Everything About Blu-ray Movies, Blu-ray media discussions

Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 01:15 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2009, 01:09 PM)
It's really scores all around, great suspenseful story, excellent AQ/PQ. Sold it off last year for some cash, thanks for reminding me, gotta get this one quick (also There Will Be Blood too). thumbup.gif
ouh,thanks for your review aiman,will look up for it. smile.gif
fadthil
post Aug 15 2009, 01:22 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 15 2009, 12:34 PM)
wou see you got revenge of the fallen
Thought its under Pre Order list biggrin.gif
laugh.gif ya rite... pretty neat huh, my wallpaper biggrin.gif

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 12:56 PM)
Can gv some review about no country for old men after u finish it ? thanks. smile.gif
Sorry bro, I wish I could.... that's for a friend and I have not watched that movie either. They said it's pretty darn good and the PQ oso is amazing. Maybe when the price drops below USD15, I'll sneak it in my cart....

Hey, did anybody notice that Amazon (US) is pretty smart? When they shipped your blu-ray, they labelled it as Music CD on the parcel!! They know that if the bds kena confiscate or whatever, they sure have to replace if customer complained... and that would cost them a bomb if that happened to everybody especially from Malaysia laugh.gif Mau black-list M'sia cannot coz we are one of their biggest BD customers laugh.gif laugh.gif

But I'm not sure what they labelled on Expedited or Priority boxes... hmm.gif
Poadster
post Aug 15 2009, 01:29 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2009, 09:24 AM)
To be honest I'm not looking for boom boom pow  in this movie. I hope it will have good plot, good storytelling, intelligent and meaningful.

You will find those that you have listed in abundance, but be forewarned that the first 30minutes are story build up done via shaky handheld camera (ala Cloverfield and Blair Witch) and the entire movie is presented as a documentary.

I was initially concerned (during the first 30mins) that this is a poor man's Cloverfield (Cloverfield was done in HD cam while D9 is done using low res TV cam like). But i was blown away by the heart and the morality of the movie (poor Prawns....) and the entire message. By the end credits, they tie up the movie (with even a story thread for a sequel.... YES!@!).

It didnt hurt with plenty of violence either, and pls be warned there are PLENTY scenes of violence AND body parts blown to bits (literally), so mayb this is not for Aiman Jr.

Still. D9 will not be good to everyone, but i give it a 4.5 out of 5.

Added on August 15, 2009, 1:38 pmAnyone here seen Coraline in 3D (on the bluray) here?? I heard the movie only has 3D only in certain parts?

And how is the 3D version of My Bloody Valentine?

I am planning to get them if the 3D version is as good as the movie version, but i was told that these versions are the tradional red/blue (or purple/green) headache and vomit inducing versions??

Wish that the digital 3D versions on movies will be widespread by the time these moves goes home, but by then we prolly have to throw out our existing LCD/plasmas.

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 15 2009, 01:38 PM
fadthil
post Aug 15 2009, 01:46 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 15 2009, 01:29 PM)
It didnt hurt with plenty of violence either, and pls be warned there are PLENTY scenes of violence AND body parts blown to bits (literally), so mayb this is not for Aiman Jr.

Oh, with that statement I surely want to watch it now already....before, I was sceptical biggrin.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 15 2009, 01:57 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 12:56 PM)
Can gv some review about no country for old men after u finish it ? thanks. smile.gif
Hi..

Heres a short rvw I did sumwhere else..

Tis is my 2nd cp of NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN .. D 1st was a d5 durian which I thorougly enjoyed n when I saw de BD version on offer at USD13..

All 3 main characters in tis flick are great - Josh Brolin who plays Llewellyn Moss - a hunter who finds a bag full of money after findin a 'drug deal gone wrong' in de middle of de desert.. Sheriff Ed Bell(Tommy Lee Jones) a tired-out soon to be retired sheriff who trails de destruction of de other 2 men.. N las but not least Anton Chigurh(pronounced as sugar) debatably one of de most terrifyin killers ever to grace de screen (Javier Bardem on a bad hair day - he got an oscar for tis..) he uses a variety of ways to end peoples lives but de most innovative(on film anyway) is de compressed air 'puncher-thingy' which apprently is de normal way to kill livestock in USA .. its quite cool really and its wonderfully portrayed in tis flick wif wonderful efx..

VDO is jus gorgeous wif de texan landscape as background - breathtakin..
ODO is lossless - gorgeous too wif everytin(surrounds/bass) workin when needed
4.5*
PS Id given it a 5* if only it ended better - I mean wif all Llewelyns effort..
maskedchan
post Aug 15 2009, 02:03 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 15 2009, 01:29 PM)
You will find those that you have listed in abundance, but be forewarned that the first 30minutes are story build up done via shaky handheld camera (ala Cloverfield and Blair Witch) and the entire movie is presented as a documentary.

I was initially concerned (during the first 30mins) that this is a poor man's Cloverfield (Cloverfield was done in HD cam while D9 is done using low res TV cam like). But i was blown away by the heart and the morality of the movie (poor Prawns....) and the entire message. By the end credits, they tie up the movie (with even a story thread for a sequel.... YES!@!).

Still. D9 will not be good to everyone, but i give it a 4.5 out of 5.
the movie is 18SG, Aiman JR cant go in.

yeah, i agree with you, the 1st half is kinda stupid and boring.
after than excitment come. with the blown part.
Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 02:52 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 15 2009, 01:57 PM)
Hi..

Heres a short rvw I did sumwhere else..

Tis is my 2nd cp of NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN .. D 1st was a d5 durian which I thorougly enjoyed n when I saw de BD version on offer at USD13..

All 3 main characters in tis flick are great - Josh Brolin who plays Llewellyn Moss - a hunter who finds a bag full of money after findin a 'drug deal gone wrong' in de middle of de desert.. Sheriff Ed Bell(Tommy Lee Jones) a tired-out soon to be retired sheriff who trails de destruction of de other 2 men.. N las but not least Anton Chigurh(pronounced as sugar) debatably one of de most terrifyin killers ever to grace de screen (Javier Bardem on a bad hair day - he got an oscar for tis..) he uses a variety of ways to end peoples lives but de most innovative(on film anyway) is de compressed air 'puncher-thingy' which apprently is de normal way to kill livestock in USA .. its quite cool really and its wonderfully portrayed in tis flick wif wonderful efx..

VDO is jus gorgeous wif de texan landscape as background - breathtakin..
ODO is lossless - gorgeous too wif everytin(surrounds/bass) workin when needed
4.5*
PS Id given it a 5* if only it ended better - I mean wif all Llewelyns effort..
actually,ive read the review from Blu-Ray review,but i just want to know personal review from Lyn forum-er. smile.gif Anyway,thanks bro. smile.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 15 2009, 03:40 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 02:52 PM)
actually,ive read the review from Blu-Ray review,but i just want to know personal review from Lyn forum-er. smile.gif Anyway,thanks bro. smile.gif

Hi Sis,

Its a bit violent n graphic in terms of de killing scenes but de story is gud n pictures gorgeous for a 'period' film.. Quite worth gettin for de pics alone..

Cheers
Dirtrun

arremie
post Aug 15 2009, 04:26 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 15 2009, 03:40 PM)
Hi Sis,
kianwee
post Aug 15 2009, 04:28 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2009, 04:26 PM)
doh.gif
Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 04:29 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 15 2009, 03:40 PM)
Hi Sis,

ni betul2 kene pijak ni..

doh.gif sweat.gif doh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Aug 15 2009, 04:31 PM
ar188
post Aug 15 2009, 04:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2009, 04:26 PM)
not correcting it this time? teacher? biggrin.gif
kianwee
post Aug 15 2009, 04:32 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2009, 04:31 PM)
not correcting it this time? teacher? biggrin.gif
English teacher found a new hobby this time, spam emoticons. smile.gif
ar188
post Aug 15 2009, 04:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 04:29 PM)
ni betul2 kene pijak ni..

doh.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif
biggrin.gif can't blame him, your nick sounds misleading mah.. unless you ah kua.. biggrin.gif
arremie
post Aug 15 2009, 04:48 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif
fadthil
post Aug 15 2009, 04:54 PM

i'M sTaR-StRuCk!
2,307 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2009, 04:37 PM)
...your nick sounds misleading mah.. unless you ah kua..
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 15 2009, 04:59 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 01:13 AM)
Ooopss,lucky..hehe
and when the extended version will out ?thanks bro arremie.  notworthy.gif

Added on August 15, 2009, 1:16 amI, Robot [Blu-ray]
Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World [Blu-ray]
Beowulf [Blu-ray]
Letters from Iwo Jima [Blu-ray]
The Ultimate Matrix Collection [Blu-ray] -confirm.

This is my basket list.is it okay?which one should i cancel or not worth buying ?Thanks
Mrs Parker,

You getting it from UK or US? Cos this title is region-locked, I believe.
Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 05:00 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2009, 04:37 PM)
biggrin.gif  can't blame him, your nick sounds misleading mah.. unless you ah kua..  biggrin.gif
cant u see theres Male tag ? sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on August 15, 2009, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Aug 15 2009, 04:59 PM)
Mrs Parker,

You getting it from UK or US? Cos this title is region-locked, I believe.
I get it from US. smile.gif
Mrs Parker some more.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B...x_ya_oh_product

this 1 region free or not ? forgot the the region.damn! cry.gif

This post has been edited by maryjane9996: Aug 15 2009, 05:03 PM
Lone*Wolf
post Aug 15 2009, 05:02 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 02:52 PM)
No Country For Old Man - Great movie, tho didnt watch it on BD, so dunno about the PQ/AQ. Actually, you can't really go wrong with anything from the Coen Bros. My favourite is still Fargo thumbup.gif
fentanyl
post Aug 15 2009, 05:07 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2009, 12:55 PM)
bro, for you http://us.jawbone.com/

fentanyl, i never use the earloop b4 also biggrin.gif
so this is like an enhancement la, make it tighter
Thanks for the link.

113 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top