A&L IOI Mall, Wonderful and horrific experience

TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 12:07 AM, updated 17y ago

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

I was hunting for a pair of fronts, center ,sub and a receiver, for my second HT room, so I pay A&L IOI Mall a visit today,

its my first visit at A&L IoI mall, first impression, of the sale ex. service, RICK LEONG, hmm horrible, I arrive first, then he stare from my head to my toes, ask " yes wat u want?" I explain of my interests of purchasing a pair of fronts, center, sub and a receiver ,he suddenly saw a uncle enters , just jump out and greets him ignoring me still standing ,

( yes I purposely wore short pants and just my aikido t-shirt, proves he just customer by the looks I think) nod.gif rolleyes.gif

asking me to u wait for a moment, and straight float like a ballerina to the unknown uncle, lucky I was in a good mood, I waited, wait, wait ,wait and waited, for 30 minutes, he keep sucking up on the uncle, without discussing any business, blink.gif

it turn out both of them waiting for the audio room for the next audition, as its occupied by MR C.C Hong and a customer, and yet Mr. Rick don’t bother to serve me, or ask me to audition at the available, and empty theatre demo room, which I walk pass for the 40mins checking every single speakers they have in stock already ....... sweat.gif

40 minutes later, my patient is starting to turn sour I slowly walk to him, still hovering around that uncle and sucking up to all his conversion. He then finally gets a hint and asks

He: ok so what u wants again?"

me: I want to get a pair of fronts, center and a receiver for gaming and movie used for my ps3, as for receiver what model u have for Lossless decoding that are in lower or mid end like denon 1909?

He: "outburst "what your point? ps3 cannot plays blu ray lossless, it’s useless to get that kind of amp, u might as well use Yamaha that can actually plays dts and ac3.
Me: "shock and awe” err but ps3 does able to output lossless, its call internal decoding to LPCM, "havent finish"

He:"cut off" hah, u knows what LPCM is actually, it’s not lossless, and it’s actually analog like signal...

Me:" piss off" okay, can we get back to the point,

He: it’s no use one u get that speakers if u donno the proper set up, wasting also if u get 10 -20k, we as a experience seller known all the set up
I’m just telling u so u won’t misunderstood how proper set up is matched,

Me: “annoyed" okay u mean if I use ps3 I can’t buy better speakers?

he: only blu rays plays lossless, gaming u don’t need one , why u need lossless set up, u know or not, hah,

Me: blu ray player are so damn cheap now, u means I can’t afford to use it?

He; oh I don’t know if the players are cheap or not, but REAL BLU RAYS are really expensive yet, over hundred thirty....

Me:"interrupt” do u know how many blu rays I collected...?

He: oh pirated and fake ones out there are not real lossless,

Me:" really piss” ok, first off can we get straight to the point of discussion, second are u implying I can’t afford real blu rays?
He: try to give a murk smile, oh, u know I been through a lot in our sales we just want to let u know what’s right and wrong only... u know, I talk straight to point one....

Me: ok ok ok, can get straight to the point? What u been blurring is irrelevant. I want to audition a psb t1, c1, and a velodyne impact 12+, what the price.
Me budget is 6k,

He: look and flip his book, write on a tiny paper here’s the price,
Me: can I audition the set?
He: ooh u have to wait, we are still waiting, to test speaker, I need to find, set up, it takes time, I’m with tat customer
Me: but your home theatre room is free, and cant u set it up for me to audition first? While waiting for the audio room? How about your colleague? Only u here?

He then annoyed and ask eh can u set up this for him to test,,,,

Mr. Hong, takes over from this point, he slowly set up the speakers test dark knight, tunnel, scene 20

First set up

Psb alpha t1, c1 ,impact 12
Sound was clean but at suffered muffle sound and all over the place when lots of effects are going on the same time,
When play at higher volume.

I explain, its not what I expected, is there an better recommendation for better and more dynamic sound yet more tight and solid? That falls on my budget of course..

Hong recommends me, Missions front speakers and PSB image c40 or c60. C60 is too huge for my placement, so he re-setup for me ,with no complain or whatsoever,

Second set up

Mission full range front (forgot what model), PSB image c40, (no sub)

Sound way better, can tell the direction of every effect way better, highs are clear, lows are alright, overall much better experience

Decided to get it, but still looking for Denon 1909. As I m lazy to purchase again from Desa lowyat, Mr Hong, said he’ll try to cut stock from friend, and he start to make a call, outside,

Mr Rick walks in and ask oh u want this? Not PSB? I explain PSB is a no no , the highs and mid are not really for my cup of tea, he quickly said ohh then don’t use mission, use Dali ….WAY BETTER…
he then set it up for me.

Third set up

Dali concept 6 , Psb image c40, (no sub)

The high this time was much more dynamic at high volume, mids are tight, lows are slightly deeper.
Got improvements, not way much than PSB vs Mission before but its an improvement,

Hence I decided to get the third set up along with denon 1909, I explain,
Mr Rick , said why not u get Yamaha sound way better and have better features…
With previously done researches on both Yamaha 665 and denon 1909, I just play along and act dumb and listen, he turn slowly encourage me to get Yamaha rx-v565, said this unit is very nice one Lossless also , no problem at all…
(simple problem , I cant live with, as using component input in 565, one cannot reassign to analog audio in, he never heard of it)

Mr Hong returns said he manage to help me on denon, just charge me costing Rm2190 + 2% service, I say okay why not, as DESA price are back to 2199,

Conclusion, my impression of Mr Rick Leang, sales executive , email: rick@alaudio.com.my are:

Rude, impatient and sarcastic, ask 1 question blurb irrelevant subject, maybe he's under stress but it’s just suck, for a first visit, I decided to walk out till

Mr C.C.Hong , Operation director, 012-398 0093 are

Friendly, helpful ,straight to the point, patient, and insightful.
Im returning tomorrow to buys Dali concept 6 fronts, Psb image c40, denon 1909 from Mr Hong,

ps: Mr Hong ,did explain and apologize on Mr Rick behalf during the audition, said he is like tat sometimes quite rude, maybe his cantonese is not fluent, HOI NAM chinese hard to find right word maybe, so ask me to excuse him, its because of this, i really repect Mr Hong and decided to purchase from him, and never ask for any discount nor bargain, with him. Highly recommended. Kuddos to him !!! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jun 30 2009, 12:22 AM
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 12:12 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

So here's my set up for tomorrow, what u guy thinks any better set up or comments? please share

Dali concept 6 + Psb Image c40 + Denon 1909 + deliveri to puchong, + cheapo cables = Rm5933.80

my budget is RM 6k for front, center and receiver.
Sub later baru purchase, rear back and surround back dah got liao.
Front , center speaker cable arriving next week, Belden 1131a yippy~~~! icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 12:22 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Sorry to hear your bad experience bro. You are a very cool guy notworthy.gif . If its me being treated for the 1st time like that I will walk away and never return.

I never deal with Rick before. All my purchases from there I deal with Alex. Never fail me so far. Even one time I already ordered NAD 545BEE but cancel my order when the item actually has arrived in stock, he still very polite to me and say its ok. If I decide to get it later I can contact him again.

Yep PSB Alpha is a nice entry level but suffer at high volume. Good choice on Dali but I think it would be better if you drop Image C40 but go with Focus Audio FCC2 instead for center speaker. Audition first and you'll know what I'm talking about. Good luck and I'm sure you'll enjoy your purchases even with a little hickup smile.gif

This post has been edited by arremie: Jun 30 2009, 12:23 AM
amduser
post Jun 30 2009, 12:27 AM

5,542 posts

the mr. rick really very rude, PS3 cannot play lossless? and what real blu ray and fake blu ray, WTF is he talking about? doh.gif

LPCM not lossless? if say bitstream still acceptable lar, that guy seriously laugh my ass off....
maxizanc
post Jun 30 2009, 12:35 AM

5,909 posts

Will definitely go there some day. Hehe. But i only went to A&L Sg Wang. Andy Liew there is a very nice person. From the start to the end of our deal. 1st day, 2nd day and so on, still serve me patiently. Nice service from him and his staff. Know my range of budget well. So i decided will never go to any other shop other than A&L Sg Wang Plaza. thumbup.gif
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 12:37 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 30 2009, 12:22 AM)
Sorry to hear your bad experience bro. You are a very cool guy notworthy.gif . If its me being treated for the 1st time like that I will walk away and never return.

I never deal with Rick before. All my purchases from there I deal with Alex. Never fail me so far. Even one time I already ordered NAD 545BEE but cancel my order when the item actually has arrived in stock, he still very polite to me and say its ok. If I decide to get it later I can contact him again.

Yep PSB Alpha is a nice entry level but suffer at high volume. Good choice on Dali but I think it would be better if you drop Image C40 but go with Focus Audio FCC2 instead for center speaker. Audition first and you'll know what I'm talking about. Good luck and I'm sure you'll enjoy your purchases even with a little hickup smile.gif
thanks bro, yeah i heard alot of negative comment on c40, but im short of time in kl, and need to settle this set up asap for my kl home, before i return to ipoh punya HUT. heheheee.... plus i malas to drive here and there get one here and one there...any recommendation should i ask for different models from them?
remember my budget still RM6k at the moment for center, front and denon 1909... sad.gif

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 30 2009, 12:27 AM)
the mr. rick really very rude, PS3 cannot play lossless? and what real blu ray and fake blu ray, WTF is he talking about? doh.gif

LPCM not lossless? if say bitstream still acceptable lar, that guy seriously laugh my ass off....
yup i lazy to even argue with him , all i want is an audition and recommendation and price, he cant even get to the point , my god, who have piss him off so bad before me??? feels like a punching bag,

lucky i was in a good mood, so wanna try one of my choke and joint locks on him, ahem.... ahem.. fuuhhh...
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 12:42 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 30 2009, 12:37 AM)
thanks bro, yeah i heard alot of negative comment on c40, but im short of time in kl, and need to settle this set up asap for my kl home, before i return to ipoh punya HUT. heheheee.... plus i malas to drive here and there get one here and one there...any recommendation should i ask for different models from them?
C40 is not bad actually. Its just that Focus Audio much much better. Heck even my crappy RC52 way much better than C60 not to say C40 (to my ears la....no offense to users). You can audition Focus Audio at A&L Amcorp la bro. No need to drive here n there tongue.gif
Reix
post Jun 30 2009, 12:42 AM

468 posts

Have to agree with you that Mr. Hong service is very good.
First time there, he served me, very helpful, even though he knows I just ask prices only.
Months later I went there again, he still remember me. Again, just doing survey and not buying, he still serves me with patient
rthj
post Jun 30 2009, 12:49 AM

1,048 posts

i had good experience dealing with Alex as well...this was when he was still in SG wang
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 12:49 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 30 2009, 12:42 AM)
C40 is not bad actually. Its just that Focus Audio much much better. Heck even my crappy RC52 way much better than C60 not to say C40 (to my ears la....no offense to users). You can audition Focus Audio at A&L Amcorp la bro. No need to drive here n there tongue.gif
hmmm amcorp mall err, not really know tat place, but wats the price for RC52? 2.3k right? i think over budget liao

QUOTE(Reix @ Jun 30 2009, 12:42 AM)
Have to agree with you that Mr. Hong service is very good.
First time there, he served me, very helpful, even though he knows I just ask prices only.
Months later I went there again, he still remember me. Again, just doing survey and not buying, he still serves me with patient
whoa , nice , yeah i really like his attittude talk slowly , listen to u then , think before talk ,not just babble nonsence. smile.gif
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 12:53 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 30 2009, 12:49 AM)
hmmm amcorp mall err, not really know tat place, but wats the price for RC52? 2.3k right? i think over budget liao
Alamak the one I go is A&L Amcorp la not the IOI mall one doh.gif anyway IOI should also have Focus Audio I think since they are same company. Its ok if your budget tight but do listen 1st...the tight will become wide open whistling.gif laugh.gif
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 01:03 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

hahahah sure sure , but too bad wallet wide open only come out flies and smell, no enough greens
robinlim
post Jun 30 2009, 01:12 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

I've been to A&L IOI Mall few times
and most of the time was served by Rick

So far I have no bad impression towards him
He was very helpful on helping me to audition few items
and me ended up buying some of the items from him

He's quite knowlegable on HT setup
Only some of the infos I think he got it wrong, eg. LPCM like u mentioned
The way he speak from certain point of view is considered rude
For me it's still acceptable as i've seen more rude and annoying sales ppl talking like nobody's business and he's the only one who's knowlegable

Regarding the simple attire u wore
I also wore t-shirt and shorts while paying visit there
yet he still served me well
maybe the time u visited there he's mood was not good gua hmm.gif

Added on June 30, 2009, 1:16 am
QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 30 2009, 12:42 AM)
I totally agreed
C60 is considered as quite good range of center speaker oredi
but compared to FCC2, no match at all smile.gif

This post has been edited by robinlim: Jun 30 2009, 01:16 AM
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 01:18 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

yes sure, thats still not a perfect excuse, on how one should serve a custormer,in what ever mood u are, i garantee in reverse if anyone been serve like this today , your feeling will be mutual too. doh.gif

plus he is not in a bad mood, not from what i seen , how he suck up to the uncle just going around every corner asking oh wats this, oh this is nice, oh wats that, no offence to him , but , i have just waited 40min + standing there, so hope u can understand..

if mood not good dont go to work lor, its your job to do it, noyone is forcing him to be there, how u see its also its not an excuse to act as such,

i seriously wont want anything to do with him ,ever again,

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jun 30 2009, 01:19 AM
megatron007
post Jun 30 2009, 01:21 AM

4,000 posts

wait u go visit CM-wai biggrin.gif hehehe ... if ur face canot afford dynaudio...tak ala layan pun sad.gif
maxizanc
post Jun 30 2009, 01:26 AM

5,909 posts

JHehe, he thought uncle uncle got more money and richer compared to ones who wears t-shirt, shorts and sandal. whistling.gif You should see one's pocket actually. I saw someone like you, looking for laptop, the way he look of course, like wanna play play only suddenly take out RM8k cash and said, i want this one.. now.

lol

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jun 30 2009, 01:27 AM
rthj
post Jun 30 2009, 01:27 AM

1,048 posts

actually CMY....i have never bought from them...but most of them are very eager to serve and answer questions (my exp was with the one in Pyramid/1U and Damansara Utama)....so it was not a bad experience.
zerorulez
post Jun 30 2009, 01:28 AM

1,251 posts

Been to both branch.. i live at kinrara but still prefer A&L amcorp... they just let me watch half of Batman... whistling.gif Served by Alex and Yap very patiently.. Both are ok tongue.gif It's better to go there during office hour when there is less customer.. biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Jun 30 2009, 01:29 AM

4,000 posts

u all see unkers no up?? most of them go cm-wai to get dynaudio for put into bed room listen songs at nite

i saw 1 unker .i guess mechanic outfit.... auditioning the tall tall flagship model of dyaudio

dun playblay...can buy a CAR biggrin.gif
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 01:32 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

lol, honestly when i go out to buy stuff i rather wore low profile cloths, wont be an easy target with cash carried, plus im a aikidoka, im always in a ready ,this close makes it easy for me to move around for attacks and counter attacks, ,ahem, and me paranoid also...
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 01:35 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

wow u aikido? like steven seagal eh? can teach me a step or two blush.gif
Synco
post Jun 30 2009, 01:38 AM

CCB
667 posts

i always deal with rick , seems never have any prob with him eventhough sometimes i do window shopping in his shop. Setting up tons of diff speaker setup also .
however his accent or the way he speaks does gives u the feeling that he is kinda rude biggrin.gif .
htkaki knows rick well too nod.gif
robinlim
post Jun 30 2009, 01:41 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 30 2009, 01:18 AM)
yes sure, thats still not a perfect excuse, on how one should serve a custormer,in what ever mood u are,  i garantee in reverse if anyone been serve like this today , your feeling will be mutual too.  doh.gif

plus he is not in a bad mood, not from what i seen , how he suck up to the uncle just going around every corner asking oh wats this, oh this is nice, oh wats that, no offence to him , but , i have just waited 40min + standing there, so hope u can understand..

if mood not good dont go to work lor, its your job to do it, noyone is forcing him to be there, how u see its also its not an excuse to act as such,

i seriously wont want anything to do with him ,ever again,
i agree with u
if the first time i paid visit he treated me like that
definitely i'll have the same feeling like u
btw, most of my visit there were off peak time
no unker unker laugh.gif

A&L amcorp mall I've also been few times
their service is also good smile.gif
C.T. Seong
post Jun 30 2009, 01:50 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jun 30 2009, 01:49 AM)
i had good experience dealing with Alex as well...this was when he was still in SG wang
He is returning to Sungei Wang branch since last month
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 02:18 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Really? No wonder never see him lately when I passes by A&L Amcorp. I tot he went out for lunch tongue.gif
gsdev
post Jun 30 2009, 07:57 AM

819 posts

I deal with Mr. Hong in IOI and he has been very good and professional. In fact I am waiting for my B25's from him. He is highly recomended.

Mr. Rick has been very helpfull to me too, he loves to set up different combinations and listen to them. In fact I have been there a few times and had to oppurtunity to sit together to listen to the diffrent set ups. His may of communication is definetly different but once you get past that he is helpful too. Maybe both of you guys got off on a wrong footing. tongue.gif
Think about it he set up the DALI 6 fronts for you. If not you would be set on the Missions.

This post has been edited by gsdev: Jun 30 2009, 08:01 AM
aiman04
post Jun 30 2009, 08:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Lazy to read every reply, but I can understand Hwoarang45's experience. I think these salesman can be very nice most of the days, and be rude on one other day. I've experienced this at Desa HT, I've bought some items a few times from this one saleman, very nice. Then one day he was quite rude, assuming I don't know anything about speakers and stuffs, he never remembered me at all.

About Rick, my experience with him was very pleasant. Exactly like Hwoarang45 described of Mr Hong. He was polite, patient, let me audition everything and most important f all, he respected me. Even when I came back few weeks later, he still recognized me.

Really strange, right?

mpyw
post Jun 30 2009, 08:49 AM

3,603 posts

Rick's accent is like that one lar....
he keep on calling me to go test the Dali even though he knew I've bought my new speakers....nice chap there.
htkaki
post Jun 30 2009, 08:59 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jun 30 2009, 01:38 AM)
i always deal with rick , seems never have any prob with him eventhough sometimes i do window shopping in his shop. Setting up tons of diff speaker setup also .
however his accent or the way he speaks does gives u the feeling that he is kinda rude biggrin.gif .
htkaki knows rick well too  nod.gif
blush.gif Will be meeting him on this weekend.

He is quite good lah. Strange that it happened on hwoarang. My experience with A&L has been very good all the while. Feels like a KING lah tongue.gif

CMY 1U treats me very well too except the one in Dsara Uptown.

Another notable 1st class service is by Alvin of Perfect Hi-Fi. Treated me with his MBL spkrs. He said whatever I request, he would surely set it up for me. Sibeh paiseh.... since I have no money to splurge on it sweat.gif

kianwee
post Jun 30 2009, 09:03 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

To summarise the problem, face issue. Maybe those served well by Mr Rick looks like tycoon.
htkaki
post Jun 30 2009, 09:10 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jun 30 2009, 09:03 AM)
To summarise the problem, face issue. Maybe those served well by Mr Rick looks like tycoon.
Ya... wait til you see my 'langgar lori' face sweat.gif
kianwee
post Jun 30 2009, 09:13 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 30 2009, 09:10 AM)
Ya... wait til you see my 'langgar lori' face  sweat.gif
Maybe langgar lori face but definitely have Qi of a tycoon. I can feel your Qi from here. rclxms.gif
maskedchan
post Jun 30 2009, 09:16 AM

6,022 posts

i been served by Mr.Rick and Mr.hong too..
never had bad experience at all..

but i the best is Mr.hong, very patient to setup everything for me...
i keep on testing yammy and marantz and keep on switching..he never complain.... bargain with him also ok...easily bargain....
gsdev
post Jun 30 2009, 10:23 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jun 30 2009, 09:03 AM)
Err, I dont like like tycoon lah, In fact I wear slippers and old T-Shirt also he okay with me.

Every time I am there both Hong and Rick are good to me. Most of the time I window shop. I dont stay long cause a bit shy to hang around then dont get anything but that does not stop me on going back.

Lets just summarize this as one of does days. BTW at the end he got the DALI's after Rick set it up for him right. So i would say customer happy at the end.

This post has been edited by gsdev: Jun 30 2009, 10:26 AM
maxizanc
post Jun 30 2009, 10:39 AM

5,909 posts

Maybe he demam that day?
TSHwoarang45
post Jun 30 2009, 11:14 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

no i just found out maybe its certain day of the month, period mah, okay lor i forgive her,, ahem...

jchong
post Jun 30 2009, 11:46 AM

5,989 posts

Looks like quite a few of us here are A&L customers. Hope they keep up the good work thumbup.gif
azbro
post Jun 30 2009, 11:53 AM

4,403 posts

so what happened to the uncle..hehe
Cando
post Jun 30 2009, 12:05 PM

18 posts

Those guys at Amcorp very nice fellas and oblighing. I have dealings with them, very cheen chai, squeezable,and pleasant to deal with....
arremie
post Jun 30 2009, 12:21 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Cando @ Jun 30 2009, 12:05 PM)
Those guys at Amcorp very nice fellas and oblighing. I have dealings with them, very cheen chai, squeezable,and pleasant to deal with....
squeezable? laugh.gif
Cando
post Jun 30 2009, 12:41 PM

18 posts

Ya la squeeze and squeeze the price down.
sonyman
post Jun 30 2009, 01:56 PM

1,043 posts

I just wondering, do these hifi shop ppl read the forum thread, i bet they do i think. Probably among us also,

if thats the case, i think it is good for them to improve you see. So forum are very important.

BTW AnL ampcorp is good also, sales ppl are nice, and patient, and they also answer to my stupid question also . so it is good lah.

as long as they are humble and nice and patient, the hifi and AV kaki will only and always buy from them, practically there are not a lot of hifi shops arround kLang valley, so they have to watch out, if kena condemned here kuat kuat i think habis lah the business.

Malaysians like to test drive the things they buy mah,, so why not let us listen first and then we talk the payment later lah...

emk
post Jun 30 2009, 02:20 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 30 2009, 11:14 AM)
no i just found out maybe its certain day of the month, period mah, okay lor i forgive her,, ahem...
I think for us men, menopause is more likely...
agree 100% that Mr Hoong is more patient and helpful. Never rush to close sale. Salesman should know better that not all walk-in customers will buy there & then. Not when the price runs to thousands of ringgit.
I just wish our hi-fi shops will treat the customers better. Maybe '30 days return policy no question ask' is not too much to ask?
rthj
post Jun 30 2009, 02:28 PM

1,048 posts

does any of the stores let you loan their demo units to test them at your own environment?

htkaki
post Jun 30 2009, 02:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

A&L. jchong did that.
cmw_kwl_6923
post Jun 30 2009, 02:47 PM

759 posts

A&L Staff~~~!

Seong - Bangsar branch~~~ thumbup.gif

Andy - Sungai Wang HQ~~~ thumbup.gif

Hong - IOI branch~~~ thumbup.gif

Hew - Amcorp Mall branch~~~ thumbup.gif

All this few person, they serv customer patiently, guys keep on to do that ~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
kianwee
post Jun 30 2009, 02:52 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

I only been to Bangsar Village II branch, David serve me. Patient and friendly. Keep up the good work and reputation. thumbup.gif
yj-kl
post Jun 30 2009, 03:01 PM

48 posts

for me, so far dealing with Hew & Alex.
Both good.
jchong
post Jun 30 2009, 03:16 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 30 2009, 01:56 PM)
I just wondering, do these hifi shop ppl read the forum thread, i bet they do i think. Probably among us also,
Yes they do. For example, forummer C T Seong is from A&L Bangsar.

I'm sure he must be glad of so many positive things said about A&L here. Not like the things said about L*g**d tongue.gif
attentional
post Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM

358 posts

I don't even want to step into SG wang or IOI mall. That place is full of punks and ah beng. A&L should open branch in The Gardens and Pavilion. So far bangsar branch is the most high class.
htkaki
post Jun 30 2009, 03:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM)
I don't even want to step into SG wang or IOI mall. That place is full of punks and ah beng. A&L should open branch in The Gardens and Pavilion. So far bangsar branch is the most high class.
Pavillion and Gardens?! blink.gif Rental would be a killing. I guess the rental is one of the limitation and hi-fi is rather 'niche' segment in Malaysia. Not many willing to spend an arm and a leg for the gears / equipements even with enough $$$ let alone those with budget limitation.
emk
post Jun 30 2009, 03:58 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(attentional @ Jun 30 2009, 03:22 PM)
That's a bit harsh. It's the nearest place for us puchongites to go without paying road toll, for shopping & unwind.

Maybe that explained Mr Rick's behaviour. Next time before I go to A&L IOI Mall must remember to leave my flip-flop & worn-out pagoda t-shirt... Hopefully then he will see me worthy his hi-fi stuffs. Like Tun Mega or Tan Sri Remie..
xrossf1re
post Jun 30 2009, 04:00 PM

248 posts

They should target the rich ma. Target the poor cannot make money one...every single cent also want to bargain. I once saw a malay man driving ferrari WMS1 tip a jockey RM100. You think datuk driving bentley and ferrari will shop at IOI mall, Sungei Wang or Amcorp? Where do you see those ferrari 430 parked at usually. hmm.gif
emk
post Jun 30 2009, 04:02 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 30 2009, 03:56 PM)
Pavillion and Gardens?!  blink.gif  Rental would be a killing. I guess the rental is one of the limitation and hi-fi is rather 'niche' segment in Malaysia. Not many willing to spend an arm and a leg for the gears / equipements even with enough $$$ let alone those with budget limitation.
2nd that.
If want friendly fuss free service, we just ask THE ONE..

Added on June 30, 2009, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jun 30 2009, 04:00 PM)
They should target the rich ma. Target the poor cannot make money one...every single cent also want to bargain. I once saw a malay man driving ferrari WMS1 tip a jockey RM100. You think datuk driving bentley and ferrari will shop at IOI mall, Sungei Wang or Amcorp? Where do you see those ferrari 430 parked at usually. hmm.gif
Those super rich, they dont go to show room. They bring the installer to their homes & custom made the HT system. Perfect Hi-Fi was there years before A&L. They are still doing pretty good I think.

Bandar Puteri alone is full of semi-millionaires. Mr Hong told me some bought twin spl1200ultra for their setup. Me? not even quarter-millionaire blush.gif

This post has been edited by emk: Jun 30 2009, 04:17 PM
rthj
post Jun 30 2009, 04:26 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jun 30 2009, 11:00 AM)
there are still datuks out there who are modest...

and i believe they also bargain and haggle.

s6xs9x
post Jun 30 2009, 04:31 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 30 2009, 01:21 AM)
wait u go visit CM-wai biggrin.gif hehehe ... if ur face canot afford dynaudio...tak ala layan pun sad.gif
Dude, tak layan it's ok.
I've been to CM-wai Sg. Wang Branch, Practically spent 15minutes just walking round and round the tiny shop waiting to be served.
When i said my budget was about 6K the just turned back and showed me a piece of paper with some mini speakers, "can't remember what they are". So then I asked how much will it cost for the floorstander "I have no idea what model or brand that is either" .. Can't remember what's the price either .. but the only thing i remembered was: when i touched the finishing body of the speaker he said "I might stain the finishing and make it discolored".
Syok leh!

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 30 2009, 09:10 AM)
Ya... wait til you see my 'langgar lori' face  sweat.gif
Lolz, Langgar lori with a truck full of goods. ... Nice goods summore ..
Anyway .. why say langar lori face la ?? hehehe

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 30 2009, 12:21 PM)
squeezable? laugh.gif
What?

Anyway you guys ever been the the shop in Ampang Point? That's even worse, but too bad it's closed down.
A&L Hew and Andy is great .. even after numerous visit .. "by me" and still did not buy anything from them .. they still come up to chat. thumbup.gif
htkaki
post Jun 30 2009, 04:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Jun 30 2009, 04:31 PM)
Dude, tak layan it's ok.
I've been to CM-wai Sg. Wang Branch, Practically spent 15minutes just walking round and round the tiny shop waiting to be served.
When i said my budget was about 6K the just turned back and showed me a piece of paper with some mini speakers, "can't remember what they are". So then I asked how much will it cost for the floorstander "I have no idea what model or brand that is either" .. Can't remember what's the price either .. but the only thing i remembered was: when i touched the finishing body of the speaker he said "I might stain the finishing and make it discolored".
Syok leh!
Lolz, Langgar lori with a truck full of goods. ... Nice goods summore ..
Anyway .. why say langar lori face la ?? hehehe
What?

Anyway you guys ever been the the shop in Ampang Point? That's even worse, but too bad it's closed down.
A&L Hew and Andy is great .. even after numerous visit .. "by me" and still did not buy anything from them .. they still come up to chat. thumbup.gif
Sld be ProAc or Dynaudio in CMY. If he talk that to me, he's in for trouble.

'Langgar lori' = ugly face. Pinjam these words from 'YB rx330'. blush.gif

I bought quite a lot of things from A&L Sg Wang and a little from Amcorp Mall.

sonyman
post Jul 2 2009, 02:54 PM

1,043 posts

give their anl boss see those guys u mention very patient are not very good sales man , very patient, customer come many times but never buy, hehehe. not very good sales leh ? ... just 2 cent.
Barricade
post Jul 2 2009, 03:26 PM

4,169 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 2 2009, 02:54 PM)
give their anl boss see those guys u mention very patient are not very good sales man , very patient, customer come many times but never buy, hehehe. not very good sales leh ? ... just 2 cent.
no offence, but WTF english is that?
C.T. Seong
post Jul 2 2009, 07:04 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Jul 2 2009, 04:26 PM)
no offence, but WTF english is that?
lol !
sonyman
post Jul 2 2009, 07:33 PM

1,043 posts

sorry for me rushing just now, what i meant, for those customers who comes and look see but dont buy are not very good customers, or either those sales ppl you mention are not working really hard to sell,

in a boss point of view, i dont care how you do it, but i want x amount of sales each month, so now since we all talk about some of the sales ppl here, so maybe if the a&L boss look at this thread, he will know who will make more money for him.

anyway just a stupid thought, just ignore it.. hehehe
jchong
post Jul 2 2009, 08:02 PM

5,989 posts

Ah, I get what you're trying to say now smile.gif

All salesmen sure have sales target and I'm sure all of them would love to close a sale the 1st time a customer walks in. But for hifi I think customers want to take their time to audition and compare. Personally I don't like hard sell type of salesman. That kind of approach turns me off. So a shop that takes a softer approach will probably win in the end.

Anyway, what makes you think the salesmen at A&L can't succeed with the approach they take. A&L got a few branches, the salesmen all keep their jobs, so something must be going right for them.
sonyman
post Jul 3 2009, 12:40 AM

1,043 posts

what i know is , hifi world, you really need to love your speakers before you buy them.
lexonline
post Jul 3 2009, 01:46 PM

66 posts

I had pleasance experience with A&L (both Amcorp & IOI branch) especially Mr. Rick. After the 1st meeting with him. he suggested to come to my house personally (fetched by me) to give me some ideas about the placement for the speakers and sub rclxms.gif spent about an hour + at my house, but I didn't commit anything with him. Few weeks later I went there again to audition he recognised me and help me with the audition, and again, no commitment blush.gif He has the patience and able to provide ideas to his customers. Maybe sometimes his straight to the point attitude might offended someone but overall his is good. Not forgeting Mr. Hong, who also assisted me with the audition. rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Jul 3 2009, 01:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I doubt Atven has got time to browse here. When I see him, I ll tell him about the praises that A&L received.

Might be going to IOI to say 'hello' to Rick. Promised to go there but FFK due to my busy schedule blush.gif He told me that he got 'something' nice for me hmm.gif B4 that, need to drop by Perfect Hi-Fi to check out SF. Hope Andy won't try to promote Revel to me sweat.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jul 3 2009, 01:49 PM
car_o_scope
post Jul 3 2009, 01:52 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 3 2009, 01:48 PM)
I doubt Atven has got time to browse here. When I see him, I ll tell him about the praises that A&L received.

Might be going to IOI to say 'hello' to Rick. Promised to go there but FFK due to my busy schedule  blush.gif  He told me that he got 'something' nice for me hmm.gif  B4 that, need to drop by Perfect Hi-Fi to check out SF. Hope Andy won't try to promote Revel to me  sweat.gif
Maybe Andy's father will intro you the Revel Ultima2 series. sweat.gif

I wonder what nice set up is on display at A&L IOI..
Have not been there before. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Jul 3 2009, 01:53 PM
htkaki
post Jul 3 2009, 02:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Only if I have half a mil RM to splurge and a huge HT room for it tongue.gif

sonyman
post Jul 3 2009, 07:11 PM

1,043 posts

sure can what HT kaki, you sucessfull trade list is now RM611,493 so you make sommore sure you can pump out 500k to reno the new HT that you like
utellme
post Jul 4 2009, 11:38 PM

919 posts

i served by Mr.Rick today, try out dali and psb, he is friendly and patient lah. I just wear round neck T shirt and sandal only woh.
TSHwoarang45
post Jul 5 2009, 01:27 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

because i complain to Mr hong tat day, he said he'll talk to Rick, as im not he only one complains alots of customer does to according to Hong, he said , most likely his native language barrier , Hoi Nam chinese are like tat wor, so i forgive him but i still deal with Mr Hong instead,

customer visit a shop to get serve and not lecture, so whatever excuse Rick is having still doesn't justified the bad treatment he given me, wat i piss off is how he make me wait, hmmm i wonder should i make them wait for a week for my payment, tat would be rude right? hmmm .... i wonder....
maskedchan
post Jul 6 2009, 07:59 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jul 5 2009, 01:27 PM)
because i complain to Mr hong tat day, he said he'll talk to Rick, as im not he only one complains alots of customer does to according to Hong, he said , most likely his native language barrier , Hoi Nam chinese are like tat wor, so i forgive him but i still deal with Mr Hong instead,

customer visit a shop to get serve and not lecture, so whatever excuse Rick is having still doesn't justified the bad treatment he given me, wat i piss off is how he make me wait, hmmm i wonder should i make them wait for a week for my payment, tat would be rude right? hmmm .... i wonder....
lol..revenge is not a good thing..
at least in the end you get good treatment from mr.hong
Ngto
post Jul 6 2009, 10:41 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jun 30 2009, 12:27 AM)

Fake Blu-rays are those pirated DVDs masquarading as Blu-rays lah biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jul 6 2009, 10:50 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 30 2009, 03:56 PM)
Pavillion and Gardens?!  blink.gif  Rental would be a killing. I guess the rental is one of the limitation and hi-fi is rather 'niche' segment in Malaysia. Not many willing to spend an arm and a leg for the gears / equipements even with enough $$$ let alone those with budget limitation.
last time got one B&W shop there rite at MVM?

Added on July 6, 2009, 10:52 am
QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 3 2009, 07:11 PM)
sure can what HT kaki, you sucessfull trade list is now RM611,493 so you make sommore sure you can pump out 500k to reno the new HT that you like
yeah support HTkaki..

I think he did not log in all his sales (maybe outside LYN people or 2nd referrals from existing buyers), should be 7 figure by now.. whistling.gif whistling.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jul 6 2009, 10:52 AM
aquest
post Jul 9 2009, 02:39 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 3 2009, 01:48 PM)

Might be going to IOI to say 'hello' to Rick. Promised to go there but FFK due to my busy schedule  blush.gif  He told me that he got 'something' nice for me hmm.gif  B4 that, need to drop by Perfect Hi-Fi to check out SF. Hope Andy won't try to promote Revel to me  sweat.gif
most likely ah liew or rather atven is busy in his foot reflexology business lor. hardly visiting hifi outlets nowadays.

heard that ah hong managed to sell a pair of FA master 2.5 to a MILF hehe.. drool.gif

rick is a nice guy but i take his recommendation with a pinch of salt. he is too talkative n too helpful at times.

interested in dali ikon but stok habis.
gsdev
post Jul 12 2009, 10:52 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jul 5 2009, 01:27 PM)
wat i piss off is how he make me wait, hmmm i wonder should i make them wait for a week for my payment, tat would be rude right? hmmm .... i wonder....
He man when you going to get your set up?. Let by gones be by gones Bro, after all think about it RICK recomended you the the DALI concept 6. Auditioned today with RICK and he was like usual very helpfull to set up an audition. I have to admit the DALI's are definetly a strong contender to the other brands. They cost a tad bit more but they do have better sonics.

Added on July 12, 2009, 10:59 pmAfter doing side by side comparision with the PSB B25's and DALI Concept 2. I found the DALI's had better sonics than the B25's. Of course the B25's were very good but the DALI's had that additional clarity and strength (some one said this before, kinda borrowing the same words). Switched between the B25's and Concept 2 and ended up getting the DALI's. Will have the DALI's tomorrow. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gsdev: Jul 12 2009, 10:59 PM
htkaki
post Jul 13 2009, 11:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 6 2009, 10:50 AM)
last time got one B&W shop there rite at MVM?

Added on July 6, 2009, 10:52 am

yeah support HTkaki..

I think he did not log in all his sales (maybe outside LYN people or 2nd referrals from existing buyers), should be 7 figure by now..  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  thumbup.gif
Yes, Monsoon was in MVM. Then , moved to Bangsar. The biz winded up. I wonder what happened to a forummer here who has a sub under repaired. He was shocked to find the door closed.

sweat.gif Boss, thanks to your support too as you are also one of my MAIN customers whistling.gif When will you buy JV DILA projector?

gsdev, the DALI is going to replace your PSB Alpha B?

gsdev
post Jul 13 2009, 11:50 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 13 2009, 11:15 AM)
Thats the plan for now biggrin.gif . Later upgrade my old NAD C320 Amp...

After that next project slowly to get HT set up, eyeing the the RF-52's tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gsdev: Jul 13 2009, 11:51 AM
wkang
post Jul 13 2009, 10:34 PM

190 posts

Was at IOI yesterday and served by Rick. I would say no probs so far though other than the Hoi Nam acsent hard to understand.
ar188
post Jul 13 2009, 10:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 13 2009, 11:15 AM)
Yes, Monsoon was in MVM. Then , moved to Bangsar. The biz winded up. I wonder what happened to a forummer here who has a sub under repaired. He was shocked to find the door closed.

sweat.gif Boss, thanks to your support too as you are also one of my MAIN customers  whistling.gif When will you buy JV DILA projector?
where got main customer? I buy cheapo deals only wor..
maybe was main in 2006 when I bought a 6+k proj from you when your LYN sales was 30k..

but now.. buy S10 from you also no effect on your 600k sales lor.. laugh.gif
htkaki
post Jul 13 2009, 11:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(wkang @ Jul 13 2009, 10:34 PM)
Was at IOI yesterday and served by Rick. I would say no probs so far though other than the Hoi Nam acsent hard to understand.
If you are used to it, then it's ok wink.gif

where got main customer? I buy cheapo deals only wor..
maybe was main in 2006 when I bought a 6+k proj from you when your LYN sales was 30k..

but now.. buy S10 from you also no effect on your 600k sales lor.. laugh.gif

Boss, every single deal meant a lot to me smile.gif . Sedikit sedikit, lama lama jdai bukit tongue.gif

Time is good or bad, same treatment and service.
maxizanc
post Jul 13 2009, 11:11 PM

5,909 posts

I always asked pricing from htkaki but never bought from him. Hope you don't mind that. Your stuff all high end one. The most affordable to me is Wharfadele 9.1 only and that one also i need to wait at least 3 months to collect money sweat.gif

But already aiming to buy the Wharfy from you.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jul 13 2009, 11:12 PM
ar188
post Jul 14 2009, 12:18 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jul 13 2009, 11:11 PM)
I always asked pricing from htkaki but never bought from him. Hope you don't mind that. Your stuff all high end one. The most affordable to me is Wharfadele 9.1 only and that one also i need to wait at least 3 months to collect money sweat.gif

But already aiming to buy the Wharfy from you.
dun worry htleg very patient wan.. thumbup.gif
rthj
post Jul 14 2009, 01:36 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 13 2009, 06:07 PM)
If you are used to it, then it's ok  wink.gif 
Boss, every single deal meant a lot to me smile.gif . Sedikit sedikit, lama lama jdai bukit  tongue.gif

Time is good or bad, same treatment and service.
jdai=jedi? use the Force...

i might have dealt with rick before......only once but not sure if we're talking abt the same person.

arremie
post Jul 14 2009, 02:30 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Jul 14 2009, 01:36 AM)
jdai=jedi? use the Force...
jdai = jadi....no force here...just BM tongue.gif
butter finger
post Jul 14 2009, 02:36 PM

317 posts

arremie smitten by grammar bugs
htkaki
post Jul 14 2009, 02:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(butter finger @ Jul 14 2009, 02:36 PM)
arremie smitten by grammar bugs
In line with our government drive to improve our English standard hmm.gif
butter finger
post Jul 14 2009, 02:57 PM

317 posts

Is it English or Manglish? Opss we are getting sensitive here...
maskedchan
post Jul 14 2009, 03:52 PM

6,022 posts

teacher arremie is everywhere to correct people spelling laugh.gif
TSHwoarang45
post Jul 17 2009, 09:21 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

me england is very powderful.......

aww still unable to travel back to kl, to settle my purchase, darn,

anyone seen denon 1910 around?
butter finger
post Jul 17 2009, 10:27 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jul 17 2009, 09:21 AM)
me england is very powderful.......

aww still unable to travel back to kl, to settle my purchase, darn,

anyone seen denon 1910 around?
I take it as a typo since "d" and "f" is neighbour laugh.gif
jchong
post Jul 17 2009, 10:39 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(butter finger @ Jul 17 2009, 10:27 AM)
I take it as a typo since "d" and "f" is neighbour  laugh.gif
No, "powderful" is correct as a parody of our bad English. Just like england = english.
butter finger
post Jul 17 2009, 11:23 AM

317 posts

Oh, okok. Malunya trying to be smart Alex
arremie
post Jul 17 2009, 11:39 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

more to learn have you dooku... tongue.gif
TSHwoarang45
post Jul 18 2009, 09:20 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

waaaaakakakakaka its call sarcasm,,, hehehehee.... but then again d - f?
powferful ? apa masuk tu? hahaa...

YOUR ENGLAND NOT VERY FINDLAND LLAAHHHH...
Janice08
post Jul 18 2009, 12:56 PM

35 posts

edited..

This post has been edited by Janice08: Jul 18 2009, 12:56 PM
butter finger
post Jul 18 2009, 12:58 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jul 18 2009, 09:20 AM)
waaaaakakakakaka its call sarcasm,,, hehehehee.... but then again d - f?
powferful ? apa masuk tu? hahaa...

YOUR ENGLAND NOT VERY FINDLAND LLAAHHHH...
malunya, again trying to be smart alex. blink.gif my bad my bad
kianlun
post Sep 5 2009, 10:43 PM

Do Your Work
1,161 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by kianlun: Sep 5 2009, 10:43 PM

0.2779sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:06 PM