Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

hye
post Jun 28 2009, 12:01 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Jun 28 2009, 11:37 AM)
how cc replacement work? how long it take?

my cc going to break apart soon...
You need to request for card replacement and how fast you get it back depends on the bank's efficiency. This can range from between 1 hour, days or even weeks.
hye
post Jun 28 2009, 05:09 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 28 2009, 01:36 PM)
1 hour - I suppose it is Citibank. And weeks - you know which bank I think of, supposedly one of the famous local banks. Do feel free to share your experience.
Personally, I only lost my cards once many years back. (I don't wish it to happen again)
Most of my card replacements are due to suspected and actual frauds which the bank proactively block and cancel my card.

Citibank - I got my card within 4 hours. Very efficient in blocking my card and I could call in to the bank with little problems.

UOB - I got my card back within 1 week. You need to produce police report to waive off the card replacement (if an event of loss even due to theft) otherwise it is a RM50.00 fee. Another time got suspected fraud and card replacement was done in about 1 week. Long winded call in system (probably will take you 3-5 mins before a human speaks to you) but once you are in they will take care of you.

SCB - I got my card around 2 weeks. (Suspected fraud case) They will put you on hold before forwarding your call and depending on your luck, it is as fast as 2 mins or as long asd 5-8 mins before you get to speak to a human. CS friendly and efficient and your card will be out in 2-3 days. However, they got problems with my address and it tooks them at least 2 weeks before I got back my replacement card. I figured their CS is good but their backroom have some lackdecimal attitude towards their customers. When I called to check my card, they suggested me to go to their branch. (Not convenient due to the little branches they have) In the end, the replacement card finally arrive via personal despatch and after me making so much fuss about their inability to deliver their letter to me. (I don't live in the Bakun jungle or anything)

MBB - I never had my card replaced with them. But I'll never use their card for overseas use. I had so much inefficiency problems with them and I don't want to take my chances while I'm overseas - I need my banks to be efficient. They once took 6 months to open my bank account, I actually gave up after 3 weeks and the problem was that their officer took too long to verify an introducer's signature and left my application in a drawer which they realise only after 6 months. They covered it up of course and I figured it will be a waste of time to complain coz nothing will happen nor I will benefit from it.

My card with them took 2 months to arrive. One of their card product achieved the yearly target in only 2 months! (or is it 1 month?) Thus explains the slow wait for the card.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 28 2009, 05:29 PM
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 08:48 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 29 2009, 08:29 AM)
I was a HLB cardholder until early this month. FYI, the cash rebate system for its Plat cc is completely worthless, as you need to carry forward your outstanding balance in order to be entitled to cash rebate.
And you need to carry an outstanding balance of RM10k just to enjoy a meagre rebate of 0.5% and to enjoy rebate of 2% ... guess what ... you need to carry an outstanding balance of RM50k!!!!
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 10:57 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 29 2009, 10:29 AM)
inform u cc issuer before going to oversea.... no need pin if normal retail transaction....but i suggest u to get the pin as if in emergency situation u can withdraw some cash at any ATM with VISA/Mastercard sign worldwide.....
I wouldn't encourage doing this under normal circumstances and only to consider doing this in an emergency as it is expensive and painful on the finance charges. Note the Cash Withdrawal Fees (I think it is 5%) plus the finance charges starts right from the day you withdraw your cash.
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 12:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jun 29 2009, 12:01 PM)
One question here, let say per annum salary(12 month) is RM39k and the credit card requires RM40k income per annum, definitely the application will be rejected right, but my company provide contractual bonus(13 months salary every year instead of 12) and with this my per annum income is 42250.

Will I still eligible for the application?
Quick answer is yes if the contractual bonus is reflected in yr income statement. You can provide this income statement to the bank when you apply for the card.
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 02:31 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Jun 29 2009, 12:15 PM)
It is not stated in payslip...perhaps give them the employment contract?
You can try but this depends on the bank whether they recognise the employment contract as proof of income. I'm saying this coz different bank different policy ... and no I don't know all the banks policy. Just try it out and you'll find out quick enough.
hye
post Jun 29 2009, 07:23 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 29 2009, 05:27 PM)
To me, I think is more on you applied for plat, but they give you 2x gold. If plat not approved, the bank should call to counter-offer with the gold. Not direct issue to you. I think this should apply to all banks, not just the one you mentioned.
I think what happens is that the agent made that "decision" for him. I think the bank would have the courtesy to call but normally in such cases they will refer to the agent to handle it. My own HSBC cc agent would not do this (I still maintain good relationship with the guy) and of the many agents that I apply my cc with I always specifically tell the person to follow exactly what I want or I shall not hesitate to cancel my card application. (I did not do this with a threathening tone)

No need to be nasty or what ... just take it as a learning lesson. Always do your own research on the cc product before you apply and don't blindly trust the agent. You are partly to blame for your own greed ... remember the carrot for you was the 5% cash rebate in which the information was unfortunately misrepresented to you.

End of this month I can't get my kicks anymore .... whenever I come across a cc agent who tells me I can get 2% or 5% petrol rebate ... I said "Mine is 7% rebate ... beat that and I'll sign up for your card". Of course they will try again and then say "You can also get 5% rebate @ Tesco" and I said "Mine is 5% rebate all hypermarket all day long".

The face on their face is priceless .... and once they pull me over and ask me how to apply this card. (And it was a cute girl asking me!) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 29 2009, 07:33 PM
hye
post Jun 30 2009, 10:41 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jun 30 2009, 10:22 AM)
May i know which bank offer free damaged card? I read from previous forumer post sometimes card get stolen they also insist wanna charge Rm50 sad.gif
That was UOB. Circumstances is different coz the bank consider lost as negligence and they have to regenerate new card and block the old one. Damaged card is via wear and tear. You can try calling (please don't threathen) your bank and explain your problem. Normally you should be able to get a replacement. If they refuse, just cancel the card or wait till your card replacement is due. (Hopefully that's not too long a wait)

UOB is very rather weird about PIN replacement either. Their system seems can't generate a new PIN without cancelling your old card. Folks who lose their UOB PIN beware ... the bank may charge a fee for PIN replacement.

This post has been edited by hye: Jun 30 2009, 01:50 PM
hye
post Jun 30 2009, 06:19 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 30 2009, 04:35 PM)
And also the nicely designed card, just like their World Mastercard. Unlike HSBC Premier ...  laugh.gif  Sorry, couldn't resist it.
Standard Chartered Singapore is now issuing complimentary VISA Infinite to their Priority Banking customers. Believe Standard Chartered Malaysia will follow suit soon.
Dunno about this coz actually SCB Malaysia can issue Infinite to their customers but need to maintain a RM300K deposit with them. I find this slightly outrageous coz they just raised the qualifier by RM50K from the initial RM200K.
hye
post Jul 4 2009, 02:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 4 2009, 02:05 PM)
shocking.gif I thought CIMB/DA Plat has much better than HLB Plat shocking.gif
Look of card is purely subject to the eyes of the beholder. blush.gif
hye
post Jul 6 2009, 03:46 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 6 2009, 03:29 PM)
Hello,
I own a Maybank Petronas Visa, and now I want to apply one more Mastercard.
Which bank are you recommend?
IMHO, SCB JustOne Titanium Mastercard.

hye
post Jul 6 2009, 04:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 6 2009, 03:51 PM)
Those are high level card, I can't affort it tongue.gif
Anyway, thanks for your reply and any suggestion?
By the way, what is IMHO?
Thank you.
IMHO = In my honest opinion.
Sorry coz you did not reveal your card type ... so difficult to guess what is your possible range. Next best choice would be Alliance Bank's cash back cards.
hye
post Jul 7 2009, 04:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jul 7 2009, 04:29 PM)
Hello,
Today I go to CIMB to apply a master card since I already have one Maybank Petronas gold visa.
The staff told to to sign 3 form and she will fill in the blanks, and I say I would like to apply ONE master card only, and she said it is depend to the bank whether approve 2 or 1 credit card for you.
What should I do if really approve 2 credit card for me, can I cancel it on the spot? icon_question.gif
No you can't cancel on the spot. For CIMB, you need to send in a letter for the card cancellation. The staff did this for you coz, they can get something as comission / referral due to your multiple application. This trick has been discussed before.
hye
post Jul 8 2009, 01:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 8 2009, 01:09 PM)
Looks like I will need to do some planning when using this card so that I can maximise the benefits as I just get it like few days ago  smile.gif
Don't bother ... if you read through the earlier posts, you will find cards with far simpler system for cash back. I'll forgo HLB if I were you coz very calculative in the rebate.
hye
post Jul 10 2009, 04:54 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

My goodness ... suddenly everyone here upgrade class already.

Gold card ... Platinum cards and now Infinite types. Really take my hat off you guys!
hye
post Jul 11 2009, 12:01 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 10 2009, 11:41 PM)
However, only the Priority Pass that comes with the RHB Infinite provides free access while that which comes with the plat card only allow paid access  rolleyes.gif
Yup ... the RHB Priority pass is just a membership level. (Entry) You need to pay USD25 per entry and USD27 for your guest.

hye
post Jul 11 2009, 11:47 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 11 2009, 11:28 AM)
It's almost impossible. I also informed SCB I just wanted a cc without opening a current acc. But after a few days upon receipt of the Just1 cc, they sent a cheque book to me directly and charged the stamp duty into my Just1 acc.
I think so too. Repeatedly I asked the same question directly @ the bank and a few CS - the answer is no. The (perhaps) good news is that they told me that the account can be kept to RM0 balance without getting penalised as per a normal account.

Well ... just have to keep on teaching CS on to select the "CR" function on the machine.
hye
post Jul 11 2009, 01:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(kneok @ Jul 11 2009, 01:28 PM)
I just had two applications for credit cards at two different banks rejected. should i be worried? lol..
Maybe or maybe not. What sort of cards have you tried to apply and are you eligible or not ? (e.g You're holding a classic type with low CL and you are trying to apply for a Plat card .... highly likely to be rejected lah. No offense, just an example)

Additionally, it depends on whether

1. You have cc's already or not and how many ?
2. Have you defaulted on anything before ? Or disputed anything within any banks or not ? (And maybe you have not paid your mobile bills for months till you get letter from telco)
3. Have you become a guarantor before or not and you so called "friend" decides to take a payment break ?

This post has been edited by hye: Jul 11 2009, 01:36 PM
hye
post Jul 13 2009, 09:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

More on JustOne ... how about we collect info on the terminals that can accept and cannot accept the card ? Some one could carry over the info some how.

Here goes my contribution

Terminal - SchlumbergerSema
Provider - PaySys (If I remember it correctly)
Terminal cannot recognise that the terminal have 2 feature and kept on saying it is a debit card. Sometimes asks to swipe the card and enter the security no which will eventually return an error.
hye
post Jul 16 2009, 01:56 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 16 2009, 01:29 PM)
On the latter. DA (and presumably CIMB as well) used to be 0% but now is 1%. The only 1 I know that still charges 0% is Alliance.
Oh yes ... I can concur on that. Alliance still charges 0% as I used my SCB and Alliance on the same day in Singapore. SCB is slightly higher by about 1%-2%. One note though ...

1. The exchange rate is likely to be calculated based on the transaction posted date and not the actual transaction date. I used my SCB on the same day but they are posted to my account on 2 different dates. The forex slightly differs between the 2 transaction although they occur on the same day. Perhaps this scenario may differ with another bank.
2. Careful on double conversion as you might be charged twice for the admin fee. Eg. SGD -> USD -> MYR. Problem is that the bank may not disclose this double conversion. ** I haven't done enough effort to confirm this information yet.

This post has been edited by hye: Jul 16 2009, 02:02 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0520sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:28 AM