QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 15 2009, 02:44 PM)
you go OKR visit him ar?CLOSED
CLOSED
Oct 15 2009, 02:45 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Oct 16 2009, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 16 2009, 12:43 PM) Seagate?...some use for years also no problem, some use for two week oledi kong...dun believe?..go to the Garage sale forum.. yup it's all about the areal density per platter.. so even if 2 platter is spinning slower at 5400rpm (and with the help of larger 32MB buffer), it could keep up on constant transfer rates with the older 3 platter faster 7200rpm rpm HDD..Anyway, Hitachi Ultrastar 1tb sata is also selling for cheap price...I would rather go for the Hitachi as I bought one and seems like very hardy stuff. But take note, they are not the latest technology...using tried and trusted 5 platters it is one of the best during its time..but now got better technology. I'm using all Hitachi from 2.5 to 3.5inch of various capacity, I swear by them , but last week I bought a Samsung F3 1tb (1.5tb no stocks) at RM280 in JB. Samsung F3 uses only 2 platters instead of 3 for Samsung F1..so it should be faster in Read and Write...haven't tried it out yet. I also use WD...but one thing abt WD, it looks nice but not so hardy, so if you tend to bring it everywhere 'Naked'...better get the Hitachi Ultrastar. But for your info...the top of the list HDD ppl are getting now is the Samsung 1.5tb |
Oct 16 2009, 06:28 PM
another one dun read recent posts wan..
Oct 16 2009, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 16 2009, 06:31 PM) You know what?...you are right...those manufacturer ones are the best...very seldom breakdown cause its protected by the casing. let me know when they include esata ports at no cost option...My friend swears by 3.5inch external stuff and he will be bringing 3~4 along in his bag everywhere... Seagate FreAgentDesk is doing quite well also.. am on the verge of chucking one fella's WD mybook at 20MB/s copy speed... ZZZZzzzzz Added on October 16, 2009, 6:41 pm QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 16 2009, 06:33 PM) what type suitable? your troll spray seems to be working.. that person seems MIA recently.. This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 16 2009, 06:41 PM |
Oct 16 2009, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 16 2009, 06:56 PM) Planning to make a run down to LowYat over the weekend but really undecided on whether to go for the Live or ACRyan. it comes down to you want RMVB or not.. Alas, think about the KL traffic, make me half sian liao since you planning to get asus (realtek) for room, why not try the sigma 8655 |
Oct 16 2009, 10:24 PM
but why pay for something that costs 600-700 when it should cost below 500...
Oct 17 2009, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(waeguk @ Oct 17 2009, 09:50 AM) Also, the HDD boxes or packaging never show proper specs for platters etc.... so how to know which is which technology? |
Oct 17 2009, 11:54 AM
for storage. The cheaper the better. Hehehe.
Oct 17 2009, 01:12 PM
Oct 17 2009, 08:14 PM
Oct 17 2009, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(kianwee @ Oct 17 2009, 10:25 PM) Ran some test with online radio stations. Live365 works perfectly. Pandora not so much. It's only available for US. wah so digital lifestyle wan ar? if I use this kind of thing, it's just for movie playback.. Photo viewing using flickr runs flawlessly. When powering down the Live!, attached devices like hard disk and wifi dongle powers down automatically. This is much better than the WDTV1 which only spindown some of my hard drives. Took my digital camera and plug directly to the Live! via USB. It works as well. |
Oct 17 2009, 10:33 PM
Oct 18 2009, 01:09 AM
Oct 18 2009, 01:27 AM
come, I help you...
lelong lelong! RM200 for wdtv... |
Oct 18 2009, 10:09 AM
Oct 18 2009, 11:45 AM
Oct 18 2009, 12:15 PM
thanks for the link..
so far most reviews concentrate on it's LAN capabilities.. I think more importantly is how it handle hi bitrate 1080p movies like from m2ts, file format compatibilities and BMDV folders/M2TS files..... (and 100% ability to handle HD audio bitstream smoothly etc) |
Oct 18 2009, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 18 2009, 12:23 PM) Considering the Live is still relatively fresh in the market, I'm sure there'll be more reviews on it coming out soon. That's why, patience is a virtue. Holding off my investment for now....or just call me kiasu if you are kiasu wouldn't patience be the last thing on your mind? how to be no.1 when you have to wait? |
Oct 18 2009, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 18 2009, 12:30 PM) My case of kiasuism is not for first to get but rather, to get the best possible means to my end ouch.. pinkor pinkor |
Oct 18 2009, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 18 2009, 01:57 PM) I do not think is licensing issue. How come it still supports the Company's core format, DTS huh? Can future firmware to rectify this as I think now hardware of 1.3 is more than enuf............... ar188 what is your projection of the DTS-MA is future? This is my main concern rather than crappy networking. I really have no idea.. have to really read in depth on-line reviews which will be cropping up soon...yup networking is secondary.. if can't play serious hi-bit rate files smoothly, then what's the point even if youtube streams perfectly.... |
| Change to: | 0.0385sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:19 AM |