English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, FT: M'sia XI 0 Man Utd 2 (Macheda, Owen)

TSalien2003
post Jul 18 2009, 01:35 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Jul 18 2009, 01:18 PM)
anybody get blue gate?
QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jul 18 2009, 01:30 PM)
I'm from blue gate...I heard my friend said blue gate is better than green gate... brows.gif
Me in Blue Gate as well smile.gif

Plan to bring Man U Down Under fails

Ian Mccullough

July 18, 2009 - 10:09AM

An audacious plan by Football Federation Australia to bring Manchester United to Australia next week has failed.

United were due to play an Indonesian Super League XI on Monday but were forced to cancel the game following Friday's terrorist strike in Jakarta.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side were booked in at the Ritz-Carlton hotel, in Jakarta, which along with the JW Marriott, were attacked by the bombers.

Following the postponement of the game, the FFA approached United with an offer to stage a last-minute fixture in either Sydney or Melbourne against A-League champions Melbourne Victory or Sydney FC.

However, logistical issues have put paid to the plan with United chief executive David Gill revealing on the club's website the team wanted to remain in Kuala Lumpur, where they are playing on Saturday against a Malaysian XI.

Although the approach from the FFA was discussed by both parties, the English giants' desire to return to Malaysia straight after the fixture was not seen as a feasible option.

"We were planning to pull out all the stops for it to happen as it would have been an attractive fixture for fans and for Sydney FC or Melbourne," FFA Director of Communications Bonita Mersiades told AAP.

"However, their commitments meant the game could only be played on Monday, which we were willing to organise, but there was a lot of to-ing and fro-ing on their side so unfortunately it wasn't possible."

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport...90718-donv.html
TSalien2003
post Jul 18 2009, 09:53 PM

12,754 posts

Boss hails Owen strike

Sir Alex Ferguson was pleased to see his side come through a tough work-out in Kuala Lumpur and hailed debutant Michael Owen after he came on to fire the winner.

The Reds took a two-goal lead in the first half through Wayne Rooney and Nani, before Yahyah drew the Malaysian XI level, first with a spectacular looping volley just before the break and then seven minutes after it when he took full advantage of Ben Foster's mistake.

Michael Owen was introduced just after the hour and struck a fine winner five minutes from time.

"Michael is different to the other strikers we have here. He's always searching for that space in and around the box and he reacted really well to take his goal," a delighted Sir Alex told MUTV afterwards.

"The goalkeeper blocked the ball as Ryan [Giggs] ran through, but you knew Michael would be the first man to get onto it.

"The game was big test for us. As we expected, they were full of energy, enthusiasm and speed, and they caught us on the counter-attack a few times. It was a very open game and I think anyone watching would have been quite happy with the quality on show.

"We got off to a good start with the two goals, but the problem we had was they scored right on half-time and, with it only being our first game, our energy dropped a bit in the second half.

"It was great vision from the lad [Yahyah] to get them back into it. As soon as he got the ball he spotted Edwin was a bit off his line and hit a lovely little chip over him.

"Obviously the second goal came about after a mistake by Ben. He just took his eye of the ball and it bobbled up a little bit. It's unfortunate because he's only just come back from injury and he'll want to get that out of his mind as soon as possible.

"You use the first two or three games of pre-season to get your rhythm, tempo and timing back," added the boss, "and that will certainly come."

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6636464

p/s: http://sports.sina.com.cn/z/pl09_summer/ph...308/index.shtml [15 pics]

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 18 2009, 09:56 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 18 2009, 10:07 PM

12,754 posts

There was a girl sat at bottom of Blue Gate Tier 2 side who kena taunt BIG TIME! Reason? She came with Liverpool jersey + the name of their skipper at the back of it! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 18 2009, 10:08 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 18 2009, 10:14 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(v i n c @ Jul 18 2009, 10:11 PM)
Stupid ppl. And to those who wear Chelsea, newcastle, man city, real madrid, anything but mu just now, obviously they are plain stupid.

They are lucky to be taunt only. If they are at UK, they are long dead.
There were another 2 fellas, 1 with Chelsea Terry 26 + 1 with Real Madrid jersey. Both kena boo kaw kaw even BEFORE the game start!
TSalien2003
post Jul 18 2009, 10:31 PM

12,754 posts

TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:11 AM

12,754 posts

Some of the pictures I took [with my Canon PowerShot A530] so do bear with the quality ya sweat.gif blush.gif

Note: Original files from camera without editing at all so should be 1600x1200 I think sweat.gif

TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:11 AM

12,754 posts

Another few pictures from me blush.gif

Note: Original files from camera without editing at all so should be 1600x1200 I think sweat.gif

QUOTE(idevonz @ Jul 19 2009, 12:04 AM)
any nani somersault pic??!!

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 19 2009, 12:13 AM
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:17 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(peanuts @ Jul 19 2009, 12:14 AM)
LOL i was sitting behind a liverpool fan with gerrard jersey, he got boo-ed most of the time. another one was terry jersey, he got boo-ed so much that the tv crew interview him.

another fella was in real madrid jersey and he ran off kissing his badge when our section boo-ed him, LOL
Was you in Blue Gate area? Is this the same Terry fella that you saw?

TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:26 AM

12,754 posts

After the final whistle, Giggs, Gary & one of the staff member were running/jogging across the pitch. I can also see the staff was holding a stop watch.

What's that about? blink.gif unsure.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:32 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Jul 19 2009, 12:26 AM)
anyone saw how badly nani played -.- besides the goal, he was pratically ineffective to me.. run past players cannot, dribbles n crosses oso below par..
As we have been saying throughout the summer, his brain need some tweaking/fine tuning for his decision making smile.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 12:46 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jul 19 2009, 12:35 AM)
Any chance Vidic will be coming and play in the 2nd leg?

sad.gif
Might able to take part in Audi Cup in Germany smile.gif

Nemanja Vidic will also join the squad in Germany. The Serbian was injured playing for his country and isn’t yet fit enough to take part in football training.

TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 02:35 PM

12,754 posts

For those who posted the pictures they taken (training/match day/stalking at hotel/etc), I compiled the post links in Page 1, Post #5.

TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 03:04 PM

12,754 posts

We were talking about one of the youngster, Ravel Morrison some time ago and here are some of his pictures I found on the internet (chinese website blush.gif ):

http://sports.163.com/photoset/00D80005/43981.html
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 04:25 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(2009-07-18)
"The tickets to the match will cost RM58 and this is free seating. Grandstand tickets will be at RM308. Tickets can be purchased through all Ticketpro outlets from tomorrow. Tickets can also be purchased from the ticket counter at the Green Gate at the stadium, from tomorrow onwards, from 12pm to 7pm. On Match Day, tickets will be on sale from 12pm onwards.

"The RM308 grandstand tickets will be sold online through www.ticketpro.com.my and also at all outlets. The grandstand tickets will not be sold at the stadium," added Julian Kam.

http://www.proevents.com/news.php?news_arc...=158&lang_var=e

Park to join Reds in Seoul

Ji-sung Park will link up with his United team-mates when the squad fly to Seoul on Wednesday.

Park did not fly to Malaysia with the Reds as he is still on a break due to his role in South  Korea's international fixtures last month.

But a club spokesperson has confirmed the 28-year-old will join United's pre-season tour when the team land in his home town on Wednesday.\

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6636477

Few person managed to appear on our official website:

Blog: Latest from Malaysia

Saturday 18 July

23:55 – Want to know how to get your face on ManUtd.com? This helps! Your wish, dear friend, is my command...

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...=6636291&page=2

One of the newspaper headline (picture taken from http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6636291, click the camera icon on the left):

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 19 2009, 04:44 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 05:14 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Jul 19 2009, 05:01 PM)
You can always walk to the Sri Petaling station, which would be almost empty I bet, barely 1km or so from Bkt Jalil.
At Bkt Jalil station yesterday, there were some idiots who keep pushing their way from the back when on the way going up the platform doh.gif doh.gif

Won't be go for 2nd round since its working day. I reached home around 9pm++ when the game started 5.30pm so there is no way I will go for 2nd round when I start work 8am next day sweat.gif

Astro should be showing it so its TV broadcast for me then biggrin.gif

Their original schedule for the game @ Jakarta:

Channel:  Astro SuperSport (811)
Date:  Monday, July 20, 2009
Time:  8:55:00 PM
Synopsis:
Manchester United Asia Tour 2009: Manchester United vs Indonesia All Stars, from Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta.

http://www.astro.com.my/inc/app/2/jadual/c...127237&sid=M009

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 19 2009, 05:18 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 05:48 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 19 2009, 05:39 PM)
How many of u going by public transport..? Coz if match starts at 8.45,shud end around 10 something.. Scared like yesterday again at the LRT where they dont open the gates for some time.. And yea,scared that I miss the last train home man..
Since its working day next day so its depending how many people will be going for 2nd round. If it goes near the attendances yesterday then expect the same at Bkt Jalil station where the police will close the gate once its full queuing for the gate and will also need to queue when going up the platform.
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 05:59 PM

12,754 posts

One of the classic banner I guess! biggrin.gif Anyone plan to bring one in for 2nd round? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 19 2009, 05:59 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 06:21 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Jul 19 2009, 06:10 PM)
which area did u sit yesterday? smile.gif
I sat at Blue Gate section, Tier 2 smile.gif

Got the banner picture from our website: http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6636291

15:16 – The loyalty and passion of United supporters never ceases to amaze me. I've just had a drink in the lobby with Mick Groom, who's now seen the Reds in 34 different countries. Incredibly, he says there are "much bigger and better United fans than me". He might be right, but you can't question Mick's devotion to the Reds: in fact, his infamous banner just about sums it up!

From the same blog:

17:20  – So I stuck to my promise and hit the gym this afternoon. I did 5km on the treadmill at a pace of 4:40/km. Apparently I burned about 430 calories... or, put another way, I still have to burn off another 70 before I cancel out that 100g chocolate bar I had for dinner last night. (Hey, don't look at me like that – by the time I'd finished all my work after the match the hotel restaurant had closed and not even room service was still delivering!)

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6636291

laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jul 19 2009, 06:24 PM
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 06:27 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 19 2009, 06:25 PM)
how was the view there? managed to see players train?!
Can get some decent pictures of them, even just with my Canon PowerShot A530 digicam biggrin.gif

You can check those pics here smile.gif
TSalien2003
post Jul 19 2009, 06:54 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(messy @ Jul 19 2009, 06:50 PM)
Hey guys..is there a lot people at bukit jalil buying tickets? Hope tht tml can fullyhouse juz like saturday.. smile.gif
Its working day the next day so it will not surprise me at all if it doesn't happen. After all, if start 8.45pm the game should end around 10.30pm. Regardless you going by own transport or public transport, there could be another jam so what time they (those who work morning next day) will reach home?

wink.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0433sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:54 AM