What is the right way to bodybuilding?

TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 4 2009, 04:46 PM, updated 17y ago

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

Hi there.... i wanna know what is the right way to bodybuilding? am currently 18 years old and i am 50KG only... i wanna build just some muscle to make me look bigger in size...

What is the right way? I just bought a 3 Pound dumbbell... currently i feel like my left hand doesn't have much strength as my right, coz maybe i am right handed...

I want to know is, what is the appropriate way to build my body without hurting myself...
-Dan
post Jun 4 2009, 04:49 PM

4,382 posts

The right way is to read the stickies and do your research. Read up on technique and good nutrition, a lot. You won't go anywhere if you don't know what you're doing.

Also, you won't experience immediate gains, so determination is in order.

This post has been edited by -Dan: Jun 4 2009, 05:23 PM
zeist
post Jun 4 2009, 08:56 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

What do you mean by without hurting yourself? I suggest you get the gloves with wrist strap. If you know it's heavy, get a spotter.

JonYeap
post Jun 4 2009, 09:01 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

without hurting urself, then u got to know ur weight limit and slowly built from there.
do not be cocky or ego trying to lift weights u cannot lift. leave ur ego aside
some ppl just keep saying he think he can do this and that, but ended up hurting themself.
if u wanna be save, then take a weight appropriate for ur level.
example if u can do 10 reps with that weight for lets say 3 sets? then its fine.
if its too easy, then increase it slightly.
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 4 2009, 11:34 PM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jun 4 2009, 04:49 PM)
The right way is to read the stickies and do your research. Read up on technique and good nutrition, a lot. You won't go anywhere if you don't know what you're doing.

Also, you won't experience immediate gains, so determination is in order.
ok i'll read that up!

QUOTE(zeist @ Jun 4 2009, 08:56 PM)
What do you mean by without hurting yourself? I suggest you get the gloves with wrist strap. If you know it's heavy, get a spotter.
I mean not hurting myself is like what JonYeap said... biggrin.gif i don't need a spotter, i won't be carrying those heavy weight yet

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 4 2009, 09:01 PM)
without hurting urself, then u got to know ur weight limit and slowly built from there.
do not be cocky or ego trying to lift weights u cannot lift. leave ur ego aside
some ppl just keep saying he think he can do this and that, but ended up hurting themself.
if u wanna be save, then take a weight appropriate for ur level.
example if u can do 10 reps with that weight for lets say 3 sets? then its fine.
if its too easy, then increase it slightly.
yeah, thats what the sale person at the gym store told me... i'll try that! thanks... biggrin.gif
dattebayo
post Jun 5 2009, 12:14 AM

5,366 posts

ur college got gym rite or fitness club? if so go join then,
look around some community gyms nearby, the fares are cheaper than fitness center

btw where got 3lbs DB wan, 3kg la

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 5 2009, 12:16 AM
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 01:26 AM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 5 2009, 12:14 AM)
ur college got gym rite or fitness club? if so go join then,
look around some community gyms nearby, the fares are cheaper than fitness center

btw where got 3lbs DB wan, 3kg la
got la... really 3lbs.... my college i dun think so have... i got the DB for RM12 only
Al@n2rock
post Jun 5 2009, 08:58 AM

349 posts

Bro atleast find pair of dumbell 15kg la, its will help a lots to start with happy.gif
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 10:49 AM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(Al@n2rock @ Jun 5 2009, 08:58 AM)
Bro atleast find pair of dumbell 15kg la, its will help a lots to start with happy.gif
lol! 15KG too heavy for me la... i wanna start slow... like i said, i dun wanna hurt myself...
victor_hoh
post Jun 5 2009, 11:09 AM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

the best way to build muscle is to go to a gym. You will not achieve much at home, unless you have good equipments, and a good friend who can teach you. It does not mean that you need to enrol in those commercial fitness center. I myself workout at an old school gym where it costs less than RM60 a month.
-Dan
post Jun 5 2009, 11:24 AM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Jun 5 2009, 10:49 AM)
lol! 15KG too heavy for me la...  i wanna start slow... like i said, i dun wanna hurt myself...
Try getting a pair of adjustable dumbbells that go up to 15kg each. That way, you don't have to keep buying new dumbbells when your strength progresses.
yijzen
post Jun 5 2009, 12:20 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Jun 5 2009, 10:49 AM)
lol! 15KG too heavy for me la...  i wanna start slow... like i said, i dun wanna hurt myself...
bro.. 3kg is really too too light ler... you wont grow anything.. seirously. 3kg is for jogging.. lol.

for a start... do 6 kg.. den after awhile when u get used to it and feel that its easy.. go to 10kg..

TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 12:21 PM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Jun 5 2009, 11:09 AM)
the best way to build muscle is to go to a gym. You will not achieve much at home, unless you have good equipments, and a good friend who can teach you. It does not mean that you need to enrol in those commercial fitness center. I myself workout at an old school gym where it costs less than RM60 a month.
me and my friends usually go to those per entry gym... like 6 bucks per entry

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jun 5 2009, 11:24 AM)
Try getting a pair of adjustable dumbbells that go up to 15kg each. That way, you don't have to keep buying new dumbbells when your strength progresses.
good idea too... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(yijzen @ Jun 5 2009, 12:20 PM)
bro.. 3kg is really too too light ler... you wont grow anything.. seirously. 3kg is for jogging.. lol.

for a start... do 6 kg.. den after awhile when u get used to it and feel that its easy.. go to 10kg..
lol.... okok.. haha
dattebayo
post Jun 5 2009, 05:50 PM

5,366 posts

3 lbs DB, even lighter than 1.5L mineral water, imo it is a waste of money to buy DB that light. DB can train lots of body parts, from arm, back, chest, as long as u know the way.
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 08:35 PM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 5 2009, 05:50 PM)
3 lbs DB, even lighter than 1.5L mineral water, imo it is a waste of money to buy DB that light. DB can train lots of body parts, from arm, back, chest, as long as u know the way.
really?! how, can you teach me... then i go buy another one heavier...
-Dan
post Jun 5 2009, 10:01 PM

4,382 posts

You can look up lots of basic dumbbell exercises on bodybuilding.com
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 10:06 PM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jun 5 2009, 10:01 PM)
You can look up lots of basic dumbbell exercises on bodybuilding.com
THANKS FOR THAT SITE! i hope that site are like those HowTo.com and wikipedia where i can get answers to all my questions... biggrin.gif
-Dan
post Jun 5 2009, 10:09 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(SpIcYjOe @ Jun 5 2009, 10:06 PM)
THANKS FOR THAT SITE! i hope that site are like those HowTo.com and wikipedia where i can get answers to all my questions... biggrin.gif
Most or all of the exercises listed there have either picture or video turorials along with information about the particular exercise.
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 5 2009, 10:44 PM

1,953 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Jun 5 2009, 10:09 PM)
Most or all of the exercises listed there have either picture or video turorials along with information about the particular exercise.
cool great! thanks for that info... i'll close the thread now... when i need mroe help i open it back ok! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SpIcYjOe: Jun 6 2009, 03:14 PM
TSSpIcYjOe
post Jun 6 2009, 03:14 PM

1,953 posts

i got a question... my left arm is weaker then my right... should i do more sets on my left then my right? Or just do the same amount?

0.0187sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:25 AM