Sports Channel Price Hike, RM 12? Justified

TSREDShaun
post Aug 13 2009, 11:29 AM, updated 17y ago

115 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Aug 13 2009, 11:17 AM)
Ok, this is off LFC normal talk but i think it prudent to share.

I am sure by now most subscribers to Astro Sports Package has received the Price Hiked of RM 12 for the 811-814 channels. To some its a huge increase and to some its nothing, but the principle of it is a price hike by a monopoly that seems to strategised it at the time when they know most ppl will have no choice but to agree... the starting of the BPL and all football seasons.

I feel it was deliberately waited for the increase to coincide with the new football season. this kinda shows we are actually the majorities of the sports package subscribers. Somehow i did something i should have done earlier, cancel the package. yep, I will have no more Astro Sports Package to watch but I feel it actually happened for a reason. I think football should be enjoyed with company or fans or friends or at least ppl with the same passion about it.

So Astro actually did us all a favor to rethink the need to actually watch sports at home. Yes we know the CL games are in the wee hours of the morning but heck, online streaming? 24 hour mamaks? etc... I think its time to see if we are really the "idiot box" generation as many of our predecessors have mentioned or we can make a change and get out there with a drink (alcoholic or not) and hoist it every time a goal, a win, a lost is shared among friends.

So my post is a tribute to Astro, thank you for making me see football in a better light and continue to do a good job in making sure more ppl watch Astro outside the comforts of their own home tongue.gif

To all of us! Season starts this weekend and you'll see more fans coming out of their holes to watch it outside with fellow fans. Hurrah! and YNWA!
Ok I shared this in the LFC Talk area, but Solstice asked me to share it to all at the Lounge as I think it affects us all in a lesser or greater degree cool2.gif

also some views on your individual reaction would definitely be good blush.gif
TSREDShaun
post Aug 13 2009, 11:50 AM

115 posts

LOL, I still remember when our then Minister of Information and Multimedia..

Mr Lim said. "Aiyah...Don't like them, don't use them lor!"

that was classic tongue.gif
TSREDShaun
post Aug 13 2009, 06:53 PM

115 posts

LOL yep, there are always excuses but never any action i suppose.

when problem arises, instead of fixing it, they give excuses.
when excuses runs out and they need to fix it, they give reasons for price hike
this then is a lesson in backdoor taichi... and at the end someone bears the monopolies brunt of the cost, which is the consumer tongue.gif
TSREDShaun
post Aug 19 2009, 06:47 PM

115 posts

hence, even the price hike means a possible gamble of no live matches.

mamak protest?! HAHAHAHA, kindly do not make me laugh, Astro could have been and may still be the best thing that happened to them. even if they raise the stake to 300 per channel, they will still put it on, why? becos that is the reality of the draw.

i'll swallow my words when the mamak actually does cancel Astro, but who would like to wager on this? take a quick bet on when this will happen, 1 year, 2 maybe 10 years from now..i put my money on "not anytime soon, not ever"

anyway we all enjoy the game according to how we want to enjoy it, whose to say cancelling the service is wrong? whose to say staying home or going out to watch it is wrong? whose to say having a good time with some friends catching up on the games is wrong?

to each his own... to live with the hike or don't. i chose not to, and i'm still enjoying it with friends outside and the crowd makes the difference i guess. thats for me anyway, what about you?

0.0211sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:34 PM