Travel New Zealand, Attractions, hotels & General

fapman
post Feb 7 2018, 04:47 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 7 2018, 10:02 AM)
Hi all..
I will arrive at auckland airport in the evening in September 2018, then rent a car at 6pm. I want to go to hobbiton the next day. So, should I stay at nearby airport or continue drive at night and find accomodation somewhere near matamata?

Also, in the same day, I need to get back to airport by 6pm also because I got an 8pm flight to christchurch.  So, after finish the hobbiton tour, what else can I visit in auckland within that short period of time? Can you suggest a good place to visit while having enough time to arrive to airport by 6pm?

I would suggest to find accommodation in Hamilton.
U can easily find airbnb overthere & it's less than an hour to Matamata.
newbie223
post Feb 12 2018, 11:26 AM

What is a cheap/reliable data sim to get if travelling in north island for ~10days? any recommendation?

I googled and found 3 providers - Spark, Vodafone, 2degrees
jam_lennon
post Feb 13 2018, 06:24 PM

4,156 posts

Hi all..
I will arrive at auckland airport in the evening in September 2018, then rent a car at 6pm. I want to go to hobbiton the next day. So, should I stay at nearby airport or continue drive at night and find accomodation somewhere near matamata?

Also, in the same day, I need to get back to airport by 6pm also because I got an 8pm flight to christchurch.  So, after finish the hobbiton tour, what else can I visit in auckland within that short period of time? Can you suggest a good place to visit while having enough time to arrive to airport by 6pm?

I guess you're prolly taking AA, i flew with AA to auckland just earlier this year. it is very tire, crumple at the small seat
it is 2hrs drive from auckland to Matamata, please make sure you book the tour ticket via online, do not try ur luck by walking in

September is Winter, hence i would not recommend drive at night.

btw i dun think u have extra time for next activities if you driving at 9am
driving back & forward from Auckland to Hobbiton = 4hrs
Hobbiton tour = 2hrs
lunch + travel = around 1.5 hrs

if you depart at 9am and follow my schedule you will reach back to Auckland by 4:30pm. And please spare about half to 1 hr for driving (toilet break etc) hence the "optimist" you can reach Auckland is 5:30
so basically that leave you no room for extra activities. unless you depart at 8am, which mean you gotta wake up at 7:30am

i not sure how energetic u r, i myself felt very exhausted (i am 39 y.o) due to the long haul flight. the next day i hardly can wake up at 7am, even i went to the bed by 11pm.

the extra activity i can recommend is Bluespring, half an hour further drive from Hobbitton, the scenary is very nice, and pls spare about 45-60mins (return walking trip from bluespring to leslie car park is about 20mins)
some pic of blue spring

oh last, i dont think Hobbiton movie set is worth that $79.90 unless you're really really big fans of LOTR

This post has been edited by jam_lennon: Feb 13 2018, 06:51 PM
jam_lennon
post Feb 16 2018, 11:47 AM

4,156 posts

Hi all..

oh ya u can try Litter High Eatery at Christchurch, it is like 1-2km away from Cardboard Cathedral
the place like our food court, and try to reach early, aim for their burger (Beacon Brother) and pizza (BASE woodfired pizza) (next to each other)
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 19 2018, 04:27 PM

216 posts

Hey guys, I have the new Malaysian Driving License(bilingual) as per sample below;-

Do I need to get it translated or am I fine to drive and rent a car in New Zealand with just this license and no additional documents?
fapman
post Feb 19 2018, 04:40 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 19 2018, 04:27 PM)
Hey guys, I have the new Malaysian Driving License(bilingual) as per sample below;-

Do I need to get it translated or am I fine to drive and rent a car in New Zealand with just this license and no additional documents?
I only use the driving license like in your picture above as long as it is bilingual or in English.
Not sure if the requirement has change but I went to NZ in May last year.
So, this should be good enough I think.
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 20 2018, 09:26 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Feb 19 2018, 04:40 PM)
I only use the driving license like in your picture above as long as it is bilingual or in English.
Not sure if the requirement has change but I went to NZ in May last year.
So, this should be good enough I think.
I hope so I asked a friend whom went he said is fine too.
I am going there soon..super excited...
moarlewts
post Feb 21 2018, 09:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 19 2018, 04:27 PM)

You're fine, I went with that kinda license two years ago and it's fine.
fapman
post Feb 21 2018, 10:01 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 20 2018, 09:26 AM)
I hope so I asked a friend whom went he said is fine too.
I am going there soon..super excited...
Enjoy! Your itinerary covers North or South Island or both?
MaxyPower
post Feb 22 2018, 05:38 PM

70 posts

you don't need an international driving license as a tourist
New Zealand is a very beautiful country, have a nice trip
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 23 2018, 09:34 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Feb 21 2018, 10:01 PM)
Enjoy! Your itinerary covers North or South Island or both?
Going north and south for 3 weeks.
fapman
post Feb 23 2018, 10:13 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 23 2018, 09:34 AM)
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
U gonna love NZ for sure especially South Island..
Zoopdiidoo
post Feb 23 2018, 10:28 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Feb 23 2018, 10:13 AM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
U gonna love NZ for sure especially South Island..
Yes!!!....I am imagining a less expensive Interlaken-esque, Switzerland
jam_lennon
post Mar 4 2018, 03:56 PM

4,156 posts

QUOTE(Zoopdiidoo @ Feb 23 2018, 09:34 AM)
go apply Caltex or Mobil and New World member card, foc application fees and entitle for member's discount
sugarbaby
post Mar 4 2018, 05:35 PM

167 posts

I'm thinking of going to NZ with my hubby this September cos this is the time where I can take longer leave.
Just checked AA (transit at Goldcoast) and return fare for 1 person with 20kg luggage & meals is rm1.8k. For MAS direct flight it is rm2.2k. The date is 6 Sept to 18 Sept.
Haven't checked other airlines yet.
I don't mind spending little bit extra for more comfort and entertainment since its gonna be long flight.

As for itinerary, hubby is crazy for LOTR. My simple plan is reach Auckland - spend a night - next day go to hobbiton - back to hostel spend a night - next day take domestic flight to Christchurch - ??? Still planning the itinerary - take domestic flight back to Auckland - flight to KL.

I'm interested to go places like Milford Sound, Mr Cook, Lake Tekapo but I'm just worried of the driving. Will it be very long drive? Can I stay at Christchurch only or must I check out from my hostel and check in other hostels along the way?
Is 6 to 18 Sept too rush?

fapman
post Mar 4 2018, 08:30 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Mar 4 2018, 05:35 PM)
I'm thinking of going to NZ with my hubby this September cos this is the time where I can take longer leave.
Just checked AA (transit at Goldcoast) and return fare for 1 person with 20kg luggage & meals is rm1.8k.  For MAS direct flight it is rm2.2k. The date is 6 Sept to 18 Sept.
Haven't checked other airlines yet.
I don't mind spending little bit extra for more comfort and entertainment since its gonna be long flight.

As for itinerary, hubby is crazy for LOTR. My simple plan is reach Auckland - spend a night - next day go to hobbiton - back to hostel spend a night - next day take domestic flight to Christchurch - ??? Still planning the itinerary - take domestic flight back to Auckland - flight to KL.

I'm interested to go places like Milford Sound, Mr Cook, Lake Tekapo but I'm just worried of the driving. Will it be very long drive? Can I stay at Christchurch only or must I check out from my hostel and check in other hostels along the way?
Is 6 to 18 Sept too rush?
U plan to go Hobbiton in North Island only? Maybe can try other places as well like Rotorua town (Te Puia geyser, Redwoods Whakarewarewa), glowworm caves in Taupo, etc.

As for South Island, it’ll be a long drive for sure as the roads there surrounding the mountains & lakes. U can check google maps on this. Suggest u to spend a night in Te Anau if u plan to visit Milford Sound.
stormchaser
post Mar 4 2018, 09:12 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Mar 4 2018, 08:30 PM)
U plan to go Hobbiton in North Island only? Maybe can try other places as well like Rotorua town (Te Puia geyser, Redwoods Whakarewarewa), glowworm caves in Taupo, etc.

As for South Island, it’ll be a long drive for sure as the roads there surrounding the mountains & lakes. U can check google maps on this. Suggest u to spend a night in Te Anau if u plan to visit Milford Sound.
dun worry abt long drive.. u enjoy every moment there... especially at south..

my stop as below

reach auckland, then take local flight to christchurch..

christchurch (one night - look for those hotel with free airport transfer, so the next day they send u back to airport car renting place like jucy, stock up food now and a bottle of wine)

then drive to tekapo.. a night (to me, most beautiful in nz), next time i will spend two days here.. go mt john, a must.

tekapo to mt cook - stay one or two days ( for me 1 day)

mt cook to queenstown - stay one or two days ( for me 1day)

queentown to te anau - stay 2 days, use one full day take local package to milford sound, they fetch u from hotel to milford and they stop at all scenery place, u no need find ur self..

te anau to dunedin - long drive... stay at mosgiel very nice place.. local farm.. then visit the educational town drop ur car at dunedin airport fly back to auckland..

auckland stay one night near airport one.. same , stay those with airport transfer.. next morning baru take car..

auckland to mata-mata to rotorua.. - stay a night.. i din visit lotr, the mata mata town itself already like one..

rotorua - taupo (go for a sail here, take barbary sail) - auckland

auckland - stay a night or two, visit the town, nothing to shout abt.. dun spend time at town, spend 90% at south lar..

dun worry abt warehouse.. its almost everywhere..

fapman
post Mar 4 2018, 09:57 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Mar 4 2018, 09:12 PM)
dun worry abt long drive.. u enjoy every moment there... especially at south..

my stop as below

reach auckland, then take local flight to christchurch..

christchurch (one night - look for those hotel with free airport transfer, so the next day they send u back to airport car renting place like jucy, stock up food now and a bottle of wine)

then drive to tekapo.. a night (to me, most beautiful in nz), next time i will spend two days here.. go mt john, a must.

tekapo to mt cook - stay one or two days ( for me 1 day)

mt cook to queenstown - stay one or two days ( for me 1day)

queentown to te anau - stay 2 days, use one full day take local package to milford sound, they fetch u from hotel to milford and they stop at all scenery place, u no need find ur self..

te anau to dunedin - long drive... stay at mosgiel very nice place.. local farm..  then visit the educational town drop ur car at dunedin airport fly back to auckland..

auckland stay one night near airport one.. same , stay those with airport transfer.. next morning baru take car..

auckland to mata-mata to rotorua.. - stay a night.. i din visit lotr, the mata mata town itself already like one..

rotorua - taupo (go for a sail here, take barbary sail) - auckland

auckland - stay a night or two, visit the town, nothing to shout abt.. dun spend time at town, spend 90% at south lar..

dun worry abt warehouse.. its almost everywhere..
Don’t tag me bro. Tag her coz she’s the one going this year. Haha.

stormchaser
post Mar 4 2018, 10:17 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Mar 4 2018, 09:57 PM)
Don’t tag me bro. Tag her coz she’s the one going this year. Haha.
sorry bro, missed tagged.. haha
sugarbaby
post Mar 4 2018, 10:38 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(fapman @ Mar 4 2018, 08:30 PM)

Actually I dunno what's nice at Auckland & I only know about hobbiton there, haha..
The rest of the places I know are all at south island.

My friend say hobbiton must buy ticket and join the tour, isit? Cannot drive there on our own? Actually is it worth it? I'm not a fan but hubby is.

115 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:50 AM