Runnerz... #3, All about running...

euphoria88
post Oct 27 2009, 06:46 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 10:27 AM)
If i do not doubt when i do nt knw, hw will i find out?

Exactly you as a swimmer use it for recovery..
We as runners use it to give us "power" to complete the run/ event
No one said for gels to improve our performance
Again, you made a statement which could kill...

Please refrain yourself from making such outrageous statements when you have no proof/ reference what so ever to support the statements made..
Like yourself, there are many newbies here, if you do not knw.. ASK... we are more than willing to share ...giving the wrong advice can KILL
Go join swimming and compete biggrin.gif
give you 'power' = to improve performance liao lor =.=lll
And this statement was made based on my experience.
euphoria88
post Oct 27 2009, 11:31 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Oct 27 2009, 10:47 AM)
I believe u r a good source for us in this forum as u mentioned u compete in state and national level swimming competition, and also a competitive short distance runner.  V definitely hope to get some tips from you in terms of speed training and for those into Tris then the tips on how to improve in swimming will be of beneficial.

Again you must understand that long distance running can be a little different from those sports you are engaged in where energy are distributed across a span of long hours like from 1hr to almost 6hrs (if one is slow in running a 42k).  Short distance running are more on burst of speed, and swimming will really depends if one is a sprinter or long distance one.  Even if its long distance it wont be anything more than an hour.  So the usage and distribution of energy is very different.  Food and supplement for recovery may or may not differ. Anyway I am more than interested to hear from you and your point of view.

As someone said, this is not a forum to bash each but more to learn from each other strength and correct the mistake as it comes along.  Hope to hear more contri from u.

cheers biggrin.gif
Yes, food and supplement for recovery actually differs on individuals, gender, how much work out etc. Everything differs on individuals. Yea, I understand that smile.gif

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 11:15 AM)
Go run 20km and compete biggrin.gif
Every individual is different and both your forte and experience is ..i m sure u knw different..
runners do nt equate to swimmers, swimmers do nt equate to runners.. plz dun tell me nw u did biathlon or triathlon..

You could say "power" = improve performance
but i wudn't, reason being you think of it as helping you to run faster or something.. i m looking it from a point of view where it is used just to help you complete the race, see the diff?

i do not think you will if you have yet to consume a gel just to complete a certain distance..

do share if you have ran 15km, 20km or even marathon (i meant 42km and not 5km)
Yes. Runners do not equate to swimmers and swimmers do not equate to runners. Wanted to do triathlon once I phailed cuz no1 teman me biggrin.gif

power = improve performance
help you complete the race = power
if no gel = can't complete the race?? No I never think that the gel can actually help to run faster, that wud be foolish. Boost of confidence, yea.

Ok you got me there. I was asked to join 10km runs and 15km. But didn't go in the end.

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 11:34 AM)
Let me clear the air here a little.

I am very sure euphoria meant this:

Powergels/bars etc, in her experience, bring no benefit in her ex-competitive sports.
Eg: 5km runs and swimming

Just note this euphoria:
The guys here are talking about the benefits of powergels in LONG distance running.
Eg: >10km runs.

Please read before just posting. Not to flame but have noticed that you post things before you actually read and understand all the replies. For example in the bodybuilding forum. i was like ??? when u just out of the blue post something without reading the previous replies or understanding what the people actually meant.
Yea I know what it means. But seriously, don't tell me you believe power gel can actually let you run non stop 42km if u take it. If u don't you can't even past the 5km mark. I am saying that power gel is actually good for recovery after certain work outs or competition, not during.

In bodybuilding I don't know where to start so I replied the posts that I can reply.

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 27 2009, 12:04 PM)
Aaaah, hmm.gif dun tell me she use to pump iron too biggrin.gif
typical spammer syndrome? we get that alot around here
No I don't pump irons. Often. I do hit the gym once/twice per week as it is required for workout for competitions. Whatever you wanna say.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 27 2009, 02:46 PM)
Ah  blush.gif
18 minutes of course no need water. Try 1 hour 40 minutes wink.gif
I tried once, 1 hour 30 mins w/o water, running non stop for training in a hot weather with no shades. I was fine untill I stopped for 5 mins or so, I consume water. I took the wrong choice. I should not consume water untill after I cooled down. I got giddiness after the water went down my throat. I tried ice water. Doesn't work. In the end I need to cool down by running around the field to get rid of that.

euphoria88
post Oct 28 2009, 12:40 AM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 04:08 PM)
Oh my...
If you actually read about long distance running it would help.
Those bars just provide your body with quick energy to allow you to continue running.
It's simple mathematics actually.
3-4 hours of running = ~1600 (varies) calories used.
Most human bodies doesn't have that much stored energy to burn hence the use of those bars. They allow our bodies to replenish the energy lost.

Of course there are people who don't need it but they are an extremely rare bunch.

And why are you stating again and again that the powerbars don't help when world champions and professional runners use them?

Sigh, ever heard of ad? Sponsor ads.

And nobody stated here that the bars will help a person who cannot run the race to actually finish the race.
And nobody said that without the gels a person cannot complete the race.
They are a help in completing the race at better timing and allows the user to not overburden the body. In simpler words, they simply just give you more energy.
Also, if you actually read up on this, those bars/gels are digested fast which releases quick energy to the body.

It's like me saying, you go run a race after a day of fasting.
And if u cannot can I state this: Eh why cannot? No food means cannot finish a race ah?
And if you can finish the race then I'll ask this: Wouldn't eating help you finish the race easier?

Sounds really silly doesn't it?

Power gel and food is different, it cannot be compared.

About you running 1 1/2 hrs without water, cool, you can do it and am different from everyone else. And if you believe that it should apply to everyone, I just want to ask one thing, give me any link to any website saying that a person shouldn't drink in long races.
Do you know why people die in long races? Dehydration.
Yeah I know. No I didn't think it should be applied to EVERYONE. I think it should be applied to those who are good. But still I think hours that long should drink water to prevent dehydration.

*This is embarrassing but I actually ran the 5k in 25min 13sec lol. Not 20 min. No wonder I was wondering why it's possible. Miscalculated...paiseh..
but still a 1 min improvement is not bad. 
If I can improve 1 min every week it'd be awesome but I'm a realist, it'll be crazy difficult.  biggrin.gif
Its good indeed, you're working hard smile.gif Keep it up smile.gif soon, you shall be 15mins for 5 KM smile.gif

This post has been edited by euphoria88: Oct 28 2009, 12:40 AM
euphoria88
post Oct 28 2009, 12:54 AM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(strinq @ Oct 27 2009, 04:47 PM)
Read the posts before I stated that they use them. Look at the scientific side.
It's a comparison stating that food provides energy, so do powergels.
Powergels are also food. Powergels are foods that release energy faster than normal foods. 
So it just makes sense that if food gives you energy, the gels do too.
And since they release energy faster, you can use that energy in your running.
And again, read about the whole calories needed thing.
powergel is not food sigh.
I can't debate anymore I'm so tired after whole night training sad.gif

euphoria88
post Oct 28 2009, 02:09 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 28 2009, 12:34 AM)
Seems like im abit late to catch the train...  did i got miss out anything?
btw, why do u need power gel for 6km run?

anyways, welcome to runners thread....
Lol I didn't say I need power gel for 6km.. since when I said so? I just say I tried smile.gif
thanks. haha.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 28 2009, 01:03 AM)
run long distance is not just about dehydration alone, but also other things too.

have you heard of the term: "Hit the Wall" ? if you are into long distance run, you will know the meaning of the term.
Yea I know. smile.gif

This post has been edited by euphoria88: Oct 28 2009, 02:10 PM
euphoria88
post Oct 28 2009, 11:58 PM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(andychee81 @ Oct 28 2009, 03:57 PM)
Anyone wants Nike LunarGlide+? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1209442
can you actually promote your stuff here?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0441sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:55 AM