Serious Making Cupid's Corner great, A serious discussion

mrmagic21
post Jul 26 2009, 10:39 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 25 2009, 08:16 PM)
I decided to create a new thread for discussion after seeing Baronic's post here at this thread.
Why not form a committee of people whom you personally know (and can vouch for) to be good, reliable contributors? They can help you to be your eyes and ears.

There are a lot of good posts and ideas in CC, but unfortunately the whole thing lacks structure and a lot of ideas get lost in traffic, so it's inevitable that people have to keep posting the same thing again and again.

I believe that stickies are a good way to overcome this problem. Perhaps there could be a thread with a free flowing discussion, followed by a sticky thread where positions, arguments and points are summarised by the contributor, linking back to the original discussion?

Discussion is good but there are clear limits to what they can achieve. I think that it's time where forumers are given the option of just reading and digesting well written points of views in order to form their own insights.

If we're serious about providing quality input, then we have to give some thought into providing form and structure to our point of views... the one thing I've observed that is lacking in CC so far.

Just two cents off the top of my head...

P.S: I have more thoughts but I want to see the reception to this thread before I proceed with posting and developing them.
form and structure is hard to come by if you didn't think globalisation, Poon.
I guess that you already know that every each one of us have their own thoughts and opinion, agreements and disagreements.
Even a great book lacks form and structure but as long as you can understand it, it's cool.
That's life I must say. whistling.gif
Reading Ezralimm's thread doesn't lead me anyway but I'm sure there will be certain people who can find it useful as a reference.
If you want to make CC great, first we need to make LYN great. If the core start to bleach out, so does its roots and CC is one of the roots.
But, it is either impossible to make such things to become 'great' if there are sides taking place here.

like this incest thread here Incest

this thread is meaningless no matter how much you can think about it and do about it. If you know it is right or wrong, you can't change people's view about it.
Bias or not it still a bad thing 'generally' and 'religiously'. Someone has broke their own rules but as long as it remains 'clean' it's ok lol.
like Kampung 2005 and Cheesenium said, CC is RIP OFF already and still going on and I have to agree with that.
the only thing I like about being here is the SC and some of silverhawk's topic nod.gif .

0.0144sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:07 AM