Guitar Hero 5, 4x The fun

TSblacktrix
post Jun 1 2009, 07:41 AM, updated 17y ago

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Ok, at first I wasn't excited about the set list of Guitar Hero 5....... Until I saw the bands that are going to be in the game:

Band Of Horses
Bush
Darkest Hour
Blur
Kiss
Blink-182
Iron Maiden
Wild Cherry
Muse
The White Stripes
Jimmy Eat World
Bob Dylan
Gorillaz
Beastie Boys
The Raconteurs
Coldplay
Duran Duran
Tom Petty
Nirvana
Public Enemy Featuring Zakk Wylde
Queens Of The Stone Age
The Sword
AFI
Rush
Doors Down
Smashing Pumpkins
David Bowie
Mötley Crüe
Attack! Attack!
Dire Straits
Johnny Cash
The Derek Trucks Band
Sublime
Wolfmother
Rammstein
Beck
Garbage
Billy Squier
My Morning Jacket
Kaiser Chiefs
Brand New
Santana
Bon Jovi
Weezer
Billy Idol
Elliott Smith
A Perfect Circle
Sonic Youth
Kings Of Leon
The Bronx
Queen & David Bowie
Screaming Trees
The Killers
Vampire Weekend
TV On The Radio
John Mellencamp
Scars On Broadway
The Rolling Stones
Stevie Wonder
Face to Face
Peter Frampton
No Doubt
Iggy Pop
Spacehog
Thin Lizzy
The Police
Children of Bodom
Elton John
Arctic Monkeys
Thrice
Rose Hill Drive
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers
Deep Purple
Darker My Love
Jeff Beck
Love and Rockets
The Duke Spirit
Sunny Day Real Estate
King Crimson
T. Rex
Gov't Mule
Eagles Of Death Metal
Grand Funk Railroad
Megadeth

RAMMSTEIN? CHILDREN OF BODOM? IRON MAIDEN? MEGADETH? JEFF BECK? A PERFECT CIRCLE?

Hells yeah!!!!!!!

The rest of the info:

Guitar Hero 5 is a music video game and the fifth main entry in the Guitar Hero series. The game will be developed by Neversoft and published by RedOctane and Activision. It is expected to be released on September 1, 2009.

Similar to the preceding title, Guitar Hero World Tour, Guitar Hero 5 is geared towards playing in a four-person band experience, including lead and bass guitar, drums, and vocals. New features have been added to the game from World Tour.

Gameplay in Guitar Hero 5 will be similar to that from World Tour. However, this version of the game will allow up to four players to any combination of instruments, including multiples of the same type. Two new features have been announced for the game. The first is a "Party Play" mode, which allows for players to jump in into a band or drop out even in the middle of a song, and switch instruments or difficulty levels while playing. The second feature is a "RockFest" mode, which can be played by four players locally or eight online, with several sub-modes that influence how the game is played. For example, in the "Momentum" mode, the game adjusts the difficulty of the note track based on how well the player is playing, with more points rewarded by staying at the "Expert" difficulty. Other sub-modes of RockFest include "Elimination" in which the worst player is dropped periodically, "Perfectionist" where only certain sections of a song count towards points, "Do-or-Die" which forces a player to wait a brief time if they miss a note, and "Streakers" that rewards the player for long strings of consecutive notes. A new play mechanic called "Band Moments" will require all members of the band to play sections of a song successfully to gain rewards, both in scoring and visual effects on screen. The Band Revival meter will appear when a player fails out of the song, requiring the other band members to play well as a group together in order to bring the failed player back into the game.

The Music Studio feature, which allows players to create their own songs and distribute them through the "GHTunes" music service will also be improved.
defaultname365
post Jun 1 2009, 07:49 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Yup. GH5 isn't GH4 : Etc. etc., but an actual new GH ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jun 1 2009, 07:51 AM
dark lenanza
post Jun 1 2009, 07:50 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

children of bodom
definately the winner
rclxms.gif
trogdor1oh1
post Jun 1 2009, 09:18 AM

101 posts

Oh God,they're totally milking the series.
I mean really.

Upcoming games are as follows:
Guitar Hero Smash Hits
Guitar Hero Van Halen
Guitar Hero 5
Band Hero >_<
DJ Hero

Never have I seen so many games from the same franchise be released at the same time,except for(I think) Singstar.
gnome
post Jun 1 2009, 09:31 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Jun 1 2009, 09:18 AM)
Oh God,they're totally milking the series.
The more they milking the series, the faster public will dislike them (bored).

So i'd say just bring it on!
Kyoyagami
post Jun 1 2009, 09:55 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

wow, having bodom is nice. and megadeth coming back to the series is also good. Or maybe i've just missed playing GH too much. laugh.gif
Kidicarus
post Jun 1 2009, 10:31 AM

727 posts

Heh, saw the news a few days back. Was deliberating starting the GH5 thread but then i realised at the same time it's probably better to start a comprehensive plastic mat rock thread... and then apathy set in..

Also note, it's being released a week before Rock Band: Beatles which is coming out on 9.9.09. Hopefully it's not too rushed.

I like some of the game modes like "momentum" which is ideal for a journeyman like myself. Although isn't band moments and reviving band members ripped off from rock band?

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Jun 1 2009, 03:20 PM
TSblacktrix
post Jun 1 2009, 10:59 AM

13,063 posts

I might have to buy another guitar, because the one from World Tour sucks balls.
Hopefully, they made some better modifications to it.
Kidicarus
post Jun 1 2009, 11:25 AM

727 posts

If it's looks, the Rickenbacker 325 and Gretsch Duo Jet guitar replicas from rock band beatles look tastefully done tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Jun 1 2009, 11:53 AM

13,063 posts

Agreed, but I'm so used to the touch slider, I can hardly play without it.
I'm a double handed tapping kind of guy.....
technophile
post Jun 1 2009, 02:50 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

aiyo. so many good bands are in this one.
was thinking of skipping this and get Greatest Hits.
but now, after looking at the band list i think i will have a hard time choosing between both..

sad.gif
trogdor1oh1
post Jun 1 2009, 06:33 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 1 2009, 11:59 AM)
I might have to buy another guitar, because the one from World Tour sucks balls.
Hopefully, they made some better modifications to it.
Go on eBay and look for a Wired Les Paul,the ones they use for promos at game shops.
I tried one myself,they're really great.
TSblacktrix
post Jun 1 2009, 10:20 PM

13,063 posts

But but but no Touch strip.......... and I hate wires!!!!!!!
trogdor1oh1
post Jun 1 2009, 10:32 PM

101 posts

Touch strip r ghey,it's so out of the way and inaccurate.No FCs if you use the touch strip tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Jun 3 2009, 11:07 PM

13,063 posts

Pfft.... Dunno how to use, say lah dunno how to use. Don't need to run it down tongue.gif
Kidicarus
post Jun 4 2009, 02:30 AM

727 posts

After watching the trailers for the Beatles: Rock Band, i'm not that excited about guitar hero 5 anymore sad.gif
TSblacktrix
post Jun 4 2009, 10:09 AM

13,063 posts

I agree. There's not really much new features in GH5 for me to get excited about. I'm just excited that Bodom and Rammstein is in there!

Added on June 4, 2009, 11:11 amGuitar Hero 5 Controller:

Looks the same from the outside, but the innards are now upgraded.
Digital Touchstrip now, instead of the old analog one. Great!!!!!!!!!

Looks like I'll be upgrading then!

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Jun 4 2009, 11:13 AM
trogdor1oh1
post Jun 4 2009, 09:20 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jun 4 2009, 11:09 AM)
I agree. There's not really much new features in GH5 for me to get excited about. I'm just excited that Bodom and Rammstein is in there!

Added on June 4, 2009, 11:11 amGuitar Hero 5 Controller:

Looks the same from the outside, but the innards are now upgraded.
Digital Touchstrip now, instead of the old analog one. Great!!!!!!!!!

Looks like I'll be upgrading then!
I swear,if the frets are still too tight and tough,I will go over and murder them.
Yesterday,my WT guitar stopped downstrumming.
Now I have a broken GH drum set,and a broken GHWT guitar!

Proves that RB set+WT game is a better buy!
TSblacktrix
post Jun 5 2009, 09:34 AM

13,063 posts

I really didn't like the Rock Band guitar. The strum bar was too loose, the buttons wern't "meshy" enough, and it just didn't feel right.
Even with all it's flaws, I still think the GH guitars are the far superior ones.

Now if they can only fit the new, Digital Neck with the Les Paul controller.......
Kidicarus
post Jun 5 2009, 10:34 AM

727 posts

I personally prefer the GHWT guitar over the RB1 wired fender.

Maybe it's because I started on the WT but i prefer the feedback i get from the clicks to tell me if i'm strumming to rhythm. The knob for the xbox button also makes more sense than the dpad on the RB1 guitar which seems to be upside down for some reason.. The button for star power seems ideally placed as you'd use the base of your palm for muting, although that seems counter intuitive to tilting for star power.

The only problem with the GHWT guitar is that the ghey touch strip doesn't work in RB1 (OK maybe it's not a problem since it's ghey). Either way, both guitars aren't helping me complete Molly Hatchet - Flirting with Disaster.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1010sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:33 PM