Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V4, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

BelowAverage
post Dec 6 2009, 02:05 PM

1,274 posts

1)can I extend PS3 warenty more than 1 year?
2)what is PS3 HDD for?
3) can i transfer my movies, 1080p movies into ps3 to watch? does ps3 run all format?
4)where is the best place to buy? Sony original shop?
5)my audio set(the 5 speaker) is connected together with my dvd player, donno how to say, can connect to my ps3?
Thanks =D!

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Dec 6 2009, 02:08 PM
BelowAverage
post Dec 15 2009, 01:17 PM

1,274 posts

does the ps3 we buy from sony come with the cable with 5 pin or 3 pin?
and whats the diffrence?

And if i plug in the HDMI cable, i dun nd plug in AV cable?

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Dec 15 2009, 01:23 PM
BelowAverage
post Dec 15 2009, 05:53 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Dec 15 2009, 01:50 PM)
inside the ps3 package normally we have the av cable, its a standard composite cable, on display standard resolution... crt tv

for component cables, sold separately - its an HD cable, supporting up to 1080p..

for picture quality, component is better than composite

of coz if u take account of hdmi

hdmi > component > composite
THANKS! Faham 100%! very helpful!
BelowAverage
post Jan 18 2010, 11:55 PM

1,274 posts

hi, i want ask something

ps3 got screen protector?
i mean like a piece of sheet of screen protector to protect the surface of the ps3?

i want to maintain it, so i dont want scratches on top, do anybody know where to buy? or does lowyat garage sale got sell?
BelowAverage
post Jan 19 2010, 11:10 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(chris@cstorie @ Jan 19 2010, 10:33 AM)
your console is phat or slim 1 ?
slim one!
BelowAverage
post Jan 20 2010, 12:41 AM

1,274 posts

1)is there an easier way to charge my ps3 controller than charging through the ps3? i dont want switch on the ps3 to charge the controller, overheating and killing the ps3 life~

2)can i plug in a laptop cooler pad to my ps3 slim XD?
BelowAverage
post Jan 20 2010, 07:30 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(ayeen_83 @ Jan 20 2010, 12:57 PM)
Hi guys.. quite new with this forum. I owned Phat PS3 Asian set. Lately i was thinking of changing to Slim PS3.
Since there is many experienced people here, I'm sure I can gather a lot of opinion and thoughts or maybe you can show me any links for me as reference.

I would like to know which one is better ( Phat Vs Slim) in terms of performance, airflow and heating or chances of technical matters will occurs.
Please put aside about the physical nice-look and size things as I don't really concern about that.

Appreciate for any thoughts and reply.  notworthy.gif

phat is better, more breathing space. so many things stuff tightly together is no good

anyway,guys can recommend me 2 player game?
i want racing and fighting!

i realize nfs shift cant 2 players cry.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 20 2010, 08:13 PM

1,274 posts

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Body-Shield-Skin-Pro...9QQcmdZViewItem

can anybody tell me where to get something like this?
BelowAverage
post Jan 20 2010, 10:01 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Jan 20 2010, 09:29 PM)
With a fan the size of the one in the Slim, I don't think thats an issue  tongue.gif
what? i was refering to the ps2 whistling.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 21 2010, 12:06 PM

1,274 posts

hi, i put a cd inside, and import the whole cd.

but when i saw the folder outside, the folder name is written as "album",

how do i change this? i want rename the folder
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 12:20 AM

1,274 posts

hi, i download demo in the background, but i want download and leave it on the whole nite.

how do i set it in a way that it shuts down when the download completes?
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 01:52 AM

1,274 posts

in the setting area, there was something about RBG thingy, and i set it to FULL.

what is that?
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 02:00 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 22 2010, 01:57 AM)
Go to PS3 settings > Power Saving > Set auto-shut off for your PS3
What are the games you are having this issue with?
TV colors uses the standard RGB range of 16-235 (Limited).
Monitors however uses a range of 0-255 (Full).

Basically the settings is for monitors because games are made with the Limited RGB range in mind.
Colors may look washed out so setting it to Full should help with "better" colors and contrast.
thanks! Really helpful! biggrin.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 02:25 AM

1,274 posts

Try not to place your PS3 on the same level that you place your front speakers. The sounds generated from the speakers regardless low or high volume will cause some low or high vibration across the AV cabinet or table panel and this might have a negative damage impact on the BD mechanism lens and it parts (especially when the lens is in reading mode, the sensitivity is much greater to any shock or vibration)

am i positioning the ps3 wrongly? will my speaker affect my ps3 like the above quote from first page?
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 12:05 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Yan @ Jan 22 2010, 08:13 AM)
another thing u can do is put the on those AV spikes ... that wud lessen the vibration... that's wat i did with all my players when i was playing HT and HIFI smile.gif
sorry, i dont really understand, i kinda suck in sound system equipment names and position, cause i didnt buy those sweat.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 22 2010, 11:37 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 22 2010, 02:06 PM)
Most probably HDMI cable fault.
I sugest you connect the AV cable and set the audio out to that.

See if the problem persist.
You're not placing your PS3 wrongly, but you're placing your speakers wrongly.
In a nutshell, nothing to worry about your PS3's placement.
my subwoffer is on the far right, camera not enough space to snap.

its like this

left speaker- left speaker - middle speaker - ps3 - right speaker-right speaker- subwuffer
QUOTE(madballs @ Jan 22 2010, 03:35 PM)
QFT

no point going for 5.1 system when u arrange everything in front...there is no sound positioning and only more echoes sound .....  doh.gif
i donno how to position also sweat.gif

my mom bought the speaker set lol

got picture on how to position?

Added on January 22, 2010, 11:38 pmi want ask about psn

my sis want buy critty crush game on psn

which cost 7.55 usd.

im using USA PSN Account, can i use it to buy??

do i just buy the top up card to top up? or is better to use credit card?

or i nd to re-register a MY id to buy?

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Jan 22 2010, 11:38 PM
BelowAverage
post Jan 23 2010, 02:35 PM

1,274 posts

ok, before this, i posted a picture here of my position of speaker, and i was told i was doing it wrong.

so i re-adjusted the position, i couldnt make a perfect square like the picture in the manual cause my living room very big, but i think i almost made it.
can anybody please see my pictures and tell me if im doing it right?
BelowAverage
post Jan 23 2010, 05:05 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Jan 23 2010, 02:40 PM)
yr woofer u letak atas plastic chair ah bro?
dono, saja only sweat.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 23 2010, 02:55 PM)
@BelowAverage
Everything's good now. Just put your woofer on the floor.
You'll feel the difference.
ok, noted! going to put now

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Jan 23 2010, 03:10 PM)
@belowaverage - If the back speakers have no sound, you might be using the wrong kind of cable.

Are you using the AV cables or HDMI/optical cables?
im using HMDI cable connected to tv, then tv connect to hi-fi set through HDMI cable.
when i watch movie, back speaker got sound.
but when i play mw2, back speaker no sound.

but i go read manual, and adjust some setting, then behind got sound liao

im really zzzzz in all this things sweat.gif

QUOTE(madballs @ Jan 23 2010, 03:10 PM)
the sub woofer has to be place on a solid surface and you will get more boom boom pow out of it
boom boom pow XD! ok! definately put on the ground to feel the difference!
BelowAverage
post Jan 23 2010, 05:06 PM

1,274 posts

hi, i got a new question about buying PSN Game,

my sis want critty crunch, which is 3.49 USD.

i want to buy, but psn card for 10usd is rm50, which is totally not worth.

so im planning to use credit card

here are some question
1)is it safe to use credit card?
2) im using USA Account, should i register MY account if i want to buy any psn game??
BelowAverage
post Jan 23 2010, 05:10 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Jan 23 2010, 05:08 PM)
MY PSN is overpriced.

If you can, use US account for purchases.

For games, your call which one to use.

To use CC is safe, but you might want to read up on it, can't use just like that  icon_rolleyes.gif
so you mean MY PSN is over price,and its cheaper to buy US Account?

what do you mean "cant use just like that?" is there something i need to do?

any link for me to read?? my sis desperate for that game doh.gif

0.0428sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:24 PM