9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

University Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) thread v2, UNITEN Generates Professionals

exentric_nova
post Jul 2 2009, 12:59 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

eh haha confused already with the so many freshies lately lol
exentric_nova
post Jul 2 2009, 05:46 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(jah_skido @ Jul 2 2009, 04:23 PM)
Hi there, new international student reporting in (Bach Eng Electrical & Electronics) from Fiji staying in C1 Cendekiawan..omg ORIENTATION WEEK is such a BORE.....just too many childish games IMHO,cheering and alot of WAITING...............ZZZZZzzzzz..But i guess everyone had to go thru that and it's only for a WEEK...THe longest week of ma live....hahahahaha

Newayz got a few questions??

1.> I wanna get ma own INTERNET in my apartment?? Any suggestions?? I was looking at P1 wimax but i dont think their coverage reaches here..

2.> Was wondering where can i get TEXTBOOKS..was wanting to do some preview reading...also was wondering if anyone is selling any secondhand textbooks here??

All in all enjoying ma tym at UNITEN so far...loving facilities...just one question...WHERE all the chicks at???? a little motivation will go a LONG WAY towards acheiving academic excellence
Yes, very boring indeed. All those child game which I passionately hate. Some people like em (facis), some hate em.

1. Your room already have internet though the port is outside. Deal with your housemate on sharing those ports. Cendi's residents all have to share those 2 ports outside of their room. At the study table there.

2. 1st hand can just buy from koperasi there at the library. Its not at the library building by the way. Its right beside the cafe where the atm building is. Second hand, just keep a look out on those notice board. Sometime people advert there selling 2nd hand books. Other ways later next week I think, go to aibob forum. Sometime people also sell there.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 2 2009, 05:50 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 2 2009, 08:01 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(bobchanz @ Jul 2 2009, 07:07 PM)
1. it's hard to get your own internet from outside...even 3G is hard to get at some place...
I'm heard that UNITEN have policies that not allowed outside internet provider...

2. will have some seniors will sell their old books...what type of book do you want?
No outside provider in term of wired connection like from TMNet or Jaring. UNITEN is on TIME I think. Wireless, go ahead. If a student buys, they can't stop you. Its our right to buy something and use it wherever we want. But as far as availability goes, only 3G is available. P1 and AMAX both doesn't cover UNITEN. Digi and Maxis not sure bout their 3G coverage but I know Celcom does. But as how good is the reception, I have no idea.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 2 2009, 08:02 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 3 2009, 12:07 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(jah_skido @ Jul 2 2009, 08:39 PM)
THanks for your promt replies...very informative and useful....biggrin.gif

Well i am taking Bach Eng (Electrical & Electronics) with these 5 courses in the 1st semester
CSEB114 - Principles of Programming for Engineers
EEEB111 - Electrical/Electronics Lab
EEEB113 - Circuits Analysis I
MATB113 - Advanced Calculus
MATB143 - Differential Equations

I guess the txtbooks for the subjects but i am predominantly interested in the ENGINEERING ones...dont know name of txtbooks going to find out during 1st week of lectures(nxt week monday).But the figure the prescribed txtbook wont DIFFER much from last yr or so....

As for the INTERNET..i am aware of the internet available in the apartment and that is the one i am using rite....but i would like to also get an external one just for myself....As i am aware that u have to connect thru PROXY in UNITEN and some actions/sites are RESTRICTED...esp downloading TORRENTS..and playing online games...same java app games arent WORKING...idk if i'm not doing it RITE or if it is indeed restricted...Regardless ur input would be GREATLY appreciated
Looking for WIRELESS i guess.....something i connect to with my laptop/pc..coz wanna dl TORRENTS....looking for UNLIMITED downloads and at least 1mbps...willing to pay for it.Can anyone suggest a company or website for me to browse...Coz all the internet packages here look FOREIGN to me...hoping for some LOCAL insight biggrin.gif:D:D

Terima Kasih....lol..p.s kasih means SOMETHING totally DIFFERENT in my language..so if u hear a FIJIAN laughing when someone says it..u'll know why..biggrin.gif
Haha yeah those proxy can be annoying but pretty much all University is like that.

For wireless, only 3G is available in the area of UNITEN. But as far as I know, 3G has fair usage policy. Exceed certain amount, good luck with the slow speeds. Only AMAX I know that is unlimited but not even anywhere near UNITEN.
exentric_nova
post Jul 3 2009, 12:41 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Oh haha sorry misunderstood it a little. But yeah, UNITEN does not allow outside company 'taking advantage' of the students. And that includes everything not just Internet.

Even LAN Game there was once this meeting with HEP, can't even invite students from other uni. Only want UNITEN and UNITEN only. Making it sound like UNITEN have everything and everything they have is the best and enough for anything student wants or organized.

Only way I know off for a better internet experience (torrenting for example), tunneling is the only way.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 3 2009, 12:42 AM
exentric_nova
post Jul 3 2009, 01:02 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(elite87 @ Jul 3 2009, 12:55 PM)
hye, IT n CS ppl dun come out as same ppl....

IT is nt abt programming... CS(SE ) is more abt programming...

Those specializing in IT will doin different thing.. n the IT market is different compared to CS students...

dun talk if u duno.. survey 1st.....
Very true. Graduates can cross fields onto another, but what they teach and objective of each course is different.

Like myself, am a Graphic Student but looking for a web programmer position even though I was taught a lot of multimedia stuff and very little system stuff.

What you do after graduating is up to you, but each course has different objective. Don't generalize them and say they produce the same type of graduates

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 3 2009, 01:04 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 3 2009, 06:29 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Can't log in into Facebook and Blogger?

On Proxy Settings, did you make sure to tick 'Use this proxy server for all protocols'?

As far as I know, UNITEN does not block Blogger and facebook

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 3 2009, 06:30 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 4 2009, 02:20 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 4 2009, 01:00 AM)
aaa apa ini???u nak stay in cendi ka or u nak amanah????wch one lol confuse d....
exactly my thoughts

might wanna clear up your statement faizfaz nod.gif
exentric_nova
post Jul 5 2009, 10:11 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

don't think there's any near UNITEN
exentric_nova
post Jul 6 2009, 10:25 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(akupunye @ Jul 6 2009, 01:19 AM)
why i cant use YM and MSN live??
how to configure??
need help here.
YM there is 2 ways of connecting

1. No need set proxy. Just straight connect. But during the day, from 7AM till 6PM, won't be able to connect. ITMS will switch off YM's dedicated port.
2. Set proxy. Can online anytime in the day but might be not as stable.

MSN just set proxy in Internet Options. You should be able to connect afterward. IF you're lucky that is. MSN can be really tough to connect in UNITEN.

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Jul 6 2009, 09:22 AM)
Anyone? I want to print my PTPTN application details but I did not bring my printer to university with me. Is there any place in UNITEN where I can use the computer and print from there?
Thanks  biggrin.gif
For printing, there's a printing at CoIT. 20 sen per black n white though.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 6 2009, 10:26 AM
exentric_nova
post Jul 9 2009, 10:13 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

haha that's the usual. Usually its the freshies asking questions making this thread alive, otherwise its pretty much dead lol.
exentric_nova
post Jul 10 2009, 12:51 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

You can't get external broadband unless going Wireless (3G/WiMax).

But yeah, UNITEN's internet has been sucky for quite some time. They upgraded like 2 years ago, but recent change to 24/7 internet just makes congestion a WHOLE LOT worse. Better make a protest or sumthing to ITMS. They seriously need to upgrade those lines.
exentric_nova
post Jul 10 2009, 08:53 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Rule-wise, pet aren't allowed. But I've seen a few people bringing their pets. From the rodent type to snakes.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 10 2009, 08:55 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 10 2009, 10:22 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(kennykoo66 @ Jul 10 2009, 09:45 PM)
ohmy.gif ade org bawak ular???
wher?? amanah or cendi??
dats mean i can curik2 bring lah whistling.gif
Cendi. But he lost the snake or sumthing lol. Dunno bout this sem though.

anyway as for curik2, yeah everything also can curik2 bring. But rules are rules. Be sure not to get caught~

exentric_nova
post Jul 11 2009, 12:25 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Jul 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
ya right 1st u say this then u say this:
apa ini???suka then complain...aka mmg x puas hati la tuh...apa da... doh.gif
haha lek ar pakcik padil. UNITEN biase la. ade part manyak bagus, ada part adeyh, saket palaaaaa~
exentric_nova
post Jul 11 2009, 10:43 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Jul 11 2009, 10:24 AM)
Hehe I actually plan to rear small tortoises here in Ilmu but haven't bought them. Kinda worried I'll get caught. Do they conduct spot checks on the apartments?
Haha what's the point asking me that. I'm just an ex-student.

As I said, rule-wise, any kind of animal is not allowed. If you want to bring 'em, be it for company or rearing, its all illegally or curik2 as people have it done it before.

My advice is, make sure you have a plan of hiding 'em if there is a spot-check. Since it is small tortoise, hiding it would be easier. As per my last spot-check in Amanah, they don't look in the wardrobe. Not sure about women's apartment though.

Go ahead if you want to bring em. But plan well and know the risk. I don't think you'll get kicked or the animal getting confiscated but you might get a fine for it.`

exentric_nova
post Jul 11 2009, 12:56 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(kennykoo66 @ Jul 11 2009, 10:51 AM)
doh.gif saman doh.gif
i tot onli singapore is a fine city.....
now UNITEN become a fine U...
aiyak.....
any senior or ex-unitenian bring lizard type pet??
haha yes they'll fine for every mistake they can think off. Parking at a wrong place (non-parking lot, staff lot), not wearing ID (threat were given out but never heard anyone getting fine for it), not wearing helmet, dirty room, and god knows what else.

Some does seem very ridiculous like not wearing ID but for other things all I can say to the victim is 'padan muka'. Things like helmet and illegal parking.
exentric_nova
post Jul 13 2009, 03:02 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Jul 13 2009, 12:36 PM)
Hi people.
Does anyone know the most economical way of going to the post office, for those who don't have transport?
I have to post something urgent and the only way I know now is taking a taxi to the nearest post office, and come back using the taxi, which will cost me a lot. And the nearest post office is in UPM right?

Can any seniors here help me?
I'm assuming you're posting something? Normal post or PosLaju?
exentric_nova
post Jul 13 2009, 07:41 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(joe_89 @ Jul 13 2009, 06:38 PM)
Posting postal order. Normal post or Poslaju are fine with me.
I didn't know Uniten has a posting system. Is it reliable? I haven't been impressed at all with the staff and their services here so far. You mean they actually post stuff for us? Like if I wanna post sth to Damansara, they'd do it?
Well it is the only available post service in UNITEN. I'm sure they can't fail even at posting stuff.

Anyway its not they'll post it for you. I believe its just like any postbox. Postmen will come daily and pick those mails. The reason I asked just now is that normal mail is fine and all, but not sure if they'll do PosLaju.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jul 13 2009, 07:41 PM
exentric_nova
post Jul 22 2009, 01:04 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jul 22 2009, 12:57 AM)
Hullo guys just dropping by. Ex unitenian just grad last year. Now working at Sony Bangi. August is convo =.=
me too~
but damn I bought wrong color for my baju melayu. suppose to be black, I bought red =_=

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:25 PM