10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

The Bright Side V2, Night! Lights! Action!

strinq
post Nov 12 2009, 12:08 AM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

Wait...polkiuj already received the Ti Quarks???

rclxms.gif
drool.gif
strinq
post Nov 12 2009, 10:38 PM

602 posts

Mine coming tmr!!!
strinq
post Nov 12 2009, 11:33 PM

602 posts

Hmm i think a logo would be nice, simple one though. Too bad i suck at art lol.

strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 09:13 AM

602 posts

i think this is the next standard in flashaholism.
Every flashaholic must have a multiple colored die emitter light even though most of us will never actually use them.

strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 12:17 PM

602 posts

Just got my Quark 123 Ti from polkiuj!

But like what he said, super difficult to twist the head. Rough threads. But loving it.

This post has been edited by strinq: Nov 13 2009, 12:17 PM
strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 12:48 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(susuman @ Nov 13 2009, 12:24 PM)
Great photo shots, look golden colour too, err, your postgrad is photography?  tongue.gif
Lol, those arent very good pics compared to the pros.
And i'm not into photography haha, just took simple pics of them.
My light has a slight greenish tint but not very noticeable unless compared with another light side by side.

strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 07:49 PM

602 posts

old newspaper, u mentioned that u went to gadgetworld and they helped u make the threads easy to turn.
May i know how they did it?
Or maybe gadget can answer. smile.gif
strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 08:03 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(gadgetworld2u @ Nov 13 2009, 07:59 PM)
Basically the major problem is the o-ring they used. If you notice the Quark o-ring is really soft (a bit thicker too) compared to other flashlight o-rings, so just change them to a harder type of o-ring (we used the Nitecore D10 o-rings). This method even worked for my Quark AA Tactical. smile.gif Hope this helps.
actually noticed that too, the threads are ok until it comes to the the o ring part then becomes crazy hard to turn, will see if i have any spares that can fit.

Wait this is the first time i'm changing o-rings, how do u take them off? at least without damaging the threads lol. using fingers but can't pry them. SOme sharp object? But i don't wanna risk scratching the light haha.

Thanks Gwen, or Danny, or the other girl...
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by strinq: Nov 13 2009, 08:08 PM
strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 08:19 PM

602 posts

ah just managed to take it out and replace it with the pd30 o-ring. (got the pd30 from u lah haha).
But have a question, the pd30's o-ring is not as 'fat' and as wide as the quarks, is that ok?
turns much smoother now but still got some resistance lah, something like the pd30's resistance.
strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 08:56 PM

602 posts

Ah thanks Gwen.
I think should be ok cuz the moment it reaches the o-ring it gets harder to tighten meaning there's significant contact between the o-ring and the head/tail.

Oh yeah, the Ti doesn't cool down as fast as the normal aluminium.
So it really does not conduct heat very well. Cuz if it does it should cool down fast.

This post has been edited by strinq: Nov 13 2009, 08:57 PM
strinq
post Nov 13 2009, 09:27 PM

602 posts

A good read.
Finally some data on the whole Ti vs Al thing that I've been waiting for.

Ti vs Al - some data

This post has been edited by strinq: Nov 13 2009, 09:35 PM
strinq
post Nov 14 2009, 12:03 AM

602 posts

i think u guys are damn fun haha.

I'm loving my Quark! But now thinking that i should've gotten the tactical instead.
A bit irritating to have to cycle to get to the level i want but then again, this light ain't getting much use. biggrin.gif
strinq
post Nov 14 2009, 12:09 AM

602 posts

I'm at a cafe now, one of those western thingy that youngsters go to.
Off to a lake later for some light tests. smile.gif

strinq
post Nov 14 2009, 12:12 AM

602 posts

Ah thanks for the update. Just about to ask some cpf members if they got any replies. Can't wait!
strinq
post Nov 14 2009, 04:20 PM

602 posts

sorry pseudoblue, old newspaper, i'm in klang now.
only back late tmr night.
strinq
post Nov 14 2009, 09:04 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(pseudoblue @ Nov 14 2009, 05:21 PM)
Who wants to yumcha and go check out Adrian's Lake? (although he won't be around, he jogs there) brows.gif
wah, I have a lake named under me. biggrin.gif
Hey, we make it weekdays and earlier a bit lah haha then i can join.
We can test throw there, end to end about 160 meters but a bit of ambient light at the other end.

*went to gw2u just now, thanks danny for confirming that the o-ring i used is ok haha. Cheers

This post has been edited by strinq: Nov 14 2009, 09:37 PM
strinq
post Nov 17 2009, 03:54 PM

602 posts

QUOTE(polkiuj @ Nov 17 2009, 02:57 PM)
Finally!!

Also tested the Quark Titanium Tactical 123 Squared or 2X123 light in the high mode. It turned on at 240 and dropped to 227 after 1 minute using 2XRCR123's from AW.

Which put the buck-boost versions about 215 lumens. Sweet!

whistling.gif
u have a light box?
strinq
post Nov 17 2009, 10:08 PM

602 posts

eh but old newspaper didn't say he wants to organize a group buy wor.
tongue.gif
strinq
post Nov 18 2009, 02:13 PM

602 posts

cuz damon is a closet introvert. He stays in his closet all day and plays with his lights.
tongue.gif
strinq
post Nov 19 2009, 05:45 PM

602 posts

I think I fell in love with the Haiku...
Really really looks like a lightsaber...would be cool if it is. biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0474sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:41 AM