Anyone Stopped Playing WoW?

hfi
post Aug 24 2009, 10:15 PM

598 posts

Im thinking of making a comeback wow but how big of a file is the wotlk ? Thinking of dling it and give the trial a whirl.

PS: Oh and where can get me a copy of wotlk ? TBC and Pcgamer dont seem to have it.

This post has been edited by hfi: Aug 24 2009, 10:28 PM
Noyze
post Aug 25 2009, 02:41 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

It seems that everyone is lagging but me? lolx. I used the winXP reg fix like ages ago and I play from Sunway with a 200-300ms ping no probs no tunneling. And now i"m in Miri, sarawak also get the same sometimes i'm getting like 122ms( lowest i ever got). SO i guess the reg fix really works ey? Oh yeah i've tried tunneling but it only reduced like 50-80 ms. so not worth paying for it since i'm much faster than ppl who tunnel anyways lolx.
Jas2davir
post Aug 25 2009, 05:40 AM

461 posts

the reg fix is very effective if its easy to dooo :<
ArmedandDangerous
post Aug 25 2009, 12:47 PM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 24 2009, 10:15 PM)
Im thinking of making a comeback wow but how big of a file is the wotlk ? Thinking of dling it and give the trial a whirl.

PS: Oh and where can get me a copy of wotlk ? TBC and Pcgamer dont seem to have it.
WoW now is about 13GB, not including the patch files themselves.
Gr3yL3gion
post Aug 28 2009, 04:01 PM

468 posts

I doubt I'll comeback unless they solve the high latency issue caused by a)screamyx b)the physical distance of all WOW servers.
penman
post Aug 28 2009, 05:43 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Aug 28 2009, 04:01 PM)
I doubt I'll comeback unless they solve the high latency issue caused by a)screamyx b)the physical distance of all WOW servers.
Oceanic servers not that bad for Msia~lah...

or u can always op for tunneling. icon_rolleyes.gif
Gr3yL3gion
post Aug 29 2009, 04:51 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Aug 28 2009, 05:43 PM)
Oceanic servers not that bad for Msia~lah...

or u can always op for tunneling.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Oceanic servers are physically in U.S. Unless things has changed since I'm away.
ArmedandDangerous
post Aug 29 2009, 09:56 AM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

Oceanic servers are in LA. Just that the Server Time are adjusted for us Asians.
__mill
post Aug 29 2009, 03:13 PM

112 posts

it's been 5 months since i stopped playing WoW, the new expension coming soon eh? tempting to make a come back. but yea, like gr3y mention, is the lag/latency problem have been solved? its really p.i.t.a to go raid with high latency.. u_u
Gr3yL3gion
post Aug 29 2009, 03:51 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(__mill @ Aug 29 2009, 03:13 PM)
it's been 5 months since i stopped playing WoW, the new expension coming soon eh? tempting to make a come back. but yea, like gr3y mention, is the lag/latency problem have been solved? its really p.i.t.a to go raid with high latency.. u_u
This september I'm officially out of the game for 1 year. laugh.gif
vectorian
post Aug 29 2009, 03:59 PM

377 posts

I am taking a break too till Streamyx fix the issue then I will return most likely
__mill
post Aug 29 2009, 05:02 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Aug 29 2009, 03:51 PM)
This september I'm officially out of the game for 1 year. laugh.gif
haha soon, happy 1st WoW Break anny!
Oturanubna
post Sep 5 2009, 05:18 PM

114 posts

I started playing wow when it first came out, then I stopped when BWL was released I think.

I came back a few years later when WotLK was released and stopped a month after Ulduar came out.

Basically I quit when heavy raiding is required for progression since streamyx always disses me out. I tend to have frequent DC'es and bad latencies and when it comes to raiding it always frustrates me.

Might come back when cataclysm comes out.

viper_1129
post Sep 6 2009, 10:39 PM

401 posts

Same reason here for quiting wow = Streamyx lagness.

Kiraneko
post Sep 9 2009, 11:54 AM

69 posts

I started few months before BC was implemented (Alli lvl70 human priest), quit some time after that, restarted with WotLK (rerolled Horde, lvl 80 BE priest), quit this year in May when I got busy due to personal reasons, and after that never got the will to pick it back up (game time expired).

I do love WoW, but there's a few main irks that made me quit:

1) Usual Streamyx, I don't like resetting routers for one stupid playable IP.

2) Epic Loot drama. This is THE BIGGEST destroyer of friendships in WoW. I've seen drama happen between 2-3 good friends that spoiled everything... and this is in both guilds that I participated in seperate servers.

3) Guild raids. This was the turn of events for me, from enjoying the game to logging in only for hours of frustration and stress. Personally I enjoyed doing event achievements, obtaining niche items and mounts much much more than a purple from a dungeon that I'm not guaranteed to get due to MS rolls and hours spent for only 1 token per week. I enjoy raiding the casual and fun way, not the nazi "everything must be perfect, you cause wipe i kick you" type of raid.

May return for Cataclysm, rerolling again, starting afresh with no drama.
soitsuagain
post Sep 10 2009, 09:24 AM

Let's do it together!
3,818 posts

Anybody knows when the brewfest is up? I can't screw up on my mount lol.
ArmedandDangerous
post Sep 10 2009, 09:41 AM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

In-game calendar.
pohpiah
post Sep 20 2009, 03:52 PM

201 posts

Heres my <long useless rant> / confession tongue.gif

I stopped playing only nearly a month ago after nearly 2 years. Stopped because of :
1) Bored of the game
Everything is the same, everyone dancing like idiots, make the same jokes over and over and over, always always online omg, I start to feel like a loser and I start to think the people i meet in wow are also losers xD ... don't feel excited when going in new raids at all, more like working, which leads me to next point.

2) Have to work too hard
We have to work sooo hard, do dailies repeatedly for rep/money, do research, watch videos, read strats, download / configure addons, download programs to help take care of addons, check addon updates, download program that help with gearing, dps spreadsheets, raid constantly, worry about account being hacked etc etc ... If I'm still in school, all this work will earn me 13As in SPM for sure.

3) Streamyx stress
Always DC/laggy, but kinda grateful bcos it pushed me to quit wow. But I have to say, the first year plus streamyx was awesome, maybe 85% of my playtime I didn't get lag. But then other times always have to relog and reset IP.
Doing pvp (mostly this year) is very funny because it always seems like I get one shotted, for example pally runs over and hits me once and I die, but if I look at combat log, I actually got hit a lot, probably lag that caused this, so pvp is no longer fun for me.

4) Culture / generation gap?
Eventually I have grown to hate listening to people saying "lol" or "lawl" out loud on vent, instead of actually laughing, its so lazy and insincere. Most times I wish I don't have to turn vent on and listen to people that can't stop talking, but then we need vent sigh. Of course not everyone is a dork, but its probably due to me not enjoying the game anymore, so people got on my nerves.

5) Travel time in game
When I am bored, I login to play, but then I have to be bored in game waiting for stupid flying or riding around, dying while accidentally flying over WG, or flying too far into sea and dying of fatigue, then dying 2 more times trying to swim back due to fatigue because I flew too far into sea ><

6) I get dumber and fatter
After all that time of occupying my free time in wow, I feel I neglect my body, mind and career. I am going for more casual type games now from now on, wow is a lifestyle, more than just a game : /

7) Sometimes gear drops off raids that no one can wear especially 10 man raids and sometimes gear drops for people that already have better gear ... don't they have algorithms that does loot drop optimization? tongue.gif Like the way they choose Arena match-ups. Drops are really up to luck, which becomes frustrating.

</long useless rant>

ArmedandDangerous
post Sep 20 2009, 04:10 PM

Less QQ, more Pew Pew
933 posts

Half the things you listed have been part of the game since a million years ago. Nothing new. I got so much to reply to you but I'm just too lazy.
ichigo_6091
post Sep 21 2009, 04:31 PM

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

I stopped,cause.im 14,and not too much time to play u see,and no friends to play with me,do stuff together,got la some friends from aussie and msia met through Wow.But their not active so much,so,i decided to leave a 80 rogue behind.Now im playing Runes of Magic msia server.Most of them are msian,some are singaporean.All in all,the game in nice.i thought of returning to WOW though.but when im 16,hope i can find some kaki by then.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0212sec    1.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:42 PM