Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions

Lone*Wolf
post Jun 29 2009, 01:39 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2009, 12:39 PM)
1) Not really. All films shot on analogue film stock will have grains. But on 70mm film the grains will be much finer, so the grains aren't that obvious and no need to DNR (DNR will remove grains but it also removes details and sharpness).

2) Same as above. Only digitally shot film should have lesser grains (dark scenes). Majority of theatrical movies now still uses analogue film.

3) Yes you can. But like I said, it will make the PQ seems flat, soft and fleshtones looks like they're made of wax. Lowry Digital (now owned by DTS Labs) is very good job in cleaning noise (dirt, specks, etc) but they won't simply remove the grain if it compromises the PQ.

Of course, at higher resolution you'll see more details, even the grains. That's why you don't see them on DVDs. This why HD is so wonderful.
Thanks, you almost answered everything i need to know rclxms.gif

So if I buy, say, The Phantom Menace (shot digitally) I should see significant less grains, if not none, right?

Noob Question - DNR (I assume its Dolby Noise Reduction?) - the removal is done during the transfer or we have to do select it manually with the player? blush.gif
arremie
post Jun 29 2009, 01:41 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Star Wars Series not yet available on BD right? I just ordered a DVD set from Amazon.
aiman04
post Jun 29 2009, 01:50 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Jun 29 2009, 01:39 PM)
Thanks, you almost answered everything i need to know rclxms.gif

So if I buy, say, The Phantom Menace (shot digitally) I should see significant less grains, if not none, right?

Noob Question - DNR (I assume its Dolby Noise Reduction?) - the removal is done during the transfer or we have to do select it manually with the player?  blush.gif
No problem, but's that's just my input, maybe others have more to add or to correct me if I'm wrong.

First, The Phantom Menace has not been released on blu-ray. Secondly, the movie was not 100% digitally shot, actually there is only one scene that was shot using digital camera (I think in the Jedi Council room). But Episode II and III both was shot fully digitally shot using Sony digital cameras. What's even better with digital movies, there's no analogue-to-digital transfer process, they just encode and put it on the disc with the proper resolution. For analogue movies they have to scan the film negatives to computer.

DNR is Digital Noise Reduction. Yes, DNR was done during the transfer from film medium, but they can still be applied later in the process too. Your TV also has it, but it usually focused to clean the noise in the broadcast signal.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 29 2009, 01:52 PM
maskedchan
post Jun 29 2009, 01:53 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2009, 01:38 PM)
Alex Proyas is one of my favorite director. Watched Dark City BD again yesterday. Still amazed. The director's cut is much better with the removal of the opening narration (as he originally intended), keeping the mystery even more interesting.

So I have this Knowing pre-ordered. A blind buy for me. I'll keep an open mind watching it, hopefully it will not suck.

Dark City was trashed by critics when it was theatrically released (except for Roger Ebert, he's pretty much alone at that time). Now it's a classic.
i purposely not watch it on cinema..
hopefully this is a worth movie for the wait..

Knowing Review

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 29 2009, 01:41 PM)
Star Wars Series not yet available on BD right? I just ordered a DVD set from Amazon.
yeah..no news on star wars series yet on BD.

arremie
post Jun 29 2009, 02:03 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Currently I only buy DVD not yet on BD. For those already available on BD I just wait la until I decide on BDP then only buy BD. Dang...buying cars is not this difficult to make decision tongue.gif
rthj
post Jun 29 2009, 02:05 PM

1,048 posts

Michael Buble's Caught in the Act is fantastic though...hehe

htkaki
post Jun 29 2009, 02:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Saw Michael Buble BD at Speedy. RM179.....*gulp*
rthj
post Jun 29 2009, 02:36 PM

1,048 posts

got mine for GBP12.70 postage included.....Amazon UK has the same version as the US

This post has been edited by rthj: Jun 29 2009, 02:52 PM
htkaki
post Jun 29 2009, 02:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Region Free too.
Mov_freak
post Jun 29 2009, 04:19 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2009, 07:51 AM)
For 2001: A Space Odissey, it's not just efforts that gave the excellent PQ. The film was shot on a 70mm film, essentially double the resolution of the 35mm normally used today. Nowadays only IMAX format uses 70mm film, you can see the difference between IMAX and anamorphic 35mm Panavision scenes in one same movie, The Dark Knight. The documentary, Baraka also uses 70mm (using some customized camera, not IMAX) and the PQ is simply stunning, one the best PQ on BD out there (scanned at 8k resolution instead of 4k normally, and downconverted to 2k (1080p) for the BD). Predator was given the best transfer but was not cosidered as good PQ with so much grains, but that's just how the film supposed to look.
True, both 2001 and Baraka were filmed in 70mm. But scanning the negative/positive to digital format, it NOT a matter of just scanning from film to harddisk/storage.

I remember that when George Lucas reissued the Star Wars: New Hope, Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, he made it an effort to inform end-user the pain staking work they put in to reissued the said material. (Some film stock Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and black, run/evaporate. And to make matters worst, they evaporate at different rate. So the master stock of the said star wars movie, appeared "greenish") Also, depending on how the master film stocks are handled, scratches and dust particles might accumulate as well (if you had watched Grindhouse, Death Trap and Planet Terror, you'll know how this will look. The difference is in Grindhouse, this EFFECT is on purpose). So during (where film dust and scratches can be handled)/after scanning master film stocks to digital format (reintroducing missing Cyan, Magenta and Yellow information can be done).

So quality of BD disc is still up to how much effort the owner of the material puts into it. Disney company has a good track record when it come to introducing their movie on BD.

Sony because of lack of content, bought MGM for it's James Bond property!!

Some company, issued movies like Speed Racer, maybe because it bombed at the box office, doesn't even have PCM/Dolby Digital HD/Master DTS Lossless for it's sound track!!?!

I remember in the initial stage of introducing the DVD format, because the Mpeg II decoding was still relatively new, the people who are encoding from analog to digital found that encoding analog to digital were iffy at time. Like the scene in The Exorcist, where there is a shot of the headlights of a train, encoding the same scene several time gave several DIFFERENT results....

So in short lets hope the different movie company really understand the reason behind people buying BD is because of the PQ and SQ and therefore invest in proper translation.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 29 2009, 04:58 PM
aiman04
post Jun 29 2009, 04:31 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I didn't argue about how much "efforts" will affect the transfer. Read my post carefully, I said "not just efforts" which means I agree but there are other factors too.

Let's say the studio put the same transfer "efforts" for 2 movies, one 70mm and the other 35mm. Same condition etc, the 70mm should still be better than 35mm right? That's my whole point. It's just one of many factors.

Mov_freak
post Jun 29 2009, 05:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2009, 04:31 PM)
I didn't argue about how much "efforts" will affect the transfer. Read my post carefully, I said "not just efforts" which means I agree but there are other factors too.

Let's say the studio put the same transfer "efforts" for 2 movies, one 70mm and the other 35mm. Same condition etc, the 70mm should still be better than 35mm right? That's my whole point. It's just one of many factors.
Er... I wasn't disagree with your 70mm vs 30 mm statement.

I apologise if my previous thread "sounded" agressive

If there were any agression, believe me it is more towards produces of BD disc who believe that people would buy the BD because it is a bd and no effort whatsoever needs to be put into producing the bd
wkchu
post Jun 29 2009, 06:01 PM

39 posts

Can I ask if anyone has experience with Bluray disc from Speedy?
Are the disc manufactured locally or directly imported?
Are the PQ and SQ the same as the US or UK?

arremie
post Jun 29 2009, 06:03 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Speedy BD all imported I think. All region A. Scary prices tongue.gif
mpyw
post Jun 29 2009, 06:19 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 29 2009, 06:03 PM)
try those chinese movie....with speedy word on it...
Red Cliff 1 & 2 with Dolby Digital 5.1 doh.gif doh.gif
maskedchan
post Jun 29 2009, 06:38 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 29 2009, 06:03 PM)
not all..some is local made...made in speedy..haha..
beware of that logo when buy... whistling.gif
anfieldude
post Jun 29 2009, 08:46 PM

3,858 posts

Watched a very good movie 2 nights ago. Warlords....Very aggresive mix. PQ very good, some shots a little soft, some grain and some noise in the dark areas. Overall, very good. SQ very good. Mandarin PCM 7 channels I think.

These HK guys really take the effort in making it realistic, that much I tell u. Rivals the big budget Hollywood ie, Gladiator...

Very good acting by the 3 main leads...

Also after not being able to watch Baraka due to its region coding (Region B) managed to catch about 1/2 hr on the region free Oppo. Fantastic, some ringing can be seen on some scenes but I believe it is due to the higher than usual downconversion (same as the IMAX scenes in Dark Knight) slightly apparent in some scenes, but overall thumbup.gif

Oh Yeah, the DTS-HDMA on Baraka is superb.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 29 2009, 08:47 PM
samlee860407
post Jun 29 2009, 09:23 PM

4,631 posts

ahh...warloads so nice? maybe can go see see liao biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Jun 29 2009, 10:00 PM

3,603 posts

new arrival....

rthj
post Jun 29 2009, 10:05 PM

1,048 posts

splendid choice with that Buble! if you havent got the Fosters and Friends...that one is absolutely fantastic as well

113 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:39 AM