Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V27!, The Orange Legion

shootkk
post Jun 5 2009, 08:36 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

"Grey card" is literally that lor... a card that is grey in color. Usage is for you to take a white balance reading off it so your camera can know what color temperature the lighting is.
shootkk
post Jun 5 2009, 05:37 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Jun 5 2009, 05:32 PM)
minolta 50mm md and Minolta MC Rokkor-x cannot autofocus? hmm.gif
Nope! Those are manual focus lenses and you cannot even mount them without an adapter.
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 10:18 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 8 2009, 08:04 AM)
ya, just check some one sell price, its maintain  smile.gif btw, anyone wish to sell the flash, pls pm me  smile.gif

and one question, i notice no matter how i snap the photo with my a300 with kit lens or km 50mm, at 100% view, the picture become rough (rough + blur); this is due to skill of shooting or the camare and lens limit itself? if due to skill, how i can shoot a photo with 100% view but still super sharp? thank in advance!  notworthy.gif
I hope you're not pixel peeping. If you blow up a pic too much, it WILL pixelate no matter what cam you use.

How about you give us a sample shot and we can see what the problem is.
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 01:18 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jun 8 2009, 12:18 PM)
how come the Bower flash's body looks somewhat like Falcon Eyes flash??

please tell me that Falcon Eyes are more reliable than Bower flashes... or any comments from someone who's using it now or before...

I'm choosing Falcon Eyes DPT386-AFZ from the HVL-F42AM coz of the swiveling head... was that the right move??

haven't bought yet... but any advices?? before I do buy it??
Huh? The F42 cannot swivel, meh?
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 02:57 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Braynumb : The F42 is worth every penny! Once you get the hang of it, you'll be hankering for the F58 to keep it company! Hehehehehe! That's how I got 2 flashes now!

When you have 2 flashes, the wireless flash options really opens up! But I'll not poison you anymore ler... Let you enjoy your F42 first!
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 03:16 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

I haven't really done a proper shoot with model with 2 lights just some play, play shots but I have to get home and search if I still have them or not.

You can go to my flickr and view some of my testing product shots done with 2 flashes.

shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 04:21 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Nice one achew!
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 05:10 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

jimlim007 : Wah! If I sell my F42 how will I poison other people to have 2 flashes? Sorry bro, my F42 is not for sale. smile.gif

As for your pic, no wonder lar you say not sharp! If that's the place where you focussed on, then the camera also confused on where to place the focus point exactly. There's the heater lines all across the glass and there, the card behind the glass and water droplets on it's surface and it's translucent... all make for very confusing focussing.

Contrast also low so it's no surprise your pic did not come out as sharp as it could be. I'm sure if you could find more contrasty focus points, your pic will be just fine.
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 06:33 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 8 2009, 05:41 PM)
like that need to shoot on other thing  smile.gif wish to buy a used f42 flash for dummy user like me  sweat.gif you can have 2 F58  tongue.gif
I don't need 2 F58. Not right now at least. Plus I like the combi of one F42 and one F58 so that I can get the LCLY Canikon gearhead users to STFU when I say i can get 2 Sony flashes for the price of one of their SB-900 or 580-EX II and get to play around with wireless flash!!! brows.gif
shootkk
post Jun 8 2009, 11:48 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Ok! Earlier someone asked for some shots done with 2 flashes. I did not set out specifically to do a shoot using 2 flashes to light but here are some quick and dirty test and/or fun shots done with 2 flashes to show you what you can do with 2 flashes:

1. Quick and dirty test/demo done to show how you can light with 2 flashes

Without flash - killed off ambient a bit

Flash diffused with umbrella on camera left

Flash bare on camera right

Combined 2 flashes result

I did not balance for the ambient with the flash and also did not bother too much about the flash power settings but you get the idea, right?

2. Another example of 2 flashes - both not diffused

3. Yet another example

4. And should you want to be a bit on the crazy side you can do something like this:
You can see my f58 in the background firing at the cam!

5. And a failed 3 flash attempt. One flash on each side of model and one at the back. All on the floor - not the best place for a flash but I did not have any stand nor people to hold them at the moment. I think the one behind either did not fire or was aimed wrongly...

shootkk
post Jun 10 2009, 09:24 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

From the looks of it, I guess it's true that Sony is aiming the A230, A330 & A380 at really noobs PnS users.

Cannot set Kelvin WB??!! Cannot quickly choose AF points??!! Darn!

The rumors may be true after all - The A2xx and A3xx is aimed at PnS users while those who are a bit more serious should be looking at the rumoured A5xx series deemed to be the TRUE replacement for the A100. This range will now compete against the D90 range of DLSRs.

The A700 will have a replacement soon and will now compete at a higher price point against the D300 and 50D range of DSLRs. Those of you hoping to get a A700 on the cheap had better get it now before stock runs out!

Which means bad news for me. Sony will not be releasing any budget FF camera this year. Counting the A230,A330,A380 and A500 and A550 PLUS the A700 replacement, Sony will be introducing 6 bodies this year. That's a lot!!

I might even say that the A700 replacement may only be due next year! So the best chance of a budget FF will be end of next year!! But looking on the bright side I can have longer time to save up ler...
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 11:18 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

mechaherc : The F20 may be able to but I would think that it needs at least the A700 if not the A900 body to do so.
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 11:29 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Well, considering the fact that the F58 can only be used as a wireless controller on the A700 (with some limitations) and A900, I would think that if the F20 can be used to trigger the F42 & F58 then it would work on the same principle, no?
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 11:47 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

After the A330 I tend to think that Sony is not gonna implement any new, ground breaking technology onto the entry levels.

The new entry level series seems to specifically target PnS users that would not want to upgrade much - missing the vertical grip and having a GUI being a tell-tale signs here.

If you were even half serious about DSLR and photography I would not even recommend the A230/A330/A380 series. If Sony does come up with a A500 series, I would think that this will the beginner series for serious amateurs. Those who bought the A230/A330/A380 series and wanna upgrade will also look towards the A500 series or even the A700 or its replacement.

So I am pretty confident that the F20 is not designed for the A230/A330/A380 as much as it is targeted towards A900 shooters who misses the pop-up flash on the body.

This post has been edited by shootkk: Jun 11 2009, 11:47 AM
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 02:15 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Jun 11 2009, 02:10 PM)
is it correct to say that the new 50mm 1.8 will give  a wider view on APSC body compare to 50mm 1.7 or 50mm 1.4 on a APSC body?
I wouldn't say wider view. The view will remain the same just that the new lens is optimised for the APS-C sensor. It does have a closer MFD though.
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 02:58 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(hokc77 @ Jun 11 2009, 02:23 PM)
optimised as in.....?

ohhhhhh....ok, thanks Albert
As in the fact that it is a DT lens. This could contribute to the fact that the bokeh seems better and maybe it will not produce as much flaring and/or CA compared to the Minolta F/1.7

Wouldn't know until someone fully tests it out and do a proper comparison.
shootkk
post Jun 11 2009, 05:46 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

creepy : Ditch all the others, you need only one lens.. it's CZ and it's constant aperture and you DO NOT need to change cam to use it..

It's the one and only..

CZ 1635 f/2.8 SSM!!!!
shootkk
post Jun 12 2009, 05:52 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Jun 12 2009, 05:46 PM)
hi guys.. i am fairly new here, can u guys give me any suggestion for what filter I should get for my standard 18-70mm lens. A300 user here
No need filter lah. When I was using the kitlens, I didn't have any filters on. Just be careful abit. Get el-cheapo filter that will degrade your IQ lagi 'jialat'!

shootkk
post Jun 13 2009, 11:11 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jun 13 2009, 10:41 PM)
i think 2470 range would fit my usage more than 70200...i don usually shoot in long range >.<
Have you actually tried using the 24-70? I dunno about you but I find it kinda frustrating having the 24mm on the aps-c. It's not nearly wide enough. 18mm is ok. For aps-c I would love to have 16mm (i.e. 24mm on the FF). If you really do not mind it starting at 24mm then i guess it's ok.
shootkk
post Jun 13 2009, 11:16 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

shofre3ze : That's the roof of the Suria KLCC. I pass by there every Mon-Fri!! Hehehehehehehe!

0.0293sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:20 PM