8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Exclusively for Perodua VIVA Owner - v3, Viva ~ Driving Possiblities

camel90
post May 5 2011, 05:41 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

i just gave perodua bangi a call asking for the price for 40000km scheduled service. i was quoted RM298.10.

they will change everything except spark plugs, brake pads etc2. i'm not so sure about this. but, good news for me as i can use the current spark plugs and delay my plan to use iridium spark plugs until the next scheduled service. will send my car tomorrow, and i'll post the price here later on wink.gif.
camel90
post May 5 2011, 09:14 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ May 5 2011, 07:56 PM)
Your 40,000 KM service kinda costly. I did mine at RM 180++ only ..
i asked them what are the parts that will be changed, she told me every single thing and it sounded like a lot thus, i didn't write down any. hahaha. i think i will just take it tho, since i'm travelling almost 150km daily, 30days a month laugh.gif

anyhow..calling all sport rims,springs,suspensions sifoos especially noblesse, what is the type for spring buffer for viva? type D? A? i forgot.
camel90
post May 18 2011, 08:52 PM

1,314 posts

anyone has purchased a new hood from perodua? or front bonnet or engine bonnet whatever you call it.

does it came with black paint? or we have to paint it? i'm thinking if it does come with the black paint, i might as well install it straightaway without repainting it.

BTW, i called perodua asking the price for viva elite front hood. it's RM281.50
camel90
post May 24 2011, 04:47 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ May 19 2011, 11:55 PM)
u want me to recomend u my friends spare parts shop in PJ Seapark? Beside public bank ..i think sure cheaper wan
sure, if you have the number i will give him a call.

anyway guys, i updated my signature, check it out (in red).
camel90
post May 25 2011, 06:56 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ May 25 2011, 06:34 PM)
Hey guys, my sis Viva 660BX is due for next 20k service. I wonder if we can purchase outside perodua certified engine oil and pass it to the SC to change. They quoted me RM70 for the Perodua 3 litre oil which I think is overpriced considering my waja uses Castrol oil 4 litre only RM58.

I dont mind paying for the other replacement parts like oil filter and labour
my initial reply will be no, i don't think so smile.gif. but you can always give them a call and ask about it. i'm not sure about engine oil, but i knew that brake pad can biggrin.gif
camel90
post Sep 9 2011, 11:17 PM

1,314 posts

Hello my fellow viva owners. it has been a while since my last visit. i would like to take this opportunity to say Selamat Hari Raya to everyone! hope it's not too late.

anyway, hello there sifoo noblesse,
QUOTE(noblesse @ Sep 7 2011, 09:37 PM)
thats the normal mileage already. best to leave the ECU as-is.

my car using 15" rims with super heavy 11" disc rotor getting about 300km++ per full tank of shell ron95.

i think 15 40SW is abit too 'heavy' for our car? try using the recommended oil grade as written in the car manual. shld be able to achieve the best FC.
i'm thinking to upgrade my brake setup too. here are a few details that i have in mind :

1. i don't mind keeping the stock brake shoe for the rears.
2. i want to change to MYVI Brembo brake rotors (bigger diameter than viva laugh.gif )
3. but, since my elite EZi comes with ABS, i want to keep the ABS feature. is it possible to use my ABS with myvi brembo rotors?
camel90
post Sep 12 2011, 03:33 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(noblesse @ Sep 11 2011, 11:07 PM)
haha not sifu la bro. just fellow viva owners. sharing is caring~

anyways, if u wanna use myvi brembo rotor, u need to use myvi calipers. if not mistaken, myvi rotor cant fit our viva calipers. changing front brakes wont affect ABS. ABS only affected if u change rear drum to disc brake. but if u go to those workshop pro in brake conversion, ABS shldnt be affected.

how bout i suggest other alternative to u. u can actually get YRV brake set (rotor + caliper).. cost about RM250 >LINK< from chop shop. it is DIRECT plug and play to viva, no need to fabricate bracket.

just need to service the caliper (depend on condition), and perhaps skim the rotor (depends on condition) as it came from chop shop. if items are good condition, u can just use it straight away. YRV set is 10x better than MYVI caliper..

myvi caliper got problems with the caliper pin. after some time, will give the annoying 'kok kok' sound.
and also YRV caliper came from a turbo 1300cc car. so im pretty sure it is more than enough to stop our N/A 1000c viva smile.gif
i see. alright. thanx bro! i will do some scouting later. i'll PM you if i need any further info tongue.gif

anyway, just did new tint on my car. the illegal one of course. 20% VLT. let's hope JPJ stay away from my car for the next year or two. hahahaha

QUOTE(viva la fared @ Sep 12 2011, 09:53 AM)
reporting in for

viva 850cc solid white
welcome bro! smile.gif

This post has been edited by camel90: Sep 12 2011, 03:34 PM
camel90
post Sep 13 2011, 09:36 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(it.fusion @ Sep 13 2011, 11:50 AM)
guys.. just recently got viva elite auto... few questions to ask...

1) found out that viva elite dont have adjustable height steering.. is every viva also like that one ?
I'm using elite too. yes it doesn't have adjustable height steering as you call it. i'm not sure about other versions tho, but to think that elite is the most expensive version it is safe to say all other versions don't come with that feature too smile.gif.

2) the noise from engine bay is quite high.. especially the sound is like tight or misaligned timing belt.. is this normal for viva ?
i'm not sure how's the sound you're referring too. but, back then when i was still using original exhaust the sound from engine bay is OK except when i went beyond 120kmh
hope that helps.
camel90
post Sep 14 2011, 06:48 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(it.fusion @ Sep 14 2011, 02:51 PM)
thanks for the reply...

so confirm no adjustable height for steering la..aiih
ok ...

the sound is actually when idle... it sounds like how lorry will sound.. the belt is like too tight la..
if the engine sounds when idle is that high as you said, you may want to pay a visit to Perodua SC soon bro. let them check everything because in my opinion the viva engine when idle is close to 'quiet' smile.gif
camel90
post Sep 16 2011, 12:02 PM

1,314 posts

Hey guys. as you all know my front hood isn't properly alligned. yes, i've replaced the hood with the new one but since i have yet to do any major 'knocking' and body repair the hood won't be properly alligned. so, there is a tendancy that water from rain or during a carwash to come into the engine compartment at the sides there.

like this one. the ABS unit is not really flooded with water, but there's slight water that comes in. will it effect the braking system? that ABS system has got a few wires around it. i'm afraid it may effect the braking while i'm driving sad.gif

This post has been edited by camel90: Sep 16 2011, 12:03 PM
camel90
post Sep 22 2011, 01:34 PM

1,314 posts

Anyone?

Anyway guys, here's another symptom

car : Elite EZi, Auto, 1000cc

Exhaust setup.
Change the header to this one and threw the ori

the same goes to this rear section.

so,since i travel via ELITE highway almost everyday from shah alam-klia exit, i always constantly drive 130-140kmh. the thing is, after driving in that speed for 10mins or so, after i let go off the throttle and the moment i hit the throttle again, the exhaust misfire. is it bad for the engine? or it's okay for the engine ?

This post has been edited by camel90: Sep 22 2011, 01:34 PM
camel90
post Oct 8 2011, 08:26 PM

1,314 posts

woohoo! i went to do some shopping for my baby

Installed
Front Lower Bar
Front Strut Bar
Rear Lower Bar
at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1881312/

sifoo noblesse, sorry didn't reply your pm. just noticed it. lol!

anyway guys. those who drives 1.0L auto

do you have any buzzing sound after driving at 100kmh and you lift off throttle while the gear is in D?

This post has been edited by camel90: Oct 8 2011, 08:28 PM
camel90
post Oct 9 2011, 08:29 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(11768 @ Oct 9 2011, 01:36 AM)
Hi, what are the benefits that you gain after installing these bars? Review?  rclxms.gif
Been driving my slow poke car for almost 2 years and for the past 8 months, i've been driving on 'touge-like' road almost everyday.

first thing you need to know about strengthening bar, they will never make my car a neo or even a civic that are famous for their superior handling.

BUT, i do notice that my car is now taking corner effortlessly than it used to be, and in some corners where i usually could notice the bodyroll, it's now very low if not gone.

the other reason for my installation is, i want to feel a little more confident in terms of safety. yes, with this strengthening bars , my car is still a viva and it will never turn into swift or any other cars that have 5 stars NCAP. but, it does feel more solid especially for a kCar chasis like viva.

reminder, if you have not driving your car long enough, and have not trash it (beware, it is dangerous and stupid) like me, you might just feel very little differences. moreover if you just got your car, you might not feel the differences as much as i do. so, TESTt your current car first and then install 1 bar at a time. you will feel the different. at least you can feel it first hand rather than just listen to other drivers and eventually you might just say people are exaggerating with UR bars tongue.gif.

so, the money spent for those 3 bars are worth every peny i must say nod.gif .

i will definitely install remaining 3 bars offered for viva from UR.

the remaining bars will be
Rear Anti Roll Bar
Fender Bar
Rear Strut Bar

of course i will take it slow as i don't want to make my car understeer badly because of the chasis is too stiff doh.gif

good luck hunting! my recommendation, install strut bar and front lower bar. you will feel massive differences in my case. hehe

This post has been edited by camel90: Oct 9 2011, 08:34 PM
camel90
post Oct 9 2011, 08:50 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(kokhing520 @ Oct 9 2011, 08:45 PM)
hey bro..
1.0 auto driver here~

can u describe abit abt the buzzing sound?
bcos my car also have some sound on the TB but i dun think is buzzing sound ><

i also installed front strut, rear lower and anti-roll abr 16mm..
my car canot install front lower bar..if installed...pass by bump sure kena 9 9~ rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
hurm. it's hard to describe. it's like 'eenngggg' or 'emmmm'. hahahhaha blush.gif . i can hardly hear it because of the exhaust noise from my cap ayam setup.

anyway, this happens when i'm cruising 90-100 and i lift off the throttle and keep the gear at D. i will try it on my gf's car tomorrow as she's driving 1.0L auto too. will give update tomorrow night. if it's the same (which i hope it is), i think it's normal then hmm.gif .

front lower bar cannot pass bump? wohhh!! super low ride is it? haha laugh.gif
camel90
post Oct 10 2011, 07:06 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(11768 @ Oct 10 2011, 01:06 AM)

Thanks man!  thumbup.gif

Btw, it doesn't have any drawback for installing it right? Besides steering will feel harder to steer (or maybe not at all).
drawback? nop. but for me, since my exhaust piping is not standard and the aftermarket cap ayam exhaust that i have currently was installed by some shop with crappy workmanship mad.gif , the pipe does hit the front lower bar due to massive vibration in some ocassion. nothing to do with car or bars, just that my exhaust is not secured properly -,-

QUOTE(kokhing520 @ Oct 10 2011, 02:19 AM)
haha i dun think i gt such sound but my voice is like 'air leaking'.....

not that low...but 2 finger infront and 2.5 at back..
ahhhhhhhhhhhh. yeeeessssssssssssssss!!! that's the correct term! sorry bro, my english sucks sad.gif. so, is that sound normal to you? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by camel90: Oct 10 2011, 07:06 AM
camel90
post Oct 10 2011, 08:44 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(roshen43 @ Oct 10 2011, 06:13 PM)
hi everyone
question about my viva. my car got this sound klak klak klak when i press  the the pedal when below 40km/h. its from the front engine. anyone know what the problem?
first of all, may we know what is the drive train of your viva? 660 manual? 850 manual? 850 auto? 1L manual? 1L auto?
camel90
post Oct 11 2011, 11:10 AM

1,314 posts

Hello guys, my current Bendix MetalKing brake pad has almost worn out completely in a month or two. as for now, i'm having fun with it. it has much better braking power and certainly very durable for touge driving with a lot of late braking compared to the ori from perodua.

so, do you have any other brands to recommend? Ferodo? EBC? has anyone use it? Bendix is roughly around RM120, i don't mind paying a little more.

but if it is more than RM200, i will just take another pair of bendix and use it before replace the entire brake system to myvi+aftermarket rotor or YRV. i'm still discussing with sifoo noblesse about this one tho blush.gif
camel90
post Oct 11 2011, 11:47 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(roshen43 @ Oct 10 2011, 06:13 PM)
hi everyone
question about my viva. my car got this sound klak klak klak when i press  the the pedal when below 40km/h. its from the front engine. anyone know what the problem?
QUOTE(roshen43 @ Oct 11 2011, 11:25 AM)
its 1L auto
it does sound like mine tho. although for my case the sound comes out when i reverse the car especially during the cold start in the morning. i hate to say this, but i notice the sound came from auto gearbox or drive shaft. i do hope it's not major problem tho.

will send the car to Perodua SC for a check while installing my new brake pad next week.
camel90
post Oct 12 2011, 12:24 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(roshen43 @ Oct 11 2011, 12:23 PM)
yes.. this happens to me especially when i rev my pedal during idle.. but the sound will come awhile only
hurm. i think it's different from me then because in my case the sound happens when i engaged gear (D or R, although Revers is more obvious)

QUOTE(rexaze @ Oct 11 2011, 07:44 PM)
hi everyone, i'm new here trying to ask around for recommended shop to buy and fix open pod filter? + cai + heatshield? for  cheaper price? location kl - cheras- sunway - puchong .. my budget only <rm300 is it enough??
I'm pretty sure to install Open Pod air filter is enough with your budget even with heatshield. but to include the Cold Air Intake installation, you might want to increase it a few bucks to 400 perhaps? i'm not sure tho. but, i did come across a few sellers here in LYN that are selling open pod installation. try search for them smile.gif

UPDATED : I found a website stating the estimated price. i don't know it's real or not, but at least we can use it as a rough budget preparation smile.gif

ENGINE POWER IMPROVEMENT KIT
K & N Air Filter Injection Kit HB.AC 85-3002 RM 290.00
K & N Injection Kit Heat-shield HB.HS 85-3005 RM 130.00
Hot Bits Extractor HB.EM 85-600-S RM 200.00
Hot Bits Exhaust System HB.ES 85-600M/600R RM 550.00
APEXi AFCII Super — Airflow Controller AP 25-401-A011 RM 1,200.00

QUOTE(kienping @ Oct 11 2011, 08:01 PM)
need to know how many KM or years to change timing belt for viva 1ooocc ?

timing belt i'm not sure. but, during my 40k service, they changed the aircond belt, power steering belt, and another one i forgot. mine is 1000cc Auto smile.gif.

This post has been edited by camel90: Oct 12 2011, 12:54 PM
camel90
post Oct 12 2011, 09:35 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(kokhing520 @ Oct 12 2011, 08:31 PM)
haha i also duno is normal or not T^T

Added on October 12, 2011, 8:32 pm

i heard that sumitomo this brand also not bad....price cheaper than bendix..
2nd..it has less dust than bendix..

Added on October 12, 2011, 8:34 pm

K & N Air Filter Injection Kit HB.AC 85-3002 RM 290.00
K & N Injection Kit Heat-shield HB.HS 85-3005 RM 130.00
wher can get this 2 stuff in a nice price??

i changed my timing belt during 80000km...
the foreman told me the belt condition is like 7/10..
i don't know about the price. but, i came across a seller selling heat shield and air intake setup from K&N here at LYN Automotive Garage Sale.

80k km? i'll keep that in mind. thanx notworthy.gif

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0468sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:10 PM