Jul 30 2009, 01:21 AM
1,085 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
the goal by cesc was absolutely superb.. loved the buildup play... this is the arsenal i want to see.. and i must say that song is doing well in the middle of the pitch too... heheh...
Jul 30 2009, 01:36 AM
bendtner looks like he wants to get booked today... hahahah... he's had a few of those rash challenges already..
Jul 30 2009, 01:38 AM
how come traore got subbed so early?
Jul 30 2009, 01:43 AM
^ same things i'm wondering.... but vermaeleen looks good in the air.. he's been quite dominant from what i've seen...
Added on July 30, 2009, 1:47 amaisay.. what a miss by bendter... Added on July 30, 2009, 1:49 amok folks.. gotta sleep already.. got work tomorrow.. but arsenal i must say look pretty decent....there's hope after all? =) This post has been edited by lostasylum: Jul 30 2009, 01:49 AM |
Jul 30 2009, 11:15 AM
i dunno about you guys... but watching the way we played against hanover, i actually thought song and denilson played very well. song was busy mopping up defensively, he didn't lose too many balls (in fact, i can't remember him watching him lose the ball in the 1st half) and denilson was quick to push passes to the flanks or the attacking players... the 2 CBs of vermaeleen and gallas were also quite tight in the first half....
so don't be surprised that on the strength of such performances and also their commitment in training that wenger may decide not to get a replacement for toure or a DM.... |
Jul 30 2009, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(ericpires @ Jul 30 2009, 11:54 AM) Our soft-centered defense really needs some more `upgrade` now with Toure gone. The next few weeks transfer news for AW will make or break Arsenal season actually, lorik cana's name has been one that was bandied about in forums and rehashed newspaper reports from newspapers like the dailymail and the sun in addition to his all famous youtube videos that makes him out to be a real monster. i enjoy that video actually.. heheh.. but to be honest, i haven't actually heard wenger say that he's really interested in cana (please correct me if i'm wrong).Lorik Cana signed for Sunderland. Wasnt AW interested in signing him before this? |
Aug 4 2009, 02:26 AM
just some more food for thought.. and i suppose i am adding fuel to the fire.. =)
The Difference Between Walcott and Wilshere » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on August 4, 2009, 2:34 amnot sure how reliable this is... but anyway... Swiss FA ‘confirm’ Senderos exit » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by lostasylum: Aug 4 2009, 02:34 AM |
Aug 5 2009, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Aug 5 2009, 10:26 PM) Don't know what is wrong with Fergie this season. First he written off Man City and the rest of the top four including us. Not to say put fire but he should know that with cr7 and tevez his team no longer as strong as last season. Stop talking man. just be fair to the rest. there's nothing wrong with fergie.... he's just starting the mind games early this season. but i honestly am not bothered, although i'll admit i'm very amused with the things that are coming out of the united gaffer's mouth. i'm more bothered with what's happening in arsenal (or the lack of happenings.. hahahah) and how we're gonna challenge for honours this season... so don't be too affected by it yeah? it's all part and parcel of the game.. =) |
Aug 6 2009, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(sakaito @ Aug 6 2009, 12:05 AM) huhuhhuuhu i'm not exactly crazy about resigning vieira, but i guess if it's between him and no one, i'd take him.. =)that'll be until the end of transfer window. AW already said he wants to get things settle a.s.a.p before next weekend. So, we'll see. but... i want someone else! i want Vieira and another CB! eheheheh Chamakh can wait... and yes, another CB is definitely what we need.. especially with the news that sendy seems to be imminently leaving... |
Aug 6 2009, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(sakaito @ Aug 6 2009, 09:36 AM) i must say this is a make or break season for rosicky. if he can't stay healthy, then it'll be last season for him. i've been asking the same question... are our players always getting injured because of the style that we play? or the training regime? or something? how come players who come to arsenal in the peak of fitness can end up being injured prone (i'm not implying rosicky here)? hhhhmmm....it's not just rosicky, a lot of our players are injury prone. heck, even our goalkeeper got injured. Almunia got injured last year.. now Fabianski. Next dunno who. What the heck they did in training leh? |
Aug 7 2009, 11:47 AM
i'm just waiting (and really hoping) for wenger to pull the rabbit out of the hat.. heheh.. =)
Aug 7 2009, 06:51 PM
Aug 12 2009, 10:09 AM
here's what some of the writers from soccernet think about the coming EPL season:
SOURCE » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Aug 13 2009, 03:46 PM
Aug 15 2009, 02:52 PM
Aug 19 2009, 12:06 PM
this is proving to be a day full of yawns for me.. didn't sleep before the match and now suffering... =)
but anyways, from pre-season till now, i think there's a lot to be happy about... ------------------------------------------------------------------ could 4-3-3 be the answer for defense and attack? vermaelen and gallas have proven that they can work well and they have skills that complement each other, but i've also noticed that with song and denilson helping to share defensive duties, the defense worries more about aerial balls and the opposing player nearest to them. previously, i felt that toure and gallas also had to deal with the area between midfield and the final third (the "hole") and it made their job that much harder... attacking wise, having song and denilson to anchor the midfield allows the attacking players to move forward with full gusto. also, fabregas is now freed from worrying about the defensive aspect and it shows. look at his body language and the influence he's been exerting... he's enjoying his game, which i feel that he wasn't able to do last season. in fact, did you guys notice that even gallas and vermaelen were taking turns to foray into the opposition half? there was even one move where gallas was the furthest man forward! hahahaha... i'm not worried about our strikers not scoring enough a few people have been worried because our goals are mainly coming from midfield and also the defenders and that it's not a good thing that arshavin and RVP have been anonymous in terms of scoring goals.... to me, i am not worried at all that our strikers are not scoring just yet. firstly, we must remember that now with a 3 pronged attack (as opposed to a single man up front or a 2 man strikeforce), the strikers have to relearn how to make runs, understand their strike partners and find space. RVP is also having to learn to be a target man and arshavin has clearly not adapted to having less space to run into. bendtner is now having to play more holding as a long of high and long balls are directed to him and he's playing with his back to goal quite a bit. but the beautiful thing is that we now have other sources of goals. i still remember last season that i was highlighting the fact that arsenal squad depended very heavily on our strikers scoring and when they didn't produce the goals, we rarely had other players who could step up and help out. i still remember how stressful it was when nasri's goals dried up, and if it wasn't for the purchase of arshavin during winter transfer window, we would've been in trouble. this season, when the strikers are heavily shackled (ie arshavin and RVP), our midfielders and defenders have exploited the gaps to score. granted, it's only been pre-season plus 2 games of the new season, but the potential is there i feel. the kids have grown up... and wenger knows the arsenal this season have been playing at a much higher tempo that last season. there is an urgency in their play and it's making it hard for opponent teams to keep up. i think everton were totally not ready at how fast and ruthlessly we attacked them. celtic's players managed to contain us for the first 35 minutes of play, and then they started wilting. the papers all say it was fortunate that we got those 2 goals, but i have no doubts that our pace and style of play was killing them. if the current formation and players were given more games under their belts, i think the score may have been more. several players really need to be singled out for praise: alex song has been an absolute monster in the middle of the park. he's been snapping at the opposing midfielders' ankles, getting in their faces, and he's not jogging as much anymore. also, his first touch has improved tremendously and he's releasing the ball much faster, allowing the attackers to hit at pace. this is also due in no small part to the improvement of denilson. many always point to denilson's stats to show that he is good last season, but i've always felt that he lacked that cutting edge. however, this season, he's been working very well with song and fabregas and again, his passing is more incisive, and the passes are deadly as opposed to those very safe lateral passes. both have improved their vision and their passing capabilities. another thing different about our players this season.. we're taking shots from distance now. where previously we loved to have 50,324 passes before trying to walk the ball into the net, this season we're mixing it up. and this poses a problem for opponent players because they now have to worry about the strikers, AND also the shots coming in from distance. celtic tried to nullify the attacking nous of arsenal by packing their midfield, but again, with the pace the game was being played, they were wilting gradually.. and finally, i cannot say enough about vermaelen and gallas. they have been winning aerial balls, and they have speed and positional sense. we played the offside rule to a T yesterday, pissing the living daylights out of samaras and it was also apparent in the everton match with jo not getting much love. vermaelen has truly proven that he doesn't need to be crouchy's height to be able to win headers and he is firm in his tackles, while gallas mops up after him. of course, there is still a lot to improve, especially the gap between the two CBs and the understanding each other, but they've only been playing together for such a short time. regardless, this partnership has potential defensively and as proven in the everton match, attacking wise as well. ------------------------------------------------------------------ all in all, it's still early in the season and it would be foolish to say that we've found the winning formula. however, the way the arsenal players have improved and how well they've been adapting to the 4-3-3 formation and the high paced game that we play, this could be the new era of wengerball. and if they can play to their potential, i'm quite sure we won't end the season empty handed. |
Aug 20 2009, 07:06 PM
i think right now, the quality of our squad is not in question (probably except diaby.. haha). but what will decide our season is our strength in depth. assuming our players don't get major injuries throughout the season, we should be fine. the only problem is, when was the last time arsenal had a major injury free season? and we've let quite a few players go, so i really do hope that wenger will get some reinforcements, especially in the CB and defensive midfield position. if we can get one extra for each of those positions, i think we should be able to make it to the next transfer window before deciding whether we still need to buy .. heheh..
Aug 21 2009, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(Zan81 @ Aug 21 2009, 10:36 AM) Arsenal.com does your wife watch football, or follow it religiously?Got one for the wifey last year. She wanted to put Fabregas 4, but its an S ladies cut, how the heck to fit F-A-B-R-E-G-A-S on the slim shoulders... Anyway, yeah the Blue jersey looks damn nice. I saw someone wearing ARSHAVIN 23 and it looks sweeeeeet. Already hinted the wife to return the favour until now, my wife doesn't really enjoy football much in general, but she likes the way arsenal play lah (not last season though.. hahah). the only two women i know who are really into football and are hard core arsenal supporters are kaka91 and another friend of mine. |
Aug 21 2009, 05:59 PM
my dad is a united fan while i'm an arsenal fan.
we'll always make fun of each other's teams, but it's always in good fun, so that's alright... in my group of friends, i have 4 other arsenal friends while the rest are united.. so at least we're not outnumbered too badly... hahahah... edit: forgot to mention, i've got a friend who is a united fan and his wife is a liverpool fan.. both are hardcore... and it's really funny cause when either team loses the winning spouse will goad the partner... hahahaha.... This post has been edited by lostasylum: Aug 21 2009, 06:00 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0998sec
8 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:19 PM |