Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V28!, The Orange Legion
achew
Jul 14 2009, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(ysweebeng @ Jul 14 2009, 12:34 AM) i have a budget of RM2000,Which model should i take? haha..i had no exp with any tripods...so im kinda left with few choices with my budget(700++ for tripod with ballhead)...and after few googles..i decided to go for manfrotto....for ur case...2k for tripod n ballhead...thats quite alot isnt it...gitzo maybe? i shd leave this question for the tripod pro to answer..  Added on July 14, 2009, 1:31 amguys..hows my "new" UWA shot??  =p This post has been edited by achew: Jul 14 2009, 01:31 AM
albnok
Jul 14 2009, 02:12 AM
Alpha Male
achew, cool idea incorporating the GND to expose the moon correctly! Oh and I'm guessing you're doing panoramas instead of getting an ultra-wide lens.
achew
Jul 14 2009, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Jul 14 2009, 02:12 AM) achew, cool idea incorporating the GND to expose the moon correctly! Oh and I'm guessing you're doing panoramas instead of getting an ultra-wide lens.  yea....poor man like me only can do vertorama
hazril
Jul 14 2009, 03:02 AM
ur pix like u created from PS achew...dunno how to define in words...pix is very nice woo...
achew
Jul 14 2009, 03:16 AM
QUOTE(hazril @ Jul 14 2009, 03:02 AM) ur pix like u created from PS achew...dunno how to define in words...pix is very nice woo... errr...it is from PS...lol...i did all the PP there another one from me..but this one was "slightly" manipulated *cough* *cough*  2shots merged with around 50% overlapped...crop off the rest..thats y abit squarish..
TSamadeo
Jul 14 2009, 03:20 AM
he's the king of creative photography.. hahaha..
achew
Jul 14 2009, 03:22 AM
QUOTE(amadeo @ Jul 14 2009, 03:20 AM) he's the king of creative photography.. hahaha..  haha..thats too flattery i don have a big head to wear such a big crown...the king word is soo exaggerated..put it this way..im trying my best to be creative in my shots This post has been edited by achew: Jul 14 2009, 03:41 AM
Seng_Kiat
Jul 14 2009, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(ryzan76 @ Jul 13 2009, 12:59 PM) giottos more cheaper.... 700 for ballhead and tripod...go shashinki....free delivery aiyoo .. mahal la bro ..  .. i need uwa, macro and tripod ..  .. ahhh .. if I can print money ......
chiggy
Jul 14 2009, 09:17 AM
hazril
Jul 14 2009, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(achew @ Jul 14 2009, 03:16 AM) errr...it is from PS...lol...i did all the PP there i noe u pp in ps but the pix is like u created it not u took it...very 3D alike...
cjlai
Jul 14 2009, 10:56 AM
morning spam   EXIF: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Camera Make: SONY Camera Model: DSLR-A300 Image Date: 2009:07:02 10:34:43 Flash Used: No Focal Length: 300.0mm (35mm equivalent: 450mm) Exposure Time: 0.0013 s (1/800) Aperture: f/5.6 ISO equiv: 100 White Balance: Auto Metering Mode: Center Weight Exposure: aperture priority (semi-auto) This post has been edited by cjlai: Jul 14 2009, 10:57 AM
Sp00kY
Jul 14 2009, 11:29 AM
cjlai: kinda cool composition bro..but were u on a boat? blur leh...
Seng_Kiat
Jul 14 2009, 12:09 PM
Putrajaya again!!    C&C please ..  ..
shootkk
Jul 14 2009, 01:04 PM
Loyal Sony A100 User
QUOTE(kinkikids @ Jul 14 2009, 12:22 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « taken with a Minolta 50 1.7, is this consider affected by flare? Feels like not sharp enough, and a bit "hazy", anyway to take note in the future? It does look like there's some flare near the top left corner of the pic and that may have caused the 'haziness'. What aperture were you using? F1.7? This lens has better sharpness when stopped down to F2 so try using that instead. I usually use F2 or F2.2 and seldom use it wide open. Also I can hardly see where your focus point is. This perhaps could be due to the narrow DOF coupled with some subject movement when the pic is taken. This will cause the picture to be not sharp.
albnok
Jul 14 2009, 01:11 PM
Alpha Male
Seng_Kiat, I like the colors, but the mids are too dark (even on my horribly bright office LCD.) The blue is nice and rich, bring it out!
kinkikids: When shooting at a bright aperture, try to stand where everybody is on the focus plane (meaning, in a row, in front of you.) Also, you can reduce flare with just using your left hand (hold it above the lens like a roof.)
kinkikids
Jul 14 2009, 01:24 PM

shootkk & albnok: thanks for the comments. btw is i used a sony 1.8, since it's a D lens, it wont hav flare issue? same as sony 1.4?
cjlai
Jul 14 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 14 2009, 11:29 AM) cjlai: kinda cool composition bro..but were u on a boat? blur leh... off cos blur la.... coz i'm sitting in a bumpy speed boat while taking this photo  good guess tho
Sp00kY
Jul 14 2009, 02:03 PM
haha but u managed to frame it though
soulfly
Jul 14 2009, 02:08 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
QUOTE(chiggy @ Jul 14 2009, 09:17 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « shadows are all over the place and they look distracting. you might want to reconsider the lighting placement so that you props will not cast shadow on your model's body. personally i think the safest way is that, if you happen to have 3 flashes, just use one as main light from the front high, and two for rim lights at the back. don't forget to add flags to your rim light so that they wont cast flare into your lens. if you just have 2 flashes, do a cross lighting: one main, one kick from behind model... that is if you have black/very dark background.