10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V6, I LIKE to be left ALONE

eric138
post Nov 16 2009, 11:48 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Nov 16 2009, 11:38 AM)
after i took JimJim home the 2nd day, i used the earthbath oatmeal to bath him the 1st time...is it need to bath few time only can see the result??how often shud i bath him??
It's SHAMPOO, not MEDICINE. It helps in relieving itchiness and prevent dry skin problem, it doesnt strong until your hedgie cure instantly. Of course you need to use it for a period of time then only you can see the result.

I shower my hedgie twice a month. Bathing too frequent may cause dry skin problem too.
eric138
post Nov 17 2009, 07:01 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kazuya90 @ Nov 17 2009, 06:52 PM)
hello guys, if someone go to meet with dr jenny.. can you guys help me ask her a question ?? i got interest in taking hedgehog as my pet and i am from sarawak... during sems break i hope i can bring my pet back to there too.. can u guys help me ask izzit i can bring my hedgehog bak if i got a health confirmation letter from her and no need to quarantine my hedgehog ?? thanks...
I don think is wise for you to bring your hedgie back sarawak for holiday.

Hedgie can get sick very easily when travel..they will really feel stress.. Imagine, normally wen we travel by car for short distance, hedgie also can vomit and diarrhea.. If u transport it using plane..i dono what will happen..

And i don think Dr Jenny's letter is valid for that purpose, jabalan perhilitan will require government vet to check on ur animals..not private vet..
eric138
post Nov 17 2009, 07:53 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kazuya90 @ Nov 17 2009, 07:21 PM)
ok thanks.. another more question.. izzit hedgehog will get mites easily ?? since i saw many ppl mention about their hedgehog with mites condition..
Not really. So far i never had problem regard mites b4.

Lately a lot ppl found this prob, because they jus got their hoglet. And some of the breeder they do not maintain hygiene environment in keeping their hedgie..

As long as u clean the cage regularly, shower them regularly..it shouldn't be a big problem.
eric138
post Nov 19 2009, 03:05 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kazuya90 @ Nov 19 2009, 01:13 PM)
then how you guys handle with ur pets when you are outting or back to hometown during holiday ?? ask ur fren to help taking care ??
my hometown is near. So max i go back for 3days, i will leave sufficient water and food for kenken..

But if you go back for 1-2weeks, u better get someone to take care for u.
eric138
post Nov 24 2009, 11:59 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 24 2009, 08:32 AM)
Hello everyone tongue.gif  Every time I come here also post some question or anything happen on my hedgehog tongue.gif Sorry for that, but just want to share for it.
Sometime we can heard hedgehog make sound like "Jiab Jiab Jiab", he look like want to eat something or taste something like that, but be careful of it.
My Bo Chai now is in Wobbly Hedgehog Syndrome. mean he can't move around by own, last time I see he front left leg getting hurt, I though it was hurt by the wood bedding ( nothing will be sharp, just the bedding ), after I cover the cloth, my Bo Chai front left leg  still getting hurt although it getting fully recover. Then I feel strange why it like that.
Then 1 time I heard the Bo Chai make " Jiab Jiab Jiab" sound again, but this time feel like juicy sound then I go see what he doing..... Oh man Bo Chai chewing his own leg until blood coming out..... he put his leg ( whole palm area ) any just chewing there...
No wonder his leg recover so slow, so next time heard the "Jiab Jiab Jiab" sound just notice his leg or any place is it getting hurt.
Now really don't know how to stop him chewing again, make be DIY those cover use by sicked dog or cat that anti them bite themselves  or scratch their own face.... but feel like can't wear it lol, hedgehog head is sharp.....
Any idea for that tongue.gif
my god. WHS.. it's a nightmare for the hedgehog and owner. so sorry to hear that vincent. Be strong ya~

Collar for hedgehog... erm...is ur hedgehog big ear hedgie? if big, mayb can slot the collar behind the big ear...i think there is a small gap between the ear and quills...

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Nov 24 2009, 10:32 AM)
wanna know whether the hamster exercise ball can be use for hedgie??those whole ball can roll everywhere 1...
Not advisable. They don feel comfortable inside... very hard to get hamster ball that big enough for hedgie though..
eric138
post Nov 24 2009, 09:36 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(scorpio94 @ Nov 24 2009, 09:13 PM)
Hi there.. i'm just wondering if it is advice-able to bring back my hedgie to johor..as i'm going to stay there for a period of time..

btw..what do meal worms eat?
Make sure u do all the things to reduce the stresss to minimal, as they can easily vomit and diarrhea when travelling.

Make one travelling box/carrier for ur hedgie, don hav to be big, jus ask small as ur hedgie size..stuff in fleece and used bedding, let him feel as comfortable as he can. Make sure ur carrier is small enough so ur hedgie wont be moving and shaking inside the carrier.

Mealworms eat everything that u put in. But i prefer to put in some nutritious and high calcium food... Sometime i put carnivore food, dog food, cat food, hedgehog food, and also calcium powder inside too.. biggrin.gif
eric138
post Nov 26 2009, 08:43 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(scorpio94 @ Nov 26 2009, 08:41 PM)
thx..but the prob that i'm kinda facing is the meal worms kinda die?
Do u let the mealworms contact with water? They will die if kena water..

And it's pretty normal if u found few dead mealworms in the whole container..make sure u pick those dead one out because others will follow and die too..
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 03:06 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Nov 29 2009, 02:31 PM)
Hi.
I wan to ask something.
Roughly how Many time do I need to feed d hedgehog in one day .
And 1 month how many kg does it eat.
And can Muslim keep d pet.
Bcauz hedge hog. Hog means pig .
I afraid it's is a pig evolution?
Asap
Huh...so weird....

even it evolve from pig, it's already not pig and becomes another species of animal d la..

If u don wan to indirectly contact with pig, then u should avoid a lot a lot thing already.
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 03:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Nov 29 2009, 03:23 PM)
I just wan to know.
I'm student la.
I afraid if Muslim can't keep later my dad won't allow me buy d pet.
Now I try to convince him.
And how much does it eat in one day.?
Roughly one month how many kg does it eat.
Need to calculate budjet b4 buyng
Feeding portion and times depend on the hedgehog and owner. Different people would hav different ways.

I'm feeding once a day only. And some others feeding twice a day.

I don think hedgehog food can cost u a lot monthly.. U can estimate around 70-100 everymonth?

Because i'm mixing 2-3 types of kibbles for my hedgehog, so definitely cost higher bit. Then if u use better bedding such as Back2Nature then costly bit lo..

First time cost would be higher because u hv to get a big cage or toyogo box, big wheel, litter tray, bottles, food bowl, supplements and etc..
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 04:01 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Nov 29 2009, 03:48 PM)
O_o still have suppliment?
i have cage d i only need hedgie and food.
can i just give bake bean as supliment or can i just giv hedgie food and don giv suppliment?

Added on November 29, 2009, 3:51 pmWah 70-100.
y so exp de.
my dad wont support bcauz he dindt allow.
I just wan buy and keep iniside my room without
telling him.
What is bake bean?

If ur family doesnt agree, then pls don get the hedgehog.

You are still staying with ur family, therefore respect the others if they don like to hav it within the house.

And, the worst thing can happen is ur father discover and u hav to give up the hedgie for adoption or sell it away.

Btw, what cage u hav there? Pls don tell me u don plan to get a wheel for the hedgie too..
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 04:42 PM

227 posts

After reading all the post, my advice would be cancel the order.

Next, what u can do?

1) Read more bout hedgie first...prepare ur mentality to keep a hedgie.

2) Communicate with ur parents, seek permission from them

3a) If they don allow, then wait for a year until u finish ur spm

3b) if they allow, thank god and start getting the MOST BASIC thing for ur hedgie.

4) Enjoy ur time with ur hedgie, either next month, or next year after ur spm.

As soekma said, basic cage is 2ft x 1ft... Pls remember, this is the smallest cage u would need... Don becoz of ur personal issue, then u get a smaller one for ur hedgie.

U should resolve ur problem with ur dad first, then only proceed to purchase the pets..

I cant imagine how the hedgie going to be if u grab it now.. hide in a small cage everyday... shower secretly... cant go out of the room...

Pity right?
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 05:03 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Nov 29 2009, 04:45 PM)
damn quiet long.
i afraid later after spm.
no time to take cae hedgie .
bcauz sure hav plkn for 3 month then go college.
plus wan go work.
haiz any idea how to convine my dad.>?

Added on November 29, 2009, 4:51 pmactually i have empty aquarium.
inside my house width 2.5 feet height 1.5 feet.
but i afraid my dad will found it.
haiz.

Added on November 29, 2009, 4:56 pm

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1241652
i just wondering.
that  guy sell hedgehog food.
can i just give thst food and don give suppliment>?
So? even if u get now, u will hav to go for PLKN after ur spm.. What is the difference?

You r jus too eager to get the hedgie impulsively now. And this is the worst thing when comes into pets keeping.

I don think there is anyone here will give u idea to convince ur dad. But we will try hard to convince u to think twice b4 taking any action.

Tank is not really suitable for hedgehog btw. Too hot for them.

I dono what is that food, and got no brand, no ingredients..what i saw is jus brown pellets.. u nid to check the nutritional analysis b4 deciding which brand to feed... Some suitable for hedgie, some don..

Since u r afraid this afraid that, why don you jus hold and think twice first?
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 05:29 PM

227 posts

ohoh... kandycane angry d.....
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 05:54 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kandycane @ Nov 29 2009, 05:34 PM)
Haha. Well, cant help myself when faced with someone like naruto.  doh.gif  I admit i was once in his shoes, wanting to get a pet badly to fill in my boredom. Until I realised getting a pet requires so much more than what it is stated. But i'm not complaining. smile.gif smile.gif  And i really salute you eric, having so many pets.  yawn.gif
Erm..Once i also one of the impulsive buyer too. And because of my foolness, I ended their lives ealier than what they suppose to be.. But that's not hedgie la..is glider..

It's because i'm still student, so my time is not as tight as those who working.. And i work part times once a while..so i still can maintain all the pets lo.. But i reached my limits d... that's all i can keep now... 9 chiildren..

Naruto, nothing wrong to hav the impulsive feelings. But u hav to make sure ur midset is correct. If you feel eager, then u done all ur reading, make sure everything is ready then grab the pets.. I'm sure nobody wil blame u..

But if u do what as u planned to do, by hiding the hedgie secretly.. keep it in small cage.. use hamster wheel... jus because u wan the hedgie to help u to overcome ur lonely days.. Dont you think you are bit selfish? You concern bout ur loneliness day, what bout the hedgie's loneliness and bored day in small cage? What bout the animal's feeling?

QUOTE(soekma88 @ Nov 29 2009, 05:41 PM)
who is nt angry lar...his dad disagree and his mom agrees...for sure, kena nag by his dad everyday, his mom will be like in middle man...supposed to be brought happiness, the pet brings fight and disaster...  sad.gif
Aiks...too much conflicts.. later what will happen is the hedgie will be out of the family lo..because the mom eventually will tolerate the father ma..
eric138
post Nov 29 2009, 07:02 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Nov 29 2009, 06:50 PM)
Wah sai.
30cm arh.
Where got sell ?
So big .
Orh my graden free from cat .
only hav pond And tree.
lol. Any suggestion which toyogo box suitable for hedgie
and how much it will cost me?
Yes, is 30cm. So far only Wobust Wodent Wheel (rm170 over) and Silent Spinner (100over) available..

Wodent wheel u can get from petshack, as they are the only one who imported from overseas. Silent spinner a lot places are selling.

Free from cat? U sure? U dono one day mayb a cat crawl into ur house or wat... don take the risk..

Don really encourage people to keep hedgie outdoor, expose to too much noise and very stressful... And HOT!!!

I have seen one toyogo box @ ikea last time..very nice, solid and comes with wheel.. i think about 80-100 for the biggest one..which i think that is only toyogo box that suits for hedgie..

Nowadays all the toyogo box is deep but not big... hard to find big one though..
eric138
post Nov 30 2009, 12:13 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 29 2009, 11:09 PM)
The best is either use fleece or cloth as bedding, or newspaper. Why? Coz I have tried everything that I can think of for my hedgies last time, and the best was from cloth and newspaper. Confirm healthier, cleaner, no irritation or skin problems.

I tried before breeder celect, back to nature, corn cob, woody pellets, wood shavings, carefresh.... the ones made of recycled paper are good but then so costly to use. So best is to use cloth if you rajin to wash. I had 7 cloth, everyday I change 1, then once I reach weekend, I take all the dirty cloth I kumpul and wash. But then I became lazy, so newspaper was easier in the end.
I tot you mentioned before newspaper shouldnt be use for bedding because it's toxic for animal?

Esp those direct contact with bedding such as hedgehog and hamster?
eric138
post Dec 3 2009, 10:50 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Dec 3 2009, 12:52 AM)

read this guy.
its about silent spinner 12inch.
they said the product was sux.
very easy to broke.
It's truth. Silent spinner is bit not stable enough..esp ur hedgehog is already adult size. The wheel will fall down when the hedgie climb down from the wheel...

Even thought, there are people who found no prob in using silent spinner.

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Dec 3 2009, 10:41 AM)
i feed rc 36 cuz my hedgie only about 2 mths old...but after he grow up to adult age which is ard 4 mths-6 mths old i'll change to rc32...cuz rc 36 will be fattening for him if continue feeding...

previously i bring my hedgie to dr jenny there, i asked her suggestion for hedgie diet..she told me rc is good, i also asked her about the 8 in 1 mix, she said the ingrediants inside is using those rejected chicken parts, so she said rc is better...other than that she suggested me to feed my hedgie dog kibbles, any brand but not pedigree...she gave me a small packet of sample and i tried feed my hedgie, he likes it...but anyhow Malaysia haven't got a more suitable hedgehog food available yet...
I talked to Dr Jenny too last week too bout hedgie diet. Even if you feed good quality cat food only, the hedgie will develop crystal easily..

Pray hard for new hedgie food come into the market~
eric138
post Dec 3 2009, 05:06 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Dec 3 2009, 04:42 PM)
Lucky i do research b4 buying it.
if not i will waist 100 for useless wheel not long lasting.
I wonder y petshack sell it.
They not supose to sell it.
Bcaz the wheel useless

Added on December 3, 2009, 4:43 pm
O_o now rc36???
Can i just feed 2month hedgie with rc32?
As i said, some owner found no prob with silent wheel. Pls talk in a more respective way, i feel that u r bit judmental.

Fyi, 12'' silent spinner is not meant for hedghog ONLY. it can be use for other animal as well.

In addition, people on the net sometime do not talk in neutral perspective. They might condemn silent wheel jus because they wanna promote another type of wheel that they selling.. So pls be objective and evaluate wisely.

2month hoglet need higher protein, so pls go for kitten's kibbles.

Why u wanna feed RC32? pls don tell me jus because u share and bought RC32 in bulk with others. It doesnt make sense k.
eric138
post Dec 3 2009, 05:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Dec 3 2009, 05:18 PM)
o_o.
Srry about that .
Sorry ya petshack cry.gif  cry.gif
no i just ask about d food.
I havent buy anything.
i just wan to know which suitable..
Means younger hedgie need more protein la.
I wonder if i buy 11inch how long can my hedgie use it?
And how long do i need to feed young hedgie with rc36?
Yes, young hoglet and pregnant hedgie need higher protein. Actually this applies on most of the animals, where young baby/child needs more protein to support the rapid body development.

Hedgehog reach young adult age at bout 7-8months. U hav to observe the size also.. If an adult hedgie is underweight, u nid to feed higher protein also. Same goes to those hedgie who has high exercise level. I ever met an owner b4, let the hedgie exercise and free roam almost everyday, and he is feeding slightly high protein compare to rc32.

Get a 12inch diameter wheel.. No point if u get a 11inch one..
eric138
post Dec 3 2009, 05:37 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(naruto_412 @ Dec 3 2009, 05:30 PM)
how long can it use it?
2month 3month .

Added on December 3, 2009, 5:33 pm
No i dindt buy it.
My fren got extra 11 inch.
He wanna giv me 1.
So i wan to know how long can hedgie use it.
erh how long do i need to feed hedgie with rc36?
Bcauz i need to calculate .
What wheel is that? i mean ur fren's wheel... wodent wheel? Sanko? Comfort?

RC36 i think u should feed until at least 6-8months.

Calculate for? u wanna buy larger pack of the kibbles?

I personally prefer to buy smallest pack, then feed until finish..then grab another new pack. For me it's fresher.. Unless u really seal properly.. because everytime u open the air goes in and out..

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0624sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:05 PM