125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

- Asus Royal Club * Version 3 * -, Everything about Asus !!!

moyong
post Aug 15 2009, 07:42 PM

Fish
751 posts

Hi, for your information, no more N81VG adi. Only got 3 units in Malaysia and all sold out yesterday ^^

laugh.gif then have to wait for how long for the stocks to come in?

they are still selling like hotcakes eh...
locoroco2
post Aug 15 2009, 07:48 PM

257 posts

is it true that the intel based K40in/50in r using Seagate 8mb cache sata hdd whereas the amd based k40ab/50ab r using Hitachi hdd? can any owners verify it?

Added on August 15, 2009, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(locoroco2 @ Aug 15 2009, 03:47 PM)
all sifus, i need a simple notebook to convert RMVB to DIVX, was considering K40IN C2D T6500 Geforce G102M dedi 512MB Vram versus K40AB Athlon ATI HD4570, n wondering which one will give me a faster conversion speed??
I think the K40IN is noticeably faster in video conversion tasks - assuming both K40in & K40ab r using similar amount n spec of ram in a controlled environment i.e. vista 32bit without multitasking.

Quote from someone somewhere lol below:

The GPU does video rendering -- the CPU does video encoding/decoding.

In plain english, rendering means "displaying" or creating an image using a program (such as CAD, 3dsMax, or computer game. Photoshop is an exception because it's made to depend on CPU instead of the GPU -- this is however now changing now that Nvidia has CUDA enabled GPU's that help out in Photoshop)

Encoding is the process of transforming information from one format into another. The opposite operation is called decoding.

If you want to speed up your video encoding/decoding, you can either overclock your CPU or buy a better one with more cores (tri-core or quad core).

If you want to improve the speed at which 3d graphics are rendered (gaming, CAD, etc.) than you upgrade your video card. the Nvidia GTX series are particularly good for these. 

A GPU will not help you convert faster. As mentioned, the GPU transcoding tools suck for the most part, and a strong GPU won't help in a CPU only task. If this activity is taking to long, you need a better CPU and/or more ram.
I hope my assumption is right here, any sifus can enlighten me further on the points?

This post has been edited by locoroco2: Aug 15 2009, 08:16 PM
astria
post Aug 15 2009, 09:35 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(locoroco2 @ Aug 15 2009, 09:48 PM)
is it true that the intel based K40in/50in r using Seagate 8mb cache sata hdd whereas the amd based k40ab/50ab r using Hitachi hdd? can any owners verify it?

Added on August 15, 2009, 8:16 pm

I think the K40IN is noticeably faster in video conversion tasks - assuming both K40in & K40ab r using similar amount n spec of ram in a controlled environment i.e. vista 32bit without multitasking.

Quote from someone somewhere lol below:
I hope my assumption is right here, any sifus can enlighten me further on the points?
depends on wat transcoding software u use...

if u use Badaboom, which is optimized for CUDA, a 9600M GT can even transcode 3 times faster than a Core 2 Quad...

if u use ATi AVIVO, which ATi claims to be optimized for ATi CAL, but actually it's not, it's juz going to use ur CPU to transcode...

as for those free ones u can find in the Net, for sure they are going to be CPU based...

and also, some new ones are optimized for SSE4.1 as well...

but generally speaking, Core 2 will be slightly faster than K8 when comes to videos (it's number crunching after all)... but remember, both ARE slow compared to the GPU when comes to such work...
MunDsuM
post Aug 16 2009, 03:01 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Aug 15 2009, 07:42 PM)

ah could it be that they're making way for the K51AB? Hmm i dont see why U80v design + hd4860 at RM4k is impossible. K50's only about RM2.2K rite? Lets say the hd4570 is worth RM200, take tat out you have the K50 at RM2k. Then add a hd4860 would, well maybe cost RM1k? Now RM3k's the price. Another RM1k to do the styling and maybe give it a better processor. Beautiful hahaha.

------------

btw does the U50VG still exist?

This post has been edited by MunDsuM: Aug 16 2009, 03:03 AM
astria
post Aug 16 2009, 07:29 AM

22,158 posts

HD4860 is really not cheap seriously...

juz look at those with HD4850 or GTX 260M... be prepared to be abt the same price range since HD4860 is even better than them...

at the very least, imo it will be more expensive than MSI's gaming laptops with HD4850, which are already selling at rm4k+ to 5k...

besides, 40nm RV770 is in tight supply, and AMD still ve to reserve some manufacturing capacity for RV870 as well, even though TSMC has improved on the quality... so whether HD4860 really will come out is another qn...

This post has been edited by astria: Aug 16 2009, 07:31 AM
ilovestitch
post Aug 16 2009, 01:51 PM

623 posts

i am using asus a8jn, bought it two years ago, and very impressed with the service provided by Asus Service Center, so i will stick to this brand... Feel like getting a new laptop for myself, budget range will be from 4000 to 5000++, is captivated by N51VF, but i wonder if it is right to go for this model? its processor is equipped with 1066 FSB, but it is embedded with DDR2 800 MHZ Ram.and the another issue regarding to processor, not sure whether PXXXX and TXXXX with same core speed got significant different in terms of speed?
astria
post Aug 16 2009, 03:05 PM

22,158 posts

P = 25W, T = 35W... that's all...

the numbers are wat indicates the performance...

for 1066MHz FSB, RAM running @ 533MHz DDR is already fast enuf... so 800MHz DDR is overkill...

as for N51Vf... well, imo u may want to wait for N51Vn to reach MY then decide... it has GT 240M for graphic, better than the GT 130M On the Vf... but i ve to say, benchmarks are disappointing... u ve better choices with other brands...
TSPerfect-Stranger
post Aug 16 2009, 08:22 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Aug 15 2009, 07:14 PM)
How do I check the warranty left on my N10J?
You may call service centre and ask aboout it. Normally they will ask you to check on your receipt, date of purchase.

QUOTE(moyong @ Aug 15 2009, 08:42 PM)

Unknown bro ^^
Jvn11
post Aug 16 2009, 11:03 PM

257 posts

add to list plz. n51vn.. =D thx
TSPerfect-Stranger
post Aug 17 2009, 08:12 AM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(Jvn11 @ Aug 17 2009, 12:03 AM)
add to list plz. n51vn.. =D thx
Noted, where you got it bro ? Perhaps you can share with us ^^
moyong
post Aug 17 2009, 09:01 AM

Fish
751 posts

ah could it be that they're making way for the K51AB? Hmm i dont see why U80v design + hd4860 at RM4k is impossible. K50's only about RM2.2K rite? Lets say the hd4570 is worth RM200, take tat out you have the K50 at RM2k. Then add a hd4860 would, well maybe cost RM1k? Now RM3k's the price. Another RM1k to do the styling and maybe give it a better processor. Beautiful hahaha.

Good idea..... post it to Asus as design suggestion laugh.gif
Jvn11
post Aug 17 2009, 01:09 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Aug 17 2009, 08:12 AM)
Noted, where you got it bro ? Perhaps you can share with us ^^
Oh, hehe. Theres this company Evernew selling this model at PC fair. The units sold out fast, cause they only have a few. But i think you can order from them though. They have branches in Lowyat, Digital mall, etc.
zorex
post Aug 17 2009, 02:15 PM

1,186 posts

wow, N51VN... i want trade in my N50VN for N51VN lerr....T.T
Xehanort
post Aug 17 2009, 02:55 PM

1,002 posts

how much the N51VN ??
astria
post Aug 17 2009, 04:02 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Jvn11 @ Aug 17 2009, 03:09 PM)
Oh, hehe. Theres this company Evernew selling this model at PC fair. The units sold out fast, cause they only have a few. But i think you can order from them though. They have branches in Lowyat, Digital mall, etc.
bro, can contribute here???

interested to see how the GPU stacks against the others...
wkh_united
post Aug 17 2009, 05:02 PM

243 posts

1st time buyer here.Need some opinions from the experienced. Is the

performance between U80V P8700 and F81SE P8700 the same? And I am

still wondering to buy T6500 or P8700 since I hope that the laptop I am

going to buy can stand for about 4 years and can run the most of the future

application without any lag and the need to change a new laptop. I am not

an extreme user. Your help will be very much needed. Thanks

Augus7
post Aug 17 2009, 06:51 PM

Council
698 posts

oh ya, forgot to report in

N81vp, reporting in~~~
TSPerfect-Stranger
post Aug 17 2009, 08:42 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(wkh_united @ Aug 17 2009, 06:02 PM)
1st time buyer here.Need some opinions from the experienced. Is the

performance between U80V P8700 and F81SE P8700 the same? And I am

still wondering to buy T6500 or P8700 since  I hope that the laptop I am

going to buy can stand for about 4 years and can run the most of the future

application without any lag and the need to change a new laptop. I am not

an extreme user. Your help will be very much needed. Thanks
Well, actually the performance between U80V P8700 and F81SE P8700, i would say they are almost the same. Just that from their outlook, it's totally different thing. Price wise, you are paying extra RM 400 for it.
Anyway, it's your choice at the end of the day. But for me, T6500 is just enough to cope with my daily usage.

QUOTE(Augus7 @ Aug 17 2009, 07:51 PM)
oh ya, forgot to report in

N81vp, reporting in~~~
Noted and added into Asus user list. Well, you forgot something =P
Hi, Augus7 report in with N81Vp .. I'm Ghey !

astria
post Aug 17 2009, 08:45 PM

22,158 posts

not again.. .sweat.gif

i still dun understand why my name is green in the list... hmm.gif
nasik
post Aug 17 2009, 08:46 PM

⎛⎝⎛ooo..
569 posts

hello, wanna ask a question. i bought m51vr last november, and i'm wondering, can i send my lappy for warranty without the warranty card(lost it)? and if can, where should i send it? because the speaker broken, and when it do too much activity, it'll auto shut-down.

125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:23 AM