Biology Human Cloning, Creation of a genetically identical copy

transhumanist92
post Jul 1 2009, 07:53 PM

255 posts

The question of the existence of a soul is not scientific. The question of people's beliefs about the existence of souls is scientific. As far as I can tell, there's nothing that indicates the notion of a "soul" as being anything more than a direct result of peoples desire to be more important than they are. Bigger than life, supernatural, ...special.

Souls seem to be a convenient way for people to devalue other life forms. Many people believe animals don't have souls, so it's okay to slaughter them. Though, it's surprising how those same people will say their dog has a good soul. Apparently, souls are for people and animals we approve of. Those things we don't, we say are soulless, and it's peachy to suspend ethics around.

If you cloned someone, from birth, they would have to have exactly the same upbringing, in the same environment, with the same parents, with the same peers & the same world events, that you had, & even then, as in identical twins, there's no guarantee you'd turn out the same.

Unless you're talking about the kind of magical cloning in movies, where at 45 years old, another 45 year old copy of yourself is created, at which time you'd be thinking the same thoughts, but every thought after that would differ, even from standing a few feet apart, you'd see different things, and think different things, and grow along two different paths.

Or you could be the first person in human history to actually find an actual link between a brain and some other superspecial kind of universe that has no way of existing here or being detected or measured, but still exists here physically enough to be a part of your person.

Fluff.
SUSb3ta
post Jul 2 2009, 02:14 AM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jul 1 2009, 01:00 PM)
err i dunno. depends on what your intention for the transfer i think. anyways notice that in my first post that you quoted, i was speaking on "even if" basis as a reply to robertngo regarding his idea of achieving immortality by preserving memories in clones. all of that is still sci-fi in today's context. also i think he speak of cloning as reproducing the exact copy of the body at time of cloning, not creating a baby clone from the DNA that needs to be grown to adulthood so the issue of when to transfer the memory doesn't exist. you just transfer them instantly after death of the original. again, it's still sci-fi in today's context.
very impossible. cloning an exact copy of a human just liek that is sci-fi by today's standards
Shadow Kun
post Jul 2 2009, 07:35 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jul 2 2009, 02:14 AM)
very impossible. cloning an exact copy of a human just liek that is sci-fi by today's standards
QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jul 1 2009, 10:00 AM)
err i dunno. depends on what your intention for the transfer i think. anyways notice that in my first post that you quoted, i was speaking on "even if" basis as a reply to robertngo regarding his idea of achieving immortality by preserving memories in clones. all of that is still sci-fi in today's context. also i think he speak of cloning as reproducing the exact copy of the body at time of cloning, not creating a baby clone from the DNA that needs to be grown to adulthood so the issue of when to transfer the memory doesn't exist. you just transfer them instantly after death of the original. again, it's still sci-fi in today's context.
neato4u
post Jul 2 2009, 10:20 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(TakeshirO @ Jul 1 2009, 06:01 PM)

Another perspective is:

Subject A: Ahh... (breathing back). Damn, I'm not dead yet.
As you a bit unconscious, you heard a conversation in the room (and turn and look at ur left) .

Subject B (ur clone): *open his eyes - saw dead body of himself next to him* I am .. I am.. ALIVE!! Doctor thank you very much!
Doctor : Piece of cake. How's your memory?... (bla bla and the talks continue)

and he walk away from the room for tonight date with ur girlfriend and you just WTF!!.  brows.gif

Conclusion: Subject B is just like your twin and the only different is he got 100% of ur memory.
OMG, i lol'ed at this.. laugh.gif
it's like that story.. where rich people clone themselves for their organ parts, the clones were raised in a very isolated place and were limited to a 7 years old child exposures - then somehow two of these clones went out and one of em met with his actual self - can't remember the name of this movie, can someone recall for me?
robertngo
post Jul 2 2009, 10:28 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 2 2009, 10:20 AM)
OMG, i lol'ed at this..  laugh.gif
it's like that story.. where rich people clone themselves for their organ parts, the clones were raised in a very isolated place and were limited to a 7 years old child exposures - then somehow two of these clones went out and one of em met with his actual self - can't remember the name of this movie, can someone recall for me?
that is the terrible Michael Bay movie, The Island.

kira_mha
post Jul 2 2009, 11:26 AM

129 posts

If this happen, "World is not World anymore ". bye.gif bye.gif bye.gif mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by kira_mha: Jul 2 2009, 11:26 AM
pleasuresaurus
post Jul 11 2009, 04:30 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Theres waaaaaay too much fiction in the science here
TSwacko_joy
post Jul 16 2009, 05:51 PM

LYN Stalker
1,209 posts

lol.. got people vote... but no one give comment?
neato4u
post Aug 4 2009, 01:06 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Jul 2 2009, 10:28 AM)
that is the terrible Michael Bay movie, The Island.
Ah yeah the island!
Now will proceed to download that movie back.. long time no see brows.gif
spursfan
post Aug 5 2009, 02:34 PM

110 posts

joy joy eh thread ah ... muz comment lor wub.gif

cloning is ok ... it is just getting a delayed twin ... nothing wrong with that ... who know's, your parents might want to get you a twin sister ... delayed by quite a few years tho

cloning for medical purpose is probably a no no ... the island comes to mind ... unethical

the sixth day will never happen tho ... that is only for ppl who does not understand cloning
seancorr
post Aug 10 2009, 05:57 PM

Shut your trap!
582 posts

Cloning of a certain organ is permited so save someone's life...though it depends how u clone it.

Cloning of animals so we can eat it...do we need that? We still can raise our animals right now. No threat of extinction of our chickens so far haha.

Cloning of a human being just because the owner misses someone...now that is freakish....do you stop to think that the clone has its mind of its own? It'll never be the same person even though the bodies are identical.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0476sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:50 PM