the one that are supposed to make your house less hot.
where to buy?
what's a good brand?
how much is the going rate for a normal intermediate double story house? (material + installation cost)
Renovations Ventilation?, spinning things on top of your house
Aug 10 2009, 12:58 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
618 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Puchong, Selangor |
can anybody tell me what is the official name for the system with the spinning things on top of your roof.
the one that are supposed to make your house less hot. where to buy? what's a good brand? how much is the going rate for a normal intermediate double story house? (material + installation cost) |
Aug 10 2009, 11:08 AM
1,979 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Turbine vents... those are the spinning type...
Or if you have the money you can install a fan driven ventilator... edit: As for brands I've come across mostly generic... Here is a tip pick one with self lubricating bearings because after some time turbine might squeak and drive you nuts on windy nights... The other thing is to make sure your place is fairly windy, if the air is mostly still then turbines don’t work at peak efficiency… This post has been edited by aaronpang: Aug 10 2009, 11:14 AM |
Aug 10 2009, 09:33 PM
618 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Puchong, Selangor |
any idea on price?
need to budget. |
Aug 24 2010, 03:54 PM
6 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Those ventilations create dust after installing . My house have those type too. It is now sealed completely because a few screws came off and the dust keep falling on to our furnitures.
Better look for other types of ventilations. Luckily I haven't seen any rats falling down from the hole as one of them is just right above my bed. Fuuh!! |
Aug 24 2010, 08:18 PM
1,080 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(bunnyhoney @ Aug 24 2010, 04:54 PM) Those ventilations create dust after installing . My house have those type too. It is now sealed completely because a few screws came off and the dust keep falling on to our furnitures. Bunnyhoney, your room is directly below the roof tiles? There is no ceiling between the roof tiles and your room? Or is there any ducting?Better look for other types of ventilations. Luckily I haven't seen any rats falling down from the hole as one of them is just right above my bed. Fuuh!! Other types of ventilation I could think of are:- 1) Normal eletric wall mounted ventilation fan 2) Ventilation tiles |
Apr 4 2011, 09:24 PM
1,529 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: PJ |
Any good suggestion on this? As I'm considering in place this to have free air flow in the house instread of eletric type.
Is DENKO brand good? |
May 17 2011, 01:57 PM
5,195 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 500 year old rock ADHD |
need some recommendation too, planning to get 2 on the roof since this new house pretty hot
May 17 2011, 02:10 PM
3,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Planet Earth |
how much it will take to do this?
sounds good. |
May 17 2011, 02:12 PM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
May 17 2011, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 17 2011, 02:12 PM) several type exist.. it does really help?1)residential/commercial/industrial 2) size-12"; 14" 16" price for 14" residential about 160 Beside the dust and possible noise after sometimes... any other problems? My place is quite windy, wonder how must the installation would cost. |
May 17 2011, 04:42 PM
TELL ME ABOUT YOUR ROOF DESIGN....
metaldec? tile? insulated? etc |
May 17 2011, 11:49 PM
May 18 2011, 05:42 PM
May 18 2011, 06:03 PM
May 18 2011, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 18 2011, 06:03 PM) But the price is RM160???I saw on market normally was RM700plus. |
May 19 2011, 08:43 AM
u kene sembelih already firned
May 19 2011, 08:46 AM
8,377 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
May 23 2011, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 19 2011, 08:43 AM) Sorry, 1) Firstly the Web are refer to India WEB site 2) I saw few companies catelog, but the price range is around RM700 Perhpas you could let us know where could get this RM 160 stuff? The RM700+ are from this company, if two unit was around RM1200+ http://www.taika.com.my/products.html This post has been edited by Jo_da48: May 23 2011, 02:56 PM |
May 23 2011, 05:00 PM
180 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
if RM160, I also want to install.....
May 23 2011, 05:05 PM
425 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Penang |
anyone install airegard?
May 23 2011, 05:32 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
May 23 2011, 08:16 PM
May 23 2011, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(glamour @ May 23 2011, 08:16 PM) damn thats expensive which model did u getwell for me i bought 2x of the panasonic ventilation fan and installed it my self quite worth it.. no need pay ppl few hundred bux to install for me but my advantage is its light abt 1.x kg.. ur are quite heavy right ? |
May 24 2011, 12:29 PM
mine is 4kg
i bought the AS 6090 model just buy because of the design keke kena marah by wife after bought this fan The Spec : AS-6090 D2 Motor Speed Lo: 897 rpm Hi: 1132 rpm Fan Type Turbine Dual Speed Yes Capacity Lo: 60 CFM Hi: 90 CFM Duct Size (diameter) 100 mm (4.0 inch) Motor Rating Lo: 240 v / 50 Hz 0.11 amp Hi: 240 v / 50 Hz 0.15 amp Noise Level Lo: 18dB Hi: 33dB Panel Size 260 x 260 mm (10.2” x 10.2”) Mounting Size 210 x 210 mm (8.2” x 8.2”) Height 200 mm (7.8”) Weight 4.0 kg (8.8 lbs) Warranty Three (3) years Installation Ceiling Mounted Only This post has been edited by glamour: May 24 2011, 12:30 PM |
May 24 2011, 04:37 PM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
I like the design too. Noise level only 18dB on low speed!
Did you installed it? |
May 24 2011, 04:40 PM
not yet bro..need to wait for my electrical man to install for me
i bought it for rm 230 not sure is cheap or expensive didnt survey the market for this fan but if u happen to buy this fan i got two extra switch to sell cause i'm not using it....my fan will on when i turn on the downlight so the switches..i can sell out |
May 24 2011, 04:42 PM
i think u need to install a proper sized brace to ur ceiling/roofing brace then only can affix the fan..
doubt think ur ceiling/pasterboard/abestosboard thing can take the 4kilo weight... |
May 24 2011, 04:49 PM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
QUOTE(glamour @ May 24 2011, 04:40 PM) not yet bro..need to wait for my electrical man to install for me i bought it for rm 230 not sure is cheap or expensive didnt survey the market for this fan but if u happen to buy this fan i got two extra switch to sell cause i'm not using it....my fan will on when i turn on the downlight so the switches..i can sell out Is RM230 with ducting & outdoor wall unit? This fan have 3 state - off, low, high - how you install with downlight switch? |
May 24 2011, 04:55 PM
i will run in high speed only..
the electrical man say can connect it.. for toilet for room, not sure wanna use the switch or not cause Low speed function can use when air con is turn on |
Jun 11 2011, 09:16 AM
ANy good recommending of brand on this?
Jun 11 2011, 11:43 AM
20 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
I find this site quite informative for turbine vents
http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2008/04/make-...heaper-and.html http://www.taika.com.my/index.html This post has been edited by nh71: Jun 11 2011, 01:57 PM |
Jun 16 2011, 09:44 PM
Seem Like Taika have good comments....what not sure about the price now, as previously it was 2 unit cost RM1100+
Jun 20 2011, 04:27 PM
1,818 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 23 2011, 09:17 PM) damn thats expensive which model did u get Sorry.. i think the talk about electric ventilation fan is out of topic, but i have curiosity onwell for me i bought 2x of the panasonic ventilation fan and installed it my self quite worth it.. no need pay ppl few hundred bux to install for me but my advantage is its light abt 1.x kg.. ur are quite heavy right ? how JinXXX install the fan by himself. As far as i know, you must make a hole in the wall first, then, you can placed the fan. JinXXX, you do poke a hole in your wall by yourself? |
Jun 20 2011, 11:37 PM
Jun 21 2011, 12:04 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Get a rotary drill, can make a hole easy on brick wall to install.
Jun 21 2011, 08:37 AM
Jun 21 2011, 09:46 AM
Jul 9 2011, 07:19 PM
Is the Wesflo or Taiko brand better?
Aug 3 2011, 09:22 PM
Just order the 2 unit of Denko Turbine Ventilator and will be install coming Saturday...
another item off from my list |
Aug 3 2011, 11:36 PM
74 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Aug 4 2011, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 3 2011, 09:22 PM) Just order the 2 unit of Denko Turbine Ventilator and will be install coming Saturday... how much did they charge you for the 2 units ?another item off from my list take some pics ya... and share with us especially the bering and installation This post has been edited by JinXXX: Aug 4 2011, 01:16 AM |
Aug 4 2011, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 4 2011, 01:13 AM) how much did they charge you for the 2 units ? RM 1250 for two unit.Max of discount could get from them.take some pics ya... and share with us especially the bering and installation Take picture during installation? Except if I was to clam up with them to roof top... |
Aug 4 2011, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 4 2011, 02:01 AM) RM 1250 for two unit.Max of discount could get from them. yr one is 16" 18" 22" ?? which size did you install.. ?Take picture during installation? Except if I was to clam up with them to roof top... anyway if yr thinking of climbing and taking a special view of your roof top.. rmbr safety first |
Aug 4 2011, 09:05 AM
Aug 4 2011, 09:06 AM
I just installed it yesterday.. I installed 2 roof ventilators, 16", free floating type. It cost me rm648 each (the sales guy said, it's promotion price after rm200 discount.. but I believe everybody gets around this price).
My 2nd floor, even without the ventilator, it is not hot anyway because my house got airwell.. very high. I installed it so that the bedrooms are not hot during night, and I'm hoping it will be as cold as the outside night temperature. After install it, I found that, IN THE MORNING, the room is still not as cold the outside. However, I no longer feel the trapped heat in the room like before. At noon, it's like i can work all day long, with all doors and windows open and without turning on the fan.. (bear in mind, even without vent, my 2nd floor is already not that hot due to airwell but I still need to turn on the fan). Attic temperature : The different is like night and day. I used to go to attic to fix some wiring or check my water tank. Usually, after 5 minutes, I already sweat. But after installing this, it's no longer hot and it's bright in there as the sunlight can go in through the vent. However, this is not important. What important is the bedrooms' temperature below it. Please note, each vent can cover 500 square feet area. I installed 2, so, they effectively covers 1000 square feet, and my roof area from my calculation based on the floor plan, is just 630 square feet. So, the vents are already optimum. Overall, I'd say I feel the different. Maybe because the heat trapped on the ceiling has a way to go out. but it won't make the room cold.. as cold as the fan or aircond. My suggestion, if you got money to renovate, first thing before putting ventilators or roof insulations.. make sure you build the airwell first. I rented a 2 story house before and got no airwell. I can't go up to the 2nd floor during the day at all.. Airwell (for those who don't know what is airwell) as seen from inside the house. Usually located above stairs or family room. ![]() This post has been edited by zeese: Aug 4 2011, 09:26 AM |
Aug 4 2011, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 4 2011, 09:06 AM) My suggestion, if you got money to renovate, first thing before putting ventilators or roof insulations.. make sure you build the airwell first. I rented a 2 story house before and got no airwell. I can't go up to the 2nd floor during the day at all.. i think you just nailed the point.. the turbine ventilator is to remove the heat from the attic/roof thus reducing the radiant heat that can radiate down into the bedroom and etc |
Aug 6 2011, 11:41 PM
Aug 7 2011, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 6 2011, 11:41 PM) Done in place two unit of ventilation this morning, and take them less than 1 hour included removed off the roof alumimum foil and zink. thanks for sharing, your roof is using metal sheets and not those cement/clay roof tiles ?Unfortunated cant take picture as not visiable from front or backend as it blocked by my extention block... Only picture taken are from inside to roof top so how's the effect ? good ? |
Aug 7 2011, 11:40 AM
Aug 7 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 7 2011, 11:40 AM) I have alumimum foil and Zink installed under the normal roof tile. oh okie... I not yet moving in hence not really could said improve or not. cause from the pic.. i see the DISTANCE between the support beam like quite far, so thought it's not design for heavy load... |
Aug 7 2011, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 7 2011, 11:47 AM) oh okie... You saw is the main wood beam, those small one (1" x 2") are at other side of zinkcause from the pic.. i see the DISTANCE between the support beam like quite far, so thought it's not design for heavy load... Below is what actual done on my roof top before the ventilator |
Aug 12 2011, 01:44 PM
4,349 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Johor Bahru, Malaysia |
QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 4 2011, 10:06 AM) I just installed it yesterday.. I installed 2 roof ventilators, 16", free floating type. It cost me rm648 each (the sales guy said, it's promotion price after rm200 discount.. but I believe everybody gets around this price). thansk for thre broMy 2nd floor, even without the ventilator, it is not hot anyway because my house got airwell.. very high. I installed it so that the bedrooms are not hot during night, and I'm hoping it will be as cold as the outside night temperature. After install it, I found that, IN THE MORNING, the room is still not as cold the outside. However, I no longer feel the trapped heat in the room like before. At noon, it's like i can work all day long, with all doors and windows open and without turning on the fan.. (bear in mind, even without vent, my 2nd floor is already not that hot due to airwell but I still need to turn on the fan). Attic temperature : The different is like night and day. I used to go to attic to fix some wiring or check my water tank. Usually, after 5 minutes, I already sweat. But after installing this, it's no longer hot and it's bright in there as the sunlight can go in through the vent. However, this is not important. What important is the bedrooms' temperature below it. Please note, each vent can cover 500 square feet area. I installed 2, so, they effectively covers 1000 square feet, and my roof area from my calculation based on the floor plan, is just 630 square feet. So, the vents are already optimum. Overall, I'd say I feel the different. Maybe because the heat trapped on the ceiling has a way to go out. but it won't make the room cold.. as cold as the fan or aircond. My suggestion, if you got money to renovate, first thing before putting ventilators or roof insulations.. make sure you build the airwell first. I rented a 2 story house before and got no airwell. I can't go up to the 2nd floor during the day at all.. Airwell (for those who don't know what is airwell) as seen from inside the house. Usually located above stairs or family room. ![]() only my room is hot and not the airwell so if need also need to break teh attic area ... XD |
Aug 12 2011, 02:05 PM
You can install ceiling ventilation to force outside air in. I will install 8" ventilation fan for all the 1st floor room.
Aug 12 2011, 02:48 PM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
why so many ppl install zinc at the roof top?
the insurance agent told me insurance company wont compensate in case of fire because the bomba people can't put out the fire because of the zinc sheet |
Aug 12 2011, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 12 2011, 02:48 PM) why so many ppl install zinc at the roof top? What is the difference with clay / cement roof? water still can't go in. How about high rise building? no roof also.the insurance agent told me insurance company wont compensate in case of fire because the bomba people can't put out the fire because of the zinc sheet |
Aug 12 2011, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 12 2011, 02:48 PM) why so many ppl install zinc at the roof top? your insurance agent told you that.. the insurance agent told me insurance company wont compensate in case of fire because the bomba people can't put out the fire because of the zinc sheet what does the POLICY from the INSURANCE company TELL YOU ??? |
Aug 12 2011, 04:47 PM
My agent told me no problem. Unless you put fire hazard material.
Aug 12 2011, 04:53 PM
Aug 27 2011, 06:00 PM
Aug 27 2011, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 27 2011, 06:00 PM) Finally up to the roof to checked my roof leaking issues as the Indo contractor only free / available after Raya. thats nice/good of you to share thanks alot..Hence able to take photo of my ventilator... what you mean check for leaking issues.. meaning its leaking ? or just saja check see ? they installed it properly ? got any leak so far ? |
Aug 27 2011, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 27 2011, 06:13 PM) thats nice/good of you to share thanks alot.. Yah..my roof is leaking but not relevant to this...as the leaking at front end, and ventilator is on the back end part.what you mean check for leaking issues.. meaning its leaking ? or just saja check see ? they installed it properly ? got any leak so far ? Here the link about the issus http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1842406/+60 |
Sep 16 2011, 12:14 PM
415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
How's the performance so far? Do you see any difference in the heat? Is it more bearable now without the fan or air-con.
Sep 25 2011, 01:18 PM
anybody got installed or tried solar powered ventilators ?
eg like this http://www.scorigin.com/solar_fan__ventilation |
Sep 25 2011, 04:09 PM
415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Sep 25 2011, 01:18 PM) anybody got installed or tried solar powered ventilators ? Saw this on their website last week. However, the online sales is non existence.eg like this http://www.scorigin.com/solar_fan__ventilation |
Apr 20 2016, 10:55 PM
2,065 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Old thread...
Any users mind to share effectiveness of wind turbines for terrace houses? |
Apr 21 2016, 05:28 PM
3,812 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: West Malaysia |
good reference from panasonic:
![]() |
May 8 2016, 02:33 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
53 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
yeap, how is the noise and dust issue so far? occurred?
May 26 2020, 09:12 AM
6,639 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: "New Castle" |
For those already using the this for a long time, how is it? Any problems with the wind ventilators?
Jun 9 2020, 12:46 PM
265 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
Does this work for low ceilings? Mine is like 7.5 feet from the bottom tiles to the top ceiling where the vent should be installed so not really sure if it would really 'suck out the hot air'
Jun 9 2020, 01:44 PM
1,054 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
![]() ![]() |
Mar 5 2021, 11:39 AM
917 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Can any share feedback on this air turbine ventilator? not sure is it really effective? How about solar ventilator? Pros n Cons both of this?
Mar 5 2021, 01:40 PM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(chaostan @ Mar 5 2021, 11:39 AM) Can any share feedback on this air turbine ventilator? not sure is it really effective? How about solar ventilator? Pros n Cons both of this? I still think the cfm from a couple 8" or 10" fans on the rooftop section (why not bigger = so thieves cannot pop in so easily if they can't fit their shoulders through the hole) at ~318/530cfm each will provide better active cooling effect. It does need a input vent (maybe toilet ceiling vent) for cold air input |
Mar 6 2021, 11:09 AM
917 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
So any good band reliable band ro reconmend for turbine ventilator nowdays?
Sep 9 2021, 10:53 AM
1,282 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: ¯\(º_o)/¯ ¯\(º_o)/¯ |
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 5 2021, 01:40 PM) I still think the cfm from a couple 8" or 10" fans on the rooftop section (why not bigger = so thieves cannot pop in so easily if they can't fit their shoulders through the hole) at ~318/530cfm each will provide better active cooling effect. It does need a input vent (maybe toilet ceiling vent) for cold air input just wondering whether its possible to install ceiling ventilation fans without the turbine ventilator? can we vent out thru the side roof instead or any other options?asking due to MCO the shop is charging extra for installation.. |
Sep 9 2021, 11:57 AM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Sep 9 2021, 10:53 AM) just wondering whether its possible to install ceiling ventilation fans without the turbine ventilator? can we vent out thru the side roof instead or any other options? I have ceiling ventilator fans in all the rooms and living hall on the 1st floor without a wind turbine. The purpose is to prevent heat built up from non air circulation.asking due to MCO the shop is charging extra for installation.. Is better if there are wind turbines to extract the hot air. If depending on the gaps of side roof tiles, the heat exchange is slower. Better to have preset timer to switch on the ventilator instead of waiting for the heat to built up. |
Sep 9 2021, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Sep 9 2021, 11:57 AM) I have ceiling ventilator fans in all the rooms and living hall on the 1st floor without a wind turbine. The purpose is to prevent heat built up from non air circulation. thanks for the reply, so far does your 1st floor rooms feels less heaty?Is better if there are wind turbines to extract the hot air. If depending on the gaps of side roof tiles, the heat exchange is slower. Better to have preset timer to switch on the ventilator instead of waiting for the heat to built up. for my current place it does not have any small living room, just a walkway from the stairs to the room on the upper floor, so everyday morning that area feels stuffy and heaty since all other rooms doors are closed so wanted to get rid of this issue.. |
Sep 9 2021, 02:59 PM
2,549 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
dont waste money with these silly roof turbine fan. not only will there be leaking during thunderstorms after some time... the suction is so weak during day time...you cant feel any difference.
The best is to install a CEILING Ventilation FAN on the CEILING on the first floor. If your house has only ground floor then install on the ground floor ceiling. this way HOT air can escape upwards and cool the whole house |
Sep 9 2021, 03:03 PM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Sep 9 2021, 02:53 PM) thanks for the reply, so far does your 1st floor rooms feels less heaty? Is better than b4 installation. I have a timer for all the fans which will switch on at certain preset time on rotation to prevent heat building up.for my current place it does not have any small living room, just a walkway from the stairs to the room on the upper floor, so everyday morning that area feels stuffy and heaty since all other rooms doors are closed so wanted to get rid of this issue.. |
Sep 10 2021, 03:19 AM
QUOTE(empire @ Sep 9 2021, 02:59 PM) dont waste money with these silly roof turbine fan. not only will there be leaking during thunderstorms after some time... the suction is so weak during day time...you cant feel any difference. points noted but if no opening on the roof can the hot air escape via the roof tiles in time? or it may ended up as stale air in between the roof and the ceiling instead..The best is to install a CEILING Ventilation FAN on the CEILING on the first floor. If your house has only ground floor then install on the ground floor ceiling. this way HOT air can escape upwards and cool the whole house |
| Change to: | 0.0690sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:54 AM |