QUOTE(weikian @ Apr 18 2010, 11:49 PM)
Hi all sifu,
I'm currently looking for a laptop with price range around 3-3.5k, not a hardcore gaming user but emphasis more on the built-in quality and performance. 1st time buying laptop, hopefully can get some advice on what laptop to buy.
Thx.
studio is one of the best choice to go. i bought it 1 year back and still running like a charm (no format, no nothing fancy)
yes.. a bit slow compare to new.. more load to boot up and it's normal ( i installed more and more software on it).
good for gaming (i am also not a hardcore gamer), so i play it once a while when i got time.
my batt life is good coz i'm using 9 cell that can easily last for 4 hours.
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Apr 19 2010, 01:34 AM)
What's the battery life usage per charge for Studio15?
is it standard for DVD burner slot load or optional?
as mentioned 9 cell can go for 4 hours, slot load is standard for studio.
no way to change i believe.
QUOTE(WHIT3_@NG3L @ Apr 19 2010, 10:33 AM)
I know some of you guys have discuss this before
but does everyone have problem with their dvd rom/drive/optical drive?
I hate this slot load drive as I face these problems.
Did anyone succesfully asked them to change your optical drive and doesn't face this problem anymore?
1. Install windows after formatting. During installation, the disc would run and stop for a while and then run and stop after a few minutes making the installation slower to complete.
2. Copying a single big size movie and data takes a longer time which I assume the read speed is slow since my desktop can copy 18-20MB/s according to the copy speed at "more details" running non stop. Studio 15 dvd drive only copies at a low speed from 5-8MB/s with many stops and resume in the middle process.
3. Watching movie from a dvd disc is a fuss and really makes me angry. I keep facing intermittent pauses every 5 second due to the disc stopping and resume. I have to copy the movie into the hard disk and watch which is troublesome for me.
my dvd rom serve me well.. no any issue like urs le... maybe different batch different dvd model.