Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V29!, The Orange Legion

MechaHerc
post Jul 24 2009, 01:09 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(Shazril @ Jul 24 2009, 12:53 PM)
the title is 'once was beautiful'. kinda tired of shooting 'lively' flower tongue.gif.
for me, the color need to tune up, flower must be vibrant, the green bokeh at the background seems dull..
dingenius3
post Jul 24 2009, 02:05 PM

G33K
1,480 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jul 24 2009, 11:52 AM)
that, i bet require you to snoot~  brows.gif
ooohhh.... now i know la... a snoot....
very easy to DIY... rclxms.gif
jonjwlee
post Jul 24 2009, 02:14 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Shazril @ Jul 24 2009, 12:40 PM)

C&C appreciated  smile.gif
The flowers look too isolated in the centre. Try a tighter crop.
albnok
post Jul 24 2009, 02:34 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

jonjwlee: Yes, flipping the mirror down and closing the shutter to use phase-detect AF in Live View (on other cameras besides Alpha) does wear out your shutter.

Braynumb: You need to use a Canon ST-E4, 580EX or 580EXII on camera, to trigger an off-camera 430EX. The pop-up flash cannot - none of the Canons can do this.

melv: It is likely that they are a Sony Center. The Sony Style outlets can only sell at retail price. Sony Center outlets are owned by another company and you can read who owns the shop, on their signboard.

marauderz: The manual does not say it's water resistant but we'll see. I doubt it is especially since I fold it leaving the neck strap out as a vulnerable entry point.

Kul | Mo0: Do you mean a tiny concentrated spot of light, or an eclipse?

If you're going for the eclipse look, aim the flashes slightly behind the subject. Like what I did with your camera at Rasta, just without the front flash coming in the picture (using HSS).

You should set the modelling mode to TESTM (Test button triggers multiple flashes for 4 seconds) and move the flash around the subject to see how the light is shaped.
cjlai
post Jul 24 2009, 02:36 PM

1,631 posts

C&C welcome

EXIF:

Kul | Mo0
post Jul 24 2009, 02:37 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Albnok : Yea I know that effect but what I wanted was er... Yea the snoot effect la. Half way completing dy. (:
Braynumb
post Jul 24 2009, 02:56 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jul 24 2009, 10:57 AM)
i have played with nokin csl before (most of my strobist friends use nokin system) and the rate of not triggering is higher than alpha wireless, especially with sb-600.
Oooo... SB-600 interests me... never knew that Nokin flashes hav the sensors on the side instead of the front... hehehe... didn't get to try it though... cry.gif

QUOTE(Shazril @ Jul 24 2009, 12:53 PM)
the title is 'once was beautiful'. kinda tired of shooting 'lively' flower tongue.gif.
your picture title is cun... but the picture really is kinda awkward... hehehe...

QUOTE(albnok @ Jul 24 2009, 02:34 PM)
Braynumb: You need to use a Canon ST-E4, 580EX or 580EXII on camera, to trigger an off-camera 430EX. The pop-up flash cannot - none of the Canons can do this.
No wonder the 350D also couldn't trigger it off camera... haiyer... maybe the guy in the other forum meant the 430EX II??
kopitiam
post Jul 24 2009, 03:09 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

ouch my eyes!! never open your eyes when u want to test full power ph34r.gif
albnok
post Jul 24 2009, 03:10 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Braynumb, even if you had a 350D and 430EX II, you would not be able to trigger it wirelessly unless you have the ST-E4, 580EX or 580EX II on the 350D.
Braynumb
post Jul 24 2009, 03:17 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

albnok: ok... so, meaning is, if I were to trigger a 430EX with my sony, I'd at least need a F42AM on my camera?
shootkk
post Jul 24 2009, 03:18 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Quote of the day:

LOL! laugh.gif laugh.gif

After the test, I'll bet kopitiam looks like this : rclxub.gif
MechaHerc
post Jul 24 2009, 03:30 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Jul 24 2009, 03:09 PM)
u test F58 ar bro biggrin.gif

oh btw.. HEPI BIRTHDAY dingenius3 bday.gif cheers.gif
Braynumb
post Jul 24 2009, 03:46 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

Eh?? Din's Birthday today? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif cool2.gif thumbup.gif Umo dah cukup dah... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Braynumb: Jul 24 2009, 03:47 PM
craziqbal
post Jul 24 2009, 03:55 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jul 24 2009, 03:46 PM)
Eh?? Din's Birthday today? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  cool2.gif  thumbup.gif Umo dah cukup dah... tongue.gif
nak kawin dah pun
croomaniac
post Jul 24 2009, 04:03 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Jul 24 2009, 03:09 PM)
though i knew you would be like rclxub.gif after the flash flashes - like what shootkk have mentioned, i like to play 1/1 with my friends (well sometimes my wife)..

me: "ok, close your eyes"

them: slowly close their eyes "why?"

me: press the test button

them: "ouch! panas muka!"

me: "hahahaha"

not only bright light (at least they closed their eyes) but can also feel the heat whistling.gif

Braynumb
post Jul 24 2009, 04:09 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(craziqbal @ Jul 24 2009, 03:55 PM)
nak kawin dah pun
Aaaa.. yang tu saya dah tau... hehehe... icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif
albnok
post Jul 24 2009, 04:26 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

Braynumb: No, the 430EX does not have an optical slave mode built in. So you cannot trigger it with anything other than the ST-E4, 580EX or 580EX II (in TTL modes.)

You can buy a cheap optical slave trigger that mounts on the 430EX foot. However, the 430EX will have to be in manual power and so will the F42.

Happy Birthday dingenius3!
kopitiam
post Jul 24 2009, 04:39 PM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jul 24 2009, 04:09 PM)
Aaaa.. yang tu saya dah tau... hehehe...  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif
can borrow your 50mm or not? blush.gif
croomaniac
post Jul 24 2009, 04:43 PM

269 posts