Wan
post Aug 24 2009, 11:16 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Hopefully. biggrin.gif

As for the Vidic case.. it was very stupid of him to do that. If the ref had saw it, he would have been sent off. But if the ref didn't saw it, the FA can't do anything about it now.. right?
Wan
post Aug 24 2009, 01:43 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(onepack @ Aug 24 2009, 12:11 PM)
rooney will score lots of goals.. more than 20 i think. berba and owen also will score more than 20 goal betweem them. like SAF said after the match striker are supposed to score. with our conventional style of play at the moment i really believe we will get lots of goal from our striker

but i still think we need midfielder who score goal. the way modern football are being played and as a team challeging for all competition with more than 50 games a season having midfielder who score will definately will be an extra edge.. a bonus and an advantage.

hope SAF can find someone or nurture player we already got to play that kind of role.. we need midfielder who not just can get goal but also hv the confidence to make shot and hunger to score goal. at the moment fletcher,carrick,ando,valencia etc not quite fit the bills. scholes past his prime.. nani could play the role maybe.

other big team seem to hv this extra edge.. for me i was hoping someone from centre mid. to be the new scholes maybe  icon_idea.gif
Nani could get 10-15 goals. That would be plenty. As for CMs.. 5+ is the best can hope for right now. Can forget about someone like Lampard/Gerrard because they play in a different role to our CMs and wouldn't be able to replicate their goal scoring exploits with us playing the role our CMs do, although they would get a bit more goals compared to our CMs.

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Aug 24 2009, 12:40 PM)
imo it was more our midfielder's fault for letting iniesta through so easily without any pressure
It was a combination of that and Vidic's letting Eto'o in so easily.

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Aug 24 2009, 12:50 PM)
yes actually i agree so. it was a perfectly timed true pass.

if you watch the replay properly, i think messi or someone passed it back to iniesta.
and from the middle iniesta passed it thru everyone to reach eto'o.

i feel that their midfield was given too much space to play and pass the ball around.
it was a simple one-two-three passing.

one pass back to central midfield, the CM looks up sees the striker and slots it thru.
why so simple?
- because no pressure.
Anderson sort of thought he can match Iniesta for pace, back off.. and one burst, Iniesta was through. He a poor game that night. Did nothing. Hope he can do better this season and see how Nani responded to last season.
Wan
post Aug 24 2009, 08:37 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(redevil @ Aug 24 2009, 03:02 PM)
Wayne Rooney's Goal Scoring Record At United

Manchester United

2004–05  29  11  6  3  2  0  6  3  0  0  43  17
2005–06  36  16  3  0  4  2  5  1  0  0  48  19
2006–07  35  14  7  5  1  0  12  4  0  0  55  23
2007–08  27  12  4  2  0  0  11  4  1  0  43  18
2008–09  30  12  2  1  1  0  13  4  3  3  49  20
2009–10  3  3  0  0  0  0  0  0  1  1  4  4
Total  160  68  22  11  8  2  47  16  5  4  242  101
He's consistent that's for sure. He need another 16+5-10 goals more, and it will be a great season for him. Really hope this is 'his' year finally. But from SAF comments about him not mature enough yet to be regarded as captain, and what he said about him needing 2-3 seasons for him to reach his potential, maybe it won't be this season although if the wingers keep supplying great balls each game, he could get 25-30 goals..
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 03:53 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Long time no see Reon!
Thanks for the great siggies! biggrin.gif

Hmmph.. Liverpool are showboating. Villa is leading right now, but you can bet you ass that Liverpool will score 5 goals next and all the world will hail the great comeback win and regard them as champions elect!
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 04:56 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

This is just shit. They lost.. made our loss against Burnley even worst. We should at least got a draw, and in normal conditions, would probably win that comfortably. And we would always be up 6 points on them.. arrgh.

Added on August 25, 2009, 5:04 amuser posted image

Well, we can laugh a bit for a while. biggrin.gif
But watch us lost to Arsenal next weekend..

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 25 2009, 05:04 AM
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 06:29 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Do the bragging and whatnot after the Arsenal game please. We could easily end up with the same number of points with them after that.

I love the caf..
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 12:07 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(lehteck @ Aug 25 2009, 10:37 AM)
Hope it's not real.

Just 3 games for this season. Long way to go.

Can't lose another player again. sweat.gif
If SAF was so mad at Anderson, he wouldn't have made the bench for the first game and was about to bring him on only for Evans to get injured and we subbed on a defender instead. He also wouldn't have started the game at Burnley if it was so. And Park, Carrick, Brown didn't made the bench either against Wigan. The story is bull..

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 25 2009, 12:08 PM
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 08:39 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Reaction to last night.. tongue.gif
Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 09:31 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

http://sportgfx.com/english-football-pictu...otos-21/index52
Lots of great pictures there. Check it out.

Click for bigger resolution:

Wan
post Aug 25 2009, 09:39 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Aug 25 2009, 09:38 PM)
Gathering for Man Utd v Arsenal

Event : Manchester United vs Arsenal
Date : 29th August 2009
Time : 11.30PM
Venue : tbc

confirmed list

pending list
1. redscorpion
2. rayz1031
3. whoopa
4. scofield
5. CoreZ

not coming
1. sheep319
Come lah brader. Miri dekat what.. laugh.gif
Wan
post Aug 26 2009, 12:50 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Katsumoto @ Aug 25 2009, 10:05 PM)
I stand firm, was never impressed with his play with only rare glimpses. Let's hope SAF will do the right thing, before he dissapears again when ever fielded. rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
I'm sure not many were impressed with Fletcher at first, except for the last 2-3 seasons or so. Only last season or so he started to really win over the doubters. He's 25 this year. And Ando is only 21 years old. He's no Scholes I give you that, but he's got great vision.. and like all young players, they're inconsistent, as Fletcher showed over the years. With a bit of patience and games here and there, he will improve.. whether it'll be good enough to earn him a starting spot remains to be seen. But I'm betting he will nail that position alongside Fletcher in a few years.

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Aug 25 2009, 10:48 PM)
Hm. I guess so. Hey Wan, can I tumpang your ride? laugh.gif
Pick me up in Miri, and bring me to the meet-up.
Any method will do, bus, submarine, plane.
In my opinion, Arsene's squad selection is top class. The players in the squad are less than 30 (except the goalkeeper and most of the defenders, well, Gallas actually)

He manages to train these youngsters to adapt themselves to top-flight football.

I have to admit, Arsenal is now the number 1 threat for me. Chelsea 2nd. Burnley 3rd.
We naik beca.. biggrin.gif
Wan
post Aug 26 2009, 01:51 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He's that good, although not as good as people make him out to be. If he was, Real would have built the team around him or integrate him into their first team/squad.

Added on August 26, 2009, 1:52 pmJust above VDV level, but not the top ones.. but then not many are at the top ones.

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 26 2009, 01:52 PM
Wan
post Aug 26 2009, 06:53 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Aug 26 2009, 04:52 PM)
aah..seriously fletcher has impressed me enough being 'a' darren fletcher..hes a useful player now and i dont think we can ask anymore out of him..hes not really those talented players you pay 20million pounds for as a start..although im sure wan would argue about this.. laugh.gif
Well, in his reserve days, he was far more influential dictating the play etc. So I feel he still has another one or two gear to take.. brows.gif

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 26 2009, 05:26 PM)
Just like any other player, Robben would be in a rotation, so, he wont be indispensable. Other winger would fit in just fine. So, the challenge for places

will be there. Robben is still as dangerous as any good winger can be. I would love him to be here. Not many good winger at somewhat reasonable

price around. Ribery for $100? I dont think he is that good to be worth that kind of money. Ronaldo is just one time thing only, i think.  tongue.gif

Nani is getting better, but no harm in getting another winger just to spice up the team. More motivation to work harder in order to get into the squad.
Park, Nani, Valencia and Obertan, Tosic and Ljajic in January.. if we don't have those latter 3, Robben would be a great addition, but right now he's not needed in term of numbers. Banking on Obertan to be the surprise of the season..

Added on August 26, 2009, 6:58 pmWell, as long as he still is our player, there's no need to worry about what happens in the future. We could say the same about any other player. Vida, Rio, Evans, Rooney.. they could leave for whatever reasons next season or the next one after that. Let's worry when the time comes. As of now, let's just hope they do their best for us.

Feeling Nani will have a fantastic season. Started well. Showed he has far more to his game than Valencia. Right now apart from Berba/Rooney/Giggsy, the only other player able to do something out of nothing.

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 26 2009, 06:58 PM
Wan
post Aug 27 2009, 12:25 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Robben is a very good winger. Not as good as Messi/Ronaldo/Ribery, but on his day he can be just as good as any of them on their day, but that's the thing.. those days don't come often, and he still seems to have that selfish part of him. Would be a very good addition for us.. could easily ended up at LW, with Nani moving over to the right and be our regular pair. But with the number of wingers we have right now, can't see us signing him.

We wanted him back then. We somewhat agreed a price for him in a gentleman's agreement with PSV, but then when we really made an actual bid, we only bid half of what we agreed before. Roman Abramovic then came in with a bid, and straight away got the player. 12m is nothing though, and can be considered a bargain.

God knows how he would have done, if we got him back then. We haven't done too badly since then, but what IF..
Wan
post Aug 27 2009, 06:09 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Our wings while not great currently, is IMO very good, with good options. And if Nani stepped up, and Valencia do what he does right now + some more later on as he improve under our training, we would be a very hard team to stop. Park being dependable as ever, and Tosic + Obertan + Ljajic being the surprises, we don't have to worry about that position for a while.

It's the CM which is somewhat a 'problem' right now. Carrick=steady, Fletcher=run, harrying job, dependable, improving, Giggsy/Scholes=Classy, but past their best, and on a downward slope, Anderson=Potentially a monster, but right now just a good inconsistent player who needs to improve, Gibson=Prospect.. god knows how he would end up, and Hargo=Injured. Spare part. We certainly could do with someone top of the range there. But those who are at the top right now, apart from De Rossi are not available. We just have to bank on Anderson making it, and make do with what we have right now till he get there, which would be another 2-4 years looking at Fletcher's route.

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Aug 27 2009, 03:09 PM)
Yeap I do kinda agree. I expect our gameplay to revolve around using our wingers to drift out wide, beat their markers and whip in a cross. Rooney has been working hard on his headers in training, and we can see that its been paying off magnificently. That Birmingham goal came off a very good header which Rooney played a one-two with the post and his first goal against Wigan was a perfectly placed header into the far corner. Nani and Valencia can provide that, and we have Obertan, who looks very similar to Robben in that he has flair and loves to run with the ball. I have high hopes for the baldie.
Obertan plays a bit like Ribery. Getting past players, and then pass the ball, unlike Ronaldo who used to run down blind alleys. Quite surprised seeing the comments about him playing in France saying he was selfish etc.. but looks quite the opposite on the youtube videos, although that's no way to judge a player and only show his best parts. Hopefully we will all be surprised by him.. but looks like he will be on reserve duties when he gets back seeing he attended a lot of their games.

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Aug 27 2009, 03:58 PM)
robben is quick. thats for sure. but so does valencia. and the thing with players coming to united is that expectation almost unrealistic. they are expect to be superhumans.

luckily ronaldo was a nobody back then. under SAF totulage he grew in the right way and bang he is now player of the year.

honestly i pity some of the big names come to united and failed. miserably. valencia was hailed as the man who can atleast partially fill ronaldo's boot, but seen him 3 times this season. a bit kalut i think he is. sometime he was clueless on what he should do. but my god hes fast.

obertain i think will be big. hes now being 'hide' from the limelight. since his move, i rarely read anything about him. yes his time at bordeaux suggest nothing spectacular, but the trend him coming without big news splash reminds me of ronaldo's arrival few years back.

back to robben. its a yes and no.

no because there is enough personel in the mid. surely hes not coming to play second fiddle. furthermore world cup coming.

yes because we need another quick feet to launch counterattacks. he robben can provide  that lightning speed.

owen? hes coming real now. score atleast 10 or 15 (regardless of how many games he play), i will rate him best bargain for the season.
He's done all right so far. Whenever he gets outside successfully, most of the time his crosses will get through and our attackers in the box have a chance to attack that cross. But people sure does know a bit how to counter him. Show him the left/inside, and he wouldn't know what to do with the ball whenever he moves into that space. Certainly a work in progress. But he has the pace, strength, willingness to work etc that would work in his favour.

Obertan is out injured for 3 months(back around Sept-Oct?). That's why we didn't hear much about him. A lot of people seem a bit skeptical about him.. more so from those French people who see him in their league. Saying selfish, didn't quite lived up to the hype he got earlier. I'm a bit excited about him for some reason. Thinks he's gonna be a big player too, should he get the chances and take them. A Ribery with height.

QUOTE(chenster @ Aug 27 2009, 05:11 PM)
the bolded part i meant bayern munich.. not man utd...
they have like 2 points from 3 games?
i think munich gonna struggle this season like last season..
just get ribery off them..
Real Madrid wants Ribery. Ribery wants to join Real Madrid. End result, noone else have a chance to get him. I don't know how much Real offered them for Ribery, but if it was around the 40m mark, it would be foolish to reject, seeing next season he only have one season left on his contract. Who knows, if M.City did well and qualify for the CL, and throw enough $$ around, Ribery might be tempted and Bayern could ask for more..
Wan
post Aug 27 2009, 10:52 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Aug 27 2009, 08:45 PM)
Which is quite puzzling in my opinion...
Having a player like Robben who can fit right in and inspire a battle on the left wing with Nani and Tosic seems like a win-win situation to me.

He is injury prone but Nani can fill that spot without any complication.
Win-win situation maybe, but it would just be like last season where Nani would struggle to find his form. We want him to step up, and there's no better way than putting our trust in him and playing him in a lot of games. He could play on the right of course with Robben taking that other side, but we got Valencia for that, plus Park can cover both flanks, and there's Tosic and the newcomer Obertan who seems to be talented. There's also Ljajic coming over next January.

It was a case of us identifying Ribery as our #1 target, but we have to scratch his name from the list. And we seem to target Valencia around the middle of last season. Robben just didn't make the list I guess, however good he may be.
Wan
post Aug 27 2009, 10:59 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Park is more than a backup I think. First half of the Chelsea game, he was fantastic. Valencia wouldn't be able to do what he did in that game. But then Park wouldn't be able to do what Valencia does best, get to the byline and whip crosses. Park=Great inside, crap outside, Valencia=Great outside, crap inside.. merge please.
Wan
post Aug 27 2009, 11:10 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Aug 27 2009, 11:00 PM)
maybe an "ace" of a midfielder. something like arshavin?

or young roy keane or paul scholes?

i feel they lack the magic there.
Well, Arshavin is a forward/winger.

But yeah, we could do with a young Keane/Scholes. But we have been searching forever for one of those, and none came up. Those that are around are now unavailable. Our best bet for some magic there is Ando, in another 2-3 seasons, unless one really special midfielder pop up somewhere.
Wan
post Aug 28 2009, 04:43 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Aug 27 2009, 11:14 PM)
Then we should wait till the January transfer window. 3 full months to assess Nani's performance  rclxms.gif
Have to wait till the end of the season. Nobody would sell their players in the middle of the season. biggrin.gif Too late now to do anything. Also remember Ronaldo before he turn on his god mode? First half look like any young player, inconsistent. But 2nd half of the season he somehow become our best/most threatening players in almost all the games. Nani so far have a good start to the season, although we only played four games. It's been encouraging IMO. I thought he was still in last season's mode during the pre-season. He was crap over here. Couldn't get past our defenders. doh.gif But so far so good.. nod.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 4:44 amPretty tough draws huh? But we should be able to get past this group, unless we ... up somewhere.

Added on August 28, 2009, 4:47 amTevez 1-1 Owen.
Game on!

This post has been edited by Wan: Aug 28 2009, 04:47 AM
Wan
post Aug 28 2009, 01:51 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Rio, Vida, Evans, Brown.
O'Shea, Cathcart, Gary, De Laet..

That's our CB option. We have more than enough right now. We might need someone who has Vida's style as backup, but would be hard to find.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0217sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:10 AM