Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

Ken.B
post Jul 21 2011, 12:00 AM

163 posts

nethelp, cheer up k??

mayb mum is too stress, try breeding em twice a year instead of three.

RIP cry.gif
Ken.B
post Jul 21 2011, 10:56 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(jeli_sp @ Jul 21 2011, 12:52 AM)
self anointing

heDcok 2months 2weeks 2days
Haha.. Cute boy! Naughty Boy!
Ken.B
post Jul 24 2011, 01:07 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jul 24 2011, 10:16 AM)
My small little hamster drinks more than my hibari sad.gif

Hibari so smart leh! She only eats her RC36 when i put mealworms together inside. Smart way of getting extra worms
Lolz, hedgehog are smart indeed. My ginger once lie down sideways and use her paw to tumble the feeding bowl so that she can eat! Ginger the lazy girl! rclxub.gif

Ken.B
post Jul 24 2011, 02:20 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 24 2011, 01:24 PM)
Chubster's the same as well. She's been a pooping & peeing machine lately. I discovered that she dragged her food bowl into her hide box this morning.
Does this mean that she's nearly due?
Most probably. when ginger gave birth for the first time, she drag the bowl into her box

Ken.B
post Jul 24 2011, 11:46 PM

163 posts

Won't it be difficult to wash the wheels when it's attached to the cage?
Ken.B
post Jul 25 2011, 10:47 PM

163 posts

Hedgehogs CAN get flu from human. Hedgehogs also CAN get flu from other pets or fellow hedgehogs.

If human have flu, try staying away as much as possible.
If pets or other hedgehog have flu, wash your hands before handling other animals.

If hedgie don't like mealies, you can try chopping off the mealies into two and feed it.

Also, hedgehog does not have large intestine. So, try feeding them less vegetables and fruits.

wink.gif
Ken.B
post Jul 26 2011, 02:04 PM

163 posts

laugh.gif You're welcome.

Just curious, when do we need to change the version? Is there a maximum number of post that is limited for a topic?
Ken.B
post Jul 26 2011, 02:32 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 26 2011, 02:23 PM)
Got my hedgie on Saturday night. Everyday just walk around and drink. Don't want to eat. Any advise?
Do you provide them wheels? What brand do you feed your hedgehog?

@TeliLeti: Sure. Haha. But I'll do it during sem break. Any objections? sweat.gif
Ken.B
post Jul 27 2011, 09:35 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 26 2011, 02:49 PM)
I use kibbles from the seller.. smile.gif

They need wheels to eat? LOL
laugh.gif they don't need wheels to eat. Just that if they don't have, their activity level might be low so they need less food. haha. welcome to the world of hedgehog! laugh.gif
Ken.B
post Jul 27 2011, 10:03 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 27 2011, 09:29 PM)
Ehehehe, I quickly put my hedgies down when I see the tail comes up!
I'll bring them to the toilet bowl!
Ken.B
post Jul 28 2011, 01:30 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 27 2011, 11:57 PM)
What if they fall INTO the toilet bowl? 8O
Sad case! haha...
Ken.B
post Jul 29 2011, 10:25 PM

163 posts

pet shop in general treats animal badly. To them it's 'stock'. not 'life'
Ken.B
post Aug 1 2011, 10:25 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(nethelp @ Aug 1 2011, 09:45 PM)
Step on??? OMG not this SHXT again, they my eventually died being step on by mother... Hope they will make it....
I don't think they will have any problem. Born to be stepped i think? Cause the mother always step on the babies. smile.gif

QUOTE(EugeneLowPNG @ Aug 1 2011, 09:57 PM)
hi guys, jus wanna ask is it ok to use wood chips(pine shaves) as bedding?

Added on August 1, 2011, 9:59 pmand and can we use dog food as our hedgehog food?
Sure, but do not use cedar shaving. It's poisonous to small animal in general.

Dog foods and cat foods are staple food for hedgehog in captive. However, do not choose low quality food lar.. haha...

welcome to the group!.. thumbup.gif

Gratz Telileti, are your parent hogs from nethelp?

This post has been edited by Ken.B: Aug 1 2011, 10:26 PM
Ken.B
post Aug 4 2011, 11:25 AM

163 posts

Nah... I'm quite busy nowadays. Midterm and presentation season d.. lolz.

What are you guys doin g now?.. I'm currently a uni student.

That is an interesting video btw. xD

Haha, escape proofing is important. They can hide at place where you least expected. Previously, the height of the cage are too low and Pepper escape.

I thought it got lost since I couldn't find him. I was so sad. The next morning, my mum wake me up because Pepper was in her WARDROBE! rclxub.gif doh.gif
My mum love them but don't dare to catch.

This post has been edited by Ken.B: Aug 4 2011, 11:25 AM
Ken.B
post Aug 6 2011, 04:30 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 6 2011, 03:27 PM)
SWIMMING?!

I wish my hedgies would voluntarily go into the water.
+1 notworthy.gif

Mine run the opposite way! doh.gif

Careful though, if they get overworked, they'll drown

This post has been edited by Ken.B: Aug 6 2011, 05:17 PM
Ken.B
post Aug 9 2011, 12:12 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 8 2011, 11:10 PM)
*nods* I was hoping to get more females so I could keep them but since only one of them is female, I don't really have much of a choice.

I'd have to find three other containers from I-don't-know where to keep each of them after weaning if they make it.

I don't want to get my hopes high yet in case Chubs cannibalises them or something.

LOL, Mr. Pinto is a tiny one. He's the smallest of all 3. The female one's the biggest.
Lol, I thought it's just mine. Because both batch of my hoglets will have a hoglet with a smaller size. btw, one of my hoglet got sick. It's something weird that even the vet at my area have to refer to Taiping Zoo. Hope that they'll reply me soon.

Congratz on the PINTO.. MR Lucky who have a recessive gene hedgehog and a patterned hoglet! rclxms.gif
You can get storage box from tesco. They're cheap compare to cages in pet store smile.gif. How much is the playpen cost in the previous page?

Ken.B
post Aug 9 2011, 10:42 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 9 2011, 12:25 AM)
If you don't mind me asking, how did you end up with your first breeding pair?  nod.gif
You mean the color of the hoglets?

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 9 2011, 10:24 AM)
I find it funny. xD
They run, run run, and without warning, they stop. The little beady eyes wiggle a bit, then they continue running again.  laugh.gif
And they keep sniffing everywhere! drool.gif

The symtoms of the baby... hmm... like red spot at his eyebrow and nose. swollen legs and bruise. It's not a result of fighting because non of the others have the same symtoms.
Ken.B
post Aug 11 2011, 02:41 AM

163 posts

lol.. cute hoglets..

I got mine from an exhibition in my campus. I remembered buying them for RM 140 and RM 120 for albino and snp (unrelated).

the first batch of hoglets are 3 female and 2 male
2 are cinnamon and 3 are albino

DDR3 is having one of the cinnamon
btw, hows the little one?

erm.. I didn't miss out anything, didn't i?
Ken.B
post Aug 11 2011, 02:47 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(EugeneLowPNG @ Aug 11 2011, 02:36 AM)
Nice little guys u have there TeliLeti!!

Added on August 11, 2011, 2:38 amGuys, Is it normal that my hedgehog sleep whenever i turn on my lights and wake up immediately once i turn off my lights??
Yeah... it's perfectly fine... i think almost all hedgehog does that, at least mine does. smile.gif

Some article mentioned that we have to give them a constant day night cycle with a minimum of 12 hours of light to prevent hibernation.

However, i don't find it convincing because i once left my hedgehogs in the dark for 2 days. well, not totally dark in the morning because the curtain blocked the sunlight but i still consider the room to be dark.

hmm.gif any different thought on this matter?

What i did to watch them playing is to turn on the bathroom's light and leave the door half open. smile.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by Ken.B: Aug 11 2011, 02:50 AM
Ken.B
post Aug 11 2011, 02:55 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(EugeneLowPNG @ Aug 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
minimum of 12 hours of light to prevent hibernation means we need to give them a minimum a 12 hours of light?
But wenever we turn on light they goes to sleep too...
Mine is 100% dark till i'm in the room which is jus a very few hours and wen i goes to bed its dark again!!
Yup. Since both yours and mine doesn't hibernate then I dont' think it's possible

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0612sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:35 PM