ASUS k40AB/k50AB: HD 4570 for just RM2K!, Light gaming on the cheap

kucingfight
post Oct 2 2009, 08:44 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(keivin1991 @ Oct 2 2009, 08:42 AM)
max i think is 1hour 30 mins. oh yea..the battery for K40AB is 6 cell right ?? what if it is run on 9 cell battery ? but is there even a 9 cell for K40AB model ?
i think it's only 4cells = 44wh

6cells should be = 52wh?

nope..i don think there's a 9 celler
kucingfight
post Oct 2 2009, 07:15 PM

5,784 posts

ASUS K50AB = NEW BIOS OUT , 216
kucingfight
post Oct 2 2009, 11:02 PM

5,784 posts

mmm i'm not sure what are the changes with the latest bios

powerplay 3200->4570 still having issues..blank screen. not sure if it's catalyst related or not
kucingfight
post Oct 5 2009, 03:45 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(jackng @ Oct 5 2009, 03:39 PM)
y nearly no people discuss this asusk40/50ab topic ady d?
maybe becoz the same questions kept on repeating itself? eventhough it's clearly stated @ 1st post?
kucingfight
post Oct 6 2009, 04:58 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 6 2009, 04:13 PM)
Looking for a gaming laptop, looking at Dell Studio 15. But someone recommend K40ab so I come and have a look. Pricing is very attractive but till people say need to open back cover when gaming? Please advise.
Comparing the k40/50ab to dell studio15. you pay for what u get, considering the price:performance:feature paid ratio, they are about the same. Differences are

Dell Studio 15 :
-intel cpu (better batt life & performance clock to clock)
- hdmi, esata
-faster gddr3 ati 4570 (680/800)
- Vista/Win7 OS

Asus k40/50Ab
- amd x2 cpu (lower batt life, & lower performance clock to clock to intel)
- no hdmi, no esata
- ddr2 ati 4570 (680/500) , memory overclockable to 600mhz
- free dos
- 2 years warranty, yes a BIG Plus point

That’s about rm700 diff, so basically it depends what you wan

Nope, there's no need to open casing when gaming. Palm rest is very cool..you should ty it out
kucingfight
post Oct 6 2009, 09:25 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 6 2009, 08:58 PM)
Yes. You are right, this considered as value buy laptop.
I am considering....  brows.gif

How much is k50AB right now? Global warranty right?
iianm, there are news that k50ab has been discontinued, it was also mentioned by several resellers. not sure how true it is

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 6 2009, 09:12 PM)
Bear in mind that frame buffer for both S15 and K50ab are different

DDR2 vs GDDR3 K40ab scores around 3k while S15 is around 4k in 3d Mark06

Besides S15 has other better features: Customization icon_rolleyes.gif ,esata,hdmi,better cpu&gpu.I know that K40/50ab is unbeatable at its price but forking out another RM700 is worthwhile IMHO smile.gif

Added on October 6, 2009, 9:13 pm

2 years Global warranty for all Asus laptops thumbup.gif
frame buffer 512mb is the same. diff is the memory speed, where studio 15 is 800mhz vs asus's 500mhz

again, do not take 3dmark06 as the ultimate gauge point. if u do analyze properly, cpu factor is also taken in account, where we know AMD is inferior is this category
kucingfight
post Oct 6 2009, 11:32 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 6 2009, 10:51 PM)
Yalor... That's why I said this is a value buy laptop.

I can save more. If anything happen with the K40ab, I can buy another set  laugh.gif
well again if ur looking for something cheap n below 2k, this is the one

else, self customization of over >3.5k kinda defeats the purpose of the whole idea. there are other options for that price
kucingfight
post Oct 6 2009, 11:42 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 6 2009, 11:39 PM)
I just customize the processor and 3 years warranty only.
Intel vs AMD... I am still fine with it... But pricing is really big different.. As I said, I can get 1 of this Asus and 1 netbook already
lol..guess ur choice has been clearly spoken... laugh.gif

*no regrets having this
kucingfight
post Oct 6 2009, 11:51 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 6 2009, 11:49 PM)
It do really tempt me to get it...
K, going down kl this weekend, will go and check it out.... Must change money 1st  brows.gif
yeah..rm2k is peanuts la, especially when it's divided 2.45 laugh.gif

ah..pathetic RMs
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 12:37 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 12:35 AM)
If one can save, why not? What's the point spending money unnecessary?
Turion model would be more expensive right?
But still, RM1999 just attract me.  laugh.gif
k40ab 250gb is selling rm1899 which is even sweeter
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 12:44 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Oct 7 2009, 12:42 AM)
Bought mine the same day with kucing. Aggressive price deal. Worth every penny.
aya ya lar..evernew rite? u were with another guy ? damn should have haggled price down if we bought tgthr
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 10:34 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(franzcys @ Oct 7 2009, 10:09 AM)
Hem ... may i knw wut cooler pad u guyz using for k40ab/50ab ?

Wut to buy 1 tat's good for it smile.gif
Just for reference smile.gif

Thumb up for this LAPPY
there's no need for a cooler. the design of the intake/outake doesnt seem to be affected by any sorts of external cooler, as tested by others , virtually no temp diff

QUOTE(zax2_z @ Oct 7 2009, 10:28 AM)
Anyone tried SRS audio sandbox yet? since there's no srs utilities in official asus site for win 7, it's recommended to use this. + new via driver i can hear the pumping surround sound of built in altec lansing  rclxms.gif
u need to install the SRS software in the asus cd...asus's site doesnt provide the link
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 03:47 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(apple96 @ Oct 7 2009, 03:41 PM)
What is the disadvantage of Asus K40AB and K50AB?
no disadvantageous. 14'' vs 15.6'', no additional keypad @ k40ab. up to ur preferences
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 04:15 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 04:04 PM)
I thought it is not recommended to do so on desktop, no? As vacuum sucking is too strong, some fragile components/parts will be suck as well. Although I do it as well, but just on the fan.  biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2009, 4:08 pmAMD turion on k40ab in singapore is $1198. That's is during Comex show last month. Free 8gb thumb drive, bluetooth dongle, free upgrade to 4gb ram, asus carrying bag and optical mouse.

http://www.bootstrike.com/itfairsg/comex20...ochure-leaflet/

What you guys think?
my calculator says SGD1198 = rm2935

if the k40ab (malaysia) were to be matched up with SG's spec
= +2gb ram (rm110)
= Vista OS (RM350?)
= turion rm74 mmm (100mhz more & additional P-state)
= FOC stuffs? neah kinda useless (the bag & mouse comes with default with it, not free as a package)

the 'malaysia' set is definitely more worth it, that is with the exception of the legality of the OS laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Oct 7 2009, 04:16 PM
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 04:21 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 04:19 PM)
But Malaysia k40ab dun have turion model right?

Yeah, if purchase in Malaysia, I will ask for freedos. brows.gif
yup no turion. the turion has an additional P state to further 'undervolt' @ lower speed

well, there's no option for any OS here, freedos is the only option
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 04:26 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 7 2009, 04:23 PM)
yeah.. thats the sad case.. no turion in malaysia.. tats y..

hmm.. anyone having any problem running NFS shift or batman AA??

win7 64bit here.. NFS is due to phyX problem.. but i could do manual installation.. an error came out and installation roll back..
NaGeNaZ has been happily whacking NFS shift all these while. laugh.gif , not sure which OS he's on

kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 05:12 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 7 2009, 05:08 PM)
Not much review on playing GTA4 on this laptop huh?
nah pretty much unplayable..had tried it
even the medium config deskstop is struggling
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 08:21 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Oct 7 2009, 07:31 PM)
Guys, if i change the HDD now, and sold the HDD, what do you guys think of the warranty status?

Is the warranty require me to have all the default configuration (which includes original HDD) to be able to claim anything?
mmm yeah i guess it's better to keep the ori HD that comes wiht it
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 10:05 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 7 2009, 08:55 PM)
i doubt the warranty for ram and hdd is with asus.. shud be under individual company.. their stickers are still there..

well.. i have my ram and hdd changed already..
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Oct 7 2009, 09:52 PM)
processor, ram and hdd is not covered by asus. the warranty is by the dealer. the one who we buy with.

its ur choise to change the hdd. but the warranty will be void for the hdd only.
mmm not sure what are the warranty terms are like.

But, well they could find fault with it

"oh, HD and rams changed, laptop was opened & meddled..warranty void. Habis cerita" , if they are mean enough
kucingfight
post Oct 7 2009, 10:08 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Oct 7 2009, 10:06 PM)
then if let say HDD or ram faulty within 2 yrs, then where should we send the notebook to? Asus service centre or the dealer? and if you change ur hdd but b4 u claim ur waranty, u put it back again, how do they know?
to Asus service centre right away. If u send it to dealer, they will send it back to service centre too.
yeah exactly, that's why..i would recommend to keep the original HD/Rams along with it, even if u decide to upgrade.

If anything happens, juz swapped it back

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0660sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:49 AM