Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia
anfieldude
Mar 28 2010, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(jonathan82 @ Mar 28 2010, 08:36 AM) guys, i own a sharp BH-HP21A bluray player (comes with LCD TV when i bought it almost 1yr ago). Does anyone know how to crack this player so that it can play any bluray from any region? Also, is there any good region free bluray player that can play all regions' bluray? Thanks guys  cheers I don't think there is a kit to make the Sharp region free. The one player that I can recommend that is region free and is covered by warranty is Oppo BD-80 if bought from SLT Singapore.
anfieldude
May 8 2010, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 8 2010, 10:59 AM) Loading firmware is very FAST and EASY (just make sure there is NO power disruptions when you are doing the firmware upgrade (it takes about one minute or so) but let me say again, software mod to make the player region free is available and easy to load BUT any new firmare upgrades loaded will overwrite the region free mod. Meaning to say, you can ONLY have it region free software mod OR the latest firmaware upgrades. You can't have both.  However, to add, with the hardware mod, there is no problems updating firmware. It is independent. So no worries with the hardware mod.
anfieldude
May 8 2010, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(godsgatecity @ May 8 2010, 05:24 PM) so if i got Oppo 80 from s'pore should be ok cos it's hardware mod, right ?? Yes and with warranty. SLT guys are pretty good. On 2nd thoughts, pls check, they might even have a cheaper one without the mod. This post has been edited by anfieldude: May 8 2010, 05:39 PM
anfieldude
May 10 2010, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(terranova @ May 10 2010, 12:13 PM) You can email Sean of SLT Tech at sales@slttech.com.sg Also, u can check out the BDP-80 thread (refer my signature below for link) which also has contact info of their master dealer Audio Iconic (Patrick). The hardware region-free mod will continue to work after firmware update. I can confirm this for the BDP-80, so it should apply equally for the BDP-83. Then again, I should mention that my hardware mod is the one that came from SLT. Not sure if this is the same as those if you had bought online from other mod sites. anfieldude has a BDP-83. Maybe u shld PM him if you want additional comfort. If u r using the hardware mod I can quad confirm that the firmware updates so far (quite a few since I installed it last year) have been A-ok!
anfieldude
Jul 19 2010, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Jul 19 2010, 07:38 PM) is there any blu-ray player that can play on tv and can connect to computer ? What do u mean connect to computer?
anfieldude
Oct 6 2010, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(minleong80 @ Oct 6 2010, 06:18 PM) Hi, I am looking for blu-ray that have multiple channel output for audio... my ampliefier don't have DTS, but it have multichannel input... any bluray player to recommend...my budget around 400~500.. it it possible to get one with the multichannel output channel ? Please advise. Tough to get at that price point.
anfieldude
Oct 6 2010, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(minleong80 @ Oct 6 2010, 11:12 PM) So..which model and how much is the price ? The Dune BD Prime is a media player and a BD player that has analogue outputs. Its about RM1499. The Oppo BD83SE might be a good one but it is about USD899. Panasonic and Sony probably have some as well but they definately will be above RM1200 or more and I am not sure you can get them locally.
anfieldude
Oct 7 2010, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(minleong80 @ Oct 7 2010, 12:08 AM) Thanks..i check its website...a great player..with wifi too .... but as a media player...it left over one format..that is RMVB files... sigh..still expensive for me...need to save more money to buy... is it available in penang ? If u want, u can demo at my place. For latest pricing and shipping u can pm elife.
anfieldude
Dec 8 2011, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Dec 8 2011, 11:19 AM) From my experience, the resume function for playing BD is very much a feature of the BD itself and not the BD player. For some titles (if I remember correctly like Avatar, Pulp Fiction, etc) it will ask if you want to resume after inserting the BD even if you have stopped and removed the disc in-between. For some BDs, it will start from the beginning once you press Stop and some may resume. The only way for sure is to press Pause if you want to stop in-between. Unlike for DVDs where it will always resume from the point you stop; so much for progress!  Discs with Java will not resume. This is normal for all players. Also, if anyone in Penang has a S380 and wants to get their set calibrated pls contact me. I need to verify that the S380 does not mess the gamma up. US/UK versions mess up the gamma. This will be a special price as I want to confirm that the S380 is ok since a lot of people are buying it and shd be aware if it messes the gamma.
anfieldude
Dec 8 2011, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(junchoon @ Dec 8 2011, 12:03 PM) really? how to check if gamma is an issue? my untrained eyes cannot detect any issue lah. does it depends on the TV/projector? i am using an old optoma hd80. thanks, wps Easier with a meter and a reference pattern generator. Nothing to do with the display. A good source player shd not mess with the signal. This post has been edited by anfieldude: Dec 8 2011, 02:59 PM
anfieldude
Dec 8 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(junchoon @ Dec 8 2011, 03:48 PM) aiyaa me no pro mah, so would not know that there is a gamma error  wps junchoon, as long as u're happy with ur purchase, thats fine. I was merely trying to understand if we see the same issue here. The gamma issue also can cause colour inaccuracies as well.