Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

air
post Jul 27 2009, 02:05 PM

644 posts

Lol just applied the MBB AMEX Gold CC card and Charge card, they said will send both card to me, but I asked them to put higher priority on AMEX gold charge card. I really like the Golden + Ancient type design of the charge card ^^...
air
post Jul 27 2009, 02:29 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:08 PM)
@alexwsk,
In theory it shouldn't be possible but since we're in Malaysia, everything also boleh one lah! *shrugs*

@air,
Just wondering if U applied for the Amex Charge Card @ TreatsFair cause when I asked about it, they told me they aren't accepting the application there, hence I didn't bother putting an application in.

Nmlah.. I think I'll keep the Amex Charge Card for next year.
@tinkerbell,

I applied both cards at their booth (PJ Sec 14 MBB branch inside there) after I took and read through one of the brochures(actually just fancy its Charge card design)

Personally I think Charge card are more suitable for billing as they did not incur day-by-day interest charge(1.5% or 9% divide by 30 days)

MBB AMEX GOLD Credit is better when you purchase some electronics which above RM1500.

Guess your annual income over RM48000 huh?
air
post Jul 27 2009, 03:00 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 27 2009, 02:36 PM)
Ahehe. Tinkerbell I though you are not a fan of Charge Card.  tongue.gif  but like the others mention, did you can actually apply for 2 Amex CC with diff number ? Did you actual received 2 card?
Air, RM48,000 is tinkerbell minimum anual spending.  biggrin.gif
Did this SonyCard come with the new design ( worldcup) or still the old gold one ? I really interested in getting one..
Whoa really? *Salute* tinkerbell~~~ Guess what My Annual income not even 70% of her annual spendings~~~

Added on July 27, 2009, 3:03 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 02:54 PM)
@alexwsk,
I guess the person who was attending to me just wasn't interested; plus I'd oredi filled up a phone pre going to the TreatsFair; obviously there was some other salesperson's chop so she had to refill in another copy for me.  I just signed and left it as that - the process took less sthan 5 mins.

Mod status ah?! Er.. since some time last week but I've no jurisdiction over this forum biggrin.gif

@vin_ann,
I sort off complained to the fella at the collection booth (he's from the 1U Maybankard Centre) and whilst he did apologise profusely, he did help me fill up a request form in which I'd ask for the CC to be sent to my house.  So now all I do is just to wait but I'm not so kan cheong lah.

@air,
Ah U did a walk-in application.  Er.. also, what's this question re my annual income >RM48,000?

@vampbreak,
You're right - I'm not a fan of Charge Cards, in fact I don't have any but I figured since it's free Y not - I certainly don't mind the extra laptop bag [though I did see a rather nice Timberland one during the TreatsFair but I didn't get it cause I just have too many!]  And I don't think the bank can actually issue you 2 of the same cards hence my case is a rather weird one.  I definitely didn't put in 2 applications, just 1 but somehow my M2U reflects 2 cards *weird*

This Sony card is a new one plus it's Limited Edition for FIFA2010.  I guess once their rights with FIFA ends that'll be no more of this card.
@tinkerbell
Actually not walk-in, it is the booth inside the MBB Office and Branch, I can see the promoter is on contract with MBB for card promoting.

About the annual income, just forget it cause I just ask it based on the minimum requirements for MBB Gold Charge card.

This post has been edited by air: Jul 27 2009, 03:03 PM
air
post Jul 27 2009, 03:41 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 03:35 PM)
@vampbreak,
I don't know if it's going to be a permanent feature but based on MBB's website it
s just 2X points for Sony products.  The 10x points only applicable at the TreatsFair.

@air,
U shouldn't believe everything U hear read - need to exercise your own discretion too sometimes biggrin.gif
Yea I shouldnt do it, anyway there are no harm done when you put your sincerity front first while percept it wisely at same time right? Lazy to put mask everytime I spoke though... Lolz...
air
post Jul 27 2009, 06:05 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 05:53 PM)
@tgeoklin,
Er.. serious?! Hmm.. now when did this new ruling come into effect cause the last I got from UOB + Citibank was that U can't have 2 of the same cards!  Ah well.. sorry my information not so accurate *oops*
Haha this one I duno too... I got one UOB VISA + CITIBANK MasterCard... ngam ngam din clash each other~~~

I am thinking of cancel my CITIBANK card after installment finished as the customer service is bringing me a lot of trouble. Made me pay unnecessary fees.

air
post Jul 27 2009, 09:07 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 27 2009, 06:07 PM)
@air,
Er.. how is it that the CS can make U pay unnecessary fees?!  Also, UOB Visa + Citibank MasterCard is fine.  It's UOB Visa Classic + UOB Visa Gold + UOB Visa Platinum is what I was told cannot but tgeoklin said it can be done wor *shrugs*

I don't hold more than 2 cards from each bank hence I'm not too sure lah!
Actually they do offer some cash loan with lower interest rate, I did apply but due to some reason I cancelled it the next day after applied...

From their side, they claimed the officer responsible for my cancellation case been resigned and my cancellation delay by 2 months, I cant even cancel my broadband service for two months due to the credit limit locked my Citibank credit card(yes, they offer only 3k limit, and it is my first CC)

After that their manager take on this case and solved it for me(waived all the late charges + loan payment, basically reverse whole process involved with the cash loan)

About the unused broadband service, I have to vomit the money and clear it.

air
post Jul 27 2009, 10:56 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 27 2009, 08:02 PM)
Yah IT merchant usually ask for 2-3% when paying with CC. If IT merchant selling PC/Notebook at Recommended Retail Price, my suggestion is to go get it from Harvey Norman where they do not charge any surchage. Actually I just bought a Notebook for my son and charged it to AMEX without any surchage and even got RM100 discount for single swipe (i.e. no installment plan). But only the outlet at Ikano willling to give me the RM100 discount.
air ( I like your nickame), you won't be charged any interest for credit card if you pay in full before due date. Amex Gold Credit Card have one advantage over the charged card where the CC you'll get 5X MR for petrol and groceries.
Well, when it comes to AMEX Gold Credit or Charge card, I prefer charge card for its design, it just that simple lolz...
air
post Jul 28 2009, 10:56 AM

644 posts

wow platinum... wonder when I can get this and the annual fee is scary hehe... (AMEX Platinum Charge Card)

This post has been edited by air: Jul 28 2009, 11:02 AM
air
post Jul 28 2009, 11:17 AM

644 posts

@tinkerbell

How to say a category higher? I am still a chick to those cards lolz...

anyway is that a hidden basic requirements which allow a lower CL or AI to apply a Gold or Platinum?

Added on July 28, 2009, 11:28 am
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 28 2009, 11:15 AM)
The cardholders of this cc can only access to KL Plaza Premium Lounge. If you are not a frequent traveller, having access to premium/VIP lounges is not really something special. I normally do not utilise it because I always go to KLIA last minute. However, it is good for those who have a connecting flight. I went to Dubai airport lounge last week during a transit period, the facilities they have are much lesser than KL lounge.
Most of the banks offer free Plat cards, and the requirement is getting lower and lower over times.
So far what I see, DA World and AMEX the requirements for platinum are quite strict, yet most banks offer Platinum at a lower requirements(<RM90000), Well, prestige matters huh?

This post has been edited by air: Jul 28 2009, 11:28 AM
air
post Jul 28 2009, 12:29 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 11:51 AM)
@alexwsk,
I believe the 200 free entry pisang was referring to is the EON MATTA CC.  The SCB VI comes with a Priority Pass and that would gain entry to all affiliated priority pass lounges in the world.

I'd been using the Amex Platinum CC for >1year now so will continue to use it. As to the 2 Gold CCs... will decide when/if I receive them biggrin.gif
Well, can your AMEX platinum CC fees can be waived? (how about charge card version). Well, I guess Gold CC doesnt matter to you as you getting used to Platinum right?
air
post Jul 28 2009, 05:26 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 04:14 PM)
@tgeoklin,
AhHhhh... well I didn't get any pre-approved card from SCB but that's also because I'm not one of their elite customers *siGh* Nah.. not going to go get the World Mastercard - don't see a reason to be carrying so many cards.
If these factors affect your choice of CC, please mark down your order for below criteria:(1 is most fav, 5 is least fav)

a. Rebate category (groceries/luxurious service)
b. Card Design(which part you like)
c. Card "Prestige"(Classic, Gold, Platinum)
d. "Brand" of the Bank (PBB, MBB, SCB, AMEX, CIMB, HSBC, EONB, etc)
e. Collection

Others may feedback on this criteria review as well biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
air
post Jul 29 2009, 08:51 AM

644 posts

@tgeoklin

Only RM1k creadit limit? how come? lolz...
air
post Jul 30 2009, 03:16 PM

644 posts

Well, I calculate mine, Guess I still can apply tons of credit card in order to get overexposed...
air
post Jul 31 2009, 03:05 PM

644 posts

Mine? super-duper under exposed: 2.9... no wonder can apply cash loan so easily...

0.0592sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:15 PM