7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Gen2 Club V3, The Gen2 drivers online meeting spot!

Conroe
post Oct 15 2009, 01:20 PM

253 posts

Eh guys,any1 know how to dismantle rear bumper?If got pics will be better..thx

Conroe
post Oct 18 2009, 01:19 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Oct 17 2009, 08:53 PM)
never open my rear bumper... not yet  hmm.gif  laugh.gif

bump tis thread
Hmm...nowonder no replies for my question. tongue.gif
Actually my rear bumper mounting producing some "plate-hitting-plate" noise so i went to my mech and he said need to re-weld the plate something so i tot of experimenting by my own..i got a portable welding machine.Nvm,already ask my fren that working in car paint shop to come over and help me remove the bumper and fix it back after i weld it.If doing at shop,cost nearly RM100,timing belt pun manyak bising liou..tak tukar lagi. doh.gif
Conroe
post Oct 24 2009, 09:52 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(chinook @ Oct 24 2009, 05:27 PM)
Got a few questions for you guys... I have a Gen2 1.6 and it came with a CD player and steering audio controls. Right now, the CD player is pretty much busted..it wont play CDs at all (keeps telling me error).

So I was wondering... if I were to change the CD player to a third party one with USB, will I still be able to get the steering controls to still function?

If the controls dont work, can I remove the control buttons somehow? I wanna keep the steering cuz of the airbag but the buttons will look dumb if they dont do anything..

If that's not possible, can I use the Gen2 CPS MP3CD player with the steering controls?
U wont be able to use the audio controls on steering if u change ur player to a third party player.
I don't think u can remove or replace the controls buttons on steering unless u change ur steering wheel and loose ur driver side airbag.
For Gen 2 CPS player,yes u can just install the player and have the audio control on ur current steering wheel.
Conroe
post Nov 7 2009, 05:54 AM

253 posts

Hey guys,

Good news,yesterday my oil sump bocor liou... doh.gif
Spent total of RM430 (tow-in,new oil sump,workmanship,filter n new semi oil... doh.gif
Whenever i go thru some normal bump with more than 2 passenger,something at down there will "dook" eventho i go slow and at last successfully scratched my oil sump till bocor.

Now the digital fuel meter is acting weird,any idea?also,isit true that we can reset ECU by disconnecting the + and - terminals from battery and leave it overnight?

This post has been edited by Conroe: Nov 7 2009, 05:57 AM
Conroe
post Nov 8 2009, 03:53 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(wandzul @ Nov 7 2009, 10:42 AM)
i think no need overnight.. just 15-30 mins will do.. then start the engine & let it idle for about 10-15 mins.. thats how i did with my previous car.. current didnt reset yet, still satisfied with the fc/response..

btw, how weird is ur digital fuel meter behave?
The meter showing something like "708.0" doh.gif
Thanks for the info bro.So it's safe to do ECU reset? sweat.gif
QUOTE(rcracer @ Nov 7 2009, 07:32 PM)
yeah the oil sump sits quite low and you're not the first case actually.

to reset ECU, no need to even remove batt terminals, go to the fuse box beside the battery and there you will see a fuse for 'engine' and another for  'ECU' the ecu fuse might have a yellow holder around it at least mine does, pull both out and any other fuse you see that's for the engine, i think that's the only two but i might be wrong.

once both are out go into the car and step on the brake pedal. you will hear the alarm chirp once, that means the ECU is reset, just replace both fuses and start the car. done.
Thx for the info! smile.gif
QUOTE(ahlong @ Nov 7 2009, 09:43 PM)
im using Dexron III olso.. forgot the brand..

Added on November 7, 2009, 9:44 pm

change back to gen2 oilsump ka??
yalor...i know proton has re-design much more compact oil sump but when i ask spare part shop,they say no stock pulak.Have to change to the ori size. doh.gif

So any idea on the fuel meter?darn "708.0" liter? doh.gif
Conroe
post Nov 10 2009, 02:11 AM

253 posts

I serviced my car with bardahl fully syn when i got my car from 2nd hand dealer 2 months ago and all the oil gone after my oil sump cracked. cry.gif
Now dono what brand the mech put but much more quieter Rm80 also.. nod.gif

Btw guys,anyone using top cat sport muffler? rolleyes.gif
Conroe
post Nov 11 2009, 01:36 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Nov 10 2009, 03:06 AM)
MOST of the gen2 drivers opt for top cat muffler...been using mine nearly 4 years already....
How much u paid for it?How's the sound?bassy? hmm.gif

Btw,no one have idea regarding mu fuked up digital fuel meter? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Conroe: Nov 11 2009, 01:37 AM
Conroe
post Nov 11 2009, 04:47 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Nov 11 2009, 02:00 AM)
i think i bought for 260....forgot d the exact price....
Alamak...u forgot to add "how's the sound?" biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Conroe: Nov 11 2009, 04:48 PM
Conroe
post Nov 12 2009, 03:01 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Nov 11 2009, 06:06 PM)
owh ya...missed out that part.... tongue.gif

for me the sound is quite nice...got the bassy type sound abit...not that loud for normal usage....it also depends on ur midbox also...im using FGK midbox....
Ok tq...btw,i'm looking for something like Gen 2 R3 sound. nod.gif
Conroe
post Nov 12 2009, 03:47 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Nov 12 2009, 08:40 AM)
Got gen 2 R3 meh? hik hik hik wacko.gif  wacko.gif  wacko.gif

wegow 4-2-1 + long bullet + smaller piping + everco s-flow = almost same sound like R3 full exhaust setup for gen2 but performance better...

wegow 4-2-1 + normal bullet + standard piping + everco s-flow = sound a bit louder than R3 full exhaust setup for gen2...performance still better than R3...

how did i know? I've tested all setup for my MME Edition
I mean the MME edition la pakcik...thx for the info biggrin.gif
Conroe
post Nov 13 2009, 03:29 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Nov 12 2009, 04:41 PM)
hahah pakcik ke adoiii cry.gif
just kidding la bro.... tongue.gif

Btw,based on ur exhaust setup recommendation,any dip or sip on the fuel consumption?

QUOTE(ahlong @ Nov 12 2009, 08:00 PM)
hahaha pakcik hahahahahaha rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
eh bro...dun add ron95 on burning fire la.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Conroe: Nov 13 2009, 03:30 AM
Conroe
post Nov 13 2009, 05:00 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(shazmn @ Nov 13 2009, 08:46 AM)
care to elaborate more? laugh.gif

anyway with the setup fuel more save kot compared to stock standard...what makes it worse is ur right foot drool.gif
What i mean is i heard ppl saying if change exhaust setup,exhaust loud that normal - makan minyak (dono how far it's true) rolleyes.gif

Agreed on the right foot part,more sound=more syiok=more rev laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Conroe: Nov 13 2009, 05:01 PM
Conroe
post Nov 16 2009, 01:15 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(dato79 @ Nov 15 2009, 12:15 AM)
Hi ... anybody can advice where to balut leather sit for Gen.2 around Klang Valley with best design with value RM???
I got mine,ori gen 2 hi-line leather seat for sale.Pm me if u're interested. tongue.gif
Conroe
post Nov 18 2009, 01:50 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(darkcroation @ Nov 16 2009, 09:24 PM)
conroe urs is black leather?
Nop,it's the beige color.
Conroe
post Nov 25 2009, 09:33 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Nov 24 2009, 04:06 PM)
guys how much is the FEAD i.e alternator,power steering etc. belt? does the bearing need to be changed as well?
U mean the belt?My bearing was noisy and i tot it's my timing belt kit and then when brought to my mech,he said it's the aircon/power steering belt.Replace it with new 1 cost RM70 inclusive labour and the noise gone. smile.gif
Conroe
post Nov 26 2009, 03:50 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Nov 25 2009, 10:02 PM)
yeah the accesories belt, mine already making some squeaky noise during cold start, am planning to change it when i change to lighten crank pulley since the belt anyways have to be removed. i was told the belt itself was Rm45 from proton parts centre. thanks neways

edit: proton parts centre online shopping belt + shipping comes to RM76
Better buy from spare part shop and ask ur mech to install.The price from proton parts center is fair price.I think labour would be around RM30-40 only because they just need to jack up,remove aircon tensioner bearing,remove old belt,replace new one and fix back the tensioner bearing. smile.gif
QUOTE(Dovienya @ Nov 26 2009, 08:28 AM)
I thought gen2 uses single-belt system?
We have more than 1 belt?
hmm.gif
Yup,we have 2 belts. nod.gif
QUOTE(Dovienya @ Nov 26 2009, 03:02 PM)
I think you're refering to air-cond belt. If you're talking bout air-cond belt, I can confirm that we do not use air cond belt. Our timing belt handle air-cond fan, alternator at the same time. (I remember; cause also got conned tongue.gif
How about power steering? biggrin.gif
There's no con job here coz i was there when my mech replace my acc belt 2 weeks ago.If u look beside ur engine there would be 1 plastic cover attached to the engine,that one is the timing belt and if u look beside the plastic cover,there's another belt without any cover.I'm not sure if all batch the same or not but mine,gen 2 yr05 using 2 belts. nod.gif
Conroe
post Nov 26 2009, 10:35 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Nov 26 2009, 04:07 PM)
yeah i ask the crank pulley seller, mythelogy drex, he quote me rm80 to supply and install the belt, Bando belt
Fair price also.Btw,do post up the improvement after using the new crank pulley. brows.gif
QUOTE(wandzul @ Nov 26 2009, 08:10 PM)
same with me.. 1 inside cover, 1 outside.. i watched the whole changing process too..

btw, when change timing belt didnt ur mech change the oil seals too aside from tensioner bearing??

p/s: just for referrence.. in my place (Tapah, Perak) most mech quote RM90-100 just for 'upah pasang' only.. donno about other places though..
I didn't change my timing belt la zul...just the acc belt,my aircon tensioner bearing was in good condition,just the belt cracked here n there.My car just 58k km now. tongue.gif
Conroe
post Nov 29 2009, 03:07 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(eng98 @ Nov 29 2009, 01:22 PM)
bro.. what did u do to get 400 - 500 km man.... eheehhehe
Should be full piping,fpr and lighten pulleys?Just guessing tho tongue.gif
Conroe
post Dec 4 2009, 07:14 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(kokkie @ Dec 3 2009, 01:36 PM)
sigh.. jus kena accident. bumper and bonnet dented, headlamps cracked.  cry.gif  cry.gif

anyone letting go your stock bumper / bonnet / headlamps? sad.gif
Eh how ur bumper dent?crack or dent?i got a used lenox black Gen 2 bumper to letgo but need repaint lar... biggrin.gif
QUOTE(yuszairi @ Dec 4 2009, 03:15 AM)
i'm squeezing my schedule to get my gen2 exhaust job from kent this weekend...wondering what should i do with the stock extractor.... dry.gif
Eh pls post updates on improvement after done ur exhaust.I'm going to do full piping by end of december. icon_rolleyes.gif
Conroe
post Dec 5 2009, 03:40 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(kokkie @ Dec 5 2009, 09:26 AM)
dented lo. but the front 2 brackets broke.

dunno how a black bumper will look like on a yellow gen2 hmm.gif

LOL....mine lennox blackGot calar abit so must repaint lor..Anyone interested pls pm me.Item in Puchong. biggrin.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:11 PM