for beginners isnt at best to the expert's eyes, lol at least tat's their opinions though, probably budget-wise too.

"beginners learn the cheap way, then they can go for the more-expensive kits (MGs, NG 1/100, PGs)" << i heard a lot of this sweat.gif

and i see no harm if beginners like to try a MG as a start liao laugh.gif , heck mine was the MG Gundam 2.0 and it turned out good liao
wuwah
post Oct 6 2009, 10:56 PM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

just follow the manual, everitin will be fine.. i do mg since 13. not really a prob since bandai give the manual. just take a little time at first. u know.. want to see really detail picture of manual etc. but it'll be ok when times go on..
Parody
post Oct 6 2009, 11:54 PM

MG or HG, it's the same.

it's a matter of how much money are you willing to lose if you accidentally break a core part?

RM70 for NG Exia or RM 320 for MG Ex-S? laugh.gif

wuwah
post Oct 7 2009, 12:19 AM

ai ai ai~
1,153 posts

EX-S superb.. who own it? how u'll pose it? gundam or jet?
i got a zeta plus c1. dunno which form better.. both i like.
Naskie
post Oct 7 2009, 08:05 AM

42 posts

then just get another one.. hehe tongue.gif one can be posed as jet and one as gundam.. biggrin.gif
chriswoo
post Oct 7 2009, 11:24 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Oct 6 2009, 12:50 PM)

I don't understand why some people claim that beginners shouldn't try MG for a start. Unless you're trying something radical like kitbashing or custom-colouring, MGs are no more difficult than HGs in terms of snap-fitting. Follow the manual and everything will be fine.
totally agree with u no matter HG or MG or PG everything also refer back to the basic knowladge of gunpla. Only thing that define difficulty is the number of parts and detail that you which to color and express your skill. otherwise snap fiting any bandai gundam kits is just follow the manual and basic skill.

QUOTE(golbeza @ Oct 6 2009, 04:02 PM)
probably trying MGs for beginners isnt at best to the expert's eyes, lol at least tat's their opinions though, probably budget-wise too.

"beginners learn the cheap way, then they can go for the more-expensive kits (MGs, NG 1/100, PGs)" << i heard a lot of this  sweat.gif

and i see no harm if beginners like to try a MG as a start liao  laugh.gif , heck mine was the MG Gundam 2.0 and it turned out good liao
well HG, FG is kinda good for the low buget type that want to do gunpla or pratice. but somehow mostly like mg because is an average among all 4 grade as well as it was highly articulated and accuracy in coloring mold (meaning no need to color).

QUOTE(wuwah @ Oct 7 2009, 12:19 AM)
EX-S superb.. who own it? how u'll pose it? gundam or jet?
i got a zeta plus c1. dunno which form better.. both i like.
well I also recently build my Zeta plus C1 and the wave rider form are nice. thumbup.gif

golbeza
post Oct 7 2009, 11:26 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Naskie @ Oct 7 2009, 08:05 AM)
then just get another one.. hehe tongue.gif one can be posed as jet and one as gundam.. biggrin.gif
lol, its like buying 2 Unicorn gundams, one pose it as unicorn mode & the other pose it as the destroyer mode sweat.gif

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:28 PM