Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

Mgsrulz
post Sep 2 2009, 01:04 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(kyaz87 @ Sep 2 2009, 12:24 PM)
just have to wait for MY ps home then...haizzz so slow...while other countries are ahead of us...  shakehead.gif
indonesia and thailand have their own Homes already? unsure.gif
Mgsrulz
post Oct 5 2009, 05:36 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

put blu tack underneath XD
Mgsrulz
post Nov 17 2009, 11:13 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Nov 17 2009, 03:03 AM)
Im just curious, u kept saying that.. its there any source on that?..

Or u just think so..?

Cheers smile.gif
probably just using his brains on the matter tongue.gif

seriously though,how would a notebook cooler help in any way?
notebook fans are placed below the notebook.
the ps3 fan is placed behind the ps3.

so....logically it wouldnt do anything at all with regards to airflow on the ps3.

it's like you sitting behind a wall, and placing a fan behind that wall.
pointless tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post Nov 17 2009, 12:27 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(amz_dreamz @ Nov 17 2009, 12:05 PM)
I got 1 question....

If i delete game save files, does it effect my trophies?
like deleted trophies that associated to that game?
blink.gif why do you wanna delete your save games?

i dont think it does affect trophy status since there are many people who have had their ps3 go bonkers on them and the trophy still stays put in sony's servers. hmm.gif
Mgsrulz
post Nov 17 2009, 12:35 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 17 2009, 12:30 PM)
Due to the game's limitation maybe?

I know some games like U1 or U2, they have limited game save slots (like 10), even though you have a huge hard drive on your PS3.
can overwrite mar tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post Nov 17 2009, 01:22 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Nov 17 2009, 01:17 PM)
Are u using yours?.. I was referring to notebook cooler not ps3 cooler.

And as i said much earlier it does help for laptop (so far theres no reviews on it that doesn't work), so it shld work the same, unless u have proof otherwise (like placing temperature sensors in and on your PS3).

Cheers smile.gif
i just use mine for my notebook/laptop.
not gonna bother using it with the ps3 since it would be below the ps3,and thus not help in doing anything but:
1)take up a USB slot
2)take up unnecessary space
tongue.gif

Mgsrulz
post Nov 18 2009, 01:36 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(zul_sur @ Nov 18 2009, 01:35 AM)
Anybody having a problem logging to PSN? I get an error said that "This service is not available in your country/region". Hmmm... weird-----
i had that before..cant remember what i did..
either wait or restart your ps3/modem/etc

it happens sometimes wacko.gif
Mgsrulz
post Nov 18 2009, 01:39 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(zul_sur @ Nov 18 2009, 01:38 AM)
Ok, Thanks dude. I guess i'll call it a day for my mw2. Hahaha. will try it tomorrow. Hopefully its not permanent.
nah..it shouldnt be.
i got that message when i tried to access the store rclxub.gif
tekan dunno how many times still come up.

then it became ok again (but i cant remember what i did blush.gif doh.gif )
Mgsrulz
post Nov 18 2009, 10:00 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Nov 18 2009, 09:30 AM)
When playing game or movie on PS3, how to switch back to PS3 main menu? Can't remember liao.
press the PS button during gameplay.
it doesnt work while watching blu ray,though..all you'll get is a black screen asking if you wish to exit the movie playback
Mgsrulz
post Nov 19 2009, 02:45 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 19 2009, 02:41 PM)
Ok newbie question. I know that we can create more than one account ( US account, M'sia account, etc...) , but which do I choose as my master account?

I have combination of R1 and R3 games, so I definitely have to open a US account( for patches, add-ons) and a Malaysian account, but is it important which account I use as my master account?

And I'll probably use my US account more because the games to buy in the M'sian store still slow to be added compared to the US one (I want my Oddworld, Marvel vs. Capcom 2 and Einhainder!! Also the Last Guy!)
doesnt matter.
you can use the Malaysian PSN as your main and the rest as your secondary account,no problem.
Mgsrulz
post Nov 23 2009, 12:21 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 23 2009, 11:51 AM)
Noob question:
2. PS3 games audio in 5.1/7.1 surround sound?
I might buy a PS3 slim next year, plan to use a 22"/24" HDCP support LCD monitor at resolution 1920x1080 via HDMI for display; and might get a cheap HTIB for audio. But if the games are not utilizing surround sound maybe I'll just get some 2.1 speaker.
3rd party games are MOSTLY in 5.1(Mirror's Edge, Ghostbusters,MGS4,etc)*
only some 3rd party games are in 7.1(Batman Arkham Asylum,GRID,etc)*

but ALL first party games are in 7.1(Resistance 1,2,Killzone 2,Uncharted 2,etc)

you do not want to get a cheap HTiB,believe me..i know tongue.gif

go get a full fledged 7.1 HDMI system,and you'll be absolutely sucked in by the games.

unfortunately blu ray movies are generally 5.1 only sad.gif

only some provide 7.1,and 6.1

*not all games have a perfect mix,though when it comes to 7.1 surround.
racing games have a near perfect mix, i think (tested GRID,GT5p,etc the sounds come out from the right speakers at the right time.)

action/adventure games however, may have issues.
despite being in 7.1, the sound occasionally come out from the wrong speakers...(tested Uncharted 1,Batman Arkham Asylum)
example: Batman AA; i blow a wall that is in front of the character, yet the rear speakers emit the explosive sound made in front rclxub.gif
Mgsrulz
post Nov 26 2009, 10:38 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Deswin @ Nov 26 2009, 10:32 AM)
3.10 is it stable??
you need it to go online anyway
Mgsrulz
post Nov 27 2009, 11:30 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Nov 27 2009, 11:04 PM)
Hi PS sifus,

I finally got my PS3. As I worried, it has a heating problem. The console becomes worryingly hot after 30 minutes of use. I'm worried and currently never use it for more than 30 minutes at a time. Any suggestions on where I can get cooling accessories? Console is seated in open air, no obstructions around it's vents.

Please help.
nothing much else you can do about it.
just leave it in an open space.

QUOTE(all blacks @ Nov 27 2009, 11:13 PM)
Guyz any idea when Sony MY gone release the 250gb set? looks like it's already in sale in otha regions... Planning to get a slim but not sure, whether should wait for 250gb or juz get the 120gb....
get the 120gb then manually upgrade to 500gb

QUOTE(oucheev @ Nov 27 2009, 11:25 PM)
Hi guys, I need some advise. I plan to upgrade my HDD. My PS3 is the old fat ones with only 40GB.

My question is how do I move my DLCs and PSN games. How do I copy them to my new HDD?
get an external hdd (formatted to fat) and plug it into the ps3.
then use the backup function to backup all your current data.
after you have switched hdd, copy your data back into the new hdd
Mgsrulz
post Nov 27 2009, 11:35 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(noone @ Nov 27 2009, 11:34 PM)
Hi, I am planning to buy ps3 slim in this few weeks for ffxiii. However i have some question regard warranty.

May I know that is there any different to buy MY set in sony style, sony center, official or non-official retail shop? As long as it is MY set, after online register warranty i can claim warranty on any SONY style or SONY center outlets? would they not that concern because we are not buying from their shop?

thank you
buy from anyone.
but register your warranty with sony.

it doesnt matter where you buy the set from,so long as it's a MALAYSIAN set (check the sticker on the box)

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Nov 27 2009, 11:36 PM
Mgsrulz
post Nov 28 2009, 01:34 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

nope
Mgsrulz
post Nov 28 2009, 01:41 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

im using a US account as my main ID...sometimes problems do occur,and when that happens i just change IDs for awhile.

maybe the PSN of that region is having issues at that time
Mgsrulz
post Nov 28 2009, 10:52 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Nov 28 2009, 09:51 AM)
So which PSN id is the best to use? Msia or US or etc? i always been using my US PSN id, but if u use Msia PSN id, izzit better lets say if u play online games with local players?
doesnt matter
Mgsrulz
post Nov 29 2009, 01:33 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Nov 29 2009, 12:20 PM)
Hey guys so it is ok to create other country PSN ID?In future Sony won't ban us or anything???
they wont ban you

QUOTE(D.Sync @ Nov 29 2009, 01:28 PM)
I'm currently in Johor and I won't be going to KL until the late of December. Is there any way I can use courier service to deliver my PS3 to the Sony Repair Centre at MidValley or is there any other branches?
try calling up sony and ask. hmm.gif
they do courier service in the states,IINM...or was that microsoft...?
Mgsrulz
post Dec 1 2009, 09:30 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

game updates have to be downloaded thru PSN store.
you can proxy download DEMOs,IINM..but dont think you can do the same for patches
Mgsrulz
post Dec 1 2009, 09:42 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Dec 1 2009, 09:38 AM)
1. proxy download meaning u download to a pc, then transfer the file to the ps3?
yes.
your ps3 will download the file from your pc instead of the net.

2. what does IINM mean? (this section is for begginers ain't it?)
forum acronym,non ps3 related: if im not mistaken

3. patches is synonym with game fixes?
i suppose..
some also add new features.

4. so if patches cannot how? maybe i explain, i have internet but it only hooks up to my pc (i have no wi-fi router). so with this setup is there a way to get the patches installed to the ps3?
get a wireless router thumbup.gif

0.0237sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:28 PM