Starcraft 2 V2, Releasing on 27th of July 2010 :D

evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 01:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 27 2010, 01:24 PM)
I was voting for LZGamer to proceed with the next round in HDH Invitationals but he got knock off by a zerg player. Cheesie play by LZGamer using reaper rush sad.gif on all 3 games, got countered and then GG
reapers are horrible once ur timing are out/ u are scouted...
i'm not surprised...
using the same BO without a smooth transition if the cheese fails...

i'm supporting whitera and nony (whichever makes it to the final)...
nony's phoenix play is awesome!!!

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Apr 27 2010, 01:24 PM)
yesterday i give up my warp rays and high templar, try to against it with lot of stalker and i lose  sweat.gif
opponent got BC and reaper and marine only...
learn from mistake tongue.gif
sentries + HT would have blew up his army easily...
feedback + FF + storms...
evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 03:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Apr 27 2010, 02:13 PM)
Yea .. i agree that LZGamer shud not use the same tactics for the 2nd and 3rd game. Im a faithful Terran supporter n player. Hope at least 1 Terran player makes it.
the only terran left is CathunLuck >.<
evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 04:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 27 2010, 04:35 PM)
the other word for it, during war3 days, would be teching.

Added on April 27, 2010, 4:37 pm

the basic idea on going reaper is that, one should EXPECT to fail, and have contingency plannings to transition either to a classic MMM or a mechanized army

Added on April 27, 2010, 4:38 pm

same tactic is ok if you're doing it well. cuz in the end you're playing a mind game in which, opponent expects you to go reaper, and plays a little defensively, and you may use that against him to your own advantage
if u expect to fail, its not a cheese...
its a standard reaper BO with a transition...
a cheese > anything if it works/ pay off...
u gotta understand when u cheese n fail, u are already behind in the game...
that's y some ppl bring scv during cheese as well...
evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 06:21 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 27 2010, 06:10 PM)
reapers arent much of a tech considering its tier 1. you fail or succeed with it also, moving onwards to MMM isnt hard as you already have the barracks and all you need is a fac > starport for medivac

considering how fragile reapers can be, one musnt invest everything in them and expect to win games solely with them. hence my post earlier. once you have a good transition, so long you took out AT LEAST an equalvalent numbers of workers along with ur reapers, you're pretty much a head of the game already
true they are T1 but u forgot one thing...
for reapers to be effective, they have to be fast (around 10racks 11gas) which put u behind the worker count (minerals on buildings instead of quick SCV and SCV mining gas to be used on ur reapers) thus ur economy...
u gotta hope ur reaper does more than how ur investment...
having a reaper to kill a probe -> bad investment as u are not crippling his economy at all...
u can transition into MMMs but u have already lost so much momentum that ur opponent at this point (need to start building rax when ur resources was used for the first 2-3 reapers) could out macro u and steamroll you...
the whole reaper opening is too easy to counter now once they have scouted u...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 27 2010, 06:39 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 06:52 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Apr 27 2010, 06:41 PM)
whats your new nick and id?
haven login yet since patch...
bz wit work and my new place under renovation so no net yet >.<
evofantasy
post Apr 27 2010, 07:14 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 27 2010, 07:02 PM)
eh worker count same la, since i dont stop building them until racks done -> orbital

after orbital continue build a few but i mainly sustain my min from MULE, typically ill have 1 mule, then the next 50 is when i comsat -> atk
most of the time though ill atk before comsat cuz cant wait, be it and impending rush or my allies (or myself) being scouted/harassed too

bottom line is that reaper investment wont be a problem so long you can trade them off for workers (assumingly you dont fully success/fail and have them wiped) and transition to MMM.

IF your opponent is getting BO that hardcounters MMM (which you are kinda at fault for not taking him out instead) then you will lose out on your reaper investment. think of colossus or heavy siege tanks/mutalisks etc etc
do note, hard counter to MMM are tier 2 ish, so you have ample of time for your reapers to prevent it
means that ur reapers should be out typically slower...
mine sharing the BO?
cause from wut u have been saying, it feels ur reapers come out a little too slow...
evofantasy
post Apr 28 2010, 09:16 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 27 2010, 07:27 PM)
umm, not really that slow also, my reaper army strength is about equalvalent to someone zergling/zealot/marine rush. (of cuz in pure size count its lesser, however the strength should be about the same since i can kite zealot/zerling, and reapers generally own marines)

around 10 rax, and 11 gas as you said, later pop count i didnt really count and more towards using my instincts already lol. but the idea is orbital the moment i can, tech lab moment once rax done, and while im doing tech lab, 2nd rax is on the way, while im getting first reaper out i have 3rd rax being built, about 2nd reaper i get nitro boost researched, upon 4ish reaper boost is done, 2nd rax getting tech lab, and about 5-6 reaper comsat is about done too and i make my way to the enemy with rally on reaper
how could u have enuff resources to do all that including the orbital + supply depot...
and u even got nitro boost O.o
i'll give it a try...

if i'm toss, i usually go for a 1gate build to come up wit earlier stalkers/ sentry (chrono-ed)...
usually
8 pylon
10 gate
12 gas
13 robo (start saving chrono)
move 3 workers to gas
then from there onwards, depends on wut i've scouted my opponent to do...
and i usually wall in around my mineral line (unless some maps)

if i'm zerg, i usually go for a 13pool with around 6 zerglings out as zerglings on creep = win
evofantasy
post Apr 28 2010, 10:48 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 28 2010, 09:39 AM)
admittedly my reaper will be slightly slower than someone whos determined to do a fast reaper rush (such as 7-8 rax then gas for example, do note tech lab takes time and 9-10 rax will slow ur first reaper considerably) however, i dont put all my hopes on reapers and id rather get em out slightly slower and have a solid econ for transition. also again, its just the first reaper being slower, having a solid econ means i can afford 3 rax pumping out reapers and once they up, i can catch up to say, someone whos doing a pure reaper rush.

for toss im usually 8-9 pylon, for the early gas right after gate, and i chrono the hell out of my probes while saving just 1 for the gate on the first stalker.

zerg i typically go 11-12 pool with early gass for speedlings, zerglings without speed upgrade is kinda, no fun at all rofl. then id typically quick lair for early hydras. with zerglings still in play for harassment/flanking
jz that when ur reapers actually gets to ur target, he would have defenses up (unless he fast expand)...
for me to do that, i would rather skip the reapers and go MMMs/ mech...

i usually use 1 chrono for 2 probes for the first 4/6 probes depending on my build...

i go lair relatively slow...
i invest in roaches (vs toss)/ banelings (vs terrans)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 28 2010, 10:50 AM
evofantasy
post Apr 28 2010, 11:42 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 28 2010, 11:36 AM)
if he got defenses he would be lacking in army, which my transition will handle it, and if hes just building his regular army, my reaper army is actually matchable against his, although i wont engage his army directly. and lets face it, typically most people have their army rallied at their ramp, NOT at the workers tongue.gif

if they do rally at the workers for some reason, id just skip him and go to his ally, and/or atk his buildings at the ramp (sadly doesnt apply to zerg, however, my reapers will be able to rape his zerglings tongue.gif) like chewing off a pylon and slow his army down, or terran cap his supply by taking out the SD

i use 2x chrono back to back on the 11th probe once 1st pylon is done heh
that helps immersely on my econ and i can sustain a 2gateway stalker build, and once warp gate is done id have a 3rd gateway on the way for a 3 stalker warp build.

for zerg, my strat tends to be a lil static, lings > hydras/mutas pretty much lol
by defense i mean army for defending...
rarely people go for static defense unless u are a zerg with the spine crawlers (tower defense LOL)...
i have my army near my mineral line >.<
mineral wall-in lol...

zerglings on creep = surround on reapers if he knows wut he is doing...

anyways i dun 2v2 so my perspective is pretty much from 1v1...

@ deimos
i haven login since patching so i'm nt sure...
my free time = WoW >.<

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 28 2010, 11:44 AM
evofantasy
post Apr 28 2010, 01:04 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 28 2010, 12:04 PM)
zergling on creep can barely match up against nitro boosted reapers so long the guy with the reaper didnt back out/kite too late. speedlings with creep on the other hand is a different story, however, *most* people dont speedling right off the bat (i do though lol)

and having army to mineral line is typically detrimental because 1) (assuming ur opponent is a terran) there wont be reaper rush all the damn time 2) you waste off your ramp high ground + choke point advantage should you get rushed instead like a standard zergling/zealot/marine rush
well if u are going early zerglings/ banelings - speed upgrade is a must...
even when u are going zergling/muta (aka mutalings) BO...

actually jinro(tl.frozenarbiter) did explore the concept of walling at ramp vs walling at ur mineral over at the TL forum...
and i've agreed with his approach of walling the mineral line especially if u are a protoss...

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Apr 28 2010, 12:49 PM)
Since you are not going to play ladder would you mind sharing the acc?
even though i'm nt playing much these few days, cant really share my account wit u cause my WoW account is tied to my Bnet account >.<
evofantasy
post May 1 2010, 02:17 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

1. fujkenasai | megazero.axelay
2. Ash | Andrik.duskbin
3. evofantasy | aeco.evofantasy
4. C_Sagi | konata.izumi
5. fall3n | Akira.loonie
6. melvintcs | MelT.empty
7. DeanKueh | MeDiX.Deankueh
8. Deimos Tel`Arin | DeimosTA.telarin
9. gtboy2 | loric.yau
10. SmileyJeff | Smiley.jeff
11. Quazacolt | Quazacolt.quazacolt
12. aftersteps | aftersteps.john
13. XenoFr3ak | Alucard.crazy
14. taeru | walrusMY.walrusMY
15. BlueBerry | Simplicity.gosu
16. DuskBin.Marksman | Marksman.kng
17. jdreamer | Dreamer.jdreamer

updated new nick
evofantasy
post May 2 2010, 01:15 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QQ is the emoticon for crying...
commonly used in MMORPGs
evofantasy
post May 3 2010, 10:17 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

had some fun games wit fujin last nite...
random into zerg -> mass roach (in fact all i build is roaches despite my 5 hatcheries lol)...
was fun rolling ppl with roaches for once...
evofantasy
post May 3 2010, 11:00 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ProtossSC @ May 3 2010, 10:38 AM)
Sorry Xeno. Not really sure how to do the manual patch now and kinda lazy to re patch mine manually ..  n not even sure if it might even work. lol

Who wana be my protoss mentor ? biggrin.gif
wut u wanna know bout toss >.<
evofantasy
post May 3 2010, 10:15 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ProtossSC @ May 3 2010, 06:03 PM)
Everything I need to win biggrin.gif
ahha .. well just need someone to train with in future and improve on protoss
try to youtube: whiteRa, NonY and Nazgul
these 3 are my favorite protoss player, u would learn a lot from watching their games (especially is day[9] is commenting)
evofantasy
post May 4 2010, 11:13 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

1v1 = toss
2v2 = random
evofantasy
post May 4 2010, 12:26 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 4 2010, 11:50 AM)
1. fujkenasai | megazero.axelay | Random
2. Ash | Ash.duskbin
3. evofantasy | aeco.evofantasy | user posted image
4. C_Sagi | konata.izumi
5. fall3n | Akira.loonie
6. melvintcs | MelT.empty
7. DeanKueh | MeDiX.Deankueh
8. Deimos Tel`Arin | DeimosTA.telarin
9. gtboy2 | loric.yau
10. SmileyJeff | Smiley.jeff
11. Quazacolt | Quazacolt.quazacolt
12. aftersteps | aftersteps.john