Aug 11 2011, 02:42 AM
1,273 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
telileti - but i like dibs ;-; if i do get him from you, i'll call him dibs.
eugene - yup. it's just pretending to sleep, lol :P you could use red lights to watch them in action. |
Aug 11 2011, 02:59 AM
i believe when the article stated "light", it's referring to light as a heat source, not like, light source light.
since animals are usually drawn into recluse and eventually hybernation due to temperature changes :P ^ imo, anyways :) ninja edit* also, be careful when heating up your hogs during cold nights, too hot and you could send them into aestivation. This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 11 2011, 03:01 AM |
Aug 11 2011, 11:58 AM
i dont think the 1" would make that much of a difference but the main criterias that should be your deciding factors should be the build of the wheels, imo.
does the 11" wheel have any open gaps around the area where your hog would lay it's feet on? since there's always fear of it's tiny nails getting stuck ._x which part of klang valley are you in? i mentioned two locations in that post you quoted :P pet lovers center in ss2 mall (ground floor) and ikano power center (top floor). midvalley has a plv chain as well on the top floor, but i'm not sure if they have the wheel. |
Aug 11 2011, 03:36 PM
just out of curiosity, when your hog eats her kibbles, does she chew on it ._.?
mine actually chews on each kibble before swallowing (i could tell when she's eating cause it's usually noisy as she crunches down on each kibble) |
Aug 11 2011, 03:49 PM
ouch, must've been scary ._.
also if you take your hogs out onto the garden or lawn, be careful on what they're sniffing on. once i thought lil was just chewing on grass to annoint herself as usual up to a point i heard crunching sounds? she was gnawing on a pebble -_- |
Aug 11 2011, 10:16 PM
telileti - i certainly hope not ._. i heard the gnawing sound once and i quickly bolted towards her and picked her up and tickled her lower jaw so she'd let go of the pebble. she seems to be chewing fine so i hope no damage was done :s
ix3rukia - get, a wheel! ninja edit* also, if perhilitan is as troublesome and incompetent as sirim, we're in a LOT of fun if we've to register our hogs. This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 11 2011, 10:18 PM |
Aug 12 2011, 07:06 AM
grats sowhon +)
does your wife like the new hog? |
Aug 12 2011, 09:10 AM
did you keep it in a cold environment? try checking if it's not breating _at all_ or if it's simply breathing slowly - 2~3 mins intervals
i hope it's just in hybernation :S ninja edit* in which case you should try warming it up but not too suddenly, try to wrap it up in some fleece and cuddle it and check every few minutes ._.? sorry it happened to you sowhon :/ This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 12 2011, 09:13 AM |
Aug 12 2011, 03:07 PM
im sorry to hear about your lost sowhon :/ hang in there, and take what happened with a grain of salt.
while i still think your prev hoglet simply went into hybernation, i'm no expert. um, what shavings are you currently using for rocky? make sure it is unscented pine shavings. other types of shavings are known to cause allergic reactions. if possible, avoid shavings completely unless you're just using it to potty train him. fleece is the recommended bedding but you could use small kitchen towels while his nails are still short. (main reason fleece is recommended is that it doesnt get stuck in their nails) monitor the temp of your hoglet. the underbelly should be somewhat warm and their nose should be dry (unless if they've previously licked it ninja edit* also for mite control, most recommend frontline. but personally, i'd try giving him a bath first. (place normal oats - not instant - in your palm, dip it in some lukewarm water and just spin your hand around once or twice till the water cloud, add some apple cider vinegar) the oatmeal soothes dry skin while apple cider vinegar is a natural disinfectant. remember though, introduce him to the bath water slowly as to not stress him. (wet his legs and underbelly gently first) oh and, lukewarm water! both to wash and rinse him. and make sure you dry him thoroughly. what i'd recommend is a towel + a hairdryer at the lowest setting about two feet away from him. hold him to comfort him as you draw the hot air onto him. your arm will ache like mad but your hog will appreciate it. and finally drop a few drops of olive / primrose /almond / neem oil onto your hog to further soothe dry skin. remember to _not_ use grapeseed oil. This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 12 2011, 03:21 PM |
Aug 12 2011, 03:24 PM
yeah, remember to just cloud the water and remove the oats. and add a very very little amount of apple cider vinegar into the bath water as it's quite a potent substance
Aug 12 2011, 03:55 PM
ninja edit*
quills looks cinnamon but it has a mask? does not compute. facedesk* This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 12 2011, 04:07 PM |
Aug 14 2011, 12:20 AM
iknorite.
i was mindfecked for a good few mins thinking my eyes were blurry before it hit me, AQUABOX D: ninja edit* did you make a hole on the side or something ddr3? This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 14 2011, 12:20 AM |
Aug 15 2011, 03:50 PM
sowhon - i personally add a capful into 6l of water, but since your hedgehog is smaller i'd say half of that.
and remember to either add a variant of ointment feasible (besides tea tree oil & grape seed oil) in their rinse water or after showering your hog :) 13 - tickle it's back! tickle it do eeet! :P |
Aug 15 2011, 04:51 PM
sounds good :d
i do pretty much the same except i personally think it's better to skip adding ointment into the rinse water since the oil would make it harder for you to try your hog. so i'd usually make sure my hog's dry before dropping 3-5 drops of oil around her back and behind her ears before smothering it all over her :P |
Aug 16 2011, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(sowhon @ Aug 16 2011, 08:42 AM) did just like what you suggested...firstly took bath in oatmeal + apple cider vinegar diluted in warm water... hi5*then drip a few drops of olive oils onto Rocky's back...seems to have some effect as i dun see him scratching himself that much now... will repeat the same in a week or two...hope to totally removed the mites away... hope those pesky mites will stop bugging rocky soon random pic - lil being confused after her bath (as per usual) ![]() |
Aug 17 2011, 10:21 PM
it's normal for them to do that.
run > poo > run > stop > sniff > get down > poo > get back on //loop it's too random to make sense of it. since sometimes it seems natural for my hog to stop, get off then poo. but at other times her wheel still gets poo patches here and there. |
Aug 17 2011, 11:28 PM
in theory the more you handle your hog, the more it will become accustomed to you and eventually open up.
but in reality, they are different individuals :P for instance mine has never ever balled up when i pick her up. which makes me kinda.. let's just say i'm missing out on this whole balling up phenomenon ,_, and on the other end of the spectrum we have huffster. telileti has tried prolly every trick in the book and he still sees her as a potential threat ._x so i guess what i'm trying to say is the answer you seek when asking how long it takes for a hog to be friendly to it's caretaker is highly subjective :P |
Aug 17 2011, 11:52 PM
i still hope to see the day that my hog would actually eat an insect that i present to her ,_,
yes i've tried snapping it in half and letting her sniff it. yes i've tried leaving it in her food bowl only thing i've not tried is actually putting it in my mouth to show her it's edible |
Aug 18 2011, 12:08 AM
yep. i kinda snapped once and went apenuts. literally dabbed bug juice all over her snout so that she would lick it > she refused and struggled > i kept dabbing > she stopped and stared at me
which of course made me feel like an ass. lol. havent tried giving her worms since that day. she basically doesn't care for anything other than her kibbles. gurgh. |
| Change to: | 0.0474sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:04 AM |