16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V19, There's still few beasts hiding...

cloudwan
post Jul 20 2009, 10:14 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 20 2009, 09:57 PM)
could those from china/taiwan? never see one in sgp thou, it's all white box over here...  nod.gif

btw, a 'lil update, d board and / or ram sure take time to warm up coz i was havin headache gettin 'em stable > 1 hours yesterday but today they show some improvements which is comfortin...  biggrin.gif

Oooooo u got the KVR running at lower latency bro?? drool.gif drool.gif
1.66v plak tuh drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jul 20 2009, 10:18 PM
cloudwan
post Jul 20 2009, 10:19 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 20 2009, 10:16 PM)
i'm not so sure.. but it's reminder... just pay the attention and prepare the bad possibility before doing something thumbup.gif
yup, don't skimp on those /p/e/m/a/l/a/s when flashing using afudos laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 21 2009, 01:36 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 20 2009, 10:26 PM)
patience is d key, gonna take it slow & easy, but w/ those kinda timin, i'm sure they'll hit d wall soon...  sweat.gif
where have u been bro, been waitin for ya reply for ages for some guidance...  yawn.gif
exactly...  smile.gif
d modded bios nowadays are windows flasher friendly, especially those in .cet format...  tongue.gif
Miahaha, been busy ah bro these few days, went balik kampung for the weekend then have to hantar my youngest bro to KL for his Diploma studies in ASWARA KL.. sweat.gif
Tired as hell.. laugh.gif
I don't think i can help u much with DDR3 tweaking coz still learning as u are, besides i haven't tested tweaking the ram too much coz still learning about my cpu limitation sweat.gif
Sori bro/sis...
cloudwan
post Jul 21 2009, 01:48 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

Anyone going for a cheapo AM3 Sempron Single Core?? laugh.gif

AMD Preps First AM3-based Sempron Processors
AMD is preparing its first set of Sempron processors based on the DDR3 supportive AM3 package. The first one, codenamed "Sargas" is a single-core chip that comes across as a single-core variant of the Athlon II X2 "Regor". It features a broad 3.6 GT/s HyperTransport 3.0 system interface, 128 KB of L1 and 1 MB of L2 cache, a dual-channel DDR2/DDR3 memory interface, an up-to-date AMD feature and instruction-set including AMD64, SSE4A, and AMD-V.

Sargas is built on Global Foundries' 45 nm SOI process, and has an operating voltage range of 0.85 ~ 1.35 V. The first SKU based on this core is the Sempron X1 140 (model: SDX140HBGQBOX). It has a clock speed of 2.70 GHz, and a bus multiplier of 13.5x. At that speed, its TDP is rated at 45W. It will be available towards the end of this week, priced around 35 Euro.

Sauce

cloudwan
post Jul 21 2009, 11:47 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 21 2009, 11:27 AM)
AMD Sempron is based on Regor?..Which Regor is X2..so mostly it can unlock to X2 only lor..not X4..Cos X4 is Propus tongue.gif
But still..i was hoping AMD would release an AMD Sempron X2 @RM135 but with 1MB Cache.(512KBx2)..That would be an awesome chip drool.gif
Yup should be the X2 not X4 smile.gif
Check back whut i post ah, it already stated that it would come with 128kb L1 cache and 1mb L2 cache.
So theoratically it could be an X2 with disable core.. hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 03:26 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 21 2009, 08:20 PM)
tmpin0 = nb
tmpin1 = system
tmpin2 = cpu

there's no pwm sensor on all 790gx boards by biostar.  smile.gif
bro, it's all u & bro cloudwan's fault in poisonin us...  mad.gif  tongue.gif
I haven't post anything much but still my name comes to mind eh? sweat.gif sweat.gif tongue.gif

Anyway ah_khoo gotta ask u something ah, i donno why when i tried pushing my X3 higher by playing with the HT speed i was alarmed coz suddenly when i set the settings in bios a distinct buzzing sound could be heard..
Its not coming from the speaker or psu.. I can't really pinpoint where sweat.gif
It would go on and on, but my pc booted safely & ok but the sound rclxub.gif
I tried resetting to other setting using one of the safe profiles i save in bios but it still the same..
Only when i clear cmos using the clear cmos jumper only then it would go away..
But it would comeback if i tried to load any oc setting i saved.. Got any idea whats the buzzing sound is?
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 08:56 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 08:29 AM)
weird case u got there bro, but usually buzzin sound comes from 2 sources, either psu (which is unlikely in this case coz u've verified it) or d chokes.
used to have that kinda buzzin sound too when i was on ta790gx a2+ iirc. not bothered by it neway coz i know soon or later d board gotta go, i was runnin htt @ 270~280 back then...  smile.gif 

time for a change bro? ta790gx a3+ clan always welcome u w open arms...  brows.gif
Miahahahaha, it could be the chokes ah, i disassemble my stock cpu fan from it's HSF and mod it to put it at the pwm's area..
Now the sound has gone but i haven't tried ocing again, now running at X4 3ghz only.. Yesterday even running at this speed it would made the buzzin sound laugh.gif

No more purchases for me le at this moment, i'm up to my nose with debt already laugh.gif Sooo a TA790GX A3+ is a no no laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 10:19 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 09:12 AM)
most likely is d chokes coz i dun think mostfets are capable of makin sound...  laugh.gif

woot, if that's d case u gotta really kepp d temp cool for d pwm, gigabyte has more phase byrite this kinda thing won't happen. rma d board mebe? it's not gud for long run imo even u've solved it by it's not a permanent solution.  sweat.gif

me oso hutang keliling pinggang mah... prisoners to loans we are...  tongue.gif
Miahahaha, my bad for trying to push the HT above 275mhz ler.. laugh.gif
After reading the Ahsus bashing Giga facts that u posted i'm starting to wonder if it really has 8 phase pwm's sweat.gif

Yup hutang2 hutang2 keliling pinggang sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 10:21 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jul 22 2009, 09:28 AM)
disabled the CnQ?
No my CnQ is on but with the Gigabyte i'm a bit confused, even when its on i never seen my cpu speed being throttle down during idle..
Its like 24/7 at 3,020mhz.. sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 10:39 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 10:26 AM)
i started to wonder why my chip can't be pushed > 270htt, am3 platform is meant for BE chips perhaps? guess i need more tutorials coz i'm pretty sure my ram can take > 720MHz coz they're able to memtest stable...  rclxub.gif 

it depends on d no of "drivers" to determine d real no. of phases available iirc. asus sure gud in bashin eh?  whistling.gif
Ya lor, macam mau kire balik how many real phases are there actually at my mobo ler like this..
But i think should be around 4+1 phases tho hmm.gif

Iyer ahsus really terrer at bashing other people products... sweat.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 11:45 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jul 22 2009, 10:53 AM)
@cloudwan
Gaygaybyte mobo ok ha?
Ok so far, i was able to push my cpu further comparing when i was on my older B n M..
Read a few reviews and most of them say the mobo is good for its price.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 11:32 AM)
u need nb cooler like this...  brows.gif

Miahahaha, wish i could use that NB cooler, but with my CCF installed no other NB sinks can be fitted except for the stock sink i think sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jul 22 2009, 11:45 AM
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 12:06 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jul 22 2009, 11:59 AM)
hit like this la...

Miahahaha, i was trying that too but it's a no go, 1st time since using the mobo it wouldn't boot laugh.gif Soo i had to do a clear cmos sweat.gif
I think it was more of a cpu issue instead of mobo issue ah.. My cpu kinda let down a bit ah, even going up to 3.5ghz also needed more volt than that sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jul 22 2009, 12:06 PM
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 12:17 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 12:14 PM)
can't coz it can jsut stick onto d tiny die of nb, u need atleast pushpin type if not screw type.  smile.gif

@ abg otromen,

wanna swap chip to play2 ah?  tongue.gif
SURE!!!! drool.gif drool.gif
Been waiting for u all the time whistling.gif whistling.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 03:19 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(bobiac @ Jul 22 2009, 03:15 PM)
put thermalright hr05 SLI/IFX la
Promote nampak tongue.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 04:05 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jul 22 2009, 03:43 PM)
Hi guys tongue.gif It's been awhile since I check this thread. I would like to ask for an opinion if I were to get a PhenomII x720 to OC and unlock quad if possible, which mobo I should pair it up with? Don't have to be uber high end type smile.gif thanks in advance
U looking for DDR2 or DDR3 boards bro? hmm.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 04:44 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 22 2009, 04:26 PM)
it's hard to target d amd market bro, value boards usually come with 4/4+1phase while premium are @ 8+1/8+2, no. phase will determine d length of d cooler not forgettin how they are arranged (differs from manufacturers to manufacturers). if target premium boards demand is less coz not much ppl can afford, if target value boards ppl dun wanna spend much on pwm cooler (tr stuffs don't come cheap usually). dilemma for tr...  hmm.gif  tongue.gif

just bought a pack of this for my cheapo board...  blush.gif

Aisey bro, buy lebih-lebih ah, i buy from u.. drool.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jul 22 2009, 04:45 PM
cloudwan
post Jul 22 2009, 04:46 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(babyyi @ Jul 22 2009, 04:45 PM)
backside??hw to stick back? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
He's pulling ur legs shakehead.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cloudwan
post Jul 23 2009, 11:56 AM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

Wow, someone manage to push his 550BE on a Biostar TA785GE 128M up to 6ghz using DICE: shocking.gif

Even a 955BE also can: shocking.gif

Sauce
cloudwan
post Jul 23 2009, 01:17 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ Jul 23 2009, 01:03 PM)
demm..ifu post this 2days earlier im very2 sure i will take it from u la...   cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
impressive..this cute lil fella can sustain 1.8vcore...

I think it's the red jumper next to the large electrolyte cap near the bottom PCI slot..

Added on July 23, 2009, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(atleeyoung @ Jul 23 2009, 01:16 PM)
hey guys, i want to buy a x2 550BE..any idea whre can i get the unlockable batch? =P
Try pm moderno, he may still have it smile.gif

This post has been edited by cloudwan: Jul 23 2009, 01:17 PM
cloudwan
post Jul 23 2009, 02:13 PM

- Knob -
8,516 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jul 23 2009, 02:11 PM)
just sharin around only bro, there're tonnes of 0925APMW floatin in sls but from what i see in hwz almost 50% or slightly more can't be unlocked, there are some which can be unlocked but not stable. so far only 1 able to run stably.  sweat.gif

saw a 0925BPMW in sls yesterday, nearly bought it but when i opened my wallet there wasn't any $$$. read in hk forum sayin that it's unlockable & stable (no p95 ss thou), now hand itchy again but still no $$$...  tongue.gif
Miahahaha, aren't we all bro.. itchy but cannot do anything about it laugh.gif

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:56 PM