post Aug 6 2009, 04:20 PM

227 posts

Congratz~ biggrin.gif
eric138
post Aug 7 2009, 04:57 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Aug 6 2009, 06:45 PM)
1st picture wrong liao...should be welcome to chubbie hamster v13 tongue.gif
no worry, i am sure nezu will edit it soon... biggrin.gif
eric138
post Aug 7 2009, 01:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Aug 7 2009, 09:28 AM)
Haihz, kena bit again last night. Hehe. This morn and last night Hyper actice, on the wheel again. Need to get a silent wheel d!! But no money...
urs is syrian right? so bitey??

Slowly let him/her adapt to u..

If is syrian, i don think silent wheel is big enough... silent wheel is 6'', they nid a 8'' wheel wo..
eric138
post Aug 7 2009, 05:25 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(common snapping k tat @ Aug 7 2009, 04:01 PM)
aww ur hammie is sweet ^^ btw someone last time said that shud not allow hamsters to chew on the cage's metal bars for too long or they get poisoning... is that valid for all cages?? cos my squeaky has been doing that for like.... ever... but he seems allright... although he is always his old grumpy self... btw2.... is it normal for hamsters to drool when they do some phisycal exercise? ( i think i asked this already, i apologize in case^^)
Erm, he 'seems' alright..u never know what is happening inside... and i am sure for long term it wont do any good for ur squeaky..

Take the initiative and change the cage to plastic or other housing except bar cage lo..

Drool? What u mean? u saw the saliva droppin out from his mouth??
eric138
post Aug 11 2009, 07:12 PM

227 posts

can take pic and show
eric138
post Aug 17 2009, 01:24 PM

227 posts

they are syrian, so they don stay in group in nature.

Putting them together in big/small housing, they will stil fight and lead to injuries or worse, death.

They might not start fighting at young age, but they still feel stress with others' existence.

They are jus like hedgehog.. biggrin.gif
eric138
post Aug 17 2009, 05:58 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Aug 17 2009, 03:24 PM)

My best hamster...Siao Bai...has passed away this morning [17/08/2009]. Just now back home found him lying there whole body turn hard already cry.gif Has made him a coffin and getting buried soon.

Wish he can go to a new place with full of joy happy and healthy always... get out of sickness SB!!! He has been suffering from pneumonia for quite sometime.
RIP~ sad.gif
eric138
post Aug 20 2009, 01:37 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(mrytl3 @ Aug 20 2009, 01:03 AM)
I think my hamster got wet tail. Not sure. But his butt has becoming yellowish and often got like pee i don't know. Sometimes when I hold him, I can feel that there's pee at his butt. And doesn't smells good. Really worried. I wanted to take him to the vet but it's so far away. I'm a student and has no transportation. I think the nearest vet is 45 minutes from here. What should I do? Please help.
45min can save ur hamster's life... why not?

There r public transportation everywhere in the town..

Don wait....if not, u might regret.

We cant do anything here to help u, we r not vet.. And the 'dry tail' medicine which claimed can cure wet tail selling in the marker usually doesnt work.
eric138
post Aug 21 2009, 04:39 PM

227 posts

Man, u all flies so fast...terrible....

QUOTE(yana_adell @ Aug 21 2009, 04:05 PM)

ANYONE GOING FROM GOMBAK/ WANGSA MAJU AREA WANNA GO TO PETSHACK THIS WEEKEND??
Need buy sumthing, maybe can TUMPANG that person to buy.. heheehe tongue.gif

I at wangsa maju now, this evening and tomolo i will be at petshack too. I can get the things for u if u wan.

But i can only get the things for u on sun, going back hometown later.

Anyway, we talk on pm.

p/s:

My name is Hermes.. tongue.gif
eric138
post Aug 21 2009, 04:52 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Aug 21 2009, 04:45 PM)
@Eric-U going to the gathering?

aiks..not sure... 4th sept start exam... sad.gif

Will see how~ biggrin.gif
eric138
post Aug 21 2009, 04:58 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Aug 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
Relax ur mind 1st then study so u can do well in exam brows.gif  tongue.gif
Anyway,if u r going,can teach me how u go?And wats the best option to bring a syrian there?
If i go, for sure i will drive.. taking hammie travel with public transportation is not really wise action.

Bring a travel tank..put old bedding inside..make sure water, food, treats are with u...

The hammie temperament hav to put in consideration too.. If he/she get stress easily, then better don bring it out.

eric138
post Aug 24 2009, 02:00 PM

227 posts

Gut load ur mealies b4 feeding.

Go supermarket get ROLLED OATS (not instant oat).. put a layer of rolled oats as bedding... then put the mealies on it.. then put vege/fruits to feed them.

Remember wipe the vege/fruits b4 u put in, mealies will die when contact with water.

Feed high calcium fruit/vege such as sawi, so balance out bit the phosphorus within mealies.

For first time, u hav to gut load 48hours b4 start feeding the mealies to ur hammie. Is to ensure all the dirt and toxic inside the mealies is out and they are full of nutrition.

After 48hours, u jus put vege/fruits every 2-3 days...

For dwarfs, i think 2 mealies is very enuf already... and feed alternate days...

Put the mealies on bigger container would be better...
eric138
post Aug 24 2009, 02:10 PM

227 posts

larvae --> pulpa --> beetle..

Pulpa has the highest protein and lowest phosphorus..

U can use those normal rectangle size tupperware la...
eric138
post Aug 24 2009, 02:30 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Aug 24 2009, 02:17 PM)
Eric u anything also research 1 lo notworthy.gif
All my pets nid to eat mealworms..of course i nid to know ma...

Last time i start with zero too... Shud thank all the senior and numerous info on internet.
eric138
post Aug 24 2009, 04:04 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Aug 24 2009, 02:29 PM)
I thought they need some water, the site I linked to said they will drown, so what he did was soak some tissue and put in there.
I wonder is it 'geli', if it is, sure my GF kill me, cause whatever we are doing, it will be in the room, don't want to put outside, later housemate talk alot. So if geli/smelly =me dead
So when I buy, what I get? Can directly buy pulpa? Or they give you larvae then you must raise into pulpa?
Hehe, sorry ah, really don't know these things sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
You don hv to provide water like tat, they can get moisture from the vege/fruits u serve. biggrin.gif

Geli? it depends. last time i use twizzer to pick..now i immune d.. sometime i will talk to them also..hahahah...

Smell? Erm.. not really..u hav to pick out those dead one to prevent all others die.. My mealies are very clean, i clean their bedding regularly.. They all fat fat white white..

You don buy pulpa from shop..usually all in larvae...esp those aquarium shop who never gutload their mealies.. all so skinny and dirty... That's y i rather travel far bit and get from petshack.. healthier becoz they gutload the mealies.

QUOTE(yana_adell @ Aug 24 2009, 03:47 PM)
Yah.. Looks like we still need learn & read more larh..
Sigh, this thing will never end (EDUCATION)
For Eric.. Thanks a Lot ya. Ask u to help then get discount somemore..
Nice GUYS HERE  smile.gif
You are mostly welcome.

QUOTE(NoiZy @ Aug 24 2009, 03:55 PM)
Wa, then next time I wait Eric go Petshack then I also go, haha, maybe can get disc too. Wakakaka
Haha..walk in usually will hav disc la...
eric138
post Aug 24 2009, 05:11 PM

227 posts

1) yes
2) yes
3) yes
4) nope, u still nid to gut load for 48 hours. Jus the mealies from petshack they did use oat as bedding and the mealies kept in clean tray.. Not like others, they usually put newspaper inside.. Fyi, the mealies eat the oat as well.
5) I'm not petshack ambassador la...u shud refer the disc issue to the person in charge.
eric138
post Aug 26 2009, 07:01 PM

227 posts

I think i posted b4 la this pic.. biggrin.gif

Organic rolled oats that i use for bedding...

Added on August 26, 2009, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(mrytl3 @ Aug 26 2009, 02:39 PM)
Hello again.

Can Alfafa hay be used for bedding. It says can on the packaging but read somewhere (can't remember) that it's not very good for bedding. Have anyone use it as bedding before?

I wanted to post up a picture of my hamster but don't know how. Hehe.
U shud use hay as bedding.. Because it doesnt absorb urine, and putting so many hay in the cage only will hurt ur hamster.. sad.gif

Jus use normal bedding such as back2nature/BC or chipsi, then u can put bit hay for ur hammie to chew and do nesting..

This post has been edited by eric138: Aug 26 2009, 07:03 PM
eric138
post Aug 27 2009, 01:03 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(mrytl3 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:13 PM)
NoiZy,

Thank you. Found it already but suddenly internet weng cannot upload pictures. Will try to upload tomorrow.  smile.gif

HyourinMaru & eric138,

Yes, I used chipsi citrus. But thought of changing it to a different bedding. So I went to the nearest pet shop and they only got chipsi and alfafa hay. But I put little bit of hay only, mix it with the chipsi bedding. I'm going to KL tomorrow. Do you know any petshops that sell bedding which is not like chipsi?

And I use Vitakraft now for his meal. Previously I bought habitrails but he didn't eat much. End up throw it away most of the time. 

Thanks guys!  smile.gif

Added on August 26, 2009, 11:18 pm

Oh, didn't notice this one. The recycled paper u do it by yourself ke? Shred it or how ya? Corn cob, paper pallets. where can I get these?
Don use chipsi citrus... go for chipsi classic...Don really favors all those scented items.

I got my Back2nature & BreederCelect recycled paper bedding from Petshack.

You feeding vitakraft? Menu range or high premium range?
eric138
post Aug 28 2009, 12:08 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(mrytl3 @ Aug 28 2009, 12:04 AM)
Hehe, thought the citrus one would produce less smell that's why opt for that. Hehe. But going to change anyways. I use vitakraft high premium range. It's good right?
To control odour, u shud change the bedding and wash the cage regularly. biggrin.gif

Yup..high premium range is much better than the menu range.. Esp nature dinner.. very complete..
eric138
post Aug 30 2009, 10:58 PM

227 posts

Dwarf or syrian is the same. As hyourin said, syrian is more suitable for beginner/kids becoz they are easier to hold and catch since their size bigger.. Dwarf is much smaller and more fragile, they run faster and harder to catch...

Their temperament largely dpend on the seller/breeder. If they are very used to be handle by human, they can easily adapt to new owner.

So far, i haven encounter any big prob with Hermes. Jus once he bite me because he is kinda nervous when entered my room that fulled of different animals. After that, he is doin extremely fine with me. biggrin.gif

@Lawrence, i noticed u adopted a few animals. But pls study and research, is good you can ask opinion from experienced owner here, but there are alot basic thing u can easily read from the net.

Some questions are jus keep on repeat and repeat, although it's already stated on the first page.

0.0515sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:35 AM