Runnerz... #3, All about running...
tenno
Nov 11 2009, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 11 2009, 03:29 PM) Hi tenno, where is the padang sultan sulaiman? any location map? thanks Hmm... I used to live in Klang, I lived there for 17 years, moved out in 1994 & this year when I went to Klang I got lost. So much has changed. Padang Sultan Sulaiman is near Kampung Jawa, near the Istana Alam Shah. Maybe with these landmarks U can try look for it in Google Maps. It shud be easier to get to if U take the old bridge (not the new one next to Kota Bridge). This post has been edited by tenno: Nov 11 2009, 04:08 PM
tenno
Nov 11 2009, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 11 2009, 04:48 PM) Thanks tenno. i shall google it and look 4 istana alam shah I've saved a map under the name Stadium Padang Sultan Sulaiman, Klang. I dunno why I can't put the link here.
tenno
Nov 12 2009, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 11 2009, 05:08 PM) hi tenno, Google map show istana alam shah but can't see the stadium padang sultan sulaiman. Is it along jalan padang or royal klang club? Yup, it doesn't show in the map, I dunno why la. But if it's not demolished or moved, then it's definitely there. U can see a huge empty area at the end of Jalan Padang, sandwiched between Istana Alam Shah, Masjid Sultan Sulaiman & Sekolah Kebangsaan Klang. It's there. Added on November 12, 2009, 8:43 amQUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Nov 12 2009, 12:43 AM) hw far is the run this sun in Klang? 12K This post has been edited by tenno: Nov 12 2009, 08:43 AM
tenno
Nov 14 2009, 10:25 PM
Maybe it's too late edi, but this is the link to tomorrow's Klang Pacers Run 4 It course. Looks pretty tough. Good luck. Klang Pacers Run 4 It 12K course
tenno
Nov 16 2009, 02:35 PM
Running in the Klang Run4It on Sunday was like a trip down the memory lane for me. I grew up in Klang, I stayed there until 1994, so much have changed since then. The route went through some of the roads I used to take while cycling to school back in 1989. I was deeply mesmerized by the surroundings that the 12K didn't really feel like a 12K at all. Organization was typical of Klang Pacers la, everything was in order. If they plan to do the same route every year, then I'll make it my must-run annual event la.
tenno
Nov 16 2009, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(elgato @ Nov 16 2009, 02:45 PM) tenno.....cendol berapa mangkuk makan? hahahaha.....i say nice race too. flat course....me almost flat. hehehe Hahah... cendol.. makanan wajib kalu race Klang Pacers..  Nope, didn't have any... I dun like cendol... Actually... I didn't take anything from the promo tents.. not even one banana..
tenno
Nov 17 2009, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(elgato @ Nov 17 2009, 08:52 AM) bro...dah register for malakoff? gua tak sempat lagi la...26th ada race kat selangor turf club. ada berani? Malakoff dah register... 26th ? Gua nak rest dulu la, dlm sebulan ni dh 3 race dah.
tenno
Nov 20 2009, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Nov 20 2009, 08:38 AM) Dear runners, Do you know anywhere can buy the heaviest weighted vest and the max load of ankle weight? Thanks! Weighted vest U can get at Fitness Concept. The ankle weights as well.
tenno
Nov 28 2009, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(hackwire @ Nov 28 2009, 04:53 PM) what supplement does runner take usually to increase energy for cardio. do u take powerbar ? does this powerbar actually really inbetween the running? Hmm.. ccube of Phoenix would know more about this. But, I won't call Powerbar (as in the bar itself) a supplement. It would be a bit difficult to eat bars during a run, that's why they have gels. Maybe if U're a cyclist, U can munch on bars as Ur primary feeding, but while running, gels are more suitable. Powerbar have different products for different stages of Ur workout, like pre-workout products, during workout & recovery products. Check out their website, most of the products are available here. Personally, as I've never done runs longer than 12-15K, I dun take gels, just have some water will do. I tried their tangerine gel once, had to chase it down with water. Maybe for half marathon U can take gels la. This post has been edited by tenno: Nov 28 2009, 07:29 PM
tenno
Dec 8 2009, 09:34 PM
Hmm.. here's a problem.
I registered for Malakoff quite sometime ago, but didn't pay. I received the confirmation email, etc & on the Malakoff site it says there that I can pay during bib collection time. But today I received an email saying that only those registered & paid by 6th December are considered confirmed participation. Okay, but then why they only mentioned this, especially to those already registered thru their website, only today, the 8th ? Pacesetters sure are not making things easier la. The office not that easy to find, they provide no online payment facilities, & then this. Even Klang Pacers can accept bank-in payments, & they dun even have fulltime staff at their office.
Nothing against Pacesetters, their one of the best when it comes to organizing runs, but maybe they shud make it a little bit easier to make payments, especially for outstation runners like me. Apologize also to any Pacesetters members in this thread. But maybe U shud take this matter up in Ur next AGM. In this day & age, not allowing even bank-in payments is somewhat absurd. Maybe they only allow it for members.
tenno
Dec 8 2009, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(ccube @ Dec 8 2009, 10:25 PM) Call the PACM ofc and check with them. Yup, gonna do that 2moro. I want to run Malakoff, it's gonna be my last race of this year.
tenno
Dec 9 2009, 12:03 PM
I'm not gonna run Malakoff, they won't accept payment edi. They said that on the form clearly stated there the closing date is 6th. Very true. Unfortunately I didn't use any form becoz I registered online. Maybe I missed it somewhere, but even on the confirmation email there was no closing date stated. Then again, of course it's me.
I haven't had any good experience with races organized by Pacesetters. So, maybe it's just me. Nvm la, what to do. There's always next year. It's not like I'm gonna win this race anyway...
tenno
Dec 9 2009, 12:44 PM
Well, no point crying over spilled milk. Maybe it's better not to have any online registration at all since they cannot except any type of online payment. But their method of payment has been there for ages & it worked for all other runners, why shud they change their method just becoz of one complaint ? It's not like I'm KSN or somebody. & it's still 2009, not 2020 yet. Postal order, money order, cheque & walk-in is still the safest way to pay for something.
I rest my case.
tenno
Dec 11 2009, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Dec 11 2009, 11:59 AM) @tenno i planned to register for Malakoff but too late  nak sama sama pirate? i b running anyhow to help a fren clock under an hr  Dunno yet la... maybe... will let U know...
tenno
Dec 17 2009, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 17 2009, 11:23 AM) I wonder if the headlight can last for 7 hours  If they give U the Energizer headlights, it can last more than 48hrs straight on three AAAs. I used it during my Outwardbound School course, really a lifesaver sometimes.
tenno
Jan 12 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Jan 12 2010, 09:04 AM) Dear mara runner, Do u think tat is it good to carry the water belt during mara running? Tq. Ken I just bought the Ultimate Direction Blaze fuel belt from Frank last Saturday. I'ma run my 1st half marathon in Putrajaya Night Marathon in February. The main reason I felt the need to carry my own water is that, thru experience during training, I found that it's really hard to consume energy gels without water. So by bringing my own water (with some space to carry gels as well), I won't face any problem finding water to chase down the gels during racing la. Last year I ran 10K, so there was no need to carry water. It takes some time getting used to wearing it, but then, once I get it fitted tightly, it doesn't bounce at all, even with both bottles full & some gels in the zippered pocket. Of course, all this are precautionary measures, but at some races, the water stations can be out of supply at times.
tenno
Jan 13 2010, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(kenshiro01 @ Jan 13 2010, 09:51 AM) Thanks mate!  Hmm.. forgot to mention. Frank told me that he's not selling Ultimate Direction products no more, due to price increase. Maybe U can check out Quick-sport.com they sell Ultimate Direction products, I also saw New Balance store selling NB branded fuel belts, but seemed bulkier than the Ultimate Direction's. Good luck.
tenno
Jan 16 2010, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(jimmyay @ Jan 14 2010, 06:02 PM) I am just curious. What do you carry when running? Heart Rate Monitor? MP3 Player? Distance Measurement/Pedometer? Water bottle? Snacks / energy bars? Handphone? Car Keys? Compass? Maps/Compass? Any others? Sound like going for war. For me... Heart rate monitor + speed sensor (a must) Sometimes carry MP3 player (long runs) Sometimes carry my new fuel belt (long runs) I'm trying to run as light as possible.. I mean, without carrying too much la..
tenno
Feb 2 2010, 10:13 AM
My preparations for Putrajaya Nite Run has been hampered by injury again... Man.. I really can't run without those compression calf sleeve no more these days....
tenno
Feb 2 2010, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 2 2010, 02:30 PM) how old are u afiqfaisal  Yeah2... if Ur still young... & growing... maybe there's a possibility... Foot types .. I dun think Ur born with it.. more like.. posture thingy.. Well, maybe for some, they were born with certain foot types la...