4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V30!, The Orange Legion

Sp00kY
post Aug 27 2009, 01:07 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Aug 27 2009, 12:48 PM)
if i not wrong, if the graf more at the left side its underexposed, or right side overexposed.. or vice versa, i forgot which one.. sweat.gif
yupp, if the graph is more towards left meaning u have more blacks than whites....
its best to have it in the middle...same goes to your RGB histrograms

Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 12:29 AM

3,366 posts

A500/A550 seems nice!
Why base ISO 200 and cannot set to 100 isit?
another machine gun, 5fps (up to 7fps for a550)
Looks like an impressive quick machine...a550 can burst 16 RAWS! (12 bit or 14 bit?)
nice buttons, feels like canon on the top without LCD!

Added on August 28, 2009, 12:30 amMoo: A550 looks good! get tat!RRP 999 so shud be 3.6k?

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 28 2009, 12:30 AM
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 12:35 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Aug 28 2009, 12:01 AM)
talking about flash.. got fire at diff power one.. out default is set at 0. if u want lower power flash out it at -1 or -2. If want more power then put at 1 or 2..

I was too cheap to buy a flash gun and still is.. so i was researching on the flash power.. but if put at -1, it becomes under exposed.. if controlled manually with shutter speed, i think itll come out nicer.. but.. have to be pro at adjusting the correct aperture and shutter speed...

I think im better off with flash gun..
as albnok always say, flash always fire at full power but the duration is the KEY!
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 12:39 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Aug 28 2009, 12:37 AM)
Come come we arrange TT, u grab the users of A700, brows.gif  then you can test kau kau the A700 while i test the flash  tongue.gif

Spooky: duration of shutter speed or the flash? blum beli got alot of questions. after buy di.. i think you guys wont see me asking about flash adi.. lol
duration of flash
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 11:08 AM

3,366 posts

a850 is really very tempting, a 24mp FF at 2000 USD ~= RM7500...

Added on August 28, 2009, 11:13 am
QUOTE(andymillenium @ Aug 28 2009, 11:07 AM)
guys,

if im thinking of getting a new lens, should i go for those all-in-one lens like 18-200mm,18-250mm,18-105mm or should i get those 55-200mm, 70-200mm with my kitty lens?
interesting!

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Aug 28 2009, 11:13 AM
Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 05:48 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Aug 28 2009, 02:38 PM)
Hi albnok,

I run another test .. Test is under florescent light with F58 on body (no flash gel, etc) ..

Settings: Manual Mode
Aperture:  f4.5
Speed: 1/3
ISO: 320
Creative Style: Vivid 0 +1 +3 -2 -1

honestly, i dont understand on how to use color temperature WB. I know, there is common Kelvin WB in the first post of this thready but i have no idea on how it works... what is the color filter? there are a few numbers like 0 M1-M9 .. Thanks ..

Edit:
I tested with Kelvin WB on the first page .. I found that if I shoot with flash on, it will give more natural wb (accurate WB) if compared to no flash.. does it mean, Kelvin WB is for flash on? am i right?
u can set ur WB using 3 methods right?
1) The camera preset WB (AWB, daylight, tungsten, etc)
2) Using specific Kelvin temperature
3) Custom WB using grey card

The easiest will be option 1) but probably not so accurate. The most accurate will be 2) and 3). (3) u may need a grey card).
So why 1) not so accurate? AWB is always guessing ur lighting temp so that explains it. When u use the preset tungsten, it may be it at 2600k ( i dunno) but ur temp is actually 3000k tungsten.

option 2) is accurate if u know ur lighting temp very well. eg: my home tungsten light is 2900k.

regarding, M1-M9 that I am unsure smile.gif....

You found that using flash will give more accurate WB is because u know ur flash temp is 5500k and u set it at 5500k.....u can get accurate WB if u know ur lighitng temp well too smile.gif I believe the preset "flash" WB will set ur temp to ~5500k right?

So what is a color filter for?
Situation:you are in a tungsten lighting environment and u are using a flash right?

Flash only(u will set WB to FLASH or 5500k):
your subject will be lit with 5500k ligthing from ur flash and the background will be tungsten (say 2800k)...
result: ur background WB may be wrong right? because it is not 5500k smile.gif (ur background will be warmer than it shud be)

Flash with flash gel (orange) - you will set WB to tungsten/2800k)
your subject will be lit with ur flash+flash gel (2800k) and the background is tungsten (2800k)
result: ur background WB will be the same as ur subject WB right? so u will have accurate color for both background and subject smile.gif

Sorry for the long long post...correct me if i`m wrong.smile.gif WB is a very interesting and important topic..albnok tot me a lot smile.gif

Sp00kY
post Aug 28 2009, 07:16 PM

3,366 posts

tot31 : did u PP the pic?
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 02:01 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 1 2009, 01:52 PM)
Say what?

The A230/A330/A380/A500/A550 has its On/Off switch moved around the shutter like Nikon... and Canon puts their 7D On/Off switch where Minolta/Sony used to put it!

This is shocking coming from Canon, ever so stubborn to make changes to ergonomics. The Movie/Photo dial looks SO familiar. Hmmm. Also liking the orientation linked AF point. They stole the RAW button from Pentax.

Though, they lose the high-precision viewfinder screen by their transmissive LCD. Presumably people who shoot with F1.2 lenses in manual focus will use Live View (and blind themselves with the LCD in dark places where F1.2 would be good.)

Interesting that Canon is joining the D300s class - professional-grade single-grip APS-C.

Also more interesting is how little is really released for DPReview to say - the price is still TBC but according to http://www.imaging-resource.com/NEWS/1251777601.html it's USD 1699 for body only. They don't even have pictures of their new lenses!

So where should (or rather, where would, seeing that Sony will do what it thinks the market wants) Sony put an A700 replacement? As a step down, where the 50D is, with the price to match, or aim for the Canon 7D/D300s level?

Based on its featureset for different markets, we can see that Sony thinks that full-frame users are traditionalists who have no use for video. Let's hope the gadget-gizmo chasers, telephoto shooters and APS-C loving professionals make it into their market research.

Although it does seem like everybody in Japan must be tight-lipped or face competitors copying features, I know that there is a certain amount that brands know what each other is doing. It's just whether marketing/product planning makes it so, or not.

kev da man: I've been using RawTherapee; freeware with good batch processing.
haha, i was looking for the on-off switch too smile.gif....frankly the old 40d/50d style of on-off is quite annoying..smile.gif....

seems to be a good machine, 8fps, 19 crossed type sensors with f/2.8 middle one:)..interesting! but for US$1699? i rather get A850 which will be us$2000 ( and we know sony msia is always cheaper)
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 05:06 PM

3,366 posts

maybe they want to be different?
after all each brands have their pros and cons...look at the XXd series AF...all crossed-sensors...and 7d comes with 19 crossed sensors...

for sport/night/wild life shooters, it is quite important to have those features...
so each brands excel in some areas smile.gif....
sony flash is probably sony's strength....
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 05:24 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Sep 1 2009, 05:10 PM)
no, you don't have to. Nikon bodies like the D90 and D200 is able to communicate with any SB-600/800/900 using the onboard flash. of course, with the add-on you are able to control the flashes from further distances, but i'd still prefer radio triggers for their versatility. optical triggers can't see through the walls of a home, for instance.

compared to our wireless flash system, sony is still better. on the f42, i just cycle the flash mode to wireless, or set it on camera then pull the flash out. with nikon, i've got to press two buttons on the sb-600 for 5 seconds, cycle through the internal menu, turn wireless flash on, press the same two buttons again, then set the group and channel (for some INANE REASON it always ends up in group 3, channel A). on the D200, you'll have to go to the custom settings, flash, pop-up flash and select wireless.

two words - horse rice if you're a nikonian. i get to strobist the model way before you can set your flash - and i can do it without using two hands.
lol...this is not going to end...smile.gif

nikon menu is really lengthy and annoying in some ways smile.gif...
but u can control flash power/mode etc (both pop-up and external in wirless mode) with ur camera...
in short, make full use of what u have...

Added on September 1, 2009, 5:26 pm
QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Sep 1 2009, 05:11 PM)
noob abit, you talking about the external flash?

comparing cannon, or nikon, to the sony flash, sony flash really that powerful meh?
nvm got the statement above to clarify my question..

horse rice.. lol i like..

---------------------------------------------------
Date: 7th Sept. (More time to collect people)
Time: 9PM
Venue: PJ area, you decide.

Attendees:
1. Me
2. clivengu
3. dingenius3 (Maybe)
4. Moo
5. MemorableStudios

TT requested to change to wednesday and for easy access to me, my number is 0122019316.

Drag along some sifus =).
yes, im referring to ext flashes....
it is a plus for all sony bodies to support wireless, even the cheapest a200 supports it...cool aint it?
hence, they made flash a cheaper hobby and not a luxury smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Sep 1 2009, 05:26 PM
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 05:30 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Sep 1 2009, 05:27 PM)
as i said, i have already started to shoot when you are still fiddling with your settings. whistling.gif

no doubt, i love nikon's dual dial system, but something as simple as their much-purpoted CLS could do with a more refined menu.
lol..then u got what u need smile.gif..congrats....

Added on September 1, 2009, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(kev da man @ Sep 1 2009, 05:10 PM)
compared to our wireless flash system, sony is still better. on the f42, i just cycle the flash mode to wireless, or set it on camera then pull the flash out. with nikon, i've got to press two buttons on the sb-600 for 5 seconds, cycle through the internal menu, turn wireless flash on, press the same two buttons again, then set the group and channel (for some INANE REASON it always ends up in group 3, channel A). on the D200, you'll have to go to the custom settings, flash, pop-up flash and select wireless.
ooh meaning that u can set it to wireless either
1) setting flash to wireless
2) set it on camera then pull out the flash?

wow....i didn't know that, i always put my flash onto my camera then set it to wireless and remove it ..hmmm

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Sep 1 2009, 05:41 PM
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 06:15 PM

3,366 posts

hahah yeah, sony is really straight forward...i still remmeber when i first acquired the f42, albnok told me...just switch to WL mode, then popup ur flash and wireless is ready smile.gif lol...

its really simple...and for 700+ can get a F42, less tahn 1100 a f58 which is a really high end flash..its really a steal...

Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 06:21 PM

3,366 posts

I somehow like the redness caused by the WB
Sp00kY
post Sep 1 2009, 08:10 PM

3,366 posts

kev da man : OOF?
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 12:09 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Sep 3 2009, 11:41 AM)
public holiday for whole of malaysia or just peninsular?
i believe it is only for selangor sad.gif

Added on September 3, 2009, 12:09 pm
QUOTE(MemorableStudios @ Sep 3 2009, 11:51 AM)
yeap.. when i'm using A350.. the image quality is similar (if not better) than EOS50D,,, smile.gif
my opinion.. (of course the influence of SAL2470Z played a big role)..
its hard to compare like that la..no doubt, sony's resolution and colors are brilliant smile.gif...

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Sep 3 2009, 12:09 PM
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 12:12 PM

3,366 posts

ryzan76: got grasshopper/praying mantis or crickets? i love to see those
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 12:21 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Sep 3 2009, 12:12 PM)
ryzan76: Im still very amazed by ur bug shots..

Spooky: Even if its for selangor, im in selangor, my hr said that the public holday is not compulsary, they can make u work on that day.. and they are making me work..

Btw, i asked my boss.. The photog's name is danny. Ring a bell anyone? hahah.. He has already started to shoot.. so i didnt bother asking the photog's forum name..
yupp...i recently found out from a friend working in pg that comp have the option to ignore certain public holidays....IINM they have to give at least 9 out of (14/15) public holidays only....luckily my comp does not practice that heheh
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 12:43 PM

3,366 posts

DRO is supposed to
1) avoid blown highlights
2) bring out lights in shadows...

i think manual mode or not...DRO still works...correct me if im wrong...
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 01:01 PM

3,366 posts

eg: level 1, DRO brings out a bit of details in shadow while level 2 brings out more than level 1...
Sp00kY
post Sep 3 2009, 08:22 PM

3,366 posts

yes, went foto miami, the cheapest smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0401sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:58 PM