NOKIA N97 V2!, Nokia Flagship Phone 2009

G K Lai
post Sep 12 2009, 01:16 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(mysixaxis @ Sep 12 2009, 12:44 AM)
hey im a new proud owner of Nokia N97 white color..pls add me in the white team...anyway is there any protection for the steel on the Nokia N97 cause im scared it might get scratched ..tq
I think you can get more information from this post onwards:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1096172/+260 (the bottommost post)
Unfortunately, this is not what I like...
If I protect the chromed part this way, then I will lost the joy of having a chromed trimming... sad.gif
If you really like to protect that part, why not "full-time" using a soft pouch? wink.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 12 2009, 01:18 AM
G K Lai
post Sep 12 2009, 04:14 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Sep 12 2009, 01:19 AM)
Hi all , first, great work for setting up this thread, which is so useful for my N97. But, i gt some questions about the garmin...

I installed the garmin mobile and when i finish everything (including update to the latest v.5.00.50), and i click on view map, i only saw what "europe" thing. Am i using the correct map? Btw, after i click the link for the MSM on page 1, which map should i download? Is it the "Official Garmin compiled Malsingmaps Malaysia / Singapore / Brunei NT 2009.5 (FREE)" ? If yes, what i need to do is just download the "gmapprom1.unl file " and "gmapprom1_2009.5.zip file" and paste them into my "Garmin" folder in my memory card?

Thanks first for all the info provided...
If you insist on MSM, sorry I don't have experience in setting this up.
But if you want to use MFM, below information is for your reference. nod.gif

First you go to: http://malfreemaps.com/viewforum.php?f=23
then find the thread: Free Malaysia & Singapore GPS Map: MFM v1.74 (07/09/2009) currently the latest, download it (37.4MB) to your computer.

While you are downloading and feel boring, visit this site and follow the guides to setup your map: http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=662

Basically, what need to do with the downloaded file is:
* Double-click and it will extract all the map data to your computer hard disk (Default is C:\Garmin\Malfreemaps)
* It then ask "Do you wish to create a gmapsupp.img?" (this is the file you will need to put into your phone's Garmin folder, so click [ Yes ])
* Regarding which option to choose while creating your map, the page above explain everything quite detailed, so read and look at the images there
* After it finish compiled the gmapsupp.img on your computer's hard disk (default is C:\Garmin\Malfreemaps), you need to copy this file (5xMB-6xMB depends on features you choose) to your phone's Garmin folder.

That's all, when you launch Garmin, you will see the perfect map... rclxm9.gif

Note: When MFMv174.exe finished extracting the data and about to start the map creation step, my Anti Virus blocked the action due to it's behavior (try to trigger launch another file?).
So, temporary disable your Anti Virus before launching MFMv174.exe. blush.gif

Good night everybody and have a nice weekend~! icon_idea.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 13 2009, 01:25 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(RafaelNadal @ Sep 12 2009, 09:57 PM)
How do u open in order to take the battery out?
GOT sirim means ori?
This is how we open the battery cover... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 13 2009, 01:25 AM
G K Lai
post Sep 13 2009, 01:30 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(djbuzzer @ Sep 12 2009, 11:43 PM)
P.s : Really awkward when people keep asking about the stylus "is it a pendrive???" lol
my friend said.. The design engineer for n97 was really *high/stoned* at that time , later after he finished with the design , he forgot about where to put the stylus.. lol
Hahaha...... laugh.gif
Great one...!!! thumbup.gif
G K Lai
post Sep 14 2009, 01:52 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 14 2009, 11:44 AM)
i do google it and download until pensan but non of the java games working...... in my n97. so do i need to install a additional application to play some of those games....

pls teach how to install java games into my n97...HELP cry.gif
I think you need to update this Java Runtime thingy to your phone?
Look here: http://dailymobile.se/2009/06/30/nokia-java-runtime-20-for-s60v5/
or here: http://betalabs.nokia.com/apps/nokia-java-runtime-20-for-s60

QUOTE(MOMOchacha @ Sep 14 2009, 10:12 AM)
where can i get the latest free map?
can i possible get east malaysia map ?
I just updated mine to latest version (14/09/2009) here: http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=893 nod.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 14 2009, 10:34 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(snal @ Sep 14 2009, 09:16 PM)
hi...
i've been reading all of you guys exchanging tips and how to do...
but there were also problems with n97...
i am asking because i believe i am at the critical point to get a new phone... and n97 is seriously being considered, apart from n86...
so, pls tell me if it is worthy to buy n97 with all this problem with this and that...
tq.
(i am not asking for a comparison)

Perhaps, it depends on how you use the phone plus a little luck~ tongue.gif

If you use your phone mainly according to Nokia's user manual, then your phone
will run very smoothly, problem free (I guess, unless somebody prove it is not). blush.gif

If you hack, modified, make extensive customization etc... then the stability of your
phone may not be guaranteed. nod.gif I especially stay away from custom Themes,
unless I really like it badly~ blush.gif

It also depends on which applications/games you installed onto your phone. Some
applications/games was badly coded that could give you more trouble than using it.

I personally hacked my phone, did a very little necessary mod, not simply install
whatever applications/games found from the Internet. Frankly, I haven't encounter
hang, sudden-reboot etc... laugh.gif

Regarding lens scratches, I think it depends on how you use it... You should see why
certain user still haven't scratch their lens? sweat.gif

By the way, which specific "problem" you are fear of? Why not list them out so we all existing user
can tell you what really happened?

Added on September 14, 2009, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(kytan @ Sep 14 2009, 10:23 PM)
Not sure if you guys are having the problem I am having.
Contacts name is displayed, contacts picture is displayed, but the ringtone wrong. Plays the stock standard nokia tone.
Ring from the same number again and in may play okay.

I remember I've seen this before, maybe from Nokia discussion forum, if not mistaken... doh.gif
I also do believe this is not an hardware issue and could be fix by firmware... icon_rolleyes.gif
At least, you are not alone, you did not do anything wrong to your phone... not your fault at all... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 14 2009, 10:42 PM
G K Lai
post Sep 15 2009, 12:41 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(snal @ Sep 14 2009, 11:55 PM)
i don't think i can name any specific problem... because though they might be small problems here and there
and somebody might have solved them, they are still problems related to n97. and at the moment of this writing,
it is pg 70 already.

i was asking about n97 problems generally, whether it is worth it to buy an n97 with these problems. well, maybe
these problem happened to people who had hacked their phone extensively, as you said.

nevertheless, to help you answering my question, should i buy an n97, i will most probably use it as i see it...
and downloading a few games and apps but no extensive hacking, as i know nothing about that.
Ok... understand... nod.gif
But.... I really have no complain, maybe I should say, don't have much complains... tongue.gif
In the other words, I would think in another way: This phone give me more joy than blame~ although both does exist... sweat.gif

QUOTE(snal @ Sep 14 2009, 11:55 PM)
one more silly question though... and i really don't know about this... at the moment i have two sim card, each exclusively
for call and data (use with laptop). suppose i buy an n97, i will use the call-sim-card. but if i want to access the internet,
can i just take out the call-sim-card and put in the data-sim-card? i know that i can combine the data and call, but i want to
use the data-sim-card with my laptop too. could somebody please explain...
tq.
Hmm... if for me, I will not be so happy to do that (take out one sim card and swap it with another)... sad.gif
The steps would be: pry open the back cover -> take out the battery -> slide out the sim holder with our tiny finger nail etc... cry.gif
If I have 2 sim card, I might consider phone(s) that support dual-sim (I am lazy man... whistling.gif )
I know Samsung have it, touch UI as well, but I didn't take note of the model. blush.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 15 2009, 10:10 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(djbuzzer @ Sep 15 2009, 05:49 AM)
If im not mistaken , theres a product call dual sim holder platinum 3g.. Dunno got in malaysia or not..

CODE
http://dailymobile.se/2009/09/13/dual-sim-holder-platinum-3g-for-nokia-n97-5800-5530/

Woo... nice find...~! thumbup.gif

EDIT: Opps~ this only can choose either 1 sim active at a time right?
I mean other phone can have both 2 sims active. smile.gif

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 15 2009, 09:31 AM)
1) Does any charge occur using Assisted GPS? how did maxis charge? I'm using maxis. How does assist-GPS actually works? If i travel using Assist gps from Kl-to johor...does it have any charges using it or just charge me when i only my gps.

2) My firmware is currently v.11. should i change to v.12.?

3) When i use the video call i see the picture not clear with pixalation. gag.. is it firmware problem? picture not smooth all.

4) When if i got my facebook/garmin hangs cannot exit... is it the only way is to off my n97..
difficult always restart my n97
1) A-GPS will make a connection only when the device try to "assist" GPS satellite locate you easily. For example, when you're connected with the telco tower near KLCC area, the satellite will then concentrate to that area when "they are looking for you". It will then disconnect very quickly. I think Each connect cost less than RM0.05... maybe. A good place to start learning it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A-GPS

2) whistling.gif

3) This is quite normal, it depends on your current signal strength, and your friend's signal strength. For example, using video conferencing call with a dial-up Internet... tongue.gif

4) You long-press the Menu button, a task manager pop-up, you then long-click on the application (your Garmin or Facebook, in this case), another tiny menu pop-up, you choose "Exit" to close it. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 15 2009, 10:42 AM
G K Lai
post Sep 15 2009, 04:26 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(saiya @ Sep 15 2009, 02:46 PM)

guys, where is underscore button at keyboard? isit at letter G?
It is inside [Sym] (symbol) button... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(toytoy @ Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM)

I don't see the point of hacking the phone. If it is just for installing apps which require signing, there are lots of website that can do that and the apps were installed without any problem at all biggrin.gif

As for the dual sim card for internet access thingy, i m using my phone as modem to connect to notebook thru bluetooth. saves the problem of having 2 sim cards. But then the speed will be limited to 115.2kbps, if u don't mind the speed, normal browsing is ok biggrin.gif
Hack the phone because sometimes we want to have access to C:\Private folder and messing around with the files there... tongue.gif But of course, normal usage really no need to hack the phone... sweat.gif

If you are using a Notebook, there is a Nokia USB cable that very short (around 6"?), which I guess will be more convenient for your usage. blush.gif

QUOTE(fremont88 @ Sep 15 2009, 04:09 PM)
yes, mp3..but i cannot find that folder..i only see tones, songs, video clips, and sound clips..and they are all not in there

You need to first go into Music Library and refresh the list of available music files that you copied over. biggrin.gif

Added on September 15, 2009, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(toytoy @ Sep 15 2009, 04:23 PM)

I am not sure if you need to reload your library but no harm trying biggrin.gif
Opps! You faster than me... doh.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 15 2009, 04:28 PM
G K Lai
post Sep 15 2009, 07:52 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(djbuzzer @ Sep 15 2009, 04:29 PM)
Is it running smoothly or got stuck stuck one ?
thanks , i always browse at that website for info and "stuffs"..
better to put both sim inside rather than have to change it everytime you want to use it right ? yet still dunno if this thing got in malaysia or not..

P.s : sorry with this silly question.. if i use celcom broadband sim card to my phone and browse it there.. is it ok ? or there's gonna be extra charges ?
I don't know much about this mobile web surfing thing, but I surf on the phone using GPRS is quite expensive, so wonder why don't you get a dedicated
USB dongle broadband, which is cheaper and much faster, right? blink.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 15 2009, 11:15 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(djbuzzer @ Sep 15 2009, 08:11 PM)
yea i got that dongle.. but sometimes , i dont wanna bring my laptop around , so bulky one.. so i prefer to online with my phone.. but certain places got no wifi liao.. if i use maxis 3g or gprs to online , it will charged me like hell.. zzzz
OIC... you mean using WLAN and surf from your phone..... haha... doh.gif

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Sep 15 2009, 10:50 PM)
have a hands on with N97 Mini today, i can say is the keypad is much much better than N97, more raised and the fullstop do not need to press the "sym" anymore. The screen is smaller though. Love the kinetic scrolling on contacts and menu.

Can't wait for the V20 firmware for N97 so we can have the Kinetic Scrolling.
This is what I think a better usability! Why Nokia put comma as first priority...? shakehead.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 16 2009, 12:19 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Sep 15 2009, 11:23 PM)
maybe the finnish people end their words with comma  biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif Anyway, we will have to long-press the comma next time when we have v20 firmware... blush.gif

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 15 2009, 11:43 PM)
Guys, I've just realize my N97 camera lenses got scratch  doh.gif
Wanna send it for warranty, but raya is near now. Dunno when should I sent it. What do you think?  cry.gif

Ouch~! What a bad news~! So sorry to heard that... sad.gif

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 15 2009, 11:43 PM)
Guys, I just realize N97 mini using 256mb ram. to me, it's not fair for our big n97 sad.gif

I agreed, it seems Nokia found out the "flaw" or made a mistake, then come out with another similar "fixed" edition.
I got the same "sour feeling" just like the time I bought 6680, not long later they released 6681 with more RAM etc...
With exactly the same look, why they bother to release 6680 then 6681?
At least N97 Mini do not have the directional keypad... maybe they learned from the 668x case... vmad.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 16 2009, 01:38 PM

839 posts

Next time I will think again and again and again before I change/buy another Nokia....
I experienced it TWICE, bought their phone, then immediately it released a very similar one with better hardware spec. sad.gif

When I looked at the spec. for a new product, I don't know which spec. consider "enough juice"...
So I think the best way is to wait and collect all complaints before decide whether to buy it...

Although I am still a happy owner of N97, but just feel not so good to see "small brother" came out so fast, yet, have greater "juice" and cheaper... shakehead.gif
Make me feels like we are a beta tester for an experimental product, and it isn't cheap...! ohmy.gif

Maybe I'm wrong, maybe somebody can tell me what's the differences between mini and non-mini? laugh.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 16 2009, 01:50 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Sep 16 2009, 01:40 PM)
Thanks~! thumbup.gif

And wow... I like this: The plastic battery cover has been replaced by a solid metallic battery cover. drool.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 17 2009, 12:32 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Sep 16 2009, 08:56 PM)
Anyone try the Opera Mini 5 Beta?
Omg so cool... like it so much especially the multi tab browser.
Got on screen keyboard. Like it....
http://www.opera.com/mini/next/
Quite cool~! Thanks for sharing the news~! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 16 2009, 10:46 PM)
Want to ask...how can i disable the wireless lan  when i'm out of coverage area. it keeps popping up the message that they is no wireless network found. very annoying. i cannot find the button to disconnect/disable the wireless not like my previouse n95 8gb.
I'm not sure whether this is the setting you are referring to, but no harm go check it out...

Menu -> Settings -> Connectivity -> Wireless LAN

then from the lower-left Options -> Settings -> Show WLAN availability: set it to Never

G K Lai
post Sep 17 2009, 05:16 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Sep 17 2009, 02:01 PM)
Have any one encounter, when loading image very slow. i have about 180photos i have taken in my previous mobile. I try to view the photos but photos view slow..i can only see icon with no picture when i go full screen to view. how to mke the photos load fast. i cannot see my photo. What shall i do?  HELP....
Strange... huh.gif I got 452 pictures from previous phone as well, but although it is not very fast when creating and refining all the thumbnails, I think it operate at "ordinary" speed, my previous phone also work that way. tongue.gif

If you don't like to wait, why not try open the Photo application and leave your phone there for a few minutes (let it create the thumbnails for you) when you are not using it?

Did you check if you have a lot of applications running at the background that uses up your system resources, thus makes generating thumbnails too slow?

QUOTE(toytoy @ Sep 17 2009, 02:42 PM)
Did some search online and found out i m not the only one with the magical 7-bar battery indicator problem.
A lot of ppl having the same prob. From full bar to full flat with nothing in between. No one else having this problem???

Haven't notice I had this problem just yet... ph34r.gif

QUOTE(knuta @ Sep 17 2009, 02:50 PM)

Anyone knows how to free phone memory?
I have 9mb left and apparently that is not enough to dl and install the ngage app.
Tried to find some sis files to delete but couldn't find them using the file manager on the phone.
All apps have been installed to the 32Gb memory.
Sharing what I've done to my phone the first day I bought it. nod.gif

I format the C: and E: drives. While the phone is fresh, I go to Application Manager, uninstall whatever I can from drive C:, especially those widgets that can be found on Ovi Store. I then install only what I need to drive E:, but of course, some system application will only install in drive C: we can't do anything.

Now after several system application updates and whatever, I have 32MB left in my C: drive. sweat.gif
I was having more than 32MB after the format and uninstall, but I can't remember what I've installed and it now left 32MB... wink.gif

I saw a hack that could move Internet cache to drive E:, but I will do this when my C: drive is at the critical condition.

Also, don't forget to check your phone for N97 C: Phone Memory Update (Menu -> Applications -> SW update).

G K Lai
post Sep 18 2009, 12:36 AM

839 posts

Hi all friends, come have a lot where our hard-earned money was spent... tongue.gif
At least we should know what we pay for, from the inside out...
Enjoy these disassembling clips:

thumbup.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 19 2009, 11:55 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 19 2009, 10:02 PM)
dcmugen comes out with colourful N97 stylus now... sweat.gif

Link here:
http://stores.shop.ebay.com/dcmugen__W0QQ_...s&submit=Search
Can we get those locally? I think of buying a few for spare... smile.gif
Too bad can't see the image clearly, don't know if it printed Nokia on it?
G K Lai
post Sep 20 2009, 11:12 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(djbuzzer @ Sep 20 2009, 03:02 AM)
haha idk about that. because hacked in this particular matter means installing rompatcher which will show all storage drives  on your phone.. so u can just format it *idk either sof or hard* to uninstall those rompatcher. But i haven't try to change my product code.. too afraid.. lol
Soft reset only reset all settings to default,
so you will need to do hard reset, which means,
you wipe off everything, making it return to
the state when you get the phone out of the box.
Or re-format it, in the other words.

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2009, 08:06 AM)
my friends 5800 warranty have been void when he sent to NCC.

B4 this, he change his product code to get the firmware update earlier, and he did soft reset. Weeks later his phone have a problem (forgot wat problem), and want to sent for warranty. But the NCC just wont accept.  sweat.gif
So bad to hear that, your friend should change
the product code back to original before sending it in... sad.gif

G K Lai
post Sep 20 2009, 11:50 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Sep 20 2009, 11:48 AM)
I have some real live pics to show.  smile.gif
Yes, it has the nokia wording just like original ones.
So nice.. I like it.... wub.gif drool.gif

Very nice indeed, I saw someone also provide bulk orders, have the stylus tip in white, even the "pen" body is black. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 20 2009, 04:49 PM)
about blacklist, i dunno la.
But my friend confirm he did change back to the original product key and made soft reset b4 sent for warranty.
I will ask him to send it to other NCC that available nearby. Pity him...
Could it be like that (just guess):

NCC knows N97 in Malaysia still in firmware v11.
Since your friend's phone is in firmware v12, they know your friend should have tempered with the product code?

I also saw someone in here mentioned, but unconfirmed, every change of product code will be recorded into the chip on the phone.
Meaning NCC will know when you changed the product code and when you changed it back...? blink.gif

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Sep 20 2009, 06:05 PM)
product code must change back to original to send for warrenty... else ur warrenty will b void... =)
for hacked phone a reflash firmware or *#7370# will do =)
thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Sep 21 2009, 12:00 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0243sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:55 AM