delusional
9,137 posts

Tried moving some of the last few posts over but failed tongue.gif
Messed up the topic.
So instead, I shall use the old fashion way: quoting the last few posts:
QUOTE(winner @ Jun 19 2009, 09:30 PM)
It sounds great. Finally some Shell stations accept this cc. I've just pumped full tank at Petronas and purchased groceries for the whole week as I don't wanna miss the 5% rebate on Friday! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(New Hank @ Jun 19 2009, 09:44 PM)
Anyone can answer this question?

American Express® Gold Credit CardEveryday is More RewardingAnnual fee:
Lifetime fee waiver
Minimum annual income:
RM36,000

Points collected from this card is TREATPOINTS OR MEMBERSHIP REWARDS? If ME Points, is it good? Treatpoints 8000 can redeem RM50 shopping vouchers. How about ME points?
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 19 2009, 10:43 PM)
AMEX Gold CC points are Membership Rewards (MR) points. As for your question on RM50 shopping vouchers, here are some examples:

7,500 points for RM50 Coca Restaurant
8,500 points for RM50 DOME voucher
9,000 points for RM50 Robinson, Metrojaya, TGIF voucher
9,500 points for RM50 Guardian, Watson, Parkson voucher
10,000 points for RM50 Petronas, Tesco voucher

For more info, go to Amex website and click on Membership Rewards

The reason why I want Amex Gold CC is purely because of 5x reward points for petrol, groceries and books (presently Amex charged card having promotion 8x for petrol and groceries but ending soon). There is no gimmick here, other CC gives you 5X or 10X points only on certain days in a month (how to remember?) where as Amex you get 5x everyday of the month.

Why is the 5X membership reward so good? Well AMEX allows you to convert your MR to cash rebate. For every 200 MR you can get rebate RM1

Click here for Amex Cash Rebate

Here are some examples.

GROCERIES

Spend RM200 on groceries you get 1000 MR and convert to cash rebate you get RM5. That's 2.5% rebate on your groceries. No limit per month and no AF

PETROL

Petrol RM1000 a month = 5000 MR, with Amex cash rebate i can get RM25 or 2.5% Better than DA by 0.5%

I pump at Esso, every RM1000 i get RM15 petrol or 1.5%

Therefore with the Amex cash back redemption and Esso points, I get 4% rebate for petrol. Free money which is 100% tax free (as of date).

Note: if you redeem vouchers instead of cash rebate, the actual % you get in return will be higher.
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 19 2009, 11:14 PM)
i thk can pump at all shell, but must go inside counter and tell the cashier how to punch the terminal
QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jun 19 2009, 11:28 PM)
but i heard u guys said DA only for degree +++.. im only diploma le...
Genx i dun spend much and my income very low. and i only got diploma cert. im only plan to use the CC more on petrol. my petrol every month average only RM200. which card should i take can i get any advice from u guys? let say if i take You:nique cash rebate and i pay my bill on time do i need to pay any extra charges? and what charges for annual? in a year i swipe 12times den i no need to pay the annual? then how bout PA for cash rebate and what does PA mean?  rclxub.gif where can i find the full term and condition? i wanna read bout it tongue.gif so i can understand more. hehe
b00n
post Jul 7 2009, 01:36 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Let's just stick back to CC discussion shall we?.....

Anyway, regarding plat Card "reflecting" status of a person; I guess it's personal perspective. I've known of som successful businessman only carries "Gold" in their wallet. Heck my boss rarely uses cards, most of the time is cash.

I'm still using one of my "classic" cards with a limit of RM9k and I only have 3 cards. Do I need more, I suppose I don't. The classic card is meant for my "standing instructions", and the other 2 gold cards are use alternately. It's all based on personal perspective.
b00n
post Jul 7 2009, 02:25 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 7 2009, 02:03 PM)
May I know why 3 since most all the time use only 1 card?

I have a sub-card and both primary and sub are use by 2 person.

I don't get the logic of having more than 1 card for single person, can anyone explain?

Tq.

My classic card is like so many years ago and most of my standing nistruction goes into that card since before. Thus I still keep that card for that purpose.
And I uses 2 international banks - Citi and HSBC.
I uses HSBC a lot for internet payment as I like how they re-direct everything into their "secure payment" website, thus more comfortable with the security measure taken.
Normal purchases I alternate between Citi and HSBC but mostly HSBC as they have more "offers". RHB sometimes I uses also because of EPP plans.

So to sum it up, for swiping; in actual fact I can live with only HSBC. The other 2 is like a spare card for swiping. wink.gif So yeah, theoretically only 1 card is enough for me.

Added on July 7, 2009, 2:28 pm@tinker,
Most banks had rejected post dated check because it's too manual for processing. Unless it's a special case where the relationship manager would help keep the post dated check.

To sum up the operations, last time when post dated check is accepted; that means that this bundle of checks are to be stored somewhere in a specific cabinet. Than every day, someone have to go and check this cabinet for the day's check to be process. If someone overlooked; than that check would not be processed.

I believe a lot of banks are using that process like I mentioned above. Thus to minimize complains on checks not being processed, or checks went missing; a lot of banks had stopped post dated check processing. wink.gif

This post has been edited by b00n: Jul 7 2009, 02:28 PM
b00n
post Jul 7 2009, 02:51 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 7 2009, 02:39 PM)
Anyone one of you guys ever go to Disco and Ah Long agents approach you to change 1k swipe of CC into RM950 cash?

It was discussed before here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/796677 and here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1014588

b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 01:54 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 7 2009, 09:22 PM)
I'm sorry zazaza2009. But you need one of these to buy Bentley.  tongue.gif
Finally saw someone with a Centurion Card..... drool.gif
With that, it's not only Bentley brows.gif
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 10:31 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 8 2009, 10:17 AM)
Told you olredi. Don't use it to measure people. Tinkerbel, can you advise him ? blush.gif

We did but apparently he wouldn't listen.
Afterl you showed up with your Centurion, I think he just went nuts...... haha

b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 11:08 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 8 2009, 10:37 AM)
What is happening now? Want to boycot me again with your 3 mouseketeers formation? Take another bus la you all.

I think those cards are subbed and given by rich parents or uncles, and are not earned by self. Pls explain.

Added on July 8, 2009, 10:44 am
What nut? Peanut, Chezelnut or Nutmeg?
Guess you are also same boat with them la, you are doing a good job, roll over !

In my limited knowledge on Centurion card, don't think it can be sup out.
Also, it's "pre-approved".
Btw, it's always being a "myth" where we thought that only "famous" ppl are given until recently we see one in this thread. Maybe vampbreak is someone well known...who knows wink.gif

And tell you the truth, most ppl who lurk in this sections are old uncles like tinker pointed out.
A lot is in their 30s also. So with this age range, usually it's us who sup it out to other ppl rather than us getting the sup card.

b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 11:31 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 8 2009, 11:28 AM)
Hi vamp, your answer to your PM,

My plat is enough for me, I want your collection but what is the use because I only use 1 card to pay all my things. Maybe you are a wild CC colectors like stamp collectors does with the Black Penny collection.

What is the quali for Amex charge card and fees? I heard that Amex is not accepeted in some retail outlets, pls advise. Tq.

Last time, a lot of retail don't want to accept AMEX because of the higher merchant fees compared to VISA and Master.
But since Maybank bought over the franchise, a lot of major retail outlets are already getting the merchant terminal for AMEX.
In M'sia, AMEX under Maybank arms had turned into Credit Card (correct me if I'm wrong, limited knowledge on AMEX also). But if one holds the true AMEX, it's supposed to be a charge card; same as DINERS.

b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 11:41 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Let's just get on the discussion with Credit Card shall we...
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 12:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
Not true..

MBB Amex is still considered charge card, and it does not belongs to the Visa/Mastercard that is so-called as "credit card".
MBB Amex cant be used on machines that does not have Amex acceptance

The term "credit card" or "charge card" is not by the merchant company.
Credit Card is known as it is because of the power to revolve while one is still with credit balances.
Charge card however is known as charge card because in the even that your didn't pay the last outstanding amount, you wouldn't be able to use it.
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/chargecard.asp?viewed=1

b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 12:09 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

@zazaza2009

One last time, stick to the topic and this is not kopitiam section.
While we still have casual chat in here, but pls do not go overboard till we view it as "spamming".
b00n
post Jul 8 2009, 06:23 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

He has been officially suspended for taunting.
So let's just ignore.

Continue discussion.
Happy posting wink.gif
b00n
post Jul 9 2009, 10:25 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Jul 9 2009, 08:15 AM)
Hi all,
I've a fraud case back in early 2008 with MBF card coz I lost my card without realising it, so I guess someone took the card and swipe extensively at all Petrol Kiosk in Puchong back then (in a day he/she might swipe up to RM700 splits into multiple transaction), till I receive a call from the bank stated I've outstanding bills only I got to find out the issue.

Immediately I filed for a police-report and appeal to the bank stated these are not my transaction, appeal went on and on and they still said its my responsibility to settle the amount as I didn't take care of my own card :-(, fine then, during my 3rd appeal, I received a court-case letter from the said bank, to avoid any troubles, I just made the full settlements.

I thought everything went fine, till recently I went to applied SCB Platinum, I'm meeting and actually exceeding their eligibility by quite a margin, and yet it failed stated I've a record at CTOS, last 2 days I made myself available and went to get my printout for both CTOS and CCRIS, I've perfect record for CCRIS, but this mentioned case is in CTOS, but has been closed and remark with "Debt fully settled".

Since my SCB application failed, I requesting a credit-limit increase on my current HLB Gold Visa, I'm just asking the limit to be increased from RM9500 to RM15000, yet it still failed and I requested for a reason, but CS told me they can't do anything, all the application is subject to the management approval or things like that...I can't believe it as I'm holding this card for close to 4.5 years, and nv ever has a late payment and all the time I'm settle the full amount.

Anything I could do? I've got myself both recent print-outs from CCRIS and CTOS...recently I've a transaction online and believe it or not, I need to transfer money to my HLB account to clear up the limit issue so that the new transaction can go thru successfully.

I'm looking for a replacement card for the HLB now and will nv ever turn back...

You can go back to SCB sales guy who attended to you and present him the CTOS printout and maybe a copy of the police report than. He would than do the rest seeking for "deviation" or pressuring the underwriters to approve. The sales guy would obviously go all out as approval of a plat card usually meant more commission for them. wink.gif

b00n
post Jul 9 2009, 01:42 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Jul 9 2009, 11:43 AM)

* b00n
I've provided release-letter from the said bank (not CTOS printout) before, and I felt insulting by keeping appeal to get something that I deserved in the first place, I requested them to check the CTOS as I'm very sure even there's a record, its from my case and it has been settled and I've got the release letter, still my application failed

What you can do moving forward is whenever you applied for something, preempt the sales guy that you have this CTOS reports lodge against you and inform them that it's settled.

I understand your feelings but different banks got different policies in regards to underwriting a customer with CTOS records which they see it as bad credit worthiness. The problem with CTOS is they are just cut outs from the papers and didn't contain what the suit is all about, so banks dealing with mass consumer would need to have a blanket policies and rues which might not favour the consumers.

b00n
post Jul 15 2009, 07:10 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jul 15 2009, 06:44 PM)
anyone here know whats the different between charge card and credit card?

maybank ppl call me ask apply for amex charge cards...

really apreciate the info...

You can start reading from page 31 onwards wink.gif

b00n
post Jul 15 2009, 09:43 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(creed @ Jul 15 2009, 08:31 PM)
Hi, I've requested a replacement of my HLB Visa card few months ago, but they want to charge RM50 so I just ignore, the card has some cracks but still usable..

Thought most banks only charge RM10 for card replacement which more than often they would help waive the charges also wink.gif

b00n
post Jul 15 2009, 10:51 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(changjie83 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:49 PM)
thanks.. i heard having a current account (house loans purposes) can help getting a cc is it true?

The marketing term is "Pre-approve" but not necessary go through. Higher chances it would get approved though.

b00n
post Jul 17 2009, 03:27 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(taxpayer @ Jul 17 2009, 02:19 PM)
Well I dont think i am going to apply after all. I am beginning to have some doubts as my age might be an issue to them (didnt think about that previously). I am in my mid 20'.
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 17 2009, 02:25 PM)
yup, minimum age 21 for most banks if not all
Minimum age set at BNM is 21 for basic card application.
Supp card IIRC is 18.
b00n
post Jul 17 2009, 08:16 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Jul 17 2009, 07:42 PM)
My credit card was fraud during the month of May. When through a lot of hassle as most of my time I am not in Malaysia. As once the credit card acc is freeze and close, u can no longer see it in the online banking and thus it's hard to fill the dispute forms. Don't know what's wrong with the fax system as after 3 days of calling for the fax baru lah nampak bayang... hahahaha....
finally manage to settle the dispute and took my new card last month during my trip back to bolehland.....

**take note** ppl traveling to Sri Lanka, pls becareful of your credit card, as i am not sure how on earth my card got fraud!! I had only used it in 2 mainstream hotels and 2 international airline offices for the entired 3 months stay(also one transaction at Maldives)...
as most of my colleagues encounter this credit fraud in Sri Lanka...

A lot of countries are still using magnetic stripe thus cloning of cards is still a rampant overseas as they would still the information from your magnetic stripe when you swipe.

b00n
post Jul 19 2009, 01:15 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

@zazaza2009
This is my last time warning you.
If you want to join a discussion, join in proper manner.
If I heard another complain against you......you're off LYN for good.

p/s: When only one person complains about another person, there might be some misunderstanding. But when "many" ppl complains about the said person, than obviously that said person is at the wrong end to "attract" so many complaints. SO go figure.

0.0568sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:38 AM