QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ May 30 2009, 12:07 AM)
Officially you are not required to change your name even if you converted to muslim. Officially speaking la.Added on April 18, 2010, 6:38 pmhmmm very interesting topic.
let me attempt this.
1) Yes it is true most chinese families will not agree to let their daughters marry a malay.
It is the acceptance that matters. If the family is a modern, liberal family then it really don't matter.
But Malay boy's family must also accept. Similarly to chinese girl's family.
2) Chinese girl converting to muslim does not require a name change. Though they have the option to change.
3) Issue is once a muslim, difficult to convert back should the relationship go sour.
4) Kids from the marriage, will be become baba & nyonya - isn't it? Not malay.
No matter what the facts and issues, everything will not matter... really.
These facts remain:
a) Do you love the girl? For who she is, and not what race, culture or religion?
b) Are you attracted to her just because she is chinese? Or she is more difficult to obtain - you feel challenged is it? It works the same as a Chinese boy who falls for Malay girl, or any race for that matter.
c) Does she feel the same way towards you as a person?
d) Are you both willing to go through tremendous challenges for this relationship? Because any kind of Inter-racial relationship will have challenges.
We are all humans. We all share similar feelings for ones we love. That is all that matters.
Life is too short. Watch Talentime the movie, and watch the ending... what happened? People make choices.
This post has been edited by adamantium75: Apr 18 2010, 06:38 PM
Apr 18 2010, 06:27 PM

0.0149sec