Sports Channel Price Hike, RM 12? Justified

TSREDShaun
post Aug 13 2009, 11:29 AM, updated 17y ago

115 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Aug 13 2009, 11:17 AM)
Ok, this is off LFC normal talk but i think it prudent to share.

I am sure by now most subscribers to Astro Sports Package has received the Price Hiked of RM 12 for the 811-814 channels. To some its a huge increase and to some its nothing, but the principle of it is a price hike by a monopoly that seems to strategised it at the time when they know most ppl will have no choice but to agree... the starting of the BPL and all football seasons.

I feel it was deliberately waited for the increase to coincide with the new football season. this kinda shows we are actually the majorities of the sports package subscribers. Somehow i did something i should have done earlier, cancel the package. yep, I will have no more Astro Sports Package to watch but I feel it actually happened for a reason. I think football should be enjoyed with company or fans or friends or at least ppl with the same passion about it.

So Astro actually did us all a favor to rethink the need to actually watch sports at home. Yes we know the CL games are in the wee hours of the morning but heck, online streaming? 24 hour mamaks? etc... I think its time to see if we are really the "idiot box" generation as many of our predecessors have mentioned or we can make a change and get out there with a drink (alcoholic or not) and hoist it every time a goal, a win, a lost is shared among friends.

So my post is a tribute to Astro, thank you for making me see football in a better light and continue to do a good job in making sure more ppl watch Astro outside the comforts of their own home tongue.gif

To all of us! Season starts this weekend and you'll see more fans coming out of their holes to watch it outside with fellow fans. Hurrah! and YNWA!
Ok I shared this in the LFC Talk area, but Solstice asked me to share it to all at the Lounge as I think it affects us all in a lesser or greater degree cool2.gif

also some views on your individual reaction would definitely be good blush.gif
Mochi_In_Forest
post Aug 13 2009, 11:43 AM

From my observation, it's the same tactic being used by Maxis. After getting huge number of "followers" (customers), they (the respective management team) will start to increase the profit margin by either increasing the price of the product, or reducing the existing benefits enjoyed by the customers. And I don't really agree with such tactic, sorry.

For me, it's OK to increase the price AS LONG AS they can improve the quality of their service, which couldn't be seen till this point of time. Therefore, I'm not going to pay for the extra RM12. Although it can be considered as a small amount, but it's the satisfaction that counts, IMHO.

That's my short & simple reaction smile.gif
TSREDShaun
post Aug 13 2009, 11:50 AM

115 posts

LOL, I still remember when our then Minister of Information and Multimedia..

Mr Lim said. "Aiyah...Don't like them, don't use them lor!"

that was classic tongue.gif
sickx
post Aug 13 2009, 11:54 AM

:)
1,232 posts

do u guys know how much does football matches cost?i don't know much but the fact is the price of football matches especially BPL is rising and for sure astro will increase their price.
vreis
post Aug 13 2009, 12:06 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

do u know astro can take out a channel without informing u, (eg:read Channel 122)? I dun like the way they conduct their business but there's no other choise for pay tv
SBH aka Ryuzaki
post Aug 13 2009, 01:38 PM

Validating
41 posts

They need to pay 50k to the winner of the fantasy football
qspn
post Aug 13 2009, 01:50 PM

1,534 posts

It is nothing new coming from our country. It is simple plain daylight robbery if you ask me. The famous term if "kalau tak suka boleh keluar" comes to mind here. Unfortunately the power of the consumer here is not strong enough. So companies like this are bound to control or monopolize the market.

There is nothing we can do about it but just to live with it.
miketee
post Aug 13 2009, 01:55 PM

483 posts

I think the daylight robbery part happens on the EPL bit. I've read somewhere that the cost for broadcast rights have TRIPLED since last season, and continues to go up every single year. So not surprisingly, really, that the costs are now being passed on to consumers.

Support the M-League!!!
giotto
post Aug 13 2009, 01:58 PM

3,051 posts

Damn, price hike? I didnt know but i cant do much about it, except to pay. I like to watch my football at home, alone. Mamak is not exactly the most comfortable place to watch. You need to get good seats that means near the front, you need to order something to eat/drink and the chair/stool is damn uncomfortable.

But little bit of the blame should go to football teams itself. Maybe not any teams in particular but in general. Every season, tv sponsorship is increasing, the players need to buy new Ferrari's, need to buy new house while we, the audience will simply got to fork out more, whether to watch them play in the stadium or from home.
artakus01
post Aug 13 2009, 02:19 PM

23 posts

it's about time they increase the price..tongue.gif
as what bro qspn mentioned, its quite common scenario at our country.
seriously, it happens with tolls.. cigars.. petrols.. public transport fare..

i can'tbe mad of astro for the price hike as i'm not subscribing sports channel. My passion of sports only at football. so it's not practical for me to subscribe the sports package.

but for me, i prefer to watch outside with friends(and rival..) because of the atmosphere. it really raised up the adrenaline inside me whenever our team hit the net..

either at mamak or any place outside would be the ideal place to watch the game as long as it's in the big crowd..

this is my 5 cent opinion..
eddy_87
post Aug 13 2009, 02:21 PM

78 posts

As a ManUtd fan, I dont really mind actually...Why should I when I can see each and every matches that my team plays. Feels sorry for the other team fans though.
jebon 007
post Aug 13 2009, 02:35 PM

but now astro 811 have france ligue 1... smile.gif
Vagine
post Aug 13 2009, 02:45 PM

472 posts

so new price is? rm72.10?
madfag
post Aug 13 2009, 02:51 PM

the Legend.
564 posts

i would pay double extra if they had ChelseaTV on Astro.
Hevrn
post Aug 13 2009, 02:53 PM

4,017 posts

I still live with my parents so I'm not a prime decision maker when it comes to expenses like these. However, I have mentioned to my dad bout them son of a guns hiking up the prices, but its just one of those things where we have to accept. Inflation is not uncommon in this country, and I highly doubt a small increase like this will deter Malaysians from continuing to subscribe to watch their weekly (some daily) football fix. About a year ago, we agreed to terminate the movies package becoz it was a lil too pricey and all they showed were replays of old movies we would have already watched a long time ago. Sports though is one which my family and I use the most atm. We get together to watch football, badminton, tennis, golf, F1 etc. It'd be too costly to watch games every week outside with friends at the bar becoz bottles and pints can cost quite a bit and thus diminish the savings we would have received from cancelling it. I'm one who likes to view matches of those not involving my fav team as well, becoz I am a football fan in general, so going out for early mornings every so often Champions League football is on and then having to wake up early for classes is a big no-no for me. Guess we'll just have to live with the fact that in Malaysia where monopolies are basically untouchable, life is full of lemons.
enemyofgod
post Aug 13 2009, 03:04 PM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

I simply conclude this as daylight robbery. Despite that, i had some informations from my mates who works in Astro , that ..seeming the global broadcasting price has been increased for Premship live telecast , that seems hit us right at our pocket..

Also, rumors surrounding that Sports channel will be upgraded to High Def near future and i've been hearing this for couple of years..this seems not to be right for those whose still on a SD tele's.

Yet, price hike should have been reasonable , taking into consideration of the current economical situation around..

I've opted out and decided to go along the "mamak" crowd for much more merrier time..

This post has been edited by enemyofgod: Aug 13 2009, 03:05 PM
solstice818
post Aug 13 2009, 03:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

People may say that BPL price is getting higher compared to last season which lead them to increase the price but bear in mind, it's SPORT CHANNEL.It's not just football we have there.That's pretty much a lame excuse if they say that's the sole reason the price is increased.Plus, if my memory serves me right, they just increased the price of other channels not very long time ago...Sigh...
hosiery2u
post Aug 13 2009, 03:13 PM

78 posts

Sometimes I will think that what is the contribution a soccer player can bring to us? Just plain look at C. Ronaldo, what kind of contribution he have given to this world? For me, the only thing is making more CO2 and increase the speed of global warming due to buying big capacity sports car. Once i heard that got one EPL player, don't know from which team, parking his sports car at the "NO PARKING AREA", and was towed by police, do you know what that player did? Just leave the car in police station and went to buy a new, same model sports car, until police sent him the warning. Do you willing to pay our hard earn money just for those so call "soccer player". I wouldn't and I would rather go to bed earlier and at the same time, will get a healthier body.
Hevrn
post Aug 13 2009, 03:26 PM

4,017 posts

Lets not push the blame to the footballing entities. End of the day, it is ppl like us who demand for the sport, and when theres demand, theres bound to be those who want to supply, albeit at a high price. Frankly, I wouldn't mind the price increase if we were getting the same amount of content those in the UK were. 10 EPL games running concurrently at separate channels for our viewing pleasure, HD enabled, player-by-player tracking. Now I'd pay good money for that. Rather, we get Shebby Singh and cut reception when it rains. Ffs.
vreis
post Aug 13 2009, 03:43 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Aug 13 2009, 03:26 PM)
Lets not push the blame to the footballing entities. End of the day, it is ppl like us who demand for the sport, and when theres demand, theres bound to be those who want to supply, albeit at a high price. Frankly, I wouldn't mind the price increase if we were getting the same amount of content those in the UK were. 10 EPL games running concurrently at separate channels for our viewing pleasure, HD enabled, player-by-player tracking. Now I'd pay good money for that. Rather, we get Shebby Singh and cut reception when it rains. Ffs.
This one piss me off the most. How the f*** they said its a problem they cannot counter when all along they knew this would happens frequently as this is Malaysia where rains is norm doh.gif

0.0184sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:36 PM